Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook

Multnomah Books Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Review 1 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book for men.

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
jer18ry
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was listening to a local Christian radio station where Mr. Patrick Morley was being interviewed about this book. I liked what I heard and ordered it. Better yet... I like what I have been reading. I recommend this book to every man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An important contribution to Biblical masculinity.

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
CP Letterman
Location:Auburn, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author of Man Alive is a smart guy. Dr. Morley graduated from Harvard, Oxford and completed a stint at Reformed Theological Seminary. Yet he is better known for the ministry he created, The Man in the Mirror, which strategically focuses on biblical masculinity.
He begins this book with one of his many inspiring stories, directing the reader to his thesis statement: Every man has seven primal, instinctive needs (each need is unpacked within a specific chapter). Morley believes that most men they lead “lukewarm, stagnant, often defeated lives”. Because these primal needs are neglected, men default into physical isolation and spiritual indifference. This book grandly proclaims that it will bring hope, healing and practical help for such a man.
I am pleased to state that Dr. Morley succeeds in his literary purpose. Each chapter is embedded with sagely advice and anecdotal offerings. In addition, each of the seven primal needs are addressed with levity and simplistic language. It is clear that the author is sensitive to his audience and seeks to walk with the reader, rather than bark instructions from the sideline.
An example of this is found in chapter four, Created for a Life of Purpose. Morley states that men have a primal need to “believe that my life has a purpose and that my life is not random”. To elucidate his point, the author draws from his experience as a successful businessman. Yet after the euphoria of success wore off, he was miserable. Broken and humbled, God graciously revealed his Big Holy Audacious Goal (BHAG, as Morley calls it): It is for My children to become My disciples. The integration of the big Story and Morley’s story is compelling with obvious implications for the reader.
Lastly, chapter two is worth the price of the book. Through anecdotes and focused orthopraxy, the author unpacks the profound truth ‘that you and I are wired by God with an instinct to be in authentic relationships’. In other words, isolation is bad and community is good. Excellent, practical stuff.
Criticism
I am little surprised at the way the author use of certain biblical texts. In chapter one, Morley endeavors to show the difference between a successful Christian and an unsuccessful Christian. He points the reader to The Parable of the Soils (Matthew 13) and states,
“Most men today would recognize themselves in the first three soils, where the seeds don’t grow. Yet they honestly want to be like the good soil…..What is keeping men’s lives hard, rocky, and choked with thorns when so many urgently want more and when God created us for more—much more?” (p.10)
The problem with Morley’s use of this passage is that the three seeds symbolize false or undetermined faith, not explicitly weak or stunted faith. In other words, Jesus doesn’t comment of spiritual position of the three seeds. Some will prove to have embraced self-deception, bearers of the bad fruit. To give no warning to the readers of their possible self-deception is an unfortunate omission.
But a more tragic example of this is Morley’s use of the Sadducees in Matthew 22 to buttress his point. He states,
“Jesus gave us an insight when He was speaking to a group of confused religious men. He said, “Your mistake is that you don’t know the Scriptures, and you don’t know the power of God. (Matthew 22:29). Do you see it? Jesus made a direct connection between knowing the Bible and leading a powerful life.” (p.11)
Now I strongly applaud the author’s emphasis on the priority of “knowing the scriptures” and drawing the connection that this spiritual discipline will produce a life of power. This is certainly a biblical concept. Yet to use a Sadducee as an example is reckless. The Sadducees were a group of religious elite who denied the concept of resurrection. Matthew repeatedly put the Pharisees and Sadducees in the same group and denounced them both (Matt. 16:6). Again, to call them anything other than spiritually dead and blind is to ignore the plain implications of the text. Yet the baffling part is that later in the book Dr. Morley acknowledges the dangers of easy believism and cautions his readers.
“But there is a caution. Receiving Jesus, having your sins forgiven, and receiving the gift of eternal life is easy, but only if it’s sincere.” (p. 58)
Overall, Man Alive is a worthy contributor to the genre of biblical masculinity. I would encourage the use of this book in a small group dialogue (with a discerning leader) or as a gift to a spiritually indifferent man.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book! Man Alive by Patrick Morley

