Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook

Barbour Publishing SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook

What would YOU do if you had to make a life altering decision? Would you stand your ground and choose a path that follows your belief? Or would you give in to peer pressure to avoid rejection? With this 2 in 1 book you are given the opportunity to do just that. In High Stakes, Amber and Brittany are best friends but now they're in competition with each other. Whoever has the best grades and perfect attendance is able to win a brand new car! Amber wants to win so badly, especially since her father got laid off and money has been really tight. But when Amber cheats on a test and Brittany gets blamed for it, will Amber own up to it or let Brittany take the fall? You decide and discover the life-altering consequences.

In Essence of Lilly, Lilly will do anything to avoid being at him, including making up youth group events to hang out with her boyfriend Jason. But when Jason wants her to lie to her parents about an overnight church retreat so she can stay over his house without a chaperone, what will she do? You decide the course-make the wrong decision and discover the life-changing consequence that comes with it.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Review 1 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Swept away by Swept Away

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandmaparty6
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been waiting for the next books in the Scenarios Series. Was not disappointed in the stories or issues covered in Swept Away. Nicole swept me away as I followed the characters and their dilemma's. All six stories, now 3 books, have dealt with issues faced by tweens/teens every day. She has handled the subjects beautifully and allowed the reader to be interactively involved in the story. The books are ingenious in the way they ask the reader to make the tough moral decisions. It gives the reader the opportunity to feel the weight of the consequences. I've read all of these books and I believe that each issue dealt with a necessary issue facing the tween/teens of today.......and tomorrow.
I've purchased many of the books and donated some to my church youth library and many I gave as gifts to the daughters of many friends. All have asked repeatly when the next book/s would be released. They are so excited that books 5 & 6 are now available. To anyone out there, these books are great gifts for young girls that you love and want to see make the right decisions. They prepare them before they're faced with the issues.
Swept Away was wonderful and dealt with a little more mature subject that a lot of Christian writers run from.
Way to go Nicole.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great help in decision making

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gram
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved [Swept Away] and can hardly wait to get it into my granddaughter's hands. It is so important for young girls to be able to read these and see the options, BEFORE they are faced with the real issues in life. I believe reading the books will greatly influence their personal decisions and possibly divert them from a lot of hurt they might have experienced had they not read of consequences others had to deal with and the rewards received due to making good decisions.
These books are a way of planting good seeds in their minds to prepare them for more success in their futures and who of us do not want to do that for our loved ones? I have thoroughly enjoyed the six books I have read of Nicole's, even though I am older. I have learned things from them as well. I look forward to her next works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great fresh look at YA fiction!

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Berni C
Location:Foosland, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Nicole O'Dell captures the angst of teenage girls beautifully. She creates very real, likable young girls, with true-to-life dilemmas to face. A great read for teenage girls everywhere. The alternate endings are a fresh approach. I love the fact that when the girls make the wrong choice, there are consequences, but the reader is assured that all is not lost. There is still forgiveness, and hope. I wish these books were around when my daughter was a teen! I plan to pass Swept Away down to my teenage nieces, and I look forward to reading more of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Daughter Squealed when this Book Arrived

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My almost 11 y.o. LOVES the Scenario books. Yes, I capitalized on purpose because that almost captures her enthusiasm for this series. When this book arrived, she literally peeled it from my hands and ran upstairs to start reading. Why does she love these books? Because she loves being the character and choosing the outcome. She'll select the wrong choice, and then go back and make the right choice. It leads to great conversations as we talk about what makes one choice better than the other.
For this 2-in-1, the girls face touch choices about sex and cheating for what looks like a good reason. I wasn't 100% sure my daughter was ready for the sex story, but I was wrong. This truly gave us good opportunities to have some needed girl talk. And Nicole handles the issue in a sensitive yet real way. The consequences are real and laid out for readers to weigh. How much better to consider what she would do now rather than in a few years when the pressure is on.
Please get these books for the tween girls in your life. They are wonderful stories with a purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Totally Unique

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's a girl to do when faced with big decisions?
High school seniors Amber and Brittany have been best friends forever, but only one of them can win the car for perfect attendance and top grades. At first the competition is good-natured, but Amber is determined to win. After all, their family car is on its last wheels and her dad lost his job. She needs the prize more than Brittany does. Why can't her so-called best friend concede and let her win? When Amber discovers the perfect way to make it happen, what will she choose? High Stakes offers two endings as the reader follows Amber's two possible choices.
In Essence of Lilly, no one understands sophomore Lilly like her boyfriend, Jason. Certainly not Lilly's mom or stepdad. She begins pretending youth group activities so she can spend more time with her boyfriend. Soon she's inventing a sleepover on a weekend when Jason's parents are away. Will Lilly go through with it? Or will she choose purity after all? Again, the story offers two endings to explore the results of each choice.
These two novellas are offered in one volume as Swept Away, volumes five and six in the Scenarios for Girls interactive series. Four previously published stories have been re-released as two-for-ones as well. Dare to be Different contains the stories Truth or Dare and All That Glitters. Risky Business contains Magna and Making Waves. Each story deals with issues from self esteem to stealing to drugs to peer pressure in a format that allows tween/teen girls to see the repercussions of their choices-hopefully before they face similar situations in their own lives.
This is a totally unique fiction concept and, as one of Nicole's critique partners, I've been thrilled to be part of the the journey with her. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these stories to any tween/young teen girls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Realistic teen read

