Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook

Thomas Nelson Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 2090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Review 1 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Be The People Review

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChrisSterrett
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As a conservative Christian who feels that America has taken a wrong turn for the worse, I feel that a book like "Be the People" written by Carol M. Swain, PH.D. helps open the eyes of the unsuspecting public. With its in depth detail and facts, Mrs Swain takes you on a trip of our ancestry and the creation of this great nation.
The book takes on a lot of aspects but seems to mainly stick to the authors opinion and clear objective as a self proclaimed Conservative. As an African American, the author also takes on the topic of President Obama and the over usage of the race card in the political field today. She seems to spend a lot of time on the topic and might alienate some of the readers with her opinion which is sometimes loosely based on facts.
The author also takes on such issues such as abortion, immigration, racism, marriage, divorce, and homosexuality. Many times, Bible is brought up, the views of experts and possible theories versus her own opinion which tends to help the reader take in the depth of the information without taking too much offense.
Overall, I would let those who are followers of the political arena and/or a conservative Christian that this book is a good addition to your library. While it may not be that needle in the haystack type of reading, it still gives some insight to a topic that needs to be brought to the forefront of the American people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Denton, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the pleasure of reading Be the People by Carol M. Swain, PhD. In her daring treatise on American culture, she takes a candid look at the problems our country faces but does not like to speak honestly about. In today’s America, issues like abortion, divorce, the definition of marriage and family, immigration, racial tension, and religion in the government are seen as sensitive topics. The author faces each of these concerns head-on and examines every angle. She speaks from much personal experience, having seen first-hand both sides of most of these issues. After presenting each topic along with solid data, Biblical backing, and absolutely no sugar coating she proceeds to point out why each has become a problem. She spends the last chapter presenting the solution. It is all in the hands of American citizens.
Oh wait… That’s right. We are a Republic after all.
I began reading this book like any right-winged Republican protestant from Texas. The author was preaching to the Choir! However, Ms. Swain does not speak as one who takes sides. She speaks with authority on each downfall of our culture. Instead of blaming those darn politicians and the establishment, she points to the general decline in culture that has lead to new laws, policies, and the government’s current treatment of abortion, race, marriage, and immigration. She puts it back on the people. By the time I reached the end of the book it was simple, obvious. All these problems I see in society are in some part my own fault.
Wow.
This book really made me think. I had to examine my own beliefs, experiences, and biases put in Biblical, truthful perspective. She lifted the blinders and made me see that sitting my own complaining about the wrong things I see while allowing them to happen is why our nation is where it is today. Too much talk but not enough action.
If you want a clue as to how you can act to better your country, this book is for you.
I received this book for free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions and thoughts I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ellie Mae
Location:Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In her newest book, Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise, Dr. Carol Swain outlines the social, political, and spiritual issues that are currently threatening the viability of the United States of America and all that it embodies.
With straightforward thinking, Swain sets forth informative chapters in which she discusses the negative impact the liberal media and government has had on abortion, the family, illegal immigration, racism, affirmative action, and national sovereignty. Each individual topic is covered extensively. For instance, in the illegal immigration chapter she highlights amnesty, tourist birthers, rule of law, anchor babies, employer sweeps, etc.,
Swain writes with an authority and credibility. She was the second of twelve children and the child of parents who could boast but 3rd grade and 8th grade educations. Swain, herself, dropped out of high school, became a teenage mother, had an abortion, and two divorces before she understood she had the ability to achieve greater and live better. She obtained her GED, went to community college, attended a four-year university, and later graduated from law school. She gave her life to Christ in 1999. She is currently a political science and law professor at Vanderbilt University.
Swain knows well both her subject matter and audience. She is authentic and knowledgeable. And though she highlights the many weak points in America's social and political structure and the need for their overhaul, Swain clearly relates that it all must begin with national repentance: "With concerted effort and a plan of action, we can help restore America to its former glory. We must being with foundational recognition that we have sinned and participated in great evils..."
Complete with an appendix containing the Ten Commandments, Bill of Rights, and the U.S. Constitution, Be the People is a motivational tool designed to activate Christians to speak up and stand up for that yesteryear America of pilgrim dreams and biblical principles. Be the People will resonate with Christians across the country whose highest patriotic desire is for the United States of America to leave it's spiritual exile and return to its God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Call to Action for Christians