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
thinblueline203
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Men, are you feeling like you were meant for more? If so, what’s blocking you from being more? Is it because you feel as if you’re in a lukewarm existence? Do you have feelings of defeat?
As men, do we try to fail intentionally? I wouldn’t think so, but when we accept feelings like we’re standing alone while life rushes around us or accepting defeat due to our own destructive behaviors it seems that we DO intend to fail. Patrick Morley’s Man Alive, he lays out in truth seven primal needs of a man. In his book, Mr. Morley helped me see a significant difference between a man accepting a mediocre life and a man coming alive to be what God intended him to be. We have a choice as we draw closer to God. We can choose to be discouraged by life and the lies Satan uses against us or we can choose to be ALIVE and claim victory through God’s promises. Patrick Morley follows each chapter with questions to reflect and ponder that may cause you to ask questions of yourself that dig deeper than you may be accustomed to. I felt a stirring inside of me. It was a feeling that’s been absent due to my own daily choices. Do you want to be ALIVE or do you want to live in a meek existence? I chose to become ALIVE…
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Man Alive (A Review)

Date:November 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Justin
Location:Denver
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I must admit that I took this book with a bit of an ulterior motive. When you hear a title like Man Alive! it makes you think that what is going to emerge is some hierarchical/complementarian reading of the text meant to prove why men are awesome and women should stay at home and make dinners for their awesome husbands. A subtitle like, “Transforming your 7 primal needs...” doesn’t help with that picture much either. As an egalitarian I didn’t have high hopes for this book.
So with a mixture of fear (what is this book going to say) and excitement (I can’t wait to blast it) I set into reading the latest book by Patrick Morley. Morley attempts to identify basic needs that men have that keep them from reaching their full potential. Morley’s list highlights the following: community, being loved by God, meaning and purpose, freedom from oppression, connection with God, deep love and connection with another person, and leaving a lasting contribution to this world.
I agree with his list. I liked his action steps. They were mostly free of the male machismo that is typically found in these types of books. He highlights things like being part of a genuine community, taking time for fellowship, spending time with family, the sacredness of all life/vocation and opening up in love to others in the world. I can support those claims.
I don’t agree with his premise that this is something uniquely masculine. To his credit he did eventually identify that these needs were a universal desire but it just took too long to get that stated. It would have been a better premise had he stated early on, “These are seven desires that every person has. I want to show how men can identify with these and live in greater fulfillment.”
One of my greatest joys in life is spending time with my kids. I love our one on one times. I long for more ‘daddy daughter date-nights’ which include hamburgers, a play place, a night away from work and my daughters love, giggles and awesome stories. But doesn’t my wife like those sorts of things too?
The problem, in general, is that we tend to associate ‘manhood’ with things like anger, aggression and superiority. It was one of my critiques with this article. Is that really what we want manhood to be about?
There were a couple of times that Morley came close to stating a complementarian view only to back away. I felt a bit played with wondering where he was going to go at times, but on the whole was please with his outcome. Here is an example:
“Jesus changed the world by inviting twelve men to join a small group. That was his strategy - to invest in men who would invest in other men.” (page 34)
At this point in time I begin wondering, “Sure, but what about all of the women Jesus invested in? He discipled them too!” Morley concluded the paragraph by saying:
“Jesus understood that most meaningful change takes place in the context of small group relationships.” (page 34)
I get what he is trying to say. His target audience is men. He leads a small group for men. He’s well known as a writer to men and he tries to help them connect on a deeper level to God and be better husbands, fathers and neighbors. But what about small group life (community) is inherently masculine? It’s these sorts of comments that left a bit of a bad taste in my mouth. Like I said earlier, he would eventually admit (towards the end of the book) that these basic feelings are present in everyone but it took too long for that view to come out.
But on the whole Morley stays away from those polarizing ideas. Our ‘primal’ (his word) or ‘basic’ (my word) instincts are to say that there is more to this life than can easily be explained away. We desire to connect with something deeper and outside of ourselves. We intuitively sense that there is more to this life that we are often told. A desire to know that God loves you, not just tolerates you, is something felt by everyone. A better acknowledgment of that up front would have made for a better focus later in the book.
The ratings:
Overall: 3/5 stars. It’s not a bad read. It's quick, clear and has group discussion questions. Comments above considered I could see this book being useful and helpful to a group of men.
Recommend: Yes, but cautiously. It really would need to be in the right group to work. The leader of the group would have to easily point out the dangers of thinking in terms of hierarchy and steer the group away from that. This isn’t about being a dominating and aggressive man; it is about developing relationship in authentic community with people that what to know and be known by Jesus.
Disclaimer: I reviewed a free copy of this book through the BloggingForBooks program offered by WaterBrook Multnomah publishing. I was in no way compensated for this review and all views are solely and completely my own. I was not required to offer a positive review either through the publisher or author.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book For men

