Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cambridge Bibles ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black

Cambridge Bibles ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black

Cambridge has created an entirely new setting of the English Standard Version that will be a delight to read and to handle. Cambridge Clarion Reference Editions present the text in a single column and place the cross-references in the outer margin. The font size is just under 9-point with generous line spacing. They are typeset in Lexicon No.1, a modern digital font that has a degree of readability associated with much larger type. The Bibles have 15 color maps (with index) and a concordance. These are Bibles of the highest quality, printed on India paper and Smyth-sewn for flexibility and endurance.

Features
  • Goatskin leather cover, edge-lined in traditional style
  • Concordance
  • Map section with index
  • Single column setting
  • Paragraph format
  • Black-letter text
  • Side-column references
  • Printed on ultra-thin, smooth and opaque lightweight paper
  • Art gilt (red-under gold) page edges
  • Two ribbon markers
  • Sewn binding—enables the Bible to open flat
  • Text size just under 9-point
  • 7.50" x 5.50" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black
Review 1 for ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful beyond description

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
P Shaun
Location:Albany, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have, and have had, more Bibles than anyone I know because I am so picky and indecisive. The moment I opened the box to this Bible and held it I knew my search was over. This is the most beautiful, classy, and "at home" feeling Bible I have ever seen or touched. The print is perfect to read and preach from. The material is incredible to the touch. I can't see myself ever holding another Bible again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love to read Scripture

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Lee's Summit, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love two things about this edition. It lays open flat and the type is very readable.
When I read Scripture, I tend to read, re-read, meditate on the text, pray, and then look over cross-references.
The cross-references selected for this edition are invaluable. They are a tool to help everyone see time-tested passages that are theologically sound. Very Christ-centered.
I've used this Bible for over a year now and it's something I look forward to because the page is clean (no distractions) and the 3 1/2" single-column format makes reading move quickly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Somewhat Satisfied

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Acer
Location:Iowa
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the ESV Clarion Bible but I wish that it didn't have cross references. I would be interested in returning it for a different version or getting a new bible all together. I have not written in the bible at all and I still have the case that it came in. Please let me know what I can do to in order to get a more desired bible for me. Thank you!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very portable, soft, readable

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
RacerUnderTheSon
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am comparing the Clarion to my 1-year-old Allan ESV1 in black highland goatskin. I bought the Clarion to be my portable Bible, as the Allan is a bit too large.
The Clarion is an excellent product overall. The quality of the leather is comparable to my Allan. However, the semi-yapp and a little more attention to art detail inside the cover give the Allan a slight edge here.
Both Bibles feel very soft and liquid. The Clarion's smaller size and ease to palm it make it easier to be a portable Bible.
The text layout in the Clarion is awesome. The Word of God has room to breathe in the single column setting.
The print in the Allan seems a little sharper even though the font is slightly smaller (9.5 vs 10) but the Clarion is very readable.
Here is a con to the Clarion: paper is much thinner compared to the Allan. Hence, the pages can wrinkle easily and curl like the other reviewers said. They had to make the paper thin because this Bible has over 2000 pages compared to about 1300 in the Allan. I would have preferred thicker paper and have them leave out the concordance and maps.
Despite the thin and smooth paper, the shadowing is not too bad (although worse than Allan). They did a great job with line matching (better than the Allan) which compensates for increased shadow.
Despite the thin paper I still give it 5 stars because of its size/portability, it softness, and great single column design. It reads well, and feels great in your hand.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 star everything - And that's being stingy!