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
BlessingFarm
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's time for WE the people to BE the people the founding fathers intended for us to be when they framed the Constitution. It is time for all of us to take action and stand up for the Christian values that our country was built upon. If we refuse to defend the moral standards that the 78% of Americans who claim to be Christians should be believing in if they are, in fact, Bible believers, then we should not be shocked when government, society, and media continue to veer away from conservative values. This is the message of Carol M. Swain's book Be the People, published by Thomas Nelson.
Dr. Swain states, “Cal Thomas, a Christian syndicated columnist, has written, 'Thirty years of trying to use government to stop abortion, preserve opposite-sex marriage, improve television and movie content and transform culture into the conservative Evangelical image has failed.' The moral decline continues because we haven't quite reached the hearts and minds of the majority of Americans who consider themselves Christians, yet know very little about Biblical teaching, the history of our nation, and its founding documents."
"All we need is for the majority of Americans to stand up and take responsibility for the condition of the nation. 2 Chronicles 7:14 makes the condition for national repentance and redemption quite clear. America needs its religious and political leaders to take responsibility for leading the people in a Godly direction, and the people need to take responsibility for fearing men more than they fear God.”
These are humbling words, because the truth is that many of us sit impotently by, commenting on how our country has gone to the dogs, or lamenting the loss of "the good old days," yet very few us us actually do anything to try to change the status quo. One of my favorite literary quotes is from Dante, "The hottest places in h*ll are reserved for those who in times of great moral crisis remain neutral." With God, neutral, or lukewarm, is not a good thing. He wants us to want what He wants...and to do that we need to go back to His word and see what His plans are, and fit our plans into His plan, instead of trying to fit our limited vision of church and Christianity somewhere into the plan of our prevailing culture.
Dr. Swain also reminds us that "the futures of our children and grandchildren depend on the choices we make today." Will you stand up and walk forth to defend a Biblical vision for our country, or will you sit idly by, believing that Christians are a minority and it does no good to try to be heard because the voice of the liberal nation is so strong? Dr. Swain urges readers to stand up for traditional values and to defend their beliefs. She tackles tough topics in chapters on issues such as racism, immigration, divorce, abortion, moral decline, and homosexuality. She also includes appendices containing the full text of the four of the most important documents our country has at its disposal: The Ten Commandments, The Declaration of Independence, The Bill of Rights, and the Constitution.
As a homeschooling parent who likes to use literature (vs. textbooks) to teach various subjects such as history and political science to my children, I believe that this book would make a solid addition to a high school level government course of studies. Not only are there "Action Points" at the end of each chapter, which makes it easy for readers to think more deeply and personally about what they have read, Carol Swain offers a free online study guide with even more thought-provoking discussion questions which also makes the book ideal for use in a study group or co-op class.
While this book is a pretty heavy read, especially if political science and government are not your strong points, it is not written in a way that will make it impossible for a beginning student of politics to understand. Since poly sci is not my forte, reading the entire book was a challenge for me, though I think I would have had an easier time getting through it if I'd had at least one person with whom to read and discuss its important issues.
If considering the ramifications of failing to stand up for our Christian beliefs by becoming personally involved in the governmental process in ways both big and small is something you feel is important, you should consider reading this book. It will make you think, and I believe you will have a hard time ignoring the call to get involved once you have read the carefully considered, bluntly spoken, well-defended truths presented in Be the People.
Should you feel the need to become involved, Dr. Swain lays out suggested "Steps Toward Reclaiming America," such as being prepared to give an answer to any who question the truth of Biblical principles, reading and understanding our country's important documents, staying up to date with a variety of news sources (and questioning them carefully), consistently making your voice heard by voting, and contacting your representatives to share your opinions on key issues.
Dr. Swain concludes her book by saying, "Our love for God, our families, future generations--for all who will be required to give an account to God--demands that we take seriously our obligation to warn society of God's impending judgment on those who continue to pursue an ungodly course. Let us choose wisely the course we will follow." Strong words, but undeniably true.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