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here’s a winning addition to the growing shelves of Christian books for men. There’s no lack of need since men as a general rule are lagging behind in spiritual advancement. Frankly, we need the help.
Mr. Morley talks a language you can understand. It’s where we live–good or bad. He says “…as many as 90 percent of Christian men lead lukewarm, stagnant, often defeated lives. They’re mired in spiritual mediocrity–and they hate it.” True on both counts, wouldn’t you agree?
The book arranges around what he calls the seven primal needs of men. You might think some of them selfish, or addressing brokenness, but they are undeniably the fabric of men’s lives. We don’t want to live life alone despite the male tendency for aloof isolation. Our actions, like being swallowed by a career, pull us away from meeting our real need. See the difference in approach? Not spend time with your family because it’s a good thing, but because it meets your own deepest needs. We so often misunderstand ourselves.
In our complete misunderstanding we run from God and the fellowship of other believers in a local church when that is our very need. We need the “transforming” mentioned in Romans 12:2. He distinguishes between heart transformation and behavior modification. Which do we need? But where do we put our emphasis? No wonder we have such a hard time. Learning that the Father really loves me, individually me, is another. He explains how the tendency for macho behavior among men is at its core just a cover up in this area.
We also must believe our life has purpose. Sadly, most of us do not. He gives practical insight that can help. He progresses to explain our need to break free from destructive behaviors, which likely spring from the aforementioned. Needs 6 and 7 seem, to me, to be found in the earlier mentioned ones, but they are critical enough to be worthy of the extra effort to grasp.The 8th one is a good summary–To make a contribution and make the world a better place. That’s not as selfish as it sounds, and I imagine, is where Christ would be glad (on His terms of course) to help us. There’s psychology here, but the Bible lurks in the wings as well. I recommend the book.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A motivational book with a Biblical foundation

