Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook

Thomas Nelson Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook

Meridith can handle anything: guardianship of three distant siblings, a dilapidated Bed-and-Breakfast, even an ever-present handyman who's dismantling more than her fireplace--or can she?When the death of Meridith's estranged father leaves her with custody of three siblings she's never met, she reluctantly goes to Nantucket to care for them--but only until their uncle returns from his trip. Little does she know, the uncle is already there under the guise of her friendly handyman, with plans of his own.Will the love that grows between them be strong enough to overcome the secrets that brought them both to Driftwood Lane?
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Review 1 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lacy Williams
When Meridith Ward learns of her father's death and that she's been left guardianship for her three siblings, her carefully-ordered world is thrown into chaos. What does she knew about raising three children when her own childhood was such a mess? But Meridith takes on the task - at least until the children's uncle shows up - and ends up connecting with the kids in ways she never expected.Then a handsome handyman, Jake, enters the picture and things become even more complicated. Will Meridith learn to ignore the crazy feelings stirring inside her, or does God have something more in store for her - like true, crazy, wonderful love?I intended to read the first couple chapters of this only and put it down until the weekend, but that didn't happen. Denise Hunter drew me in to this story from page one and I couldn't set it aside until I'd devoured the whole thing.I have loved the entire Nantucket series for the characters that really bring you into their lives and make you feel for them - and Meri and Jake are no exception. Meri's sometimes-neurotic ways hide injuries from her childhood, while Jake has a past of his own and it just makes you love them more.And of course the romance in this book is off the charts - mostly tension but there are a few kisses that made me 'oooh!'This is a fun read that will keep you captivated throughout.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
There's a good reason Denise Hunter is an award winning, best-selling author. She can weave a love story that wrings your heart out and leaves you totally satisfied. I thoroughly enjoyed Driftwood Lane. The siblings' reaction to Meredith wasn't overdone but completely believable. The thirteen year old reacted with suspicion and a young teen's rollercoaster emotions, while the boys waffle in their affections. I fell in love with the hero right along with Meredith, and that was unexpected. Novel Journey and I give recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annette M. Irby
From the beginning of this series, Ive enjoyed Denises allegories. She demonstrated Gods love through her characters, through their trials and their responses and her depictions of their romance. In Driftwood Lane, a major theme was freedom from fear. And somehow, without portraying her heroes as perfect, she gives us glimpses of Gods love as He helps us get free and release ourselves to His love.Its rare to find a romance which doesnt bow to all the confines of formula. I feel Denise makes the most of them. The path she takes is intricate and enjoyable. Her scenarios arent clich. And this couple's first kiss? Goosebumps. And Im not talking about the characters.I highly recommend this entire series. You dont have to read the books in order. They stand alone. But I wouldnt miss one of them. So enjoyable. Denises books teach you something about Gods loveit's fiction that leaves you feeling more open to God, perhaps closer to Him, warmed by His love.Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle V
Driftwood Lane by Denise Hunter is absolutely fabulous! It is book three in her Nantucket Love Story series. The stories are not connected but they all take place in Nantucket. (And they are all wonderful!) The other books in the series are Surrender Bay and The Convenient Groom. They are contemporary fiction stories and when I think of Denise Hunter, I automatically think of stories that grab me by the heart. That's how I would describe her books, including this one. In this story we meet Meridith Ward. She has worked really hard for a career and a home and a stable life. And all of that is about to get turned upside down. She has to face memories from her difficult childhood that she has worked so hard to bury. And her steady, dependable life is not going to be steady and dependable any more. I really love Meridith. She captured my heart from the very beginning and I was rooting for her all the way. She is a character who will stay in my heart long after finishing the book! All of the characters in this book will stay with me for a long time! I very highly recommend this book to anyone! It's a beautiful, heart-warming story and it's got something for everyone. There's drama, suspense, romance and a beautiful message. Once I started the book I could not put it down and when it was over I wanted more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Driftwood Lane is the perfect blend of romance and real life. Meredith Ward and Jake both make lots of mistakes...some which could come between them in the end. And this is a very multi-dimensional romance. There is so much going on in Meredith's life that you wonder how she'll ever figure out how to balance it all. Written with emotion and heart, I found this book to be a quick read and one that I savored. It's a beautiful story of brokeness and second chances. