Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook

Abingdon Press A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook

Will Annie find acceptance in the Amish community she left behind? Annie Weaver always planned to return home, but the 20-year old RN has lived in Philadelphia for three years now. As her time of rumschpringe is about to come to an abrupt end, bringing for Annie an overwhelming sense of loneliness. She returns home and finds herself face-to-face with a budding romance with an Amish farmer and Annie has several important choices to make.

Average Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
31 out of 3297%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
Review 1 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A wonderful Amish story...

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Leaving the Amish community, Annie Weaver spends three years in Philadelphia working as a registered nurse. When she receives a phone call and must abruptly return back home, Annie finds herself involved once again with her family as well as other members of the community (including Samuel, a neighboring widow). Does the Amish neighborhood accept Annie back into their culture even with her advanced medical training? Will Annie find love as well as acceptance at Christmas time?
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Through careful research, Vannetta Chapman weaves a heart-warming story of Christmas within the Amish community. With a glossary and brief interview included at the end of the book, I followed the story easily, even learning a few words and customs relevant to the Amish. I found the interaction between Annie’s life with the English and the Amish very interesting. A good, endearing book during the Christmas season that proved to be a delight.
RATING:
4 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of A Simple Amish Christmas from Abingdon Press for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
KellysLuckyYou
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disclosure: I was given this book for review. I loved this book. It was peaceful, warm, interesting, and very readable. It touched me and renewed my desire to move toward a simpler life. We recently got new flooring in our family room, dining room and living room, so I had to empty all my bookcases and storage. I had accumulated more “stuff” than I thought. I’m going through it all before I put it back with hopefully large amounts being donated and/or thrown away. It’s easy to accumulate and reading about the simple Amish life, the strong values, and outlook on worldly goods was very refreshing.
The plot and the characters held my interest and had me wanting the car line to move more slowly so I could keep reading! Although not suspenseful, I found myself wanting to see what happened to Annie Weaver. You find yourself hoping that good things will happen to her!
I recommend curling up with this book, a cup of hot chocolate, and reading about the simple, beautiful life of the Amish!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Immediately fell in love with it!

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
DonnasBookshelf
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today I am reviewing A Simple Amish Christmas by one of my favorite authors, Vannetta Chapman.
This is the very first novel I have read by Ms. Chapman. I actually began reading it on my iPhone after checking out the ebook from the public library... and I immediately fell in love with it!
I was touched by how much Annie cared for her family, that she immediately left her job and returned home when she was needed. And I laughed at the irony of how Samuel treated her... being a hard-headed man, he refused to give her any encouragement, but insisted on treating her as if she were still a child.
Well, I guess she shows him! :-)
Of course, once the reader understands what is happening between Annie and Samuel, it's easy to see why they both resist their feelings - to a point. Sometimes feelings are impossible to ignore, right?
Apparently it is a custom of many Amish, when a spouse dies, to marry within the spouses' family if there is a need... Samuel's sister-in-law has such a need, as her spouse has also died and she is left to raise their children. She writes to Samuel, asking him to honor his deceased wife by marrying her and helping her raise her children.
I don't want to give away anything else, so I'll let you read the book for yourself. But do get the sequel... it is the icing on the cake!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Story!

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britney Adams
A Simple Amish Christmas is a wonderful story to be enjoyed, not only during the holiday season, but any time of the year! Set in an Amish community of Mifflin County, Pennsylvania, this story is full of vivid descriptions and enjoyable characters. I encourage you to open the pages and step into this delightful tale and visit this special community!
Three years ago, Annie Weaver left her Amish community to live with aunt in Philadelphia. During this time, she acquired an education and career among the Englisch. Annie enjoys her work at the hospital as a registered nurse. However, thoughts of home wash over her from time to time and leave her longing for home. A sudden phone call changes everything and Annie rushes to return to her Amish community.
Samuel Yoder is a local farmer who helps with the medical needs of the community. When he makes a house call to check on Jacob Weaver, he is surprised to find Annie caring for her father. Skeptical at first of Annie’s ability to nurse her father back to health, Samuel soon learns there is more to this young woman than he realized. There is also more to Samuel Yoder than meets the eye, as Annie slowly discovers.
A Simple Amish Christmas is a well-written story of love, acceptance, and realizing God’s will in all things. I highly recommend this book!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Abingdon Press. All thoughts expressed are my own and no monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Curl up with this Cozy Amish story!