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cliffymania
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Man Alive
Transforming your 7 primal needs into a powerful spiritual life
“Jesus made a direct connection between knowing the Bible and leading a powerful life. Lukewarm men are in error because they ‘don’t know the scriptures’ and therefore ‘don’t know the power of God’.” (pg 11, 2012 paperback edition, Man Alive)
I guess I’m a sucker for these kinds of books. You know the kind of book I’m talking about. They get you convinced that your not leading the life God wants and in 5 easy steps they’ll show you how. Every time I read one I think, “Okay, that’s the last one. No more.”
But it’s like a drug. I always want one more tip even though I’m sure I know what they’re going to say.
Take a risk!
Get out of your comfort zone!
Drink more Gatorade!
Okay, that last one was a cheap shot. Nevertheless, here I am picking up one of those books one more time. The fact that it was free only made the temptation worse.
In Man Alive, Patrick Morley lays out what Morley calls the “7 Primal Needs” that every man faces. These “7 primal needs” are basic enough and I didn’t see the need to add, or subtract, from the list, except to make the need for salvation more explicit.
The Good
Morley builds the book on John 10:10
The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. (ESV)
A fairly standard verse for this kind of book, but Morley pushes the reader to investigate the scriptures, to really dig in. He returns to scripture repeatedly to enforce his points without bending verses into simplistic motivational messages.
When he gets to the chapter on “purpose” he hits a home run. Morley says that our purpose in life is to be a disciple and to disciple others. We can back up and say that our purpose is to bring glory to God, but I’m grateful to see a book that doesn’t try to convince the reader that God has some earth shattering plan for all of us as if doing the everyday things doesn’t please God.
Morley invites the reader to repent of sin. He makes the point that repentance isn’t just about “getting cleaned up”, but rather about thinking and acting differently; in a godly manner.
The Bad
The sinners prayer; Morley says the sinners prayer doesn’t make you a Christian, but then he offers one anyway and says if you really mean it, you’re a Christian. This can put a terrible burden on someone seeking Christ. How do they know if they really meant it? What if they worry that they didn’t say the prayer right? It’s far better to simply tell someone to open up to God, cry out to Him, and let the scriptures assure them of their salvation.
Chapters 6 and 7 are simply lists of things to do. I’m not opposed to lists and there’s good advice in these lists, but somehow reducing the Christian life to a couple of lists feels too mechanical to me. Some people need that kind of structure, but the problem is that the list turns out to be more important than actually growing in the Lord. Lists become checklists, rote legalism.
In the last chapter he talks about evangelism and drops the line “you can’t scientifically prove God.” I don’t think that’s true and I think he does the reader a disservice by stating it. I wouldn’t reduce God to some provable concept, but a statement like that can leave the reader thinking that Bible is a story book rather than the true history of salvation.
The Wrap Up
Overall, there’s a lot worthwhile in this book even if it’s not groundbreaking material. I wish he would have skipped the sinner’s prayer and left out the comment about proving God, but beyond that there are definitely plenty of pieces in this book that any man would be well served putting into practice.
Read more of my book reviews @ cliffymania.com
This is the part the lawyers say you have to include (that means you’re already done reading the review. You can skip this part. Seriously, stop reading.)
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Man Alive" aims at helping men thrive ...

Date:June 20, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Whether you've met every objective you've set for yourself, are still striving to achieve your dreams, or have never written down a goal, many men find themselves thinking with regard to their lives, "There must be more ..."
Author and men's ministry leader Patrick Morley believes there's much more for men. The subtitle of his latest book says just what: "Transforming your seven primal needs into a powerful spiritual life."
In "Man Alive," published by Multnomah Books, you get a glimpse of the heart of a man who has been ministering to other men for decades. This book reads like Morley's personal notes of what he has witnessed thousands of men wrestling with over the years. Then he engages the reader in clear, simple, and straightforward conversation about a handful of these issues, with the intent of providing guidance about each need that will lead men to a transformed, thriving life.
"I'm going to show you how God has provided ways for you to transform that raw, restless energy you feel into a powerful spiritual life, " Morley writes.
To do that, Morley shares real stories --- including some of his own --- to identify a handful of basic needs he believes most men wrestle with, fail at, and as a result, find themselves feeling half alive. But with every identified need, Morley lays out steps any man can take to meet those needs and push forward to building the life God has intended for them.
Along the way, Morley relates to his readers like an understanding buddy, keeps the conversation practical, dishes out generous doses of encouragement, and provides concise direction with just enough challenge to make this book more than an intellectual exercise for men.
If you find yourself restless and thinking there must be more to your life than what there currently is, "Man Alive" just might be the quick read that helps you discover that there is, indeed, much more!
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read and apply book for ALL men

