Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Forsaking All Others - eBook

Tyndale House Forsaking All Others - eBook

Camilla Fox has been taken in by the 5th Infantry Regiment of the US Army and given over to the personal care of Captain Charles Brandon. The last thing she remembers is being lost in the snow after leaving her home to escape the Mormon faith she no longer calls her own. As she regains her strength, memories of her two children she had to leave behind come flooding back, threatening to break her heart. Camilla is determined to reunite with her daughters. But when news of her father's grave illness reaches her, she knows she must return to the family farm to reconcile with her father. As spring arrives, Camilla returns to Salt Lake City a changed woman, but nothing could prepare her for the changes to the city, to the Mormon Church, and to the family she left behind.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 out of 2893%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Review 1 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book.

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Before reading this book be sure to read 'For Time and Eternity' the first book in this series. After finishing the first book I immediately purchased 'Forsaking All Others' because I was so caught up in the story and had to know what happened next. It's a great story of standing firm in the truth of the gospel. There were parts of this story that I found somewhat disappointing and questionable but overall it was a great book and it certainly gives us a better understanding of what Mormons believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Topic very well done

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Candace Betts
Location:Bolivar, Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is a difficult topic: Mormonism. Most of us don't really understand it. Now I understand it better thanks to this book. I was concerned about putting it in our church library before I read it. Now I know it will help others understand this religion. The book reveals how a woman feels in a marriage with other wives and how their teachings deviates from Evangelical Christianity. The main character is so real, that it is hard to put the book down and I wish there was a third book! It explains many problems of how to get along with other wives and the emotions of dealing with it, particularly if you are the first wife.
This is a book everyone should read to understand Mormonism better and it's pitfalls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tastefully Written and Emotionally Transparent

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Having firmly ensconced herself among some of the best authors in Christian historical fiction, Allison Pittman has penned another winner that fans of American and religious history will certainly appreciate. Immediately picking up where she last left her readers, Forsaking All Others concludes the story of Camilla Deardon Fox and her freedom from the early Mormon church.
Knowing that she must leave the falsehoods of the Mormon faith and return to the Christian teachings of her childhood, Camilla flees her husband and two young daughters as the US is on the brink of war with Utah and the Mormon church. Intending to seek refuge with her sister-in-law, she is stranded in the cold and faces the dangers of frostbite. Thanks to a compassionate Army officer, Camilla gains a safe haven to plot her next move and recover. After several convincing arguments, she persuades Colonel Brandon to take her to Salt Lake City so she may beg housing from her relatives. After having the door slam in her face, she resigns herself to staying with the one woman that won't turn her away--Sister Evangeline. This charity does not come without a price, however, and betrayal becomes the next foe she must face.
With a contrast so stark you could touch it, Allison Pittman has masterfully created a character in this novel that has grown from her impetuous youth into a woman of considerable grace and strength. With the entire story told in first-person point of view, Camilla's thoughts and emotions were completely transparent, and as a reader, I could identify with her longings to give herself completely over to God and His plan for her life. Compared to the previous novel, For Time and Eternity, Forsaking All Others was less about the strange teachings of the early Mormon church, and more about the journey Camilla took both spiritually and physically. There were times when I wanted to weep for the heartache that Camilla was experiencing, and alternately, I wanted to rejoice in the hope that her future was going to be better than her past.
While probably a strange backdrop for some fans of Christian fiction, The Sister Wife Series shares something that is indeed a part of early American history. Sadly, many were deceived by it's teachings and the enthusiasm of it's members. I applaud Allison for tastefully creating a fascinating story that I will not soon forget. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Page-turner and historically accurate

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Forsaking All Others, Book 2 of the “Sister Wife Series, Allison Pittman weaves a heart-wrenching drama of a young woman named Camilla, who escaped her home when her Mormon husband took a second wife. She realizes she can no longer call the Mormon faith her own. She is rescued from a near-fatal snowstorm by Col. Charles Brandon of the U.S. Army. Her heart pines for the two children she left behind, and she prays for a way to be reunited with them again. This historical novel is an exciting page-turner. You won't be able to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wilkie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is hard to put down. I did not realize until the end that is was the second in a series. It still was good all on its own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of my new favorite book

Date:July 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
cllane2
Location:New York
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is definitely a book that should be read after reading the first book in the series, For Time and Eternity, as this book picks up right where the first book ends. In this second book, Camilla Fox is rescued from the near fatal snow storm after having left the Mormon faith desiring to return to her parents home. In the care of Colonel Charles Brandon, Fox must first recover after the snow storm before trying to make her way to her childhood home. Camilla desperately desires to have a home of her own in which she can care for her two girls. But before they can be with her, she will have to return to Salt Lake City to fight for them.
I read both book one and two within 3 days. Once I started book one, I didn't want to stop. Sadly, when I did finish book one, I didn't have book two with me, so I had to wait a few agonizing hours before being able to start the next book. These books make me feel sorry for those who get caught up in the lies of Mormonism and feel they have no way out, once they see the truth. Camilla found love from Nathan, but when her parents objected to the relationship, she felt it was simply because he was a Mormon. Camilla didn't understand what her parents saw, and they weren't able to articulate it to her. If that were different, Camilla might have made a different choice.
I give this book 5 stars. I loved it! I can't wait to read what Allison Pittman writes next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Thank You, But I'll Pass

