Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Jessie - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Jessie - eBook

Jessie Wheeler, whose husband, Seth, abandoned her before their second child was born, is a single mom and the sole proprietor of Token Creek's general store. Jessie lives day to day with her hands full and her heart broken.

When Seth suddenly returns to town claiming he's a man changed by faith, Jessie is reluctant to trust him or God with her family's future. But Seth sets out to prove his commitment and his love. This is a timeless story of the transforming power of God's love and forgiveness.

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jessie - eBook
Review 1 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Different to read

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stargazer
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This story was slow-moving at first, and took a while to get into, but eventually it picked up. At times the depiction of the struggle to forgive was very unrealistic. I couldn't connect with it a lot of times. Building trust after betrayal is not as simple as moving in together and being intimate. Some of Jessie's fears were greatly exaggerated. On the other hand, faith was depicted very well through most of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jessie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jessie Wheeler is a single mother, the proprietor of Token Creek's only general store. Abandoned by her husband Seth before their second child was born, she lives every day with regrets of the past. Her heart shattered beyond repair, she lives a seemingly meaningless existence with no hope of the future and no love in her heart except for her girls.
Out of the blue, Seth returns to town with big words and big dreams of a future together for all of them. Jessie cannot believe a man can change overnight. But will she also underestimate the power of God's forgiveness and love - for every single member of her family?
Jessie gave me a rare glimpse of a well-written book on a soul's struggle for salvation, and showed that the beliefs of our parents can truly shape our future. Jessie is plagued by fears and doubts that Seth isn't truly a changed man, and the story really makes you empathize with her and her daughters.
As I've said before, I don't understand why the author chose to use phrases such as "that man" and "that woman" instead of "he" and "she", but the language is still simple and easy to understand. I spent my time savoring this book, because I simply did not want it to end. Saying goodbye to Token Creek in Montana Territory was a little hard, but one can always go back and start over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jessie Wheeler is a single mother, the proprietor of Token Creek's only general store. Abandoned by her husband Seth before their second child was born, she lives every day with regrets of the past. Her heart shattered beyond repair, she lives a seemingly meaningless existence with no hope of the future and no love in her heart except for her girls.
Out of the blue, Seth returns to town with big words and big dreams of a future together for all of them. Jessie cannot believe a man can change overnight. But will she also underestimate the power of God's forgiveness and love - for every single member of her family?
Jessie gave me a rare glimpse of a well-written book on a soul's struggle for salvation, and showed that the beliefs of our parents can truly shape our future. Jessie is plagued by fears and doubts that Seth isn't truly a changed man, and the story really makes you empathize with her and her daughters.
As I've said before, I don't understand why the author chose to use phrases such as "that man" and "that woman" instead of "he" and "she", but the language is still simple and easy to understand. I spent my time savoring this book, because I simply did not want it to end. Saying goodbye to Token Creek in Montana Territory was a little hard, but one can always go back and start over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
drrr
Location:usa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Big Sky Country--Montana--in the ol' west is the setting for these stories. I finished Big Sky Dreams Series liking Sabrina, the second book, the most out of the three.
Sabrina or "Bri" as everyone calls her has a history and uses this past to reach out to others around her even though she puts herself at risk. She catches the local minister's eye and their relationship was fun to read as it developed over time. I liked the character Sabrina reminding me more of past Lori Wick characters that kept me up reading to find out what happens to them--just to make sure!
There were a lot of characters in this series and this overdose of people does become confusing at times, but overall, I enjoyed the series and learned from the characters truths about God. Fiction with some depth is something worthwhile and relaxing at the same time. Pick up this series at your local library or at a store near you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Della
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as good as the first two books. The first two were very good. This one was a bit of a let down. Not bad, though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
InGma12
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the first two books in this series and started the third at a friends house and was anxious to finish this one. This series is well written and holds your attention. I appreciate this author's writings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Jean Smith
Wonderful and enjoyable story! The ending was a little disappointing because it could have been expanded but overall I really enjoyed the characters and story. I always love Lori Wick's books!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Keasler
My sister & I loved all 3 books in the series. I know I will read more of Lori Wicks seies.Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jessie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vivian Calhoun
wonderful! wonderful!I just love stories about the old west and the things they had to endure at that time. We have a lot to be thankful for in our Pilgrim Ancestors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heidi Nickel
Lori Wick became my favorite author when I discovered my first book by her. She is a gentle writer who appeals to the spirit rather than the flesh. Her 'word-paintings' of godly courtship that exemplify the love of Christ for His bride are encouraging and uplifting. I thoroughly enjoyed 'Jessie, Big Sky Dreams' and the portrayal of Seth as the repentant, loving husband, laying his life down for his wife and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jessie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wayne Tuggey
This is a beautiful, large , easy to read book. It was delivered in a timely mannor, and in excellant condition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mustoe
This is an excellent series of books. "Jessie, Big Sky Dreams," was the last of the three books in the series. There are so many of the Bible scriptures inserted in the story. I highly recommend this series of books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lori
I was disappointed in this series. I have almost all of Lori Wick's books, but this series was rather boring compared to the rest. Also, she spends too much time "preaching" her views about God's will, etc. I'm so glad God isn't really like she portrays Him to be in her books. I don't plan on buying them anymore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carol Renich
Lori Wick is one of my favorite authors and I have about 30 of her books. This was another excellent series. I just wish this book had gone on longer showing more of how the Lord helped them thru the struggles of their daily living. Learning to trust again and to forgive are the keys to this book and this series. The Lord clearly works thru her writings. I hope she has many more books yet to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Margaret Fowler
I recommend this book to anyone who likes light reading. Also, the other two books in this trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Katharine Macdonald
Another great story by Lori Wick, enjoyable and easy to read. It was great to catch up with the characters I have grown to love from her previous Big Sky books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marilyn S Hodges
I have read every one of Lori Wick Books She is on of my favorite Authors. Hope there will be more books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
I was greatly disappointed in Jessie. I've waited for this book for along time. I didn't even finish the book. I loved the other 2 books and all her other series but this book, I didn't like it at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Margaret Chilcote
Lori Wick is one of my favorite authors. She speaks to issues that happen in everyday life and I especially like the biblically sound stand that is given and the great insights that the pastor's in her books give. I have even underlined and wrote them in the front of my bible.I thoroughly enjoy each of her books, I have them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jessie - eBook
This review is fromJessie, Big Sky Dreams #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janet Barker
Jessie by Lori Wick is volume 3 of a trilogy which is a stand alone volume. Reading volumes 1 and 2 will however provide useful background details. Chapter contents were not too many pages. This book was very difficult to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>