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Driftwood Lane is another fabulous romance by Denise Hunter. I loved how she made a compelling case for her heroine's fear and used the family pet to illustrate that in a Pavlovian way that made sense to the reader and to the hero. Not that she compared her to a dog, but the fear was the same. Different causes, but same overwhelming need to protect and preserve. Growing up with a mentally ill mother and a father who essentially abandoned her was a key part of the need she had to control everything about her life.Ms. Hunter really laid a solid foundation for these characters and continually put the heroine in situations where she had to let the hero get one step closer. This novel was well thought out and had a forward moving plot despite the slower pacing. I really enjoyed how the tension kept building and how it helped her to see that what she thought was love before was simply settling for security. I am sure that some women who are dating men who are merely "safe" will read this book and rethink what they are doing in their love lives. This story really makes you think about that.True love requires trust and if there is no trust things never go deeper. Unfortunately things started out based on a lie. The author made a compelling case for why he kept his identity from her. Better than most. The foundation was solid as was the many reasons why it never seemed to be the right time to tell the truth. The necessary blowout for any good romance novel was well done.Though the heroine was a new Christian, she handled it like anyone would. Second guessing things, doubting herself, worrying about how this might apply in other ways to trust, etc. But ultimately the problem is worked through. I found this aspect of the novel very believable, too. A lot of times the "dark moment" feels forced or a bit fake. This felt real to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
jloubet
In the final book of her Nantucket series, Denise Hunter certainly does not disappoint. Once again set in the picturesque Nantucket, this is the story of family, love, and devotion. Meredith is happily engaged and living in St. Louis when she receives a call that will change her life foreverwhether she wants it to or not. Her estranged father died and has left her custody of her three half siblings that she has never met. She packs a suitcase and heads to her fathers somewhat run-down Bed and Breakfast in Nantucket. She is unaware that the ever present handyman is actually the childrens uncle. As always, Denise Hunter gives us a complicated relationship that through love and determination will work out for the best in the end. I loved this book as much as I loved the ones that came before it. It is a must read for anyoneespecially those who believe in love and happy endings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Jean Smith
Another great story in the line of Nantucket Love Stories. Enjoyed the story development and the way it ended! Was a little concerned that the story was based on a lie throughout the whole book but it did make the story more intriguing. Denise Hunter has not disappointed me in the last 4 books. I enjoy reading more from her!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
One unexpected phone call changes Meridith Wards life drastically. Settled into her busy life in St. Louis with an established career, Meridith is busy with work and planning her wedding. In one fateful moment, she suddenly finds herself facing distant memories, old heartaches and new challenges. When she receives the news that her estranged father and step-mother are dead, Meridith finds herself the sole guardian of three siblings that shes never met, along with the familys bed and breakfast in Nantucket. As Meridith travels to Nantucket, she plans to stay there only temporarily until she can contact the childrens uncle and transfer guardianship to him and sell the bed and breakfast. Unfortunately, Uncle J is a carefree, motorcycle loving, bachelor and is very hard to track down. Meridith finds herself staying longer than she plans when Uncle J. is nowhere to be found and the bed and breakfast inn needs major repairs before she can put it up for sale.In the course of gathering bids and hiring a contractor for the repairs, Meridith meets Jake, a handyman (who much to Merdiths frustration), intrigues her. Although Meridith is determined to keep their relationship all business, she cannot deny that her heart beats a little quicker when Jake is around and she somehow winds up a bumbling mess. Infuriated with herself that this man makes her feel so unsettled, Meridith is determined to stick to her plans and get out of Nantucket as fast as possible.But sometimes, as this story indicates, Gods plans for our life are much different than our own. Driftwood Lane is a sweet romantic read perfect for the long, hot days of summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
