Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shepherd Press Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook

Shepherd Press Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook

Do you find yourself threatening, repeating your instructions, or raising your voice in an attempt to get your children to obey? Are you discouraged because it seems you just can not reach the heart of your child? Through personal experience and the practical application of Scripture, Ginger Plowman encourages and equips moms to reach past the outward behavior of their children and dive deeply into the issues of the heart. Her candid approach will help moms move beyond the frustrations of not knowing how to handle issues of disobedience and into a confident, well balanced approach to raising their children.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
Review 1 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

impressive

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:Silsbee, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an amazing book. Gives great techniques
on discipline. Highly reccomend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Book Horrible e- reader

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie G
Location:York, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was an excellent book that I would highly recommend to all parents! With that said I would not recommend it as an e-book. I don't know if it is because I do not have an e- reader and was using my phone, but the CBS reader for the iPhone was awful. It did not bookmark properly. Every time I moved my phone a tad bit the wrong way it took me back to the beginning of the chapter. The book itself was missing a chart that is in the actual paper copy. I have not had these troubles purchasing from Barnes and Nobles, Amazon, or i-books.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Practical to Shepherding a Child's Heart

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Megan Fuller
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While Shepherding a Child's Heart (Tedd Tripp, Shepherd Press) is the best "text book / study text" on the Biblical approach to raising your children, Don't Make Me Count to Three! is the best "testimony book" on how it works itself out in a real-life family. I can't recommend the books enough. Ginger had examples that any family has had to work through and she gave me several places to jump off from and run with as we continue to seek God in raising our children according to His Word. I'm hoping to incorporate a family Bible study to address specific areas recently brought to light by the book. For those who would find the book disturbing, I would recommend reading Shepherding a Child's Heart to have a fuller understanding of why spanking is Biblical and why other methods are not. One cannot address the heart of his/her child from God's Word unless he/she has addressed his/her own heart from God's Word. Tedd spends the first half of his book addressing the parent's heart. Ginger comes from much of the same position...convicting our hearts and entreating us as parents to do the hard work of raising our children the right way and does so with a spirit of humility.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Aneta Berghane
Haven't got to the meat of it yet(that's why four stars), but so far I like the main concept of it- to discipline your child's heart vs just making them do what you want them to do. I also like the reference to Scriptures. The book is funny which lightens up the gloomy subject of discipline:) One thing I find hard to swallow though is that a child's nature is sinful.. (well, that's just an idealistic mother talking here.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah Rowles
I find this book to be an practical and easy read with a scriptual fundamentals for disciplining your kids. Every story she tells, whether about herself or her children, I can relate to. The language she uses to address heart issues in the book with her children, I can use as a starting point with my own, ages 3 and 5. The last few chapters discuss "to spank or not to spank". We do not spank, but I could still take instruction from her words. Only insert Time out where spanking was used. The need for consistent,prayerful,loving discipline is key. Overall great book that brought me back to parenting with a purpose, teaching God's word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mckoy Beth
This book is the best parenting book based on God's Word that I have read. It shows clearly how to guide and discipline your children using scripture. It reminds us that we don't just want outward compliance but we want to reach their hearts!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Darlene W
This book is biblical, very practical, and has brought such peace to my home, my parenting style, and has convicted ME to become a better person and Christian... not just my children. My children IMMEDIATELY responded in positive and wonderful ways to the 'techniques' and instruction I am now using. I have read many Christian parenting books, many great classics, and this is by far my favorite. I HIGHLY recommend it.As for the comment(s) on how spanking is addressed in this book, I found that all of the author's points were directly linked to scripture and were delivered with LOVE and Christian development in mind.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Miah
Absolutely phenomenal book! I cannot begin to tell you how much this has helped our family and we are all happier! Thank you soooo much! I was disappointed to see the one negative review......just shows how our world has changed and how much deception is out there. Thanks for not being afraid to tell the truth Ginger!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christina Moyer
Very simple advice that will go a long way. It was easy to read in a day or two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie Espinoza
This is one of the BEST books written with simple, but great ways to get your child to obey. I have purchased this book for lots of parents who really appreciate the sound ideas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charley
An excellent resource for disciplining!!! Consistency and patience is the key, it really works! I recommend it to all mom's and dad's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynn C
I purchased this book, hearing the author on the radio, to give to a mother with young children. It not only gives one ways to deal with the problems associated with sibling rivalry, but how to communicate the biblical values supporting the disciplines. My friend thought it very helpful. I intend to purchase more copies to give as gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2008
Excellent book for those who need to discipline God's Way! Be encouraged and instructed as you desire to discipline your little gifts from God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tami Mitchell
This book is a must for every Christian family...both mom and dads. We are putting things into practice as a family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amber Roest
A very nice complement to read with Shepherding a Childs Heart. Very enjoyable, with lots of application for bible based parenting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gerri N
I found this book to be disturbing on many levels. She uses scripture out of context to manipulate her children into obedience and obviously has no education in the field of child development. She blatently states that if you do not spank your child you are disobeying God. My pediatrician husband and I find this highly offensive and it shows complete ignorance with regard to developmental stages. If you need to justify why you spank your child for every offense, this book is for you. I regret buying it and find it hard to believe that well meaning Christians subscribe to this "theology".
-6points
4of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy Pasteris
This book offers great suggestions and guidance on how to discipline your children based on the Scriptures. Some parts are easier to read than others but overall it's a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Matt Mager
The best book out there on biblical child-rearing. It is an excellent companion to "Shepherding a Child's Heart" because of it's practical application of the theology in Ted Tripp's work. It should be compulsory reading for every Christian parent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alicia
This is a favorite. It is where my husband and I found one of our favorite parenting quotes. "Right away, all the way and with a happy heart". We have thought of stenciling those words on our children's wall!!It is a great book, an easy read and one that I have gone back and purchased for friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Don't Make Me Count to Three! - eBook
This review is fromDon't Make Me Count to Three!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jessica
I read this book after reading "Shepherding a Child's Heart" by Ted Tripp, and I found Plowman's book to be a lot easier (as a mother of toddlers) to use. Not only is it a quicker read than Tripp's book, it is also very easy to refer back to when you're having a difficult day with your little ones. I find myself reading parts of it once a week to keep the scripture firm in my mind as I'm striving to reach my boy's hearts instead of just their behavior. I strongly recommend this book to ALL moms!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>