Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Touch - eBook

Tyndale House The Touch - eBook

Surgeon Andrew Jones is blessed with a rare, God-given ability to heal people. But after failing to save his fiancee, he shuns his gift. When Lara Blair pursues Andrew's skill to test a cutting-edge surgical tool, will their close friendship help Andrew discover the healing secret that his former love left behind?
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Touch - eBook
Review 1 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Touch takes a different path

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cheri Cowell
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think it was the fact that this this is the author of Braveheart which made me approach this book the wrong way. I expected a compelling, fast-paced story from the get-go. It took me while to realize this was a different story. Once I decided to let this story stand alone and allowed it to lead me gently through the storyline it was telling, I was captivated. I love Appalachia and the setting of this expert high-tech doctor in this back-woods poor country was intriguing and a great way to develop the tension. I didn't get the twist and won't give that jewel away in this review. Safe it to say, this is a story worth reading. But read it for the story it is...a story with a pace and message all its own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Touch by Randall Wallace. What a great book. This book is about a surgeon who has wonderful God given talent but is dealing with the loss of his fiance. It also is about a woman at the forefront of medical research. How their lives intersect and what unfolds is wonderful. Sometimes this book moves a little slowly but the author paints the scenery of Applachia beautifully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Touch

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doctor Andrew loses a loved one and refuses to do surgery again. Lara owns a research company that is developing a surgical tool and needs a surgeon to test the tool. When she hears about Andrew's surgical skill, she wants to work with him at her company, but he refuses.
I thought this book was interesting. Medical research has come quite far in recent years, and this book shows how one tool can help save lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A lovely short story

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Touch by Randall Wallace
I really enjoyed the book more than I thought I would. Throughout the novel it was hard to actually get inside the head of Andrew Jones (or Jones, as his colleagues call him) Faith Thomas or Lara (Laura without the u) Blair. So why did I like it in spite of that fact? Or why did I not really connect with them? All three of these characters were wrapped up in their professions as doctors, Lara being a researcher. They were well developed, but I seemed to miss that part that brought them into my life for me.
The story line was well written, and flowed rather like a river, but I am thinking that it could have had more depth, and the suspense could have been more developed. Actually, on second thought, perhaps it just was that it is a short story, easily read in an afternoon. As that, it was clearly a great little book.
Having said that, I am not criticizing the author or the editors...and the surprises were there. Randall clearly shows “The Touch” from the time Jones and Faith see the painting by Michelangelo in the Sistine Chapel until the end of the novel. It is understood that The Touch is the touch of God's hand to man's hand, as the artist portrayed it. Both Jones and Lara grow from being rather reclusive and selfish to learning more about God's great love and plan for them.
I will definitely be telling others about Randall Wallace and The Touch, and will be looking for more novels by him.
The opinions stated in this review are my own, and this is an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Entertaining, Not Inspiring

