Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Surrender the Wind - eBook

Abingdon Press Surrender the Wind - eBook

Seth Braxton, a patriot of the American Revolution, unexpectedly inherits his loyalist grandfather's estate in England. Seth is torn between the land he fought for and the prospect of reuniting with his sister Caroline, who was a motherless child taken to England at the onset of the war.

With no intention of staying permanently, Seth arrives to find his sister grieving over the death of her young son. In the midst of such tragedy, Seth meets Juleah, the daughter of an eccentric landed gentleman. Her independent spirit and gentle soul steal Seth's heart. After a brief courtship, they marry and she takes her place as the lady of Ten Width Manor, enraging the man who once sought her hand and schemed to make Ten Width his own. From the Virginia wilderness to the dark halls of an isolated English estate, Seth and his beloved Juleah inherit more than an ancestral home. They uncover a sinister plot that leads to murder, abduction, and betrayal--an ominous threat to their new life, love, and faith.

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surrender the Wind - eBook
Review 1 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Has romance and mystery.

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheila Knox
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put it down. I had to read the whole book. It has romance (not too much to make you gag), suspense and mystery and faith is interwoven a bit. No violence and no swearing. If you're looking for a bit of a getaway with a romantic story laced with excitement, mystery and intrigue, this might be the book for you. It was a great price. There's no real moral or change in the characters or anything to change your life, just a good book when you want to escape reality for a bit. Pretty good story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story!

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
MommaBear
Location:KY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was my first e-book and the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 was that I wasn't crazy about the reader that you download to your PC if you want to read the book when you aren't online. The online reader is easier to move around in.
I enjoyed the story very much. Adventurous Christian Romance is my favorite genre: I love to read stories with historical settings and greatly prefer it when the romantic parts are tastefully done (but you still understand the true emotions the characters are feeling). The characters were believable and I enjoyed seeing how God used the bad circumstances that come into each of our lives and was able to make things work out for the best.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great story