Date:July 16, 2012
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a sequel to the first novel in the Sister Wives Duology "For Time & Eternity". The plot revolves around Camilla, who left her family to marry Nathan - a member of the Mormon church. Camilla and Nathan are very much in love, until the day Camilla realizes that she does not believe everything the Mormon church espouses, and her husband brings home a second 'sister' wife. Unable to continue with the false teachings, Camilla leaves her home and two daughters in the middle of a snow storm; which is where this novel begins.
Rescued from freezing to death by the US Army, Camilla finds herself literally swept out of the cold and into the arms of a handsome, Christian, conveniently widowed army Captain. Camilla spends a good portion of the beginning of the book healing from her snowstorm ordeal, and the rest of the book vacillating between fear that the passion she experienced with her husband, Nathan, will bring her back to the Mormon chuch and the desire to save her children from the heretical teachings Brigham Young is imposing on the would-be state of Utah and a future with the army captain.
I did not have the opportunity to read the first book in the series, and I'm hoping that the foundation laid out in that novel provided the substance needed to carry a reader through the terribly lacking sequel.
The writing style swings between flat prose and a syrupy romantic style which utterly failed to interest or intrigue me. The plot is laid out fairly clearly from the first several chapters, and does not have the stamina to engage a reader for the next three-hundred and fifty pages. The mormon aspect, which I assume was meant to simultaneously educate and entertain, ended up as an uncomfortable series of descriptions inserted into an otherwise prosaic love triangle. Also, highly conservative Christians may take issue with the plot point of a divorced woman remarrying while her first husband is still alive.
The pluses I can mention include the emphatic statements in the text of the novel that the Latter Day Saints are not Christians because they do not follow Christ, and the recurring theme that God will love and forgive us no matter where we've been or what we've done.
Nonetheless, this book just didn't work for me. Maybe because I didn't read the first book, or it could be just because this book doesn't work. Period.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

i was hooked.

Date:June 29, 2012
this was the first time reading from the author.I did not expect to care much for the story since it is dated in history but i was engrossed from page one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent sequel in this great series!

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristen Willis
Location:Bay Area, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the sequel to "For Time & Eternity", continuing the story of Camilla Fox. A young girl desperate for love from the father who doesn't understand her, she is drawn to Nathan Fox and marries him almost immediately. Set in the early days of Mormonism, they are madly in love and soon have two little girls but when tragedy strikes and their third child, a boy, dies, things begin to unravel. Her husband brings a second woman to their marriage, a "sister wife", and Camilla truly cannot live with it. She literally escapes and "Forsaking All Others" begins with her rescue from a snowstorm, by the United States Army.
In "Forsaking All Others", we follow Camilla as she tries to reconcile her deepened faith and relationship with God to surviving the separation from her children and husband. One of the main takeaways I got from this book is that God had to be most important to her, and at times her sole source of courage and strength. I thought she was inspiring.
This book is beautifully written and all of the historical aspects, the rules, the faith ring so true. At the end of the book Allison shares that her husband is a former Mormon, which I thought was so interesting to have the perspective while writing this amazing book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sister Wife- Part 2

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the previous book in the Sister Wife series (For Time and Eternity), I was eager to read this book and find out what happened to Camilla Fox. By the end of the first book, she had left her husband, her daughters and the Mormon faith. Having been threatened by the Mormon leaders, she rode her horse into a snowstorm. And then what happened? I had several questions when I picked up this book. Would Camilla see her husband and children again? Would she have to return to the Mormons? Thankfully, my questions were answered and the book was an excellent read that kept me guessing until the end. I would have like to see another chapter or epilogue about what happened later, but overall, this was a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved It!!!!!!!

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Forsaking All Others is the sequel and conclusion to For Time and Eternity and I both books are amazing to read. This book being a sequel I highly recommend reading the first one before it as this one picks up right where the first left off. In all reality they could be one book. It would be very confusing to try to read this book by itself.
Camilla Fox who had just left home in the first book was caught in a snowstorm, the good news is that she is alive and currently with the US Army under Colonel Charles Brandon. After many months of healing from the affects of being in the snowstorm the Colonel helps her return to Salt Lake City to see her children she left behind while waiting for spring to be able back to her parents home in Missouri.
While back in Utah, things are harder then she was expecting but eventually finds a way to escape and head to Missouri, again with the help of the Colonel. Finally back home she builds her strength and her case to legally divorce Nathan and claim her children. Will Camilla find the freedom she needs? Will she be able to bring her children home and raise them in her faith, not the Mormom faith?
I loved this book, as well as the first, and found myself not wanting to put the books down. They are such a great story of standing for your faith and not backing down. I would recommend this book to everyone. Defiantly a 5 star book, if not higher!
I received this book from Tyndale through the Tyndale Blog Network
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read from cover to cover.