Date:July 11, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dr. Andrew Jones has incredibly skilled hands, able to surgically operate on the most inaccessible areas of the human brain. After traumatically losing his fiancee in a car accident, he finds himself unable to perform any sort of surgery and relegates himself to teaching other young doctors.
Dr. Lara Blair is the heir to a Biomedical Research company. Extremely driven, intelligent, and skilled, her life revolves around the research she is doing and the donations she gives through the company's foundation. Dr. Blair discovers that Dr. Jones has a skill for brain surgery beyond what she is capable of, and decides to convince him to participate in her life saving research.
I carelessly picked up and finished this book before bothering to read the inside cover flaps. My initial impression that this book would make a great movie was entirely validated when I discovered that this is by the same author who wrote the script and novelization of the Mel Gibson film Braveheart. This book has nothing to do with that film, but the polished character descriptions, well rounded plot lines, story pacing, and portions of the narrative denote a writer with a lot of practice pleasing people. It is a nearly flawless presentation.
The flaws begin to surface when examined from a spiritual perspective. The statement repeated throughout the book "All we need to know is that God exists and He loves us" does not exactly ring true. What about our sinful condition and our need for the salvation which can only be found at the cross? Also, a scene depicting the removal of a brain dead patient from life support seemed inappropriately handled. Many Christians have convictions regarding this subject, and the way the author added it to the story without having the incidence either further plot line or character development made it seem as though he seized a quiet opportunity to promote his own opinions without giving the reader any of the supporting arguments. In the end - despite scenes in churches, praying, offering anonymous acts of love - the book felt like a 'clean' read with some Christian flavor thrown in.
Finally, this book feels slightly rushed. The reader is often jumped from scene to scene without any time to let the emotional impact of what is happening unfold. The writer employs some literary techniques such as naming the fiancee Faith (Dr. Jones' faith has died) and having Dr. Blair leave her large office building to do free medical work in the Virginia countryside (coming down from an 'ivory tower') but doesn't allow them to color the story. Jones has a lot of faith in other people, and often portrays something approaching hope for others as well. Blair finds fulfillment, not a fundamental change, in dealing with the real world. By making the emotions motivating the characters already present instead of allowing them to wax and wane, the author sacrifices some reader buy-in for clarity. And by failing to allow his own metaphors and plot devices to spin out with the rhythm the story seemed to have established, he sacrifices possible depth to maintain novella length.
The ultimate messages that pain and suffering can be healed with love, and that life has purpose and meaning resonate deeply with me. Unfortunately, I don't feel this book dealt with them on a deep enough level to leave any sort of lasting impression beyond that of a pleasant, well written read on your evening in.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Heals

Date:July 2, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
now these 3 remain Faith Hope Love and the greatest is Love. LOVE HEALS. This book blessed my soul. an awesome read-
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An Okay Book

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Touch by Randal Wallace was a touching story. (Sorry, I couldn’t help myself) It kept me entertained but it was kind of touch and go. (Again, sorry but it was just too tempting) I don’t know if I’d read it again but I don’t regret picking it up. There was one thing throughout the book that I found troubling. It was the statement “There are only two things anyone must know: there is a God, and that God loves us. That is all we need to know.” I think we need to know more than that. But other than needing to add a touch (I’m having too much fun) more to this area of thought, all in all it was an okay book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully woven story of faith, hope and love

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the time, but I've never come across a book like this before. When I first came across this novella and saw that it was *just* a small book, I figured it wouldn't be that great of a book, because don't you need a lot of space and words to create your characters and build up the story?
But I was wrong. Although this book is extremely succinct and to the point, its not lacking in heart, plot or character development; in fact, far from it. I honestly don't want to say too much about the plot or storyline of this book, as I don't want to spoil any of the surprises and twists and turns. However, I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book and did not want to put it down, although I had to a few times just to process what had just transpired.
If you want to have your heartstrings tugged, catch a glimpse of hope in this gloom and doom world, or just want to escape for a few hours, you will love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janette
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will make you think about what you are giving to others - not what you will get.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
barb
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good book is hard to find and keep your with the story line this is a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grace Katen
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so good that I completed it in one evening.
Such a heart-warming story of two people trying to help each other. There was no filthy language involved. A happy ending was had by all. Please read this book. You will not be disappointed, even if you are in the medical field (which I am)!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Touch - eBook
This review is fromThe Touch.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Love Story from a Master Storyteller

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Martha Fry
Location:McDonough, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Randall Wallace pens a romantic novella that at first glance seems to be a giant leap from the epic historical tales we would expect from the screenwriter and director who gave us Braveheart, Pearl Harbor, We Were Soldiers, The Man in the Iron Mask, and Secretariat. But Wallace is a masterful storyteller, and, in that, The Touch is no exception. He has created deeply flawed, yet redeemable, characters that I found intimately familiar, at times almost painfully familiar. The plot resists a formulaic structure. The twists and turns proved both surprising and satisfying. A fun read with a poignant message.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.