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reilly
Location:BC, Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maybe not everyone will like it, but this is my honest review:
The ESV Cambridge Clarion will surprise you. As for me, this Bible has effortlessly become my companion Bible, pushing aside even an Allan's Bible.
Despite my confidence in this product, I confess that I came very close to sending it back. Why?
First, when I opened it up, there was no "oooh!" I had been accustomed to seeing highland goatskin in the box, and this looked rather... flat. Plus, it was kind of stiff.
Second, the paper inside seemed a little stressed, as it had never been opened.
Third, there is a section in the middle where the pages curl.
Four, there was a minor nick in the leather, particular to my copy.
But, oh boy! I stuck with this thing, and it has surpassed anything I have ever had. First, I should say that while the curling paper is a minor annoyance, it decreases over time and is by no means a deal breaker.
And now I get to the leather. As the cover breaks in, and your hand oils get into the leather, it becomes a premium. Unequaled in softness and smoothness. The printing on the front looks elegant. This is top-of-the-line calfskin. [Side note: I disagree with Mark Betrand; the black liner does compliment the brown, and looks great.]
Some people have complained about the paper being thin; but this, I can't agree on. The paper is of the utmost highest quality in Bible manufacturing. I have a Bible from 60+ years ago with this type of paper, and it holds up perfectly. Silky to the touch, and for how thin it is, is quite opaque. I have never had a problem with bleed-through, and would not even if it was not line matched.
Of course, the real beauty of the clarion is the text block - and for that reason, any cover option would be a terrific investment. Big, spacious, easy to read... Now I do have good eyes, so I can't speak for those who don't, but I must say: I do not have difficulty finding verses quickly, and so I take this one to church.
Even with my minor leather blip and curling poetry section (future prints will not have this defect), this Bible is almost deserving of six stars. Springs open like a Pitt; excellent mix of portability and font size; traditional look... amazing job Cambridge. Actually, Bible makers should sue Cambridge, and they should sue themselves, because I would have spent lots of money buying other Bibles in my pursuit of the right one. But since I have this, it will be a long time until I make another purchase.
So buy this (or another translation), use it for 3 or so weeks, and see what you think of it. You'll be hard-pressed to think of a Bible that hits all your check boxes so well. Thank you Cambridge!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Awesome Bible

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Dave
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is wonderful! It is compact in size but has very readable type and the single column format with references off to the side makes for very easy reading. The binding is superb, and I love that it has a full concordance. The two ribbon markers come in handy. I wish it had the red Letter feature but that is a minor detail. This Bible is well worth the cost. I highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful!

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sunny
Location:Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will not go into the details of the advantages of the translation of the ESV, my review is limited to the craftsmanship of this particular Clarion Goatskin ESV.
I previously purchased through CBD the Personal Reference edition. After several months, I decided I LOVED the size, it was perfect to hold and the single column was very conducive to reading, but I wanted something with bigger print and nicer quality for the long term.
This Clarion is a wonderful book to hold. The leather is so supple and bendable. There is no break in period needed. Right out of the box it was unbelievably limp. I've never held anything like this before. My "genuine leather" bibles do not come close to describing what this is like. There is no board on the inside to keep it stable, so you really will hold it a bit differently or it just falls over your hands.
The paper is smooth. You can glide your hand across it and it feels soft. The edges have a red tint to them, but they are gold leafed. The words are printed in size 8.75. It seems bigger when comparing to other 9pt fonts.
There is about 3.5" of print across the page and references in the outer margins. There is some space for small note taking around edges, but not much when references are abundant. I must say, I LOVE the single column format and the size of font makes it a joy to read for extended periods of time. I typically read about 10 chpts at a sitting, and with smaller font it leads to eye strain. I have not had that problem with this bible.
The paper is thin, which is why it is only 1.5" thick. This book is almost identical in size to the personal reference ed, just slightly thicker. I do not have problems with the pages getting wrinkly if I lay my hand on the page and leave it there for a few minutes. The type is aligned so that the words are typed on the same line on the back side of the paper. This is nice so that there isn't so much grey coming through the side of the page you're reading. There is some ghosting affect, but I don't find that it hinders the reading. I'm much happier with the size of the font :)
There are only chapter headings so there is not a bunch of extra breaks or added info. There are no book descriptions, and this is black letter, which I'm very happy with. New books do not necessarily start on a new page. There are 2 red ribbons, a decent concordance and color maps!
I do not see how one would be disappointed in this Bible. And, I expect it will last a very long time!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Clarion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing layout