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
hulamonkey30
Location:Ottawa, ON Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Forsaking All Others is the second book in the Sister Wives series by author Allison Pittman. The book continues the story of Camilla Fox and her escape from the Mormon faith in the late 1800s. She is found and aided in her journey to reconcile with her parents and eventually regain custody of the children she left behind with her polygamist husband Nathan, by army Captain Charles Brandon. Her journey is fraught with peril as she is perceived as a threat by the elders of the Mormon church, but her faith and trust in Jesus sees her through.
Once again Allison Pittman has written a masterfully moving and intriguing book. We are brought along a journey of faith and peril that leaves you turning the pages wanting more. Camilla's escape from the Mormon church and polygamist husband is heartbreaking as she is forced to leave her children behind. Pittmann's research into the historical aspects of Mormonism and their effects is powerful and insightful. About the only thing I found disappointing was that it was the end. I hope she goes on to write another book.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for the purposes of reviewing it by Tyndale Publishing House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope there is a sequel. Great story.

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
mermaid 46
Location:MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading her first book, had to read the next. The author leaves you in suspense and wanting to see what happens to Camilla and her family. Wonderful insight on the Mormons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very intriguing and a definite page turner!

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kameki Wells
Location:Palm Bay, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I read the 1st book I loved it and I couldn't wait to read the second book. Book 2 was wonderful! I couldn't put it down, but I do agree with the previous reviewers that for book 2 being the end of the series, I was also a little disappointed with the ending. I wanted to know more of how Camilla faired with raising her daughters with her mother and I have to know what will happen with the Colonel. That seemed very promising! This story just can't end with book 2. Please Allison, write book 3!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Excellent writing and content..until the end!

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have enjoyed both of the books in this series, however, considering there is no #3 in the series, I am disappointed in the ending.
Writing was exceptional, very informational, and certainly stirred the emotions but I felt I was left a little bit hanging at the end and wanting more! Feel like there has to be so much more in this woman's life and that of her family.
Did not get a sense of finality or closure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a big fan of Allison Pittman, but the sequel to The Sister Wives series was disappointing. The first third of the book dealt primarily with travel out of Utah. While the issue of polygamy is an explosive one, there was something lacking in the story line. It seemed that after all the lies that were spread by leadership in the Mormon church, Camilla walked away unscathed, without her former husband having put up a fight for his two children. The ending was like a slow leak. I was left wondering if there was another book to follow, or this was the last of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon Maness
Location:Pendleton, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could hardly put these 2 books down, hope they will have a book 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating Story!

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forsaking All Others is the second book in The Sister Wife Series by Allison Pittman. I did not realize it was part of a series until I had it in my hands, and was worried it would be hard to jump into not having read the first book. It turned out to be very easy to read separately. The story: Camilla Fox is a married mother with two children living in Utah in the 1800s with her husband Nathan. When Nathan obeys their religious leaders and takes another wife, Camilla flees their home, leaving him and their daughters. She desperately wants her husband to leave his new wife, but if he won't she dreams of starting a new life with her daughters at her parents home. A snowstorm nearly kills her, and she ends up in the care of the United States Army until the Spring.
Although this wasn't the type of book I usually read, I did enjoy it. The story was easy to get into, and the characters had depth. I would be interested in reading the first book in the series now. Personally I enjoyed the story line as I live in the Salt Lake City area of Utah, so it was fun hearing the referrences to where I live
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting subject

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mazy
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good series - I wish there were more coming!!
I really like Allison Pittman's "style" - very authentic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Forsaking All Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Series, wish it were longer

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
detweilermom
Location:Lancaster, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the first book in this series and have waited patiently for this book. I am glad that it finally here
Camilla is found by the military in the snowstorm that we left her in at the end of the first book. She forms a friendship with the forts commander a fellow Christian. She feels like she needs to go back to Salt Lake to see what her options are. I feel I would tell to much if I reveal much more but it is a heartwrenching decision and I admired her fortitude. I was a bit disappointed in the ending. I thought there was going to be more of a confrontation at the end and it kinda feel a little flat for me but I was mostly satisfied. I found it kind of interesting that the way people who left the church back then were more more or less treated very simiarly the same as the Mormon church treats plagiamists today.
A great series and I am sad that it was only two books long. Although this is the second in the series you do not hae to read the first book. But I highly recommend it.
I received this book as part of Tyndale House's blog review program and received a copy for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>