Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Review 1 for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful words about THE WORD

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
markbraye
Location:Temiskaming Shores, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We believe that the Scriptures of the Old and New Testament were given by inspiration of God, and that they only constitute the Divine rule of Christian faith and practice." (Doctrine One, The Doctrines of The Salvation Army)
"The book to read is not the one which thinks for you, but the one which makes you think. No book in the world equals the Bible for that." (Harper Lee)
"God's book of 'grace' is just like his book of nature; it is his thoughts written out. This great book, the Bible, this most precious volume is the heart of God made legible; it is the gold of God's love, beaten out into gold leaf, so that therewith our thoughts might be plated, and we also might have golden, good, and holy thoughts concerning Him." (John Bunyan)
for thousands of years the Bible has been considered a very important book. it has been read, studied, and meditated upon for centuries. Christians of all denominations and traditions regard the words of the Old and New Testaments to be sacred.
Vishal Mangalwadi, whom Christianity Today calls "India's foremost Christian itellectual," is the author of the wonderful volume, The Book That Made Your World: How The Bible Created The Soul of Western Civilization.
it's very well-written. Mangalwadi is an excellent author and story-teller.
it's well outlined and easy to follow, while at the same time being deep and informing.
The Book That Made Your World is educating, entertaining, and edifying. it's a joy to read and will benefit greatly your spiritual journey.
whether you hold the Bible to be sacred or not, this is a book you should read this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Book That Made Your World

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
michorose
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author, Vishal Mangalwadi, grew up in India. Things were quite different there than in western civilizations. He goes into details about their culture. He explains how praise and worship came about. At one point in time worshipers didn't make a sound. The priests did the chants and prayers and that was it. Martin Luther was a reformist who came in and explained why all Christians should be allowed to praise and pray. Then came along the hymnals. He compares Kurt Cobain of the rock band Nirvana to Johan Sebastian Bach, the composer. They both lost their parents at a young age, but took 2 very different paths in life. There is soooo much information packed into this book. It was interesting but sometimes just too much for me to take in and follow. That could also be because of my 3 children at my feet every 10 minutes too. I will pick up the book again in a couple years and maybe I will be able to take it all in. It is a good read, and it has a lot of interesting facts of how Christianity transformed western civilization. I am lending to someone else and they are loving the book and have no complaints at all.
I received this book from Booksneeze to review. This is just my opinion :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! Just Wow!

Date:May 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I doubt any one review could do this justice – just read it, and you will be amazed! This book provides a comprehensive explanation of the ways in which the Bible and its proponents changed Western civilization. Can you read? Do you live in a nation that espouses personal liberty? Have you seen compassion where it merits no personal enrichment? Were you born in poverty, a girl, or disabled, yet you survived infancy? Have you studied science, medicine, or been to a university? All of these are creditable to the Word of God. Vishal’s book describes historical, philosophical, and tangible ways in which the Bible impacted our world while humanist, Buddhist, Hindu, Greek, and Roman texts could not, and did not.
On page 182, Vishal says: “God implies that we are to walk with Him, not follow the traditions and counsel of rebellious men. To make a difference one must live differently.” Vishal began to develop his ideas about the Bible from reading of God’s promise to Abraham in Genesis. God said that through Abraham, He would bless all nations. Vishal’s premise is that if the Bible is truth, then God would have indeed blessed all nations through His Word. As it turns out, Vishal did not have to look further than his native India to see the truth of that promise.
As an aid worker in rural India, Vishal and his wife tried desperately to save the life of a young girl named Sheela. Unfortunately, the concept of human life having intrinsic worth is not one that is advocated by India’s Hindu culture – instead, a girl in a lowly caste has no value because she cannot serve a use in the home. Human value for the sake of human value is a distinctively Biblical concept – and one that missionaries to India and other impoverished nations teach just by being in service.
Discussing everything from Kurt Cobain to John Wesley to Aristotle to Dan Brown, Vishal clearly lays out the over-arching benefits of a Bible that teaches salvation as a means of changing the world. Secularism and humanism are only the most current in a long line of attempts to discredit the Word. Fortunately for Christians, God’s Word has survived burnings of the book and translators, religious oppression, attempts to quash it through legislation, and all other destructive/dismissive attitudes. The reason? The Bible’s author is eternal, and He still speaks to the hearts of men.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization, written by Vishal Mangalwadi, is a book that explores the importance of Christianity in regards to the shaping of Western Civilization.
Through this book, Vishal seeks to help his readers, and prayerfully the world, understand that most of what we have come to appreciate today, in regards to our modern lives, our culture, science, art, literature, and of course our religious beliefs, has its roots in scripture.
Vishal points out that God has truly blessed the Western Civilization through the utilization of Christians and their efforts across the span of history, but he does not neglect to bring forth a warning for the future. Vishal shares of the obvious turn within the direction of society, a turn away from God. He brings forth a warning that must be heeded, for if society does not turn back towards the presence of God, the days ahead shall bring worse hardships, worse than those we can conjure up within our imaginations.
This book has the ability to challenge its reader to see the world as a whole, thus removing us from our own little lives and exposing them to the entirety of the world. For that reason, this book is a recommended read.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Read!