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
tfkr
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Man Alive
Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life
Written by Patrick Morley
ISBN: 9781601423863
This book was one that hit the mark. Just wish I had read it and applied it sooner. Morley takes 7 basica or "Primal Needs" that a man has and relates how we as men can turn them into a powerful spiritual life.
I think a passage in this book that spoke to me and the lives of men that surrond me is this as found on page 92:
Men have a primal need to breek free from the destructive behaviors that keep dragging them down. They are baffled that they can't break free. And it's embarrassing. They desperately want to experience freedom from their bondage to sin. They do their best to manage these behaviors, but what they really wants is for the damage to stop. But they feel weak and stuck. Unfortunately, millions of us just don't know where to turn.
Morley seeks to provide men with ways to take this cycle that they just are stuck in, to break free from the lies that the devil puts in their heads. He makes men realize that they are not alone, and that they shouldn't be doing life alone. Two passages that jump out from the test are found on pages 32 and 33 and I quote:
"...his heart was transformed when he stopped trying to go it alone and dug into God's Word with a group of guys who accepted him 'as is.'"
"Participation in a small group, or one-on-one, is a key difference between men who are spiritually alive and men who are mired in spiritual mediocrity."
This book is a must read for all men, especially those are feed up with living a life that seems to not be growing. For men who want to be walking with God and getting things moving. He helps the reader realize that they are not alone in their feelings and struggles and that it is important to seek to do their Christian life in community. This is against the human notion that I can do it alone and don't need others. Those who try to do it alone are the weak ones. Those who do it in community have realized that God created us to be in relationship with Him and with each other.
Definitely a must read that will be on my bookcase and that I will use to challenge and encourage those around me.
Check out these resources:
Man Alive Website
More Info
Read Chapter One
Author Bio
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a great read for men!

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since the late 80′s, Patrick Morley has been one of America’s most respected authorities on the unique challenges and opportunities that men face. After spending the first part of his career in the highly competitive world of commercial real estate, Patrick has been used throughout the world to help men think more deeply about their lives. I received his latest book Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life from Multnomah publishers & Edelweiss for an honest review.
From the onset, Morley writes, “Over the last four decades, I’ve met one-on-one with thousands of men. Most of them know that Jesus promised “a rich and satisfying life” (John 10:10), but too many are confused about what that looks like. In fact, I’d estimate that 90 percent of Christian men lead lukewarm, stagnant, defeated lives—and they hate it.” Morley does a terrific job in Man Alive relating how to fulfill the things that most men feel are basic needs. As a reader, you feel immediately that Morely knows how to relate to men, and how to speak their language.
Morely describes the 7 primal needs as:
1. To feel like I don’t have to do life alone.
2. To believe that God loves and cars about me personally.
3. To understand how my life has a purpose, and that my life is not random.
4. To break free from the destructive behaviors that keep dragging me down.
5. To satisfy my souls thirst for transcendence, awe, and communion with God
6. To love and be loved
7. To make a contribution to the world
This book is a great companion to any man’s life who has reached this stage where he is seeking answers to what and why. The book is laid out so that each chapter addresses one of the primal needs, along with personal examples and stories from the author. Each chapter also contains follow up questions to help push the reader further.
This book would make a great men’s group discussion topic and would certainly recommend this book to any man who wrestles with these questions. This book would also be a great read for women who wish to understand the mental workings of things that men wrestle with. This was a great book and I will certainly use it’s teachings as a resource in the years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Man Alive by Patrick Morley

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Russell
Location:Canton, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Man Alive written by Patrick Morley presents 7 primal needs of a man that will transform his spiritual life into a powerful one. This book is filled with solid biblical truths that, in my belief , when applied will make a difference in the lives of all men from all walks of life.
I found that I could not put this book down. It was an easy read that will engage its readers at many different levels. There are stories threaded throughout the book that help bring the message of the book alive This is the first book I have read by Patrick and was captured by the way the book presented its core message in a way that connects to an individual. It then provides reflective questions at the end of each chapter that will get you thinking about what was just shared. This book would be a great book to read and discuss with a group of men, and I plan on doing just that. While change in most will be progressive I do believe that this book will make a positive impact on its reader.
I enjoyed the book and have been challenged to live beyond where I am at in my journey with Christ and others. I would recommend this book with a five star rating.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Man Alive

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephenandlinds
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Man Alive by Patrick Morley is a great book for any godly man to read. In this book, he discusses the seven primal needs of every man and how embracing these needs as God designed can transform your life. He is the best selling author of the classic book "Man in the Mirror," and this book is a good follow up to that book.
It is relatively short and easy to read, which makes it good for your typical guy :) The real life examples that the author uses adds to the book's enjoyment for the reader. I personally enjoyed this book and would recommend it to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Man Alive this book is basic!

