Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook

Thomas Nelson Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook

Experience the freedom in Christ that you long for. We all have struggles. Sheila Walsh has them too, but she's found how to rely on God in the midst of them. In Let Go, the best-selling author and Women of Faith speaker leads you through the journey to find freedom. Along the way, she tackles some of the toughest burdens that weigh women down. Learn how to lay them down and let go. Jacketed Hardcover.

Watch interviews with Sheila, where she answers questions from Christianbook.com customers!

Average Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Review 1 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great life help

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Donna Fullerton
Location:Stafford VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For women who struggle with holding on to tough life issues.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the book and I like it.I would give to a friend to read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoying book!

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
PastorDeb
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is really ministring to me in a personal way. I have not learned to let go in yrs but God is setting me free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
gracy
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Very encouraging and worthwhile read. I especially liked that she shared a prayer at the end of each chapter, pretaining to what had just be discussed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Danny
Location:Ardmore, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't finished the book yet, but it has been wonderful so far. It has really encouraged me to let go of alot of baggage from my past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Letting Go and Holding On

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lauren Caldwell
Location:NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sheila writes in chapter 9, "One of the scariest things to do on this earth is to voice that we have a problem. Shame tells us to keep the secret, but then who is holding the keys to our prison? When we decide that it is time to tell, we find that the keys have been in our hands all along."
I don't think any of us should ever stop sharing what we're going through. Sheila Walsh is right- that it's time to let go of the burdens and let go of the things that hold us back from experiencing the abundant life.
She is gutsy and in this book, and particularly in chapter17, she shares honestly her personal situation that prompted the writing of this book. That it involves tight finances, unforgiveness, and the flat emotions of depression easily helps any reader identify with the author- no matter how famous a speaker or Christian personality she is.
This is the gift right here in this chapter- the opening up of herself, her struggle to let go of "fixing" everything (I know all about that), to let go of mentally rehearsing what a good plan would be (my mind is exhausted, frequently, because of this very thing).
"When from the depths of our hearts we can tell God, 'I trust you,' heaven celebrates, hell shudders, and we are at peace." She's right. And one way I am expressing my trust in God is to re-examine where I need to march on, and where I need to wind down, close up shop, and be still. Just be still.
I'm letting go of baggage, of blunders I've made, of botched up plans. But I'm grabbing on to God's love even tighter. I'm holding on for dear life- but He says its for my own dear life that He is really the One holding on...to me.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Padrelanan
Lately I have been feeling so tired tired because of the many burdens that I bear. Burdens that have been mine for the past 30 years of my life. I live with pain, anger, bitterness, guilt and shame. I worry incessantly over things that I have no control of. It has become such a heavy burden that I am almost overwhelmed by it.I opened Let Go by Sheila Walsh with expectations of learning to let go of these burdens and I am not disappointed. On the inside flap of the book is written this very important message:As you are, right at this moment, God loves you.There is nothing you can do to make God love you more.There is nothing you can do to make God love you less.Isnt that just such a relief to read and know that I am loved by God just as I am, right at this moment, no matter what I am? Amazing, right? And this is just the opening of this book by a writer that is filled with insights of what women go through. Ms. Sheila Walsh tells women to let go and live free the way God designed us to be. She tells us to let go of our past and accept it as a valuable part of our lives. She teaches us to live in the victory that God wants us to have. Let Go by Sheila Walsh is filled with valuable insights that will lead on to greater faith in God.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angie Knight