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookgirl28
Location:North Carolina
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently read The Book that Made Your World by Vishal Mangalwadi. I LOVED this book! The book showcases events through history that have ultimately molded our western culture into what it is today. The author’s adventures throughout such places as Britain, India, and America leads to him uncovering the history and real truth about governments and belief systems throughout the world. I was so excited about reading this book and learning about how the Bible has been influential in shaping our society and our world’s mindset. I enjoyed the author’s personal stories and was always on the edge of my seat when reading about his run ins overseas and just how God was faithful to him and his wife during some very difficult situations. It was also interesting to learn about just how crucial of a role the Bible played in forming our government in the beginning and how we as an American culture have strayed so far from both the values and morals from which our government and society were originally based upon. I also enjoyed hearing about how God gives us commandments to suppress or harm us but for the purpose of protecting us and keeping us safe. His ways are the best ways, and so often we as a society tend to think that our way is the only way which ultimately ends up bringing more harm than good into our lives.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and especially liked the historical aspect of it which explains why we believe what we do today and even the reasoning behind how things came to be the way they are today. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for enlightenment!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't miss this one!!

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
GiniB
Location:Dallas, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I downloaded this book for review, but didn’t get to it right away. What a sad mistake. This probably the freshest Christian writing I have read in a long time. Bravo for the author! It inspires, reveals a lost history and lets the reader inside some of the Eastern religions in a way I had not seen before. There’s an impressive group of recommendations for this book but I generally don’t pay much attention to them. For some reason I did this time and it isn’t the usual list that congratulate each other’s work. He has drawn praise from a wide range of readers.
I literally anticipated reading the next page and chapter. A rare thing for me. Reading about something that some in the West have taken for granted or dismissed from the perspective of a people that did not have such a book was humbling, indicting, and awesome. It had been a long time since I have experienced such uplifting work. Read this book! is all I can say.
This book was provided for me for review from BookSneeze, Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Amazing Than I Thought It Could Be!

