Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook

Crossway Books & Bibles Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook

Although temptation is a common and well-acknowledged part of the human experience, few realize the truth behind temptation and fewer still know how to defeat it. Tempted and Tried will not reassure Christians by claiming that temptation is less powerful or less prevalent than it is; instead, it will prepare believers for battle by telling the truth about the cosmic war that is raging.

Moore shows that the temptation of every Christian is part of a broader conspiracy against God, a conspiracy that confronts everyone who shares the flesh of Jesus through human birth and especially confronts those who share the Spirit of Christ through the new birth of redemption.

Moore walks readers through the Devil's ancient strategies for temptation revealed in Jesus' wilderness testing. Moore considers how those strategies might appear in a contemporary context and points readers to a way of escape. Tempted and Tried will remind Christians that temptation must be understood in terms of warfare, encouraging them with the truth that victory has already been secured through the triumph of Christ.Endorsements
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook
Review 1 for Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josh
Location:Hastings, NE
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Russell Moore is a insightful and engaging writer. Though this book deals with deep theological truths, it is also a pleasure to read because the writer is a gifted wordsmith.
Some parts are challenging because Moore confronts us with the shortcomings in our own attitudes and in our own culture. But I appreciated his straightforwardness and willingness to think outside the box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Garry
Location:Brandenburg, KY.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All the products are excellent. I am most impressed with the shipping time.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heady, practical & Scripture-Saturated

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave Jenkins
Location:Caldwell, Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tempted and Tried: temptation and the Triumph of Christ is written by Dr. Russell D. Moore the Dean of the School of Theology and senior vice president for academic administration at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, Kentucky. He also serves as the preaching pastor at Highview Baptist Church. In Tempted and Tried Dr. Moore has written a heady, practical, Scripture-saturated and Gospel-centered book on the why the believer is tempted and how he/she is to overcome temptation. Rather than get into all the specifics of what the book is about, I would like to share a few things on how this book has impacted me.
Dr. Moore teaches that temptation deals with a question of one's identity. Many believers struggle with their identity in Christ for a variety of reasons whether because they were raised in a dysfunctional home or because they are addicted to pornography. Throughout the book, Dr. Moore challenges his readers to understand their identity in Christ by understanding who Christ is and what He has done. This book has helped me to better understand my identity in Christ and the assault that my identity in Him is under.
On page 171 Dr. Moore explains that one of the first ways you can tell you are moving beyond temptation into a pattern of sin is if you find yourself in a time of prayerlessness. He rightly identifies this as a gospel issue. Knowing the right things about God, the Bible, and Jesus is all well and good but they ought to lead to action. One of the ways our convictions are revealed is in how the believer fights against temptation when it arises. In the past several years this fighting against temptation and specifically apathy is where I have grown the most in my walk with God. In growing in these areas, I have learned to recognize my identity as rooted in the finished work of Christ and in the importance of prayerfulness.
Tempted and Tried by Dr. Moore is a book that every Christian should read in order to better understand why one is tempted and how to deal with temptation. Reading this book will challenge you and at times confront misconceptions you may have about temptation. I encourage you to allow the work of the Word of God by the Spirit of God to the glory of God to do its work in you as you read this book, so that through you God may bring forth much fruit for His name and fame. Reading this book will help you grow in the Gospel and in turn help you to be a fruitful Gospel Christian.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Crossway book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book I have read on Temptation