BE THE PEOPLE, A Book Review

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jason Raines
Location:Sunnyside, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BE the People, A Call to Reclaim America's Faith & Promise, is a call to action for those that many would categorize as “the religious right.” What makes this book so interesting, is that the author is not what one would expect. Dr. Swain is an African-American woman raised in the rural South in a shack with no indoor plumbing. She dropped out of high school, has been divorced, raised kids as a single mother, and admits to having an abortion.
Against all odds, Swain earned her GED, and eventually achieved a successful career in academia. She is now a professor of political science and of law at Vanderbilt University. Her “rags to riches” background is a forceful reminder that the ideals of the “American Dream” are alive and well; and can be achieved regardless of socioeconomic backgrounds.
The book is broken into two parts; the first is titled “Broken Vows: Forsaking What We Once Knew.” It focuses on the changing values that Americans have, and how they have departed from those of our founding fathers. She is critical of political correctness, and its censoring of traditional Christian expression of thought in the public sphere. Swain documents how Christian values were integral in the creation of historical documents such as the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitution.
Her pro-life stance is strong, and she documents her own personal battle with guilt and health complications following her own abortion. Swain courageously criticizes faulty arguments on the “necessity” of abortion, knowing that she risks losing her academic career by “coming out” publicly as a Christian. She compares many of the academic studies on abortion to the documented “junk science” of climate scientists that have altered data to document climate change, now referred to as “climategate.”
Part Two of the book is entitled “Banished Virtues: Reclaiming Truth and Justice in Policy Choices.” In the second part of the book, Swain amplifies her call for readers to become politically active. At the end of each chapter she includes “Action Points”, which have suggested readings, and topics for small group discussions. She also prints the link to her website for more discussion items.
Swain presents a strong spiritual message of taking action in society. Although heavily centered on political issues and activism, she also encourages readers to be openly Christian in the business world. She laments that major media is heavily slanted toward secular humanist culture, and that merely winning at the ballot box will not counter what she considers the deterioration of our culture.
The last 90 pages of the book are filled with what I consider “clutter.” She includes the text of the Ten Commandments, The Declaration of Independence, The Bill of Rights, and the Constitution of the United States of America (1787) as appendices. This is followed by traditional style notes documenting sources and an index.
As important as the founding documents are, I do not feel it necessary to have them printed in this book. She could have simply stopped with encouraging her readers to read them. All are readily available on the Internet and at libraries everywhere.
Despite this, I found her book thought provoking. Her unique perspectives on poverty, race, and women's issues are something that conservatives and liberals alike can benefit from. I recommend this book, and give it four stars on a five star scale.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Call for America's Return from Spiritual Exile

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ellie Mae
Location:Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In her newest book, Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise, Dr. Carol Swain outlines the social, political, and spiritual issues that are currently threatening the viability of the United States of America and all that it embodies.
With straightforward thinking, Swain sets forth informative chapters in which she discusses the negative impact the liberal media and government has had on abortion, the family, illegal immigration, racism, affirmative action, and national sovereignty. Each individual topic is covered extensively. For instance, in the illegal immigration chapter she highlights amnesty, tourist birthers, rule of law, anchor babies, employer sweeps, etc.,
Swain writes with an authority and credibility. She was the second of twelve children and the child of parents who could boast but 3rd grade and 8th grade educations. Swain, herself, dropped out of high school, became a teenage mother, had an abortion, and two divorces before she understood she had the ability to achieve greater and live better. She obtained her GED, went to community college, attended a four-year university, and later graduated from law school. She gave her life to Christ in 1999. She is currently a political science and law professor at Vanderbilt University.
Swain knows well both her subject matter and audience. She is authentic and knowledgeable. And though she highlights the many weak points in America's social and political structure and the need for their overhaul, Swain clearly relates that it all must begin with national repentance: "With concerted effort and a plan of action, we can help restore America to its former glory. We must being with foundational recognition that we have sinned and participated in great evils..."
Complete with an appendix containing the Ten Commandments, Bill of Rights, and the U.S. Constitution, Be the People is a motivational tool designed to activate Christians to speak up and stand up for that yesteryear America of pilgrim dreams and biblical principles. Be the People will resonate with Christians across the country whose highest patriotic desire is for the United States of America to leave it's spiritual exile and return to its God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as valuable as I would wish