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This double-dose novel for teens will appeal especially to girls, since it has female protagonists and deals with issues youth face. The book contains two short novels. Before the conclusion of each, the reader gets to choose the outcome—whether positive or negative and see the consequences that follow. Teens will devour the true-to-life stories and naturally relate to the characters.
The first one, High Stakes, addresses the temptation to cheat in school. Amber and Brittany, best friends and top students, are pitted against each other in a contest for a car at graduation. Amber struggles with finances and family—her dad’s been laid off. Brittany is well-off but not stuck up. Will the competition ruin their close relationship?
The second story, Essence of Lilly, deals with Lilly and her blossoming romance with Jason. Lilly’s mom and Stan, her stepdad, haven’t been getting along, and their fighting drives Lilly to her boyfriend. When Stan seems to change, Lilly wonders if it can be real and lasting. She’s afraid to trust him, but does trust Jason, who may not be worthy of it. As things get too heated with Jason, can Lilly hold to her high standards or will passion overtake purity?
I enjoyed this well-written, realistic book and could easily identify with its teen trials, even though I’m now in my 50s. I think parents and those who work with teens would also benefit from reading Swept Away and gleaning an inside view of life’s struggles from the teen’s perspective. Nicole O’Dell has other books of this type too. Check them out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Swept Away - 2 Books in 1 - Nicole O'Dell

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
CBeck
Location:Wisconsin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To be honest, I am not typically a huge Fiction reader, however, The Swept Away -- 2 books in 1 - definitely pulled me in! Nicole O'Dell is such gifted writer, making the book truly come to life, and inspiring emotion that makes you feel as if you were a part of the storyline. These books are full of energy and perfectly incorporate fun with the learning of some of life's toughest lessons, creating a reading experience that is not only enjoyable, but thought provoking as well! I was so encouraged to see Biblical principles taught in such a creative way that is relevant for this generation of tweens/teens. Thanks to Nicole O'Dell for being intentional about reaching this generation of teens, pointing them to Jesus Christ, and teaching them of God's great plans for their lives!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pure Delight

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
shellie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't beat two books for the price of one, unless those two books are amazing stories of realistic teen drama. In High Stakes, ride along with Amber as she decides whether or not to fess up to cheating on her finals. Only you get to decide if she chooses to save her friend or save herself. Nicole O'Dell spins an interactive tale with two endings to choose from. Each with their own unique consequences and blessings.
In Essence of Lilly, you get to chose how far is too far for Lilly when she is faced with the decision to spend an overnighter with Jason, her boyfriend. Either choice will put you face to face with a real decision facing many teens today.
Nicole weaves identifiable characters into moral dilemmas with skill and knack. Her stories are easy to read and creative in their delivery. Pure entertainment with a life lesson tucked inside.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome YA Series

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heidi Main
Location:Cary, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nicole pulled me into each of these stories and didn't let me go until the story ended. She is a gifted storyteller. And these stories need to be told so that teens and young adults can read real life situations and see how the choices impact the characters. These characters are true to life and are very relatable. This series fills a huge need in the Christian book industry. And Nicole is the person to fill that need because she weaves amazing stories.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for all teen girls!

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Bookworm
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a teenager and I just recently read Swept Away and absolutely loved it. The characters were very real and I found myself pulled into their stories and not wanting to put the book down until I had finished it. Nicole O'Dell does an amazing job on her Scenarios for Girls book. I definitely recommend this one, especially for teenage girls.
Book 5 - High Stakes
Amber is a senior and in a good-natured, though fierce, competition with her best friend, Brittany, for a car that is being given away. When Amber cheats on her final exams and Brittany is blamed, she had to decide whether she will tell the truth and give up the car and possibly more, or stay silent and let Brittany take the blame.
Book 6 - Essence of Lilly
Trying to escape her mom and stepdad's fights, Lilly gets involved in youth group activities, using them as an excuse to hang out with her boyfriend, Jason, who makes her feel loved. When Jason convinces her to lie to her parents about an overnighter at the church, she has to decide how far she will let things go.
This is a great book that teaches some very important lessons.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SCENARIOS 5 & 6-Swept Away: 2 Interactive Stories in 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a must read!

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
KeriLynn
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read a lot of Christian books for teens, and “Swept Away” is beyond my favorite. Usually when I read, I feel like I'm just reading a book and I get easily distracted…but not this time. I really felt that I was in the story with the characters and I didn't want to put this book down!
The first book in this 2-in-1, “High Stakes”, is about cheating and being honest. I think every kid is presented with an opportunity to cheat in their lifetime, and they need to understand what the consequences would be if they take that opportunity. And this book teaches just that.
The second book, “Essence of Lilly”, is about teen relationships and premarital sex. This is definitely a must read for any teen girl in or about to be in a relationship.
I 100% recommend this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.