"let go" by Sheila Walsh has been one of the most soul searching encounters I have experienced in years! Burdens are the common denominator of our conversations among women today. I found myself digging into my own life, searching out the things I had held far too long. By aligning Biblical examples with our day-to-day lives, Sheila shares how God's Word is clear about the slavery and imprisonment of unforgiveness, fear, temptation, shame and more! Sheila carries the torch to light our way into our complete deliverance! Sharing her own painful personal examples as a guide to show that "we are not alone!" God's Word is STILL true and powerful and ACTIVE in our lives when we apply the principals and truths found there!This book is most revealing of our inner heart. Complete with questions at the end of each chapter, followed by a prayer, it would be a great devotional guide for any new believer, as well as those of us who have walked this journey for many years! If your Women's Bible Study Group is looking for a book that will lead to deliverance and freedom in Christ...THIS IS IT!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charity Mile
If you are now or ever have struggled to see God working for you in the midst of pain, trial and adversity from all around, you may get some help from this book. Let Go live free from burdens all women face is a book that attempts to deal with how we relate to our past, and how we should relate to our past, while accepting that God is God of all. All of this so that our present life can be lived out to Gods purposes. I enjoyed this book, although it moved slowly in some chapters to get to the point that it is not about what others have done or not done to us or for us, but instead that God is faithful above all else. . I especially liked the questions for further reflection and study at the end of each chapter! It is engaging, warm, full of biblical insight and personal experiences. A good mix of ideas and anecdotal accounts of how those ideas may play out in real life. Worth the read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robin Porter
Let Go is an awesome book and I know God lead me to this book at just the right time in my life. Sheila Walsh is an incredible author and this book draws the reader in so much that you will not want to put the book down. Sheila takes the reader on her journey of how God helped her to let go of all of the things in her life that were weighing her down. As women we can relate with each example the author describes. As women, we are always so busy taking care of everything and everyone else that we often forget to take care of ourselves. We usually are not walking in God's rest that He has provided for us. Sheila helps us to let go of all the things that weigh us down and to walk in complete freedom of Christ's love. So many of us get into routines and then feel that we have to do certain tasks to be a "good" Christian, when the truth is, our Father in heaven just wants to love us and spend time with us. Sheila helps the reader learn how to walk in complete freedom of God's love and to let go of all the other things that entangle us and stress us, even those things we may perceive as "good" Christian duties. Sheila lets the reader know that there is nothing we can do to make God love us any more than he already does or any less. Sheila does a great job of teaching the reader to let go and to live in God's peace and rest and freedom!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
OK recunosc, am facut un lucru ciudat. Am solicitat o carte care nu era pentru mine. M-am gadnit sa o citesc pentru altecineva... NU era pentru mine, adica nu se referea direct la mine. Cum arata un barbat citind o carte pentru femei? Ciudat,nu? Dar asta nu inseamna ca nu e o carte de ajutor. Sa citesti carti scrise in special pentru sexul opus poate ajuta la intelegerea nu doar a diferentelor(ca asta o pricepem foarte usor) dar si a rezolvarii si armonizarii posibilelor intersectii neprietenoase. Eternul feminin si eternul masculin se ingemaneaza vorba lui Nichita (Stanescu) in intamplarea ca sunt si minunea ca estiPe Sheila Walsh o stiam din muzica ei. Am folosit deseori piese compuse de ea in programele radio. Apoi am urmarit-o in cateva aparitii la conferinte le Women of Faith.(n-am fost present dar ca frate in biserica trebuia sa stiu unde isi consuma timpul surorile) Capacitatea ei de a sintetiza in ritm si vers mesajul lui Christos mi-a confirmat valoarea care statea cuibarita intr-o inima de femeie.Cartea ei Let Go- Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know este o sansa nu doar de a abandona si lasa la o aprte nu doardurerile trecutului ci si ocazia de a merge prin stresul si provocarile uneori dureroase ale prezentului.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara