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
James
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Men’s ministry leader Patrick Morley is an expert on men. He must be, he keeps writing books about them. The Man in the Mirror sold more than three million copies, he has a Bible study with 5000 men (okay most of those watch the webcast) and he has had coffee with thousands of guys. He also has a Ph.D in management and races his 1974 Porsche 911 for sport. All this tells me, he knows and understands what it means to be a man!
Okay, so the case for Morely’s expertise may be laid on a little thick, the proof is in the pudding. Does Man Alive prove his mastery over manhood? Well yes and no. Morely is complementarian in his approach to gender roles (which I am not) but most of his advice is sound. A lot of what he says would applies equally to both genders but men behaving badly don’t always get the message. His ‘seven primal needs’ which, when addressed, can transform your spiritual life can be summarized as follows: the need for community, the need for faith in a benevolent God, that one’s life has purpose, that there is freedom from sin/addictions, the need for transcendence, the need for love/intimacy.
None of these needs seem particularly gender specific to me but I agree with Morely that if you address these needs of the soul, you will become a better man (providing you already are a man, otherwise I can’t help you). This book is full of personal stories and stories of men that Morely has been privileged to walk alongside. It is evident that Morely has helped men come out of their isolated shells, fulfill their God-given potential, and grow in their love for God and others. So, yes, Morely has some good stuff to say here.
I agree with Morely that part of what men want is to love and be loved, do something significant with our lives, and that we were created for transcendence.
Where I would critique Man Alive is that Morely seems to apply an instrumental and formulaic approach to spiritual transformation. The stories shared here are all victory stories. Sometimes men follow God and their lives still fall apart. With Morely, I trust in God’s providential care, but I wonder how helpful this book would be for those guys who have been ‘doing the steps’ but are still stuck in the mire. I know, because Morely tells me, that he has walked alongside men facing divorce, contemplating suicide, and other really bad stuff. So I know he probably sees the reality of things, but what is presented here is a little too simplistic.
That being said, this book would be read profitably in church men’s groups and ministries. Each chapter has questions for reflection and discussion and there is a brief leader’s guide at the back of the book (and a two page bio of all Morely’s accomplishments).
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book for Men

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
TCBHAM
Location:birmingham, al
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just completed reading this book and have to say it is one of the best books on Christian Men and Men’s Ministry. I read it in about five hours because I could not put it down!
This book is written by the same author of Man in the Mirror (http://www.maninthemirror.org) and builds upon 7 Primal Principles of the man’s soul. They are as follows:
1. To believe, really belive, that God knows, loves, and cares about me personally.
2. To believe my life has a divine purpose.
3. To break free from the destructive behaviors that keep dragging me down.
4. To satisfy my soul’s thirst for transcendence, awe, and communion with Christ.
5. To love and be loved without reservation.
6. To make a contribution and leave a legacy.
7. To feel and know I am not in this alone.
As one who feels particular called to the discipleship of men, this book was awesome and extremely relevant. It isn’t one of those self-help books, but more of an eye-opening manual on how to become more “alive” as a Christian Man. He addresses the tendency of men to lose heart, go silent, and anesthetize their pain through seclusion. Many of us know how often men make the decision to follow Christ, but are then left to the wolf because no one disciples them. If you think about it, discipleship was the first thing on the mind of Christ when He rose. What did he do first? Go after his disciples and reinforce the Gospel. We should do the same.
Here are some scary stats on Christian Men shared in the book:
80% are so emotionally impaired they’re unable to express or even identify their feelings
55% of marriages experience financial dishonesty, mostly by the husband
50% of men who attend church still seek out pornography
40% get divorced affecting over 1 million children a year
I was on the floor when I saw these. No wonder we have such a void in the church today of Christian Men, real Christian Men. If you’re in ministry or in a men’s group or simply feel called by Christ to start something, I would highly encourage you to read this book! Great read and very applicable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Moving from Primal Need to a Transformed Full Life