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Wood
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Can anyone doubt that it is indeed time for Americans to stand up and take a stand for truth? For integrity? For honesty and decency? We're on a roll...and it isn't a good one. If something doesn't change then many, many things will continue to change and none for the better. When our people and our government are snuggling up to sin and mockingly doing it out front, out loud and with pride, it is a time for mourning. Overall, our lack of propriety, our lack of concern for "from whence we came" is a sad indication of where our country is headed. Knowing this, Carol M. Swain has written a book for concerned Americans. In Be the People, she confronts many of the issues that are shaping our country today.
Decidedly conservative in nature, Be the People is a readable book that covers much ground. Though one could wish that Mrs. Swain had used more Scripture to define and backup her arguments (it is published by a Christian publisher, after all), she did define the issues from a Scriptural viewpoint. She covers her issues fairly well but in many ways her book lacks an in-depth Scholarly feel.
Some readers might take issue with some of the Christians she chooses to quote from.
Overall, there is value in this book, just not as much as I would wish.
DISCLAIMER: I received this book for free from BookSneeze for purposes of review. I was not required to give a positive review, only a fair and honest one. My opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a great size: 260 pages not including the authors notes and index. It is FILLED with great information. Dr. Swan gives many details about the history of America and the changes that has happened in the past that has reshaped ``America`s Faith & Promise`` and also what its citizens can do to win it back.
Even though I am a Canadian citizen, I love hearing about different countries. Dr. Swan even gives examples and situations from her own life, telling stories about the events and people she has encountered. Most of her work is cited, however I had noticed some pieces of information that should have been cited from a sourse, but was not.
I do agree with the past few reviews of what I have heard of this book... It is fantastic! I have learned a lot, but I found some parts dragged on a little too long, but if I had been really interested in those parts then I dont think I would have minded at all lol. I guess she just puts a little in there for everybody, so sooner or later, you will find something that you love reading about!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Formula for Restoring America

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emily Akin
Location:TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Full title: Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise.
Thomas Jefferson once said, “Every generation needs a new revolution.” The current generation is faced with a country that is drifting further and further away from the Christian principles on which it was founded. Be the People shows us the way back.
Be the People sounds the alarm about America's decline. Author Carol M. Swain is a professor of political science and law at Vanderbilt University. You might have seen her representing the conservative point of view on cable news interviews or panels. She's a Christian and a patriot who is concerned about the direction our country is taking--away from the Christian values that shaped our government and our culture.
Swain covers current topics like the breakdown of the family, immigration, the rule of law, racism, and racial politics. She maintains that we are losing our very identity as a nation by abandoning truth and justice as the founding fathers envisioned it. She gives historical background to show how we've arrived where we are today. She explains why our current situation is not consistent with Christian principles and with the founders' intentions.
But, she doesn't leave us in despair. She gives us hope by informing us that it is not too late. We can save our country and our culture if we go back to our founding documents and re-discover our true identity as a nation. At the end of each chapter, she suggests Action Points, things we can do to help. Also, on her website, she provides discussion questions for each chapter. The book's appendix includes The Ten Commandments, The Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights, and the Constitution. Swain recommends that we get familiar with them again so that we can put them into practice.
Have you ever read a book that was so thought-provoking and so true to your own thinking that you find yourself wishing you had written it? That's the way I felt as I read this book. I think every American citizen should read Be the People and take it to heart. Whether you call yourself liberal or conservative, you need to be aware of the information in this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book review: Be The People

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doreen
Location:Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carol M. Swain is a wonderfully, educated, godly woman and I felt blessed to have read this book by her on how to get involved and join the effort to reclaim America! "The moral decline continues because we haven't quite reached the hearts and minds of the majority of Americans who consider themselves Christians yet know very little about biblical teaching, the history of our nation, and its founding documents". We shouldn't be disheartened by the sad state of affairs in our nation. She shows us that we can find inspiration in the life of Caleb..."by praying to see the promise and riches of our land and to share a vision for what can be and what should be, rather than be discouraged by seeming obstacles in our pathway". We should have a vision for our land. With effort and a plan of action, we can help restore America to its former glory.
She clearly defines the issues facing our country and offers solid reasoning for why our country has come to this point and good ideas on how to fix it. Our government was designed to be "of the people, by the people and for the people". We need to stand and "Be the People". She included in the Appendix of this book, 'The Ten Commandments', 'The Declaration of Independence' and 'The Bill of Rights'. These all reveal the power to take back our country! I recommend the reading of this book by all Americans who know we need to reclaim America!!
Disclaimer: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

"Be The Christian People"