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Reformed Reader
Location:Louisville
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review
Moore’s Tempted and Tried takes the reader through key moments of temptation throughout scripture. Beginning with Eve in the garden, Moore shows how the serpent challenged her thinking of who she was, attacked her natural born desires, and finally caused her to question God’s word/ His faithfulness. Moore compares the Christian temptation to an animal slaughterhouse which prepares its meat for the slaughter. The meat is prepared and then in a moments time terminates its predator. We, like the cows, in this situation are fattened up by Satan and blinded to the future results of our sins. Moore then takes the reader through the temptations of Christ and shows how Christ was tempted in every way that he may conquer the tempter and sympathize with our weakness. Moore shows how singing “Free Falling” on an airplane now teaches us a story of reckless abandonment. Satan tempts Christ by challenging him to question the sovereignty of God. If Jesus truly was the messiah then if he jumped from the temple God would surely save him. Satan calls Jesus to question the faithfulness of God. Jesus responds not by putting God to the test but by modeling what it looks like to put confidence in God’s goodness and his word. Moore then resolves the chapter by explaining his “Free Falling” illustration, calling the reader to fearlessly walk up to the edge and sing without fear as those who have been rescued from their own securities. Next, Moore shows us in Jesus’ final temptation, Satan offered Jesus the reign of the entire earth here and now. Jesus was faithful even in the midst of this temptation, because he knew that it was better to be patient until the end, when he himself would be exalted in heaven and earth. Satan likewise offers us the kingdom of this world in exchange for God’s future kingdom. If we choose the here and now, we lose heaven. As my pastor often says, “If we choose heaven, then we get earth thrown in for free.”We must crucify our own kingdom building, if we desire to win the battle with temptation. In the end, we must decide whether we will be magnified of crucified. The wilderness is scary, because it is unknown to us what exactly is out there. The wilderness is a lot less fearful when we know exactly what we have to face. Success with temptation begins by knowing how we are tempted and preparing ourselves for it. Temptation cannot be defeated by mere moralism, we must fight through the Spirit. Second, fighting temptation is accomplished through reminding ourselves and thinking upon the gospel. Moore correctly demonstrates how the gospel is not just the starting point of salvation, but it is also the very thing that sustains the life of the believer after his conversion. Next, Moore points out that conquering temptation occurs through trusting in God’s word and believing upon His promises. Moore concludes the book by calling the reader to pray to the one who has defeated sin and conquered the tempter. Remember that the Spirit is working through us to defeat the tempter. We are not doing this by our will alone or we would be quickly defeated.
Reflections
I have to say that I am in love with Dr. Moore’s writing style. Even if you don’t buy the book because of its great material, buy it just to learn/mimic his unique and wonderful writing style. Moore begins every chapter with a personal unique story that unavoidably sticks with you. Moore then makes a partial transition to the main point of each chapter. After transitioning from his opening stories you slowly forget about the opening stories and begin to focus upon the theme of the chapter. Generally at the end, but sometimes in the middle of the story Moore brings back up the opening illustration and ties all the points together forming a beautiful picture and bringing clarity to everything that he has been talking about the entire time. Reading Dr. Moore is like watching a good M. Knight Shyamalan movie. Throughout the movie you are enjoying the plot and then at the end he throws a curveball into the picture and causes you to re-evaluate everything that has already been said. With all that being said, I must re-iterate I am in love with Dr. Moore’s writing style. There are not many reformed writers who are good with narrative. Dr. Moore is one of a few elite that have mastered it. Next, I think Moore does a great job of keeping the gospel at the center of fighting temptation. Too often writers will turn fighting temptation into a hopeless moralism, divorced from the gospel. Next, I think Moore does a great job showing how fighting temptation is not an individual issue, but something that is done within the confines of the local church. Temptation cannot be defeated in isolation or divorced from a local church body. Finally, Moore correctly points out that fighting temptation is done through Spirit and is a work of the Spirit. I would highly encourage everyone to read this book. I think the book is one of the best, if not the best book I have read on fighting temptation. The book is a very down to earth read/easy read, but still would be extremely challenging even for the scholar.
~The Reformed Reader~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deeply theological and wonderfully practical

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Dan
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Russell Moore provides us with an excellent thesis on the Temptation of Christ” and all of the nuances of the temptations as well as that of Christ response. Along with this Moore does a wonderful job of addressing how we today are faced with temptations and how subtle Satan is in how he approaches us and dangles the temptations in front of us.
At first I thought how can Moore take a small section of scripture from Matthew 4 and write a 200 page book on the subject? In all honesty if you were one of the men at Promise Keepers in Boulder, CO when Rev. E.V. Hill taught this section of scripture you will remember that he only spoke for 10 minutes (he usually preaches over an hour). His main point, “When Satan comes at you with temptations just HIT HIM with the Word of God.” He then said, “do you understand that, just HIT HIM!”
The 50,000 men in the stadium started chanting, hit him, hit him, hit him. E.V. knew that he had made his point so he packed up his papers and walked off the podium. The men started chanting it even louder. As E.V. got to the tunnel to exit the stadium and got out of sight the chanting started to die down, so he turned around stepped back out and just thrust his Bible in the air and the chanting started again and lasted for 10 more minutes.
So, if we can get the point in just 10 minutes why write a book of 200 pages? Well the answer is that there is even more to this section of scripture and more deep theological truth that we can garner for a good exegesis of the passage. Moore gives us very practical examples of how we are affected today by temptation and what we need to learn.
One example is on page 86 in response to the first temptation about consuming food. Moore states, “The first temptation is not just about consuming food, it is about consuming, period. It is about our quest for economic security, our appetite for stuff.” Does that ring the truth bell for you? It did for me. We in America are obsessed it seems like to have all the newest gadgets and every material item that will ‘make our lives easier.’ Why does it not surprise us that the storage unit business is one of the fastest growing businesses in our country.
Moore goes on to say on page 87, “It is hardly legalism to ask such questions as, how much of this do we need? And how much are we giving away? And so on.”
He further states, “Self-control is, in this fallen world, counterintuitive and countercultural.” So, have you fallen to the temptation of Satan to obtain all that you can?
One more area of example. In regards to the temptation to throw himself off the pinnacle of the temple and allow the Angels to rescue him, Jesus says no. Moore points out that when it comes to vindicating ourselves regarding our faith in God’s protection or provision or position we do not need to be the ones striving to vindicate ourselves. We need to let God do the vindication for us. Moore states on page 116, “Public vindication is a critical part of God’s deliverance of his people. God doesn’t simply set a table for me, the Scripture says, he sets this table ‘in the presence of my enemies’ (Ps. 23:5)”
So, how is your faith? Do you allow God to vindicate you rather than fall victim to the temptations of Satan?
Well, I could go on and on but then you probably would stop reading.
So, stop reading this review and instead “click” on the “purchase this book” button and get a copy for yourself and enjoy it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Are you tempted? Be honest and say 'YES'