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
RichBurkey
Location:La Mesa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patrick Morley contends that every man has 7 primal needs that need to be met. His latest book, Man Alive, not only deals with identifying and meeting those needs, but transforming them into a powerful spiritual life.
He should know, because throughout the book, he is transparent and authentic about how he has dealt with each need, and how his life (and his readers) can be transformed.
Morley heads up Man in the Mirror ministries. Also, the title of the 1st book of his that I ever read. He is a great influence in men’s ministry, for he points men to God’s Word.
In Man Alive he deals with 7 primal needs. He defines the word primal as “a raw, restless energy”. Such energy he says, “needs to be channeled, chiseled, transformed.”
His solution is not simply that men try harder, but that they engage their primal need with God’s Word. The question he seeks to answer is: “What do men who lead powerful, transformed lives do differently then their lukewarm counterparts?”
The answer is found in digging into God’s Word, following the Holy Spirit’s guidance and living out such truth in one’s life.
So what are the 7 primal needs?
1. To feel like you don’t have to do life alone.
2. To believe — really believe — that God loves and cars about you personally.
3. To understand how your life has a purpose, that your life is not random.
4. To break free from the destructive behaviors that keep dragging you down.
5. To satisfy your soul’s thirst for transcendence, awe, and communion.
6. To love and be loved without reservation.
7. To make a contribution and leave the world a better place.
What I love about the book is that Patrick understands Christianity is not about behavior modification, but heart transformation. He does that with an honest look at where he has been transformed and where he has needed to be transformed still today.
This book is a great resource for men, but especially for men who are in small groups or a mentoring relationship. Man Alive provides a common language, and end of the chapter questions to continue discussion and even more transformation to be like Jesus in meeting each need. I give it 5 stars out of 5. Glad I read it, my wife, family, friends and church will be glad as I live it.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review through their Blogging for Books program. I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not just a feel-good book

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paula Greene
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God used one of Patrick Morley’s books over 15 years ago to awaken me spiritually, so I jumped at the opportunity to read his new book, even though men are the intended audience. In Man Alive, Patrick Morley shows what it means to be a man alive – to stop living lukewarm, stagnant, and defeated lives and to instead harness the raw, restless energy to propel yourself toward the life God planned for you to live. He fleshes out 7 primal needs of men and how to use those primal needs – not letting them drag you down but claiming them as God’s gifts so that you can live a powerful life transformed by Christ. He explores how it feels when life isn’t going right in various areas, what makes that so hard, and what to do about it.
While this book was short and easy to read, it was not just a feel-good book. Rooted in biblical principles, Patrick Morley explains that Christianity is heart transformation, not behavior modification. Our life purpose is discipleship, and we are called, equipped, and sent to live in Christ, for Christ, and like Christ. A short discussion guide in the back can be used to assist men in a small group to discuss the topics in this book. (A DVD is also available, but it was not provided for my review.)
There are plenty of books out there on finding your purpose, calling, or dream, but I admire Patrick Morley’s approach and would love to read more books like this. I would highly recommend this book for men – even for those who don’t like to read much. If you are a woman and have men in your life that you would like to lift up and encourage, this book would be a great read also with the benefit of bringing more life to your own soul as well.
Disclaimer: I was provided a complimentary copy of this book from Waterbook Multnomah Publishing in exchange for a review. The opinions expressed herein are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Getting Men Comfortable to Talking about Issues