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy L
Location:Santee, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
America has broken covenant with God by forsaking her Christian roots in thought, word, and deed. Because America is the new Israel, God’s new covenant nation, it is up to Christians to restore this covenant by behaving in a biblical manner. This is author Carol M. Swain, PhD’s thesis in Be The People, which could more accurately be titled Be The Christian People.
In 1620 William Bradford and the other Christians who’d sailed on the Mayflower to America wrote the Mayflower Compact. In this they entered into a covenant with each other to behave in a manner in their new nation that would honor God. Dr. Swain makes the argument that the covenant was made between the people and God, and while the distinction that the covenant was between themselves in order to honor God sounds like how many angels can dance on the head of a pin, the distinction is significant. It is significant because Dr. Swain uses the Mayflower Compact to bolster her contention that God has made America His new covenant nation. Since a covenant always is between at least two parties, Dr. Swain sees the Mayflower Compact as America’s recognition that she is indeed God’s new covenant nation. Dr. Swain quotes three verses on covenant-keeping from the twenty-third chapter of the Old Testament book of Deuteronomy, a book of laws given to Israel by God, and claims these verses apply to America. Neither of these contentions is true.
There is no arguing that America was founded by men who believed in a Creator God, many of whom believed in Jesus Christ. But the Mayflower Compact was written primarily to prevent the non-Christians on board the Mayflower from establishing their own form of government with their own laws. Deuteronomy was written specifically to the nation of Israel and does not apply to America. Many people (rightly) believe that God has blessed America because of her biblical foundations, but to claim that the Mayflower Compact and the Old Testament refer to a covenant between God and America is false. However, ideas about restoring a healthy morality to America need not have a biblical or even historical basis to be worthy of discussion.
Dr. Swain claims the ideas she presents in the chapters on abortion, immigration, and various racial issues are a call to action for Christians, an intellectual treatise for discussion among intellectuals, and a guidebook to the behavior of the Christian Right for atheists and secular humanists. She includes Action Points at the end of each chapter, and a list of questions for discussion in a separate freely downloadable document. If Swain’s contention that America is God’s covenant nation can be set aside, the book and associated guides might serve as a basis for discussion.
Swain attacks the issues of abortion, family, immigration, race, and racial issues by presenting statistics that seek to persuade the reader that there is indeed a problem, but when she moves from statistics to persuasion the arguments for her solutions tend to rest on anecdotal experience or a “some say that....” offense that is neither persuasive nor particularly helpful in the context of a book. “The most ardent secular humanist” says Dr. Swain “might easily recoil when confronted with data about the multibillion-dollar biotechnology trade in human fetal tissue obtained from aborted babies.” Probably not, given that secular humanists don’t view the fetus as a human being, nor are they opposed to multibillion-dollar biotechnology corporations engaging in the sacramental activity of their religion, namely abortion.
When statistics might be helpful, Swain is intentionally vague. “Despite the brutal violence, an unknown number of whites who have read The Turner Diaries seem to be attracted to its vision of an all-white America purged of racial minorities and Jews.” An “unknown number?” “Seem to be?” The implication is that most if not all Caucasians are racist, and it only takes a book like The Turner Diaries to bring it to the surface. Though Dr. Swain’s previous books deal almost exclusively with racial issues I do not believe her intent is to suggest Caucasians are racists, but the vague suggestions of widespread racism give a false impression; facts or statistics could have made a strong and specific statement.
Dr. Swain does use one statistic consistently throughout the book. She claims that approximately seventy-eight percent of Americans claim they are Christian. If this is true, then perhaps as John MacArthur says, “America’s moral decline is a spiritual problem, not a political one, and its solution is the gospel, not partisan politics.” Be The People mentions Christians’ responsibility to study their faith but the majority of the book insists Christians need to exert a strong influence over the government and the media so that Christian principles can reign again in America.
Michael Gerson and Pete Wehner in their book The City of Man: Religion and Politics in a New Era make a case for reasonable and biblical Christian political action. Pastor Tim Keller writes (in an installment of the Redeemer Report) in “Work and Cultural Renewal” that “If God and his grace are not at the center of a culture, then other things will be substituted as ultimate values. So every vocational field is distorted by idolatry.” So it isn’t that Christians aren’t called to engage in politics, it’s that political action, for the Christian, is in third place behind preaching Jesus Christ and strengthening themselves and the Church with solid doctrine. Only then can Christians come honorably to the marketplace, ready to engage the culture.
In a blog titled “Dominion Theology or Reconstructionism” Pastor John Piper states “...we do well to exert our influence in ways that do not put the sword into the hands of the priests.” While Dr. Swain’s discussion of the issues plaguing our nation is interesting, and there is much Christians can agree with, her contention that America is God’s covenant people weakens the arguments she makes in the rest of the book and makes it hard for intellectuals or atheists to give the book any credibility.
I received a copy of this book at no cost to me from Thomas Nelson publishers, in exchange for a review of the work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a wake up call!