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
S Dietze
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vannetta Chapman's sweet and satisfying tale of restoration and hope is an enjoyable Christmas read that fans of Amish romance are sure to cherish.
Annie Weaver had no interest in encouraging any of the potential beaus in her small Amish community, so her family sent her to live with her aunt for her rumschpringe. In that time, she becomes a nurse. When she learns that her father has been injured, however, she is eager to return home. She has missed her family and life among the Amish. Still, she's not the same person she was when she left. Her education and skills may not be acceptable to her community.
Will she be accepted back in the community if she stays true to the call she believes God has given her? Should she forget her love of medicine and be baptized? As she develops feelings for Samuel Yoder, she struggles with the path she's supposed to take.
This is a satisfying Amish-set story. I enjoyed reading about the Amish community and Annie's journey to discern God's will. The romance is sweet, and the story's ending is a tender treat.
Thanks to Abingdon for providing a copy for my review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the characteristics of this Amish novel that I love is the way the author integrates explanations of traditions into the tale. For example, how Amish communities are not all the same, but are unique in many ways. I love how there is a First Christmas then a Second Christmas with each explained and expounded so readers know the meaning of the references.
Each person in an Amish community goes through a time where they decide whether to join the church or live in the English world; this period is known as “rumschpringe”. In A Simple Amish Christmas, Annie is sent to live with her English aunt by her parents because she is unsettled with no future plans for marriage. When Annie goes there, she excels more than her parents could imagine, obtaining each goal she sets for herself. When she returns to the community, it is for a family emergency that requires her to come and help tend the sick plus help her mother with her younger siblings.
Samuel and Annie are brought together because of the needs of the community, their individual gifts as well as their knowledge that sets them apart from others. However, Samuel has something in his past that he lets prevent him from having any type of future relationship with anyone other than simple friendship. As time goes by, Samuel begins to be convicted about how he has treated God and while looking to reestablish his walk with the Lord, he unpacks his family Bible. When he does so, the Scriptures begin to speak to his heart and the future comes into focus more than ever before. Will Samuel allow faith or defeat to prevail in his decisions about the future?
Vannetta Chapman wrote the novel a couple of years ago, but don’t let that deter you from experiencing again the hope that comes with Christmas. The author has written several other novels, a couple of which I have read and enjoyed immensely. I sure hope that many will take time to read this story and share a copy with someone over the coming holidays.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Christmas Homecoming!

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Litchfield, Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
"A Simple Amish Christmas" by Vannetta Chapman is a 5 star book. If you don't read this book you are missing out on a Wonderful book ! I was drawn into the story from the first sentence of the prologue. Annie Weaver is Amish but while on her Rumschpringe she had continued her schooling and is now a nurse. One day she receives a call and is informed about an accident involving her father and rushes home. She is greeted with harsh words from Samuel, her father's best friend and he is also the closet thing to a doctor that the Amish community of Mifflin Country, Pennsylvania has.
Annie has to prove to him that she is still Amish and that she plans to remain at home in Mifflin Country. This book is also about Samuel learning to forgive himself and to learn to love again and to trust what his heart is telling him. Samuel's past is something that would be hard to let go of but he learns that he can still honor it and live in the future!
Can Annie and Samuel work together to heal the ill of Mifflin Country, and will they trust their growing feelings toward each other ?
Even through this book is a Christmas story I believe this story is a story that could be enjoyed anytime a reader wanted to enjoyed a heartwarming story about forgiveness and love!
There is a glossary of Amish words at the end of the story to help with the words used in the story if a reader needs them. There are also discussions questions at the end and I think they would be great to answer for yourself or in a book club discussions!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Captured Attention From the Start!