This incredibly liberating book kept me reading, not wanting to put it down. Sheila walks us through the process in which God led her to be able to "let go" of herself, her failures, her fears and her inadequacies only to find freedom in Christ Jesus. Even her dear husband contributes a few lines regarding his liberation in Christ.Sheila gently weaves her life stories, her struggles and her pains thoughout her life to help the reader to see and understand the freedom of letting go of ourselves just as she did, and be able to be all that God created us to be. As I read, I saw myself in so many of her stories. How many of us women have not felt inadequate at one time or another in our lives? How many of us have not thought we would never measure up like everyone else seems to?Sheila's book greatly encouraged me and helped me to realize how God so dearly loves us all. It is we who put limits on ourselves, not God. He doesn't measure us with the same standards we measure each other.I highly recommend this wonderful book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Many of you may recognize the author of the book "Let Go". Shelia Walsh is a very well known author, and one of the main speakers at the "Women of Faith" conferences. Her newest book will encourage readers to live free in Christ by "letting go" of the many things in life that can weigh them down. Walsh's new book is an easy read, but yet it is challenging at the same time. You may find yourself not wanting to put the book down until you have finished reading it. Walsh's writing style draws you in as the reader as if you were having a conversation with her. Her authenticity in her writing makes you feel as if you have known her your whole life. Each chapter begins with quotes and Bible verses that relate to the specific topic of the chapter. Walsh also begins each chapter with a short story that again relates to the chapter which sets the stage in your mind for what she will be discussing. Walsh ends each chapter with a set of questions you can ask yourself, and a prayer that you can pray. I think what I appreciate so much about this book is Walsh's honesty as she shares some very personal painful experiences that happened in her life. My favorite part of the book is what Walsh has learned about God through all her experiences. I would definitely recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie
Let GoThis was a pretty good book. I enjoyed the quotes at the beginning of each chapter and especially liked the questions and prayers at the end of the chapter. They were though provoking. I enjoy things that make me thing.A sample of the chapter titles are: This dead religion is past its sell-by date, living in the past, look at the view ahead!, the trap of unforgiveness, You are you for a reason, a long-awaited deliverance.Story after story the author shows the reader that if we "let go" that God will hold 100 percent true to his word and deliver us. That God's promise will hold true. He does not forget his promise. He does not forget us.The author has suffered depression and has had hospital care and medication for it. She is active in ministry and has been for years. It is a ministry in itself that she tells about this. It is something people need to hear about, and too often it goes hidden. Her speaking up about her experiences will surely save many others. She gives the real life example of her life. I like that she is real with her own life. She is a real human who has a real past and she is not scared to share it.I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Let Go is a call to all women to let go of whatever is keeping them from living the life of peace and joy to which God has called them. As Sheila shares her personal journey, she encourages the readers to identify which issues are holding them backdifficulty forgiving someone, lack of trust, fear, temptation, shame. She makes a convincing argument that God is trustworthy and that only by giving up these burdens to God can we find freedom.Sheila Walsh blesses the reader with her vulnerability as she openly shares both her pain and her love for God. Because she is one of my favorite authors and speakers, I knew that I would enjoy this book, but I did not expect it to be as much of a blessing as it was. I am dealing with several issues in my life right now that I know I need to give to God. Let Go was exactly the encouragement that I needed. I reviewed this book through the Thomas Nelson Blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelly Harbaugh
Women bear heavy burdens, and turning to their church is not always a pleasant thought. Fear of judgment and criticism leave them feeling isolated and hopeless, adding weight to their already unbearable load. Sheila Walsh is not afraid to tackle this subject from both ends. How do we find answers when we are hurting, and how should we respond to those who turn to us for encouragement? Beware: This is not a book of trite happy thoughts and canned Sunday school answers. Sheila confronts the reality of the troubles women face as they struggle with depression, self-hatred, forgiveness, and temptation. She acknowledges the toughness of situations such as abuse and addiction, while gently leading the hurting to a healing God. Sheila is also kind but convicting as she reveals how the church contributes to the problem with "our words, our tone, and our body language that can make others feel isolated and judged."This book is easy to digest as it blends short pieces of personal stories, biblical accounts, and fictional illustrations. Sheila is incredibly open about her own life, her personal struggles, and her judgmental blunders as she leads her readers to let go and be delivered by God.I am a member of the Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger Program:http://brb.thomasnelson.com/My website:www.tabithas-team.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelly Harbaugh