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
avid reader
Location:Ephrata, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can I vote for Carol Swain for President? Read Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith & Promise and you may be thinking the same thing. Carol Swain is a well-educated, wise woman. She clearly defines the issues facing our country and offers solid reasoning for why our country has come to this point and good ideas on how to fix it.
The following is directly from page 166:
In recent years our nation has been shocked and embarrassed by the
actions of US troops who have committed atrocities and tortured,
murdered, and raped other human beings. The Old Testament makes
clear the brutalities and horrors that are part of war. We might ask
how soldiers from our predominantly Christian nation could commit
the horrific acts that occurred at Abu Ghraib prison in Baghdad and
Guantanamo Bay. The answer, I believe, lies in the ungodly model
of leadership that has been patterned in our nation--for instance, the
burning of Christian Bibles at the order of military officials, the
acceptance and accommodation of Wiccans in our military ranks,
and the passing of resolutions that ban American soldiers from
witnessing to others about their Christian faith. Under current
military rules, American soldiers home on leave or stationed within
the United States are prohibited from sharing their Christian
testimony while wearing their military uniform. Clearly, we have
strayed from the religious foundations of our nation and our
belief in the providence of a God who watches over us. So-called
secular progress in recent years is actually our nation's decline
from grace, common sense, and wisdom.
In this book, Carol Swain addresses issues such as abortion, racism, homosexuality and immigration and offers reasons why these issues are all part of the problem of our country's decline. I highly recommend this book to anyone who truly cares about our country and the shape that it is in and the direction in which it is headed. This book is eye-opening.
I will leave you with one more direct paragraph from the book (pages 224-225):
Pastor Joe Wright of Central Christian Church in Wichita used his
opportunity as a guest chaplain at the Kansas State House on January
23, 1996, to call for national repentance. Thousands of copies of Pastor
Wright's prayer circulated the world in the weeks after he uttered the
prayer. His words still reverberate across the nation. Wright's prayer
is one that we should all consider praying, with sincerity and conviction,
individually, congregationally, and in small groups.
Heavenly Father, we come before you today to ask your forgiveness
and to seek your direction and guidance. We know Your Word says,
"We have lost our spiritual equilibrium and reversed our values.
We confess that:
We have ridiculed the absolute truth of Your Word and called it pluralism.
We have worshiped other gods and called it multiculturalism.
We have endorsed perversion and called it an alternative lifestyle.
We have exploited the poor and called it the lottery.
We have neglected the needy and called it self-preservation.
We have rewarded laziness and called it welfare.
We have killed our unborn children and called it choice.
We have shot abortionists and called it justifiable.
We have neglected to discipline our children and called it building self-esteem.
We have abused power and called it political savvy.
We have coveted our neighbor's possessions and called it building ambition.
We have polluted the air with profanity and pornography and called it freedom of expression.
We have ridiculed the time-honored values of our forefathers and called it enlightenment.
Search us, O God, and know our hearts today; cleanse us from every sin
and set us free. Guide and bless these men and women who have been sent to
direct us to the center of Your will. I ask it in the name of Your Son, the
living Savior, Jesus Christ.
This book has a very timely and valuable message. Our government was designed to be "of the people, by the people and for the people". We need to stand and "Be the People".
Carol offers great suggestions for things we can all do to make a difference in our government at the end of each chapter. She also gives other resources and has study questions available for each chapter. At the end of the book, she has included a copy of the Ten Commandments, the Constitution, the Declaration of Independence, and the Bill of Rights. I urge all Americans to read this book and take a stand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be the People By Carol M. Swain PhD

Date:July 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
GabbyGee1976
Location:Lutz, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America’s Faith & Promise by Carol M. Swain, PhD
When I first saw this book, I thought, “This is going to be a boring book about political topics. I don’t know why I am even choosing to read this book.” The truth is, this is not a book that I would typically pick up off the shelf of a bookstore or a library. I am not much interested in politics, so I really expected this to be a difficult read. Imagine my surprise, when I found that I couldn’t put the book down. Carol Swain discusses issues from the founding principles of our country’s earliest leaders to topics such as Family Issues, Immigration, Race and Social Issues that impact our nation on a daily basis. Basically, the main message that Carol is trying to bring out is that we, as a nation, need to reclaim our founding principles. As our country has moved away from the religious principles that our nation was founded upon, Carol was able to show how that movement has negatively affected our nation’s rights and freedoms.
As I stated above, I was unable to put this book down. Carol was engaging from the minute I started reading the book, until I finished. She writes in a way that anyone would be able to understand what she is talking about, which is unusual for a lot of well-educated authors and political figures. She uses clear examples to back up her premises, and gives practical steps that every-day citizen’s can take to make a difference in the direction that our country moves forward. I especially like how Carol was able to practically explain how the way our nation is moving forward at this time is contrary to what God’s Word commands, and how we should get back to the godly roots that our nation was founded upon. Her book moves forward in a natural, logical way, which made it so much easier for me to follow and understand what she was trying to convey. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in knowing more about the principles our country was founded upon, and how we can get back to our roots.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Be The People ~ Book Review