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read several books by this wonderful author and each story holds something very precious and unique….A Simple Amish Christmas was also a wonderful experience for me. From the first page, this book caught my attention and I was eager to see what happened next. Annie is being sent to live with her aunt during the time of her rumschpringe. However, instead of being spontaneous and having crazy fun with the Englischers, she puts herself through medical training and becomes a nurse. She becomes desperately homesick and when attending her patients one Christmas season, she is called home by her parents to help her injured father.
From the moment Annie rushes to her father’s bedside, Samuel Yoder is amazed by the woman Annie has become. He is now a widower having lost his wife and daughter to a tragic accident, he is considered the community medical helper even though he is not an official doctor, and Annie’s father, Jacob, is a close friend of his. After accepting his lonely lifestyle thinking this is God’s will for him, he is surprised at how attracted he becomes to Annie and her feisty personality. Wouldn’t she be better off with a man with a clear past and closer to her age?
Samuel is such a great character and once he and Annie finally click they make such a great team together. He gets her; her heart, her fears, her humor, and her devotion to God, family, and their Amish neighbors. After his time of solitude, being with Annie and her close family brings life back to Samuel. That being said, I was annoyed with their initial encounter and couldn’t understand why Samuel is so insecure about Annie’s feelings. The chemistry and sparks between them are fun, the romance is sweet, and their connection is tangible. It’s noble how Samuel wants to do the right thing for himself and for Annie, but I wish he would’ve had more peace throughout the story.
One of my favorite scenes is when Annie is baptized into the Amish church, I felt how precious and symbolic it was of her faith. She fully commits to this act with her whole heart and there’s never a doubt that she belongs there.
The other scenes I utterly enjoyed are Annie with her family, her conversations with her mamm, and how she works with her neighbor patients. She is so in tune with her patients, she has a special touch with each of them regardless of the situation or background, and she brings professionalism and hope with each person.
Even though this book takes place during Christmas, it was a refreshing read and kept me cooled off during the summer heat. There are parts of the story left unanswered and I’m looking forward to the sequel to see what happens next :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jojo
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very enjoyable book. I'm not Amish so it gave me insight as to how the Amish view the non-Amish. I also learned about Amish customs. The love story was so sweet and very heart-warming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
mtfregia
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book. You could really get into the character and actually see yourself there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Debut!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vannetta Chapman did a great job on her debut novel A Simple Amish Christmas. It was so good I couldn't put it down and I do hope she writes a follow up book to let us know what happens to Annie Weaver and Samuel Yoder. Annie returns home from living in the English world for 3 years. She is coming home because of her sick Father. She had hopes of returning one day anyway. In the English world she went on with her schooling and became a RN. Will she be able to continue her work as a RN? Will she be baptized and join the church? Will she find love back in Mifflin County? You must read the book to find out. I wouldn't want to spoil it for you! I promise you, you will love this story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great example of Amish Fiction.

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"An Amish Christmas" is Vannetta Chapman's debut novel. What a way to start off!! I loved the depth of the characters and although the plot is simple, it is interesting and well developed. I found that there were little twists and turns that surprised me. Vannetta has researched the life of the Amish people in detail. She is precise in her details on their way of life and commitment to their faith. I felt the challenge that her main character , Annie was experiencing and the pull of the Englischer's world vs. the life of the Plain People. It is truly a heartwarming story, where all of the characters are so real, that they become your best friends. You hurt with them , laugh with them and rejoice in their success in meeting life's battles. It is a true example of great Amish fiction. Once you start reading this book, you will not be able to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it is amish and I love it,

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clean and just lovely to read. Every christian fiction that you published so far is excellent. Give food for thought too. Keep it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How will Annie fit back in as a RN?

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a copy of A Simple Amish Christmas in the Spring of 2012 as a contest winner from a giveaway. So I tucked it away to read when Christmas 2012 would be approaching. Usually, "Christmas" novels are in the shortened novella format with 200 pages or less. Vanetta Chapman has written a full-length novel that is not just about about Christmas but embraces leaving the Amish community, re-entering the community of Amish, and Christmas simplicity.
The story opens with Annie returning home from living amongst the Englichers for about four years where she resided with her aunt. Not a truly rebellious girl, just strong-willed and looking for something else. While out of the Amish community and fellowship, Annie continued her education and became a registered nurse - a real "thou shalt not do" within the confines of the Amish.
However, she returns home, keeps her educational pursuit and achievement a secret, but begins to minister in a healing capacity to those in their community.
Right away she butts heads with Samuel and that is a story that will entertain you as well as allow you to see the inner hearts and workings of the Amish as individuals.
Again, a good read from Vannetta Chapman and one I heartily recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iowamom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very easy to down load and I look forward to reading it soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nanny
Location:Cambridge, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy the Amish stories and I liked how this one came at it from a different angle with the main character going out into the world and then returning. It was quite good at being realistic on the different relationships and not having everyone live in a perfect world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Book reader
Location:Round Lake, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this e-book. Like a previous reader said you can read this book anytime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
This review is fromA Simple Amish Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was a great read

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
lilakaser
Location:Coshocton, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very good. It draws you in to the characters right away. It is titled" A Simple Amish Christmas" but you can read it anytime of the year. There is so much going on that you forget it is Christmastime. Excellent read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Demo version insufficient

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
jssmit
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not realize it was an incomplete copy. Had wanted to read it for some time, but discovered whole chapters were missing and couldn't follow the story enough to continue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Simple Amish Christmas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
cincin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was very good book. It kept you wanting to read more and more of the story. You did not want to put it done, fast reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>