Women bear heavy burdens, and turning to their church is not always a pleasant thought. Fear of judgment and criticism leave them feeling isolated and hopeless, adding weight to their already unbearable load. Sheila Walsh is not afraid to tackle this subject from both ends. How do we find answers when we are hurting, and how should we respond to those who turn to us for encouragement? Beware: This is not a book of trite happy thoughts and canned Sunday school answers. Sheila confronts the reality of the troubles women face as they struggle with depression, self-hatred, forgiveness, and temptation. She acknowledges the toughness of situations such as abuse and addiction, while gently leading the hurting to a healing God. Sheila is also kind but convicting as she reveals how the church contributes to the problem with "our words, our tone, and our body language that can make others feel isolated and judged."This book is easy to digest as it blends short pieces of personal stories, biblical accounts, and fictional illustrations. Sheila is incredibly open about her own life, her personal struggles, and her judgemental blunders as she leads her readers to let go and be delivered by God.I am a member of the Thomas Nelson Blogger Book Review Program: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Edwina Cowgill
Do you long for a time a day, even an hour when you are free from the burdens that currently weigh you down? Have you ever felt as if your life doesnt matter much? Do you tend to judge your worth by your circumstances? Shelia Walsh answers these and more questions in her latest book Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know. With chapter titles such as This Dead Religion is Past its Sell-by Date, You are You for a Reason, I Was Made for This, and many more, she has focused on what I believe every Christian woman experiences at some point in her life: feeling invisible, unloved and unworthy. Sheila uses scriptures and her own personal experiences to prove to us that we are unconditionally loved by God. He has put each of us on this earth and given us a purpose and calling that is unique to us. From the moment I read the title until the final word on the last page, I was hooked. Sheila wrote with clarity and her words came from her heart. Every chapter taught me a lesson and every page included what I call gold nuggets of wisdom and insight. Her writing style made it easy to comprehend her message. An additional help for me was the thought-provoking, soul-searching questions listed at the end of each chapter designed to help the reader continue searching out Gods truth about who she is in Christ. This book would be an excellent choice for women's Bible study groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Doreen
I am a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program and had the chance to review this book titled: 'Let Go' by Sheila Walsh.This book is about how we can live free in a burdened world. We need to lay down our burdens, find rest and live in peace and it's what we all should desire. This book, 'let go' helps you to walk in freedom, the freedom we have in Christ. Sometimes freeing ourselves means that we have to let go of those chains of unforgiveness and forgive others in order to set ourselves free. I believe that this book was interesting! Every page keeps you captivated and it's easy to read. I like how in the beginning of every chapter Sheila has quotes and Scriptures. It's great as an opening to every Chapter and for memorization. I did notice however that a quote or two were repeats and a grammatical error here and there. Sheila's book has enlightened and inspired me to look ahead and let go of the past. She will challenge you! In the end of every chapter, she has a section titled: 'deliverance discovered' where you ask yourself these set of questions. Below that, is a prayer of deliverance. Overall, I believe that Sheila has conveyed Biblical truth successfully. I would recommend this to others especially new Believers that are just starting out in their walk with the Lord. This book is for anyone wanting to have the freedom in Christ that they're meant to have!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Let Go: Live Free of the Burdens All Women Know - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
A Fulwood
Let go is a command. Using scripture, quotes, stories, and personal testimonies. Ms. Walshs book focuses on Gods faithful promise of love and deliverance in any circumstance. Ms. Walsh is a student of the bible. She used her skills to make scriptures come to life with a fresh perspective. One example was the tale of Hagar, the slave of Sarah, Abrahams wife found in the old testament. Her take changed my perspective of Hagar. I left the chapter feeling more compassion for the woman I previously considered an interloper. The wisdom found on the pages of Let Go is timeless. I would recommend Let Go as message of hope. It is an effective tool for those facing life struggles and challenges. Kudos to Ms.Walsh for sharing so that others can Let Go and walk free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>