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth Kaup
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
With the next election a little over a year away, the publication of this book was perfectly timed. Be The People by Carol M. Swain, PhD is a call to reclaim America’s faith and promise in our nation’s founding values. It is a call to reexamine the kind of nation we are becoming and encourages American citizens to stand up and reclaim the life, liberty, and justice envisioned by the forefathers.
This book is conservative politically and Biblical ethically. It is divided into two parts:
■Broken Vows:Forsaking What We Once Knew ~ The author gives a detailed chronology of the history of America’s roots, policies that shaped and damaged our morals, and shares very personal details of her abortions and how this freedom has brought God’s judgment on our nation. Historically, this book is well documented and whether you are a novice, scholar, liberal, or conservative, the information presented will enlighten, inform, and at times shock your being.
■Banished Virtues: Reclaiming Truth and Justice In Policy Choices ~ In the final half, the author investigates the break down of the family unit, immigration laws, race relations, her personal views and issues with President Obama’s policies, and finally sounds the call to reclaim the faith of the founding father’s from the secular world view it is presently claiming and shares Ten Steps Toward Reclaiming America in this final chapter.
Each chapter concludes with Action Points, several suggestions for ways to become more knowledgeable, sites to visit, and additional literature to read. At the end of the book, the author included The Ten Commandments, The Declaration of Independence, The Bill of Rights, and The Constitution of the Unites States of America.
This book was one of most concise, yet well documented books I’ve read. As a conservative black American, the author shared how she has been harassed in the media for opposing the present White House policy, yet has remained true to her message. She warns of impending judgment for forsaking the principles that founded America, just as God allowed judgment to fall on Israel .
I felt that she was a bit too harsh in her criticism of her own race. As one who came out of poverty and was the first in her family to graduate from college, at times, she seemed to critically turn a blind eye to the racism that still exists in this country, and the consequences of that racism.
The author appears to embrace Americanism, which is the view that if we return to the original moral principles our nation was founded upon, it will return to God. But she also states in the final chapter that it may be too late for America to escape God’s hand of judgment. I believe that the morality of this nation will change when the hearts of this nation are changed by the power of God. Morality can only be legislated to an extent. Carol Swain discussed that some view America as the new Israel and that it is under the Abrahamic covenant and blessings, but I am not certain if the author believes this false concept.
This is a well written book. I encourage you, no matter what your political beliefs, to purchase a copy. It will inform, educate, and enlighten you politically and historically to do your part to bring change to America.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Be The People

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
gcw1
Location:York, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BE THE PEOPLE by Carol M. Swain, Ph D --- This book describes the problem that our government and we are facing and how we got to this point. We as a people need to change the way these things are going. The best way is to return to God and through prayer. At one time, God blessed our country and we have lost these blessing because we have chose to follow the path of sin. We are at a point as the Israelites were under the there kings, they choose not to follow the Lord God. The Old Testament tells us what happen to them and Revelations tells us what is going to happen to us if we do not follow God.
I recommend this book to all Christians and non Christians and if you care what is going wrong in our country to pray, pray and pray some more for our country.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Call to Action

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
McDawg81
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Be the People – A Call to Reclaim America’s Faith & Promise is a call to arms for a nation that has drifted far from the moorings of its’ foundation.
Tackling such difficult topics as religion, race, immigration and the decline and decay of the family, Dr. Swain does an admirable job of placing these issues out on the table – arguing that it is well beyond time for us to have grown up discussions on these issues.
The book not only provides for historical perspectives when addressing these issues, but presents at the end of each chapter a call to arms with challenges to the reader to become active. The last chapter of the book again proves to be an inspiration for the reader to do more than complain. The author weaves in the Old Testament story of Caleb – one of the two original spies sent into the Promised Land. Caleb was promised that the land upon which he walked would be his. It took 45 years from that original promise, but Caleb, at the age of 85, approaches Joshua and says, “Give me my mountain!” Pure determination. If we are to see our nation successful again, we must be determined in our approach to return this nation to its moral foundation!
If you like reading about the founding of our nation, you would enjoy reading this book. I recommend this book to all and urge you to get involved!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through their bloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be The People

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommybugg
Location:SE Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does the God of the broken American covenant still judge nations?"
Those of us who call ourselves Christians and presume to ask for God's blessing must never forget that His ability to bless a nation is integrally tied to His ability also to curse that same nation.
In Be The People, Swain discusses current politically charged topics such as religious freedoms and our country's founding principles, feminism, abortion, defining family and marriage, immigration, and race issues. Swain, an obviously conservative Christian herself, unapologetically tackles these topics from a boldly Biblical viewpoint. Though solutions are proposed relating to the current problems being discussed, a large portion of the book is composed of the bemoaning of the wrongs within our country's political system. For this reader, the over-lamenting became somewhat repelling.
In addition to the excellent references at the back of the book each chapter contains "action points" challenging the reader to be more involved and better informed with the growth and development of this country. For those who participate in book clubs or discussion groups her website contains excellent questions related to each chapter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Straightforward, bold, and powerful.