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Clarion is Cambridge’s newest Bible design and is now available in the highly respected English Standard Version (ESV). The ESV Clarion continues the standard layout set by last year’s KJV: it is a hand-sized Bible with a very readable black-letter text in paragraph format, has references located on the outside margin, and is available in a nice range of bindings. Unlike the KJV edition, the ESV Clarion includes headings in the text, OT quotes in verse, and a traditional concordance.
Binding
The binding is Smyth sewn, allowing the Bible to lay flat when opened. This edition is calfskin, which is between goatskin and calf split. Calfskin is soft, but stiffer than goatskin. The lining is paper. The cover still has a soft texture. I prefer the cover to be slightly stiff so it lays flatter when I’m holding it in one hand. The Clarion is the perfect size Bible for one-hand use. The grain of the leather is smooth and slightly pebbly.
Text
The translation is the 2011 English Standard Version. It is a very literal translation that is easy to read and highly respected.
The font is a black-letter 8.75 Lexicon with 10.25 point leading (the space between the lines). It feels large for the size of the Bible. The extra space between the lines gives the text an extra readability. The font is clean and consistently dark. Readability is enhanced by placing the text on the same line as the text on the back side of the page. This keeps the white space between the lines white, making it easier on the eyes.
The real gem of the Clarion series is the single-column, paragraph format. The ESV edition has the additional features of headings in the text, OT quotes set in offset text, and poetry set in verse format. This makes the text even more readable. I would like to see the KJV offered with these features.
Section headings also make the text more readable. This helps break up the page into segments, allowing your eyes to see the page in smaller pieces. It also improves readability by summarizing that section of the text. Section heading also helps in scanning a chapter or book for a certain portion of text.
Chapter numbers are printed at the top of the page and include every chapter that is found on that page. Many Bibles only include the first chapter that begins on that page, but that makes it difficult to find a chapter quickly. The Clarion layout makes it easier to find the chapters.
References
References are placed on the outside column and there are plenty of them. There are 18 references for Genesis 1:1. References are keyed with letters. The verse reference is printed in bold. I like this feature because it can be too difficult to find the reference if you only have the letter.
The cross references themselves are the extensive reference system from the RV.
Textual Notes
There are textual notes at the bottom of the page. Textual notes are keyed with numbers. Notes include translation notes, Hebrew and Greek definitions, alternate translations, and explanatory notes.
Paper
The text is printed on India-paper. The paper is thinner than most Cambridge Bibles (the same as the KJV Clarion) and has slightly more ghosting than other editions, such as the Cameo or the Concord. The weight of the paper keeps the size and weight of the Bible down. For me this is a good trade-off, though many do find the ghosting annoying. For me it is still very readable. The pages tend to curl on the edges due to the thin paper.
Concordance
Unlike the KJV edition, which has a Reader’s Companion, the ESV edition has a traditional concordance. It is 97 pages and is in three-column format. It has lots of entries. I like to look up ‘God’ to see how many entries it has and compare to other concordances. The ESV Clarion has more than most, with 56 entries for ‘God’. There are plenty of entries, making the concordance a useful study tool. Unlike the Cameo and the Concord, each entry is on a new line. This greatly improves searching.
Maps
The maps are the standard Cambridge 16 pages, with an eight page index. They are full-color and are easy to follow.
Ribbons
There are two brown ribbons. They are long enough to pull from the corner with no problem. They feel like silk. The material is the same as found in other Cambridge Bibles.
Edges
The edges are art-gilt, also known as red under gold. This is my favorite edging for a Bible. The copper tone looks really nice with the brown cover.
Conclusion
The Cambridge Clarion in ESV is a fine Bible for reading and study. The text and layout look great and the references and concordance make this an excellent study Bible. The paper could be more opaque, but it’s still very readable. It’s the perfect size for carrying and reading. This is my favorite layout and my favorite edition of the ESV. I would like to see this layout become the standard.
Baker Publishing provided this review copy for free. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.