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thelma Carlson
Location:Russell, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great story and well written. I love seeing unexpected miracles when they happnen and this book
has just that. It had a happy ending, better than I dared
wish for. All things are possible with God if only we can
believe and put our faith and trust in Him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Lindsay
'Surrender the Wind' grabbed me within the first few pages. It's a fast-paced, Georgian romance, steeped in history that had me comparing it to my favorites by Jane Austen or the Bronte sisters. It also has a hint of gothic, reminding me of the old mystery classics by Victoria Holtcreaky carriages rumbling along an English countryside dripping with fog, candlelight flickering against mullioned windows, a quill pen scratching against parchment. The author, Rita Gerlach, immediately swept me away from US soil to the misty isle of England where her hero, the American Revolutionary patriot, Seth Braxton, seeks to reunite with his sister Caroline. Seth wants nothing to do with his English roots, unlike his sister, so returning to the British Isles goes against his hearts desire. Then Seth meets the beautiful Juleah, and love begins to flower. In addition, danger and betrayal wait for Seth in his ancestral manor. Someone who keeps his presence and identity well-hidden also doesnt want Seth to return and take up the reins of his legacy. Carolines little son is kidnapped and Seth sets out to rescue his nephew. But Seths faith wavers at times in the face of sinister plots of abduction and murder, and Juleah helps to strengthen his faith in God.This is a great book to while away a summer day under a shady tree or on a wintry day with the rain slashing against your windows as you curl up on the couch. It is a book of around 300 pages that I would not hesitate to give to my young niece of 13, my friend of 30, or my mother at 73 years of age. It has no jarring or grotesque images to disturb, but it does have plenty of action, suspense, beautiful description, romance, and is inspirational.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Seth Braxton is a hero that will sacrifice what he wants for what is best for the one he loves. Juleah is a sweet character, but one who will also stand up for what she believes in, and isnt afraid to speak her mind. I really liked both of these characters. I loved how Rita made all the characters in some way related, and when they first met they had no idea the impact they would have on each others life. I love when you meet someone, and then you go on and never realize who they were or the major part they would one day play in your own life. There was one of those characters that I dislike very much. A pompous person who is somewhat in charge, but wont listen to reason even though they are wrong. But, he was taken care of in the end. I liked how everything turned out (I cant say what I want to because of spoilers!) and thought that it was well resolved. The epilogue was great too! I love epilogues because they seem to finish off the characters story line, without having to read the whole rest of their lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Lee
Rita Gerlach has written a very enjoyable story Surrender the Wind with wonderful senaories, delightful and believable characters, setting that you wish you could truly experience. Most of all, I thorougly enjoyed this Christian Inspriational story...and I'm very picky about that. I do not like having religion in my face in unnatural ways as having God get me out of a situation. Surrender the Wind by Rita Gerlach was written as believeable as I've ever read. Her characters turned to God in the same moments as I would have but they, with His help, got themselves out of the situations. I may now consider reading more of this genre now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
This is the first novel that I have read of Rita Gerlach's. And I will say that this book is worth reading a thousand times over! Set in the 1700's, this story brings you straight into the American Revolution era of fancy dresses and men in suits with longer hair and to where a young man is struggling between staying in America, the land he bled for, or traveling to England to reunite with his sister. He chooses to seek his sister out, only to find he's arrived in the middle of a tragedy~the death of his nephew. During this untimely tragedy, he meets a young woman who's free will and gentleness captures his heart. But there's just one problem~someone wants the home of the young man's grandfather, and the woman who stole his heart! Now, the question is, will their love be stronger than the plots against them? Find out in this MAGNIFICENT, timeless love story!!I never heard of Rita Gerlach before, but I came across her name and was fortunately blessed to obtain a copy of Surrender the Wind. This is not normally the style of stories I read, but Ms. Gerlach's wonderfully written story quickly captured me and has me wanting to read ALL her books! I give this book two thumbs up with highest praises to the author, who just gained a new fan!! Wonderfully done, Ms. Gerlach!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
This was a very interesting book to me. I loved the time period it was set in (post American Revolution) and the scenario (a patriot has to go to England to claim his inheritance and deal with all the hard feelings of the English there). There are a lot of elements to the storyline - mystery, murder, kidnapping, death, deception and love. But something about the book just didn't read smoothly to me. Like maybe there were too many elements to the book and so they weren't all able to develop fully. The romance between Seth and Juleah didn't develop it just happened as did the love story between Caroline and Michael Bray. I liked the overall book, it was really unique, the ending was great and can I just say that the cover is beautiful. A good historical romance from an era not much written about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
The language and imagery in this book is enough to have me craving for more from author Rita Gerlach. The one downfall to this book was that I felt that things went so fast and there was not always enough depth as I would like, but with a 400 page book and so many things happening, one can only fit in so many words. Bringing forth the best of an English native land as well as a post-Revolutionary America hosts an exciting setting for this story of romance, betrayal, heart break, and adventure. The interweaving of the characters past, present, and future is beautiful and believable. I loved the main character and it was so good to have a book that followed a man's point of view for once instead of a woman.I am really excited about the new publishing house of Abingdon Press and this cover is absolutely to die for!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
bigguysmama
This is the first novel I've read by Rita. As a lover of historical fiction, it was a great time period to read in this story.Seth Braxton has fought in the American Revolution and is heading to the country he just fought against. His sister Caroline was sent there to live with her grandfather in England when her father and brother went to war. She is now a widow with a young son.Caroline's dear friend, Juleah, has been a great comfort during the time of Caroline's husband's death and the illness of her grandfather. Before their grandfather dies, the 3 of them are reunited.Seth and Juleah take to each other immediately and he sees the care Juleah has taken with his sister. She in turn sees how kind and loving even an American can be. Of course what would any story like this be without a villian? He comes in the shape of Seth and Caroline's step brother and Juleah's former intended, Darden.Rita takes on into the beautiful English countryside of Devonshire, over the high seas back to America and through Virginia. It is a wonderful setting that engages the reader's imagination.If you like historical fiction, this would make a nice summer read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Toews
Rita Gerlach is what Vladimir Nabokov calls an enchanter. But, the author moves beyond the classic novels of Charles Dickens and Gustav Flaubert, with her unique voice, electric pacing and concise plotting. Riveting suspense hovers through every twist and cranny in the events that unfold as the reader feels the villain lurking behind every scene, waiting, conniving, ready to pounce with meanness and passion, as he eventually does. Exceptional editing of Abingdon Press Editor Barbara Scott empowers the author to mesmerize her readers as she transposes them to the post-revolutionary period between England and the United States. A structural counterpoint of VIRTUE and VICE permeates. Often words associated with love are used to describe despair. For instance, the play of dualism on the word embrace, with the opposite perception of entrapment intended, is repeated: High in the heavens the moon broke free from the embrace of clouds. And later: The sea crashed against the hull, lifted the ship and brought it down again into the seas dark embrace. This is no mere gift of language. This is literary genius.Like Dickens and Flaubert, Ritas minor characters stand out. Literary devices abound throughout her magical imagery. Numerous passages of the novel can be printed as free verse and read in exactly the same way. But most of all, the historical love story of Juleah and Seth set against the terrible retribution of Dardens unrequited love joins the greatest love stories of all time. When American patriot Seth Braxton travels to Devonshire, England, to claim Ten Width, the estate his grandfather left him, he falls in love with his sister's best friend, the beautiful and independent spirited Juleah, but terrible happenings interfere with their happy-ever-after ending. Can Seth and Juleah survive Dardens sinister plotting? The stage is set, and SURRENDER THE WIND is everything the author promises it will be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Surrender the Wind - eBook
This review is fromSurrender the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
MaryLu Tyndall
I had the privilege of previewing an advance copy of this book. If you love a great historical novel, filled with romance, action, and intrigue, then you wont want to miss Rita Gerlachs latest release, Surrender the Wind. Your heart will soar from the shores of America to the lush green hills of England and then plunge into despair as the characters youve grown to love face a cruel and bitter enemy, kidnappings, murders, and deep sorrows. But do not despair, Gods justice and true love prevail in the end. Ms. Gerlachs historic research is evident throughout the story, and her attention to detail and literary descriptions of scenes placed me right in the middle of the action, whether in England or on a ship crossing the Atlantic or in America. I could smell the flowers, the salt in the sea, feel the wind, and hear the sounds of birds, the clank of wagons, and the lap of waves. Though the story starts out a tad slow, your perseverance will be rewarded with an action-packed adventure that will keep you up in the late hours of the night. A thoroughly enjoyable story. I look forward to reading more from Rita Gerlach.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.