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to be honest: when I agreed to review this book I approached it with a good amount of skepticism. I’ve read a lot of books from authors who seem to think that America is ‘God’s chosen people’—a viewpoint I don’t agree with—so any book about Christian patriotism-type issues makes me edgy.
My skepticism quickly vanished, though, when I started reading. In writing Be the People, Carol Swain has created a straightforward, bold, and powerful presentation on the state of the American culture and nation. Well thought-out, deeply grounded in the author’s Christian faith, and exhaustively researched, Be the People presents a vivid and, I truly believe, accurate picture of our country today. And the picture is not encouraging.
Carol Swain shares my belief that, while America as a nation is not ‘God’s chosen people’ (that status belongs to Israel), our country was founded on a covenant: that we would build a nation on Christian morals, values, and principals. The definitive nature of a covenant involves consequences following the failure of one party to uphold their end of the agreement. And America has certainly fallen far away from the foundation they established and agreed to follow.
Carol Swain’s revealing discussion of the moral and political perversion plaguing America today is certainly thought-provoking. Even frightening.
Could we as a nation have incurred God’s judgment upon ourselves? As Christians who still hold fast to the principals laid out for us in the Bible, and who still consider the Declaration of Independence, the United States Constitution, and the Bill of Rights to be the highest authority in the land, what can we do to turn the tide of the tail-spinning American culture? Is it too late to turn the ship around? Read Be the People to hear Carol Swain’s intelligent discussion of a difficult, highly controversial topic.
Due to some of the subject matter and the author’s frank, unflinching manner of dealing with it, I don’t recommend the book to anyone under eighteen. However, I believe that much could be gained by parents reading the book themselves, then discussing or reading select chapters with their younger teens. The book also includes several appendices containing unabridged copies of the Ten Commandments, The Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights, and the United States Constitution, all of which I believe every American should have a solid familiarity and comprehension of.
I cannot stress it enough: every Christian American must read this book. I just finished reading it this morning and already have three people waiting to borrow it from me. Please, Americans, if you care about your nation and the tragic direction it is taking, read this book. Share it with friends. Discuss it with your church. Teach it to your children. America needs this book. I pray a special blessing for Carol M. Swain for caring enough and for having the courage to write it.
I received this book free as part of Thomas Nelson’s BookSneeze program in exchange for my review. A favorable review is not required. Thomas Nelson is committed to gathering accurate and honest opinions from their readers regarding the titles they publish.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
ryan
Location:ontario
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an enjoyable book, however I must say I have read a few others that are exactly like it, and I can imagine there are dozens more. I must give Carol credit though, because she is a very powerful and strong writer, with mind-changing abilities. This would be a good read for anyone interested in learning and reading about politics, especially from the conservative side.
Carol was excellent at breaking things and topics down so you could really understand them. We really live in an age of deception, from politics to religion, and Carol explains how and why deception is everywhere in not only the United States, but everywhere!
I found this book to be very brave and courageous and knowlegable. I was very excited to keep reading this book and find out what happens next
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Be the People: A Call to Reclaim America's Faith and Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Be the people by Carol Swain is overall a good book I would say. It addresses our current political climate as well as an issue by issue breakdown from a right wing conservative perspective (though this is not by any means exhaustive as it deals only with the chief areas of concern for the conservative mind). It is an enjoyable read if you are on the right politically (after all, it was endorsed by Sean Hannity who is one of the leading conservative voices of our day) and interested in political books. One big draw back I would give this book, tough, is that it is by no means unique. You can literally buy dozens, probably even hundreds, of books just like it. Books dealing with the same issues from the same perspectives with the same conclusions. If you haven't already read any of the many books that are a kind of conservative political synopsis ,or at least a recent one since the political landscape changes so much over the years, then this book is for you. If you don't like conservative ideas or have read the many similar books then maybe you pass. Still, it's an enjoyable read either way.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.