Date:December 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
sblumer
Location:Princeton, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Patrick has written 18 other books and hundreds of articles. Man Alive is his recent book. One thing that is evident about Patrick is his ability to assess, summarize and describe men’s challenges right to the point. In fact, this ability was what mostly stuck out at me.
“Men lose heart, go silent, and anesthetize their pain. Then they give up, burn out, drop out, or just slowly drift away. It’s not just getting older; it’s an assassination of the soul.” (p. 8).
Although Patrick gives some great practical how-to’s and some real-life examples to get men past these challenges, I did feel it was a little too brief at times. In one sense, I felt that the answers were nothing more than to read your bible, study your bible with other guys and to live out what the bible says. It is certainly true that most men, and women for that matter, don’t know enough about God and the Bible to make a difference.
“The problem is that most men know only enough about God to be disappointed with Him” (p. 110).
Knowing more about God and His Word is exactly the answer to men’s challenges. It’s something I don’t think we should ever glaze over or minimize. And in that respect, I appreciate the “simplicity” of the book. In the end of life, what we do for God really is what is going to matter.
"If He can die for us, the least we can do is live for Him. That’s what it means to be a man alive!" (p. 186).
Each practical advice for the 7 primal needs of all men can be applied by most men. I say almost, because if you aren’t married or have kids then certain applications are hard to apply. I like a lot of what Patrick had to say, but wanted a little more. I found that perhaps the book was just an introductory means to his Man in the Mirror ministry. Many of the helpful articles and tools from the corresponding website, manalivebook.com, were directed to maninthemirror.org. In fact, the Man in the Mirror website is certainly a “meat and potatoes” site to check out for addressing men’s challenges. They even came out with a father’s day DVD, called the Man Code, highlighting over 3 hours of key messages by pastors and spiritual leaders, such as Mark Driscoll, Craig Groeschel, and David Delk. It looks like it would be a great resource for churches to hand out next father’s day.
In the end, I liked the book. Yet, I’m still unclear if it’s one that would be one on top of my “get a guy this book” list. It is a book that could be an introduction to the subject, a way to get men comfortable enough to start talking about the challenges they face.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wake up a longing to be a disciple of Christ

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
learygates
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, a disclaimer: As President of the National Coalition of Ministries to Men, I've known the author for many years and have also a written an endorsement appearing in this book. Having said that, I'm delighted to add this review as well because "Man Alive" is an important tool for men to use as they evaluate their own lives and as they lead others to do the same.
Pat Morley rightly observes that "most men know only enough about God to be disappointed with Him." This book is an invitation for men to rediscover a God who wants to satisfy what Morley refers to as the "seven primal needs" of men. These are: to know we are not alone; to know that God cares for us personally; to believe there's a purpose for our lives; to break free from destructive behavior; to satisfy our thirst for awe; to love without reservation; and, to make a the world a better place. Each primal need is discussed in compelling and practical ways, combining story with biblical truth in an easy to read and almost breezy style, a hallmark of Morley's writing dating back to his groundbreaking bestseller, "Man in the Mirror."
While the book is written for men, it's clear that Morley's purpose in writing it is to ignite a hunger for discipleship. Borrowing from Jim Collins, Morley asserts that God's Big *Holy* Audacious Goal is for us to become disciples of Christ. This has been the signature call of Pat's life and ministry to men over the last thirty years. Yet, the ground he covers in exploring these seven primal needs in "Man Alive" is no less helpful, I think, for women to explore as well. As such, it could very well have been named "Disciple Alive" for the book's most important contribution will be to wake up the longing we should have to be better disciples of Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Man Alive: Transforming Your Seven Primal Needs into a Powerful Spiritual Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good bok for men just starting their journey

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
AlandWynda
Location:Minot, ND
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As an active leader in a men's ministry program I was sent an advace copy of this new book by Patrick Morley. While it is easy to read the author does not cover much new ground when it comes to men or men's ministry. To be honest, this may be my perception due to the fact that I have been so engrossed in issues involving men and men's ministry for the past several years.
In some chapters, the book does contain some good ideas and suggestions for application. However, overall, this book is not for men or men's ministry leaders who are farther along in their own spiritual walk and in developing a men's ministry program. I do think it would be a very good resource for men who are just coming to the point where they are searching for 'something more' for themselves and other men.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.