Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Roman Catholic Controversy

Bethany House The Roman Catholic Controversy

Is the theological rift between evangelicals and Catholics closing? White looks at Catholic beliefs about papal authority, church tradition, purgatory, Mary, and more, and contrasts them with clear explanations of the authority of Scripture and justification by faith alone. Discover why although Catholics and evangelicals share some common ground, crucial differences remain. 288 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Review 1 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clear, Word-Centered, Informative

Date:September 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheri Cook
Location:Chicagoland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While trying to educate myself on the differences between the theology of the Roman Catholic Church and Protestants, this was one of the six books I ordered. White begins his book with a dialog between a man who has converted to Catholicism and his Protestant friend. The dialog held the nuggets of the issues, and pointed out the weaknesses in my own understanding. He then went on to thoroughly and scripturally explore those issues. I came out with a fuller understanding of the differences, including how divergent the definitions are, but also a renewed appreciation of the sufficiency of Jesus and supremacy of the Word. I will read it again, just for the worship!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ryan Sinclair
As a former Roman Catholic, I believe that James White covers the issues well in this book and clearly explains the glory and the riches of the true Gospel.Thank God that we are justified by faith, and not by works!This is a great book to read if you want to familiarize yourself with the teachings of Rome and where it believes its authority comes from.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
James T
One of the very best books I have come across on the critical differences between Roman Catholics and Protestants (and why they teach different Gospels). If you have ever wondered why Roman Catholic apologists will no longer debate Mr. White in public, you will find some of the answers here in this book. A must-read for those concerned with the theological bankruptcy of the Church of Rome.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ken Willig
Very well written. Obviously, White has debated Catholic theologians and learned their esoteric teachings. White has done significant research of Catholic doctrines that are very difficult to get a clear definition and understanding of how they came about. I doubt that even one in ten Catholics know their doctrine or its foundation. The bottom line is that evangelicals hold to sola sriptura and Catholics hold to sola Catholic Church magisterium. That makes it impossible to have a straight forward debate with a Catholic. This is very sad, very sad indeed. White shows how "tradition" trumps the Word of God, and the meaning of "tradition" is what Rome says it is. White is to be commended for articulating a fair and balanced presentation of the opposing theologies.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tom Klein
White provides additional insights, clarification and logical polemics compared to other books I have read on this subject.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2003
Customer Avatar
Nick
Excellent beyond all compare. I would compare White's book to that of Martin Luther's work "The Bondage of the Will" in which he soundly and cogently responded to the Roman Catholic humanist Desiderus Erasmus. White does a grand service to the True church that was built upon the ROCK (Yahweh) and not on fallible human hands. Let's not forget that Salvation is by Grace alone, through Faith alone, in Christ alone, according to the Bible alone!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2003
Customer Avatar
Patrick Joseph Fetter
Mr. White barely scratches the surface of Catholic teaching, and either completely ignores the scriptural bases for Church doctrine, or offers sophist arguments and explanations. This book is useful only for those seeking current examples of the errors the Church has fought for two millenia, but is severely lacking and misleading for those interested in the truth about the Church our Lord founded on the Rock.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2002
Customer Avatar
Cliff Rosenberg
This is an excellent resource to anyone who is struggling to find out whether or not to be Protestant or Catholic. James White sites every source for his analysis and comparison. He clearly and plainly teaches and shows exactly what the difference is between Catholic teaching and Protestant teaching. He goes over most major parts of the Catholic teaching such as the "Roman Catholic Church infallible authority," "the Papacy (popes)," "the mass," and the oh so popular "purgatory" doctrine. He clearly shows you why it is not only reasonable and logical to believe in Scripture alone instead of Scripture and Roman Catholic Church "tradition" but also shows why it is absolutely necessary to believe that the Bible is the highest authority on earth, not the Church. He explains very clearly that we are saved by "Jesus" alone and that through "Faith" alone. After reading this book i believe you will have a very cleary and understandable view of the Catholic Church and Protestants.James R. White is an avid Protestant apologist who specifically debates Catholics in public forums. He has done his homework and studied extesively. I believe that you will see that the Protestant view is the correct one and that the Catholic Church has somewhere lost it's way through all the "traditions" they have come up with. kind of reminds us of the rebuke that Jesus gave the Pharisees for breaking God's commandments by keeping their traditions. After reading this book you will understand why the Protestant Reformation needed to proclaim all of the "Sola's".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2002
Customer Avatar
James T.
This book is a complete misrepresentation of Catholicism and does not adequately understand the Catholic faith. There are errors in all kinds of thinking, shaddy logic, and a very shallow understanding of what the Catholic Church actually teaches. I would not recommend it for anyone considering the Catholic Faith, as it will simply confuse many of the issues involved.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2001
Customer Avatar
Jaime
Scripturally-based, and goes to the heart of the matter about what Roman Catholicism really proclaims.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Roman Catholic Controversy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2000
Customer Avatar
Mary Beth Moore
For anyone who would like to seriously and fairly examine Catholicism, this is the book for you! White manages to examine Catholic traditions by holding them up to the light of Scripture--without being rude, sarcastic, or demeaning [to Catholics]. This book really helped me when I was trying to discover whether Catholicism was where God wanted me to be. It is logical, straightforward, and systematic, and, like I said, fair and gently presented.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.