This story shows how a duty can turn to lovewith time and energy. It also shows the protective nature of a mother whether the children are hers or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Colleen Coble
I'm a huge Denise Hunter fan! I love how her characters are so real. They have real problems and find the solution in Jesus. Driftwood Lane was a fabulous story, and I loved the chemistry between Meridith and Jake. I could smell the sea and taste the salt on my lips. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
Driftwood Lane by Denise Hunter is a delightful summer romance and a fitting end to her Nantucket Love Story Series. From the first chapter I was captured by the characters and carried along by the page-turning plot. The author did a great job writing realistic dialogue and creating strong romantic tension. I felt like I knew the characters and cared deeply what would happen to them. The spiritual thread of learning to trust God and releasing control was skillful woven into the story. I enjoyed all the books in the series, and this one is a real gem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Denise Hunter's latest installment in her Nantucket Love Story series has arrived! "Driftwood Lane" focuses on Meridith Ward, stable, serious, engaged to an accountant and afraid to let herself fall in love. Meridith receives a shocking phone call while at work one day. Her father, who abandoned her and her now deceased mother years ago, and his new wife have not survived a boating accident and have named Meridith as the guardian for their three children - three children whom Meridith has never met. This begins a life change for Meridith. She moves from St. Louis to Nantucket to care for these children until their uncle returns from riding around the country on his motorcycle. Upon arrival at the family home, Meridith finds their home, a bed and breakfast, not up to codes and begins to make repairs with the intent of selling. Jake, or Uncle J, as referred to by his niece and nephews receives a shocking e-mail one night letting him know of his sister's sudden death and the welfare of the children. Jake afraid that he will not be able to see the children and hoping to find Meridith, the children's guardian unfit for the job, arrives at the bed and breakfast as a worker for the many repairs that need to be done, nothing more. Meridith finds herself falling in love with the children and finds herself faced with the choice - the children or her future husband. Thrown into the midst of this is the unsettling feelings that Meridith is experiencing around Jake and whenever she thinks about him. Filled with various relationships, past hurts, secrets, and the possibility for new family bonds and love, Denise Hunter has created a story that will keep you engrossed to the end. This is wonderfully written and easy to read as the story pulls you in and holds your interest. A great "summery" read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Caitlin Muir
Abandoned. Alone. And in control. Those words sum up Meridith Ward's life quite nicely. She's a health inspector in Saint Louis, ready to settle down and marry her accountant fiance. Everything is neat and tidy. She's putting her past with her bi-polar mother before her. Until she gets the call that her father and step-mother have died in an accident and she's been left guardianship of her three step-siblings she's never met. The only other living relative is a vagabond uncle who roams the East Coast on his motorcycle and forgets to stay in touch. Driftwood Lane is the last installment in Denise Hunter's Nantucket Love Story series. It's also my least favorite. It felt cliched when the (hunky) uncle showed up, disguised as the local carpenter who Meridith hires to fix up the bed and breakfast she's also inherited. He swears the children to secrecy while he tries to find evidence that Meridith is bi-polar. Meanwhile, she starts falling in love with him while he's fixing the sink. Desperate Housewives, anyone? It's not a terrible book. I stayed up late reading it because I like Hunter's writing style. She adds elements that other Christian authors tend to shy away from, keeping dialogue realistic. It's just the plot is not fresh and original like Surrender Bay or The Convienent Groom. Disclaimer: I'm not paid to write reviews for Thomas Nelson. They give me free books in exchange for my honest opinion of them. I don't have to say nice things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Driftwood Lane: A Nantucket Love Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
I gave this a low score because if a book is being sold under the genre of Christian Fiction, somehow I think it is supposed to have a Christian message. Other than mentioning them going to church, there wasn't any reference to Christianity. This entire series has been very watered down and this author is totally capable of giving you a stronger Christian message. The characters were strong and you get to know each of them very well. It moved at a nice pace. I still like this author as I know the book will be well written.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.