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ricky Kirk
Location:South Point, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let's be honest. You are being tempted to do something you know you shouldn't do. Don't lie. I know you are! How do I know this? Because I battle temptation myself. It is something every person faces. For the believer, it is something we all deal with, but rarely talk about, and never admit!
In Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ Dr. Russell Moore explores the intricacies of temptation in the believer's life. Realizing temptation is something every person has in their life, Moore focus' attention on Jesus' temptation and provides the reader with solid biblical truths to honestly address them.
Focusing on the believer's identity in Christ, Moore honestly shares how vulnerable we can be and ways in which the adversary works. Too often temptation is an 'undiscussed' topic among believers and this book not only explores temptation, it also enables the believer to better overcome temptation.
This is not simply a 'how-to' manual where you check off a few things from a list or quote a few scriptures to make everything better. This book lays open the reality of temptation and makes a straight line for the cross of Jesus, focusing on His completed work on the cross and His triumph over temptation and sin.
In this life we will continue to struggle with temptation (and sin). Growing in Christ likeness, staying grounded in God's word and having a consistent prayer life enable us to be better equipped to deal with temptation. I would recommend this book as a great tool alongside the previous patterns of growing in Christ likeness. There are not many books that deal effectively with this topic and since it is not a common dinner table subject Tempted and Tried fills a needed void and deserves a wide readership.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Booksneeze.com as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Moore ammo for the battle against sin!

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Granto25
Location:Northern Ireland
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“It starts like this, doesn’t it? It starts as a series of innocent departures, gradually leading to something more and something more.” This is the assertion Russell D Moore makes in the opening pages of his latest offering, Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ.
Sin by its very nature is subtle and deceptive. It creeps into our lives and often catches us unawares. Sometimes, before we know it, we have reached a point of habitually sinning without actually realising the treacherous ground upon which we are at that time treading. In fact, as I write this review I am currently being tempted by a sultry Gwyneth Paltrow who is dancing seductively in her recent appearance on hit TV show Glee (TV remote- press Off!) This just goes to show the ever-present nature of sin and temptation in 21st century living. We are bombarded on our TV screens, on our laptops, mobile phones and magazines. Sin and Temptation is everywhere. Sin is destructive....it destroys relationships, ruins lives and can leave us feeling trapped. Whatever hope do we have in this battle against sin and temptation?! How is it possible to defeat this prowling lion that never leaves our side....how do we finally bury the rotten corpse of our old sinful nature that clings to us like a parasite, often sucking the joy out of our Christian lives?! In Tempted and Tried Dr. Moore has written a practical, Scripture-saturated, Gospel-centred and easily accessible book on why Christians are tempted and how they are to overcome temptation.
Moore, Dean of the School of Theology at the Southern Baptist Seminary, reminds us that we “will be tempted exactly as Jesus was, because Jesus was being tempted exactly as we are”. Herein lies one of the main reasons we face temptation- we face temptation as Christ faced temptation and Christ faced temptation just as we face it. Whilst we fail daily, we must draw strength for the battle by remembering that Christ never succumbed to Satan’s slithering advances. Moore also asserts that the battle against sin is one of remembering our true identity. As Christians our true identity is in Christ and God is our Father....when we sin we forget/attempt to push these unshakeable facts to the side for that fleeting moment of pleasure or lapse in character.
Sin is a battle, of that there is no doubt. I heartily recommend this book as it will help you in your battle against sin and temptation. However, it will also fill you with hope as its pages are gospel saturated. Yes, you will be challenged and squirm in your seat as you read, due to the fact Moore doesn’t hold back any punches, but you will also be comforted and strengthened to take up arms and put to death the sins you struggle with. It’s no surprise that the book has received all but one 5-star review on Amazon...do yourself a favour, buy this book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Crossway book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tempted and Tried: Temptation and the Triumph of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Moore’s writing style is one that connects the reader to the truth of scripture well. That is quite evident in this book. In Tempted And Tried he uses the wilderness temptations of Christ to show how to overcome temptation through God. In doing so he adds several personal stories that allow the reader to relate even more. Overall this books is great and I recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.