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tiffany Cole
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just finished reviewing “The Book That Made Your World, How The Bible Created The Soul of Western Civilization,” by Vishal Mangalwadi. This unsurpassed masterpiece details and highlights the events through history that have shaped our modern western culture. He travels through Britain, India, America and many other places revealing suppressed history and hidden truths about our ancestors, governments, and beliefs of many different religions.
This book is an eye opener even for people that have a good grasp on theology and its relation to cultures and societies. I have been an avid reader and took a serious interest in the Bible as a young teenager. My whole life has revolved around this passion and belief in the written Word of God. However, even with all the books I have read, lectures I have attended, and hours upon hours of study, I was pleasantly surprised at just how much information was in this book that I had not been exposed to.
In this book, Mr. Mangwaldi addresses:
• Socialism and its counterparts
• The various forms of Paganism
• Technology
• Humanity
• Rationality
• Heroism
• Literature
• Science
• Many, many more topics that are all brilliantly written!
Through the chapters of this book, I was in tears through the saddest of circumstances and yet rejoiced with the author at the handiwork of our Lord in the joys of life! I was humbled to pray for people that have a worldview so contrary to my own as Mr. Mangalwadi describes beautifully the mindset of whole cultures that embrace death and where those mindsets have come through an intellectual viewpoint.
Mr. Mangalwadi shares some very personal stories and insights in this book along with the rich history. Without going into too much detail, the story that struck me the most was the little girl of only eighteen months whom they tried to save, but was ultimately the victim of a mercy killing by her family. The way the family was described gave me a new outlook on why America is so ready and willing to kill its unborn children and why mercy killings are becoming more and more “normal” and “accepted” in America. This has also challenged me to pray even more for those who cannot pray for themselves yet.
This book needs to be in every Library, University and Bookstore. The information in this book is critical to our future generations. Mr. Mangalwadi says it beautifully, “Endarkenment,” is the term we are truly living in, not Enlightenment. We lost the light a very long time ago, but there is a chance that we can find it again if we choose to look for the true light and not an imitation.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great book on the history of religion

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was really good and worth taking the time to read. It may be long, about 400 pages but I enjoyed it very much. This book was about the history of religion and how it came to the force it is today. It talked about Hinduism, Buddhism and the bible. I found the history of the bible the most interesting and skipped over the rest of the religions. To me personally the bible has a big impact on my life and how I live my life so I liked alot of what the author had to say about the bible and how it impacted his life.
The author mentions on page 22 that one of the problems people have with the bible is that they feel it is irrelevant to today. That is far from the case. If only people would actually live how the bible tells us today then they would have a happier life. GOD gives us commandments to follow because they protect us from harm and it helps us be safe. I also like what the author says on page 30 how GOD is our shield and protects us when we put him first in our lives. The bible says "Put on all the armour which God provides, so that you may be able to stand firm against the devices of the devil.”—EPHESIANS 6:11"."We stand firm against Satan by being motivated to serve Jehovah and to lead clean lives that will prevent our becoming a morally contaminating influence among Jehovah’s people. With accurate knowledge of God’s Word, we can puncture and cut down false teachings, exposing their lack of logic and, in particular, their conflict with the Holy Scriptures.We do this not out of pride but out of humility and love for God, truth and our fellowman."
On page 33,34 I also agree with what the author says. On page 33 he mentions how we must honor our civil authorities. The author says"The bible says that we must honor and obey civil authorities." On page 34 talks about how the Gov't today cannot save us. Only the Gov't of God can save us. To quote the author" We knew our freedoms were from GOD, not the Gov't's generosity.""Do not put your trust in nobles, nor in the son of earthling man, to whom no salvation belongs. His spirit goes out, he goes back to his ground; in that day his thoughts do perish.”(So, any programs for betterment that rulers institute soon pass into the hands of others and are frequently abandoned.)"No matter who the ruler is, he will still be part of this world that lies in Satan’s power. “The God of heaven will set up a kingdom [a government] that will never be brought to ruin. And the kingdom itself will not be passed on to any other people. It will crush and put an end to all these kingdoms, and it itself will stand to times indefinite.”: “He [Jehovah’s appointed king, Jesus Christ] will deliver the poor one crying for help, also the afflicted one and whoever has no helper. He will feel sorry for the lowly one and the poor one, and the souls of the poor ones he will save. From oppression and from violence he will redeem their soul, and their blood will be precious in his eyes.” (His concern for such people when he was on earth—his healing them, feeding multitudes, even laying down his life for them—shows that he will truly be the kind of ruler foretold in the prophecy.)Government by God is the only real solution to the problems of mankind."
On page 68 the author agrees that GOD created the earth and everything. On page 79 some people the author says do not know the meaning of prayer. The author says "While some Christians do use the names of Jesus or Mary as mantras, according to the bible, prayer is a rational conversation with God. Talking to GOD is possible only if the Creator is a person. Because the Buddha denied the existence of GOD, his followers developed spiritual rituals that involved mindless, mechanical prayer." The only way to truly have a relationship with Jehovah GOD is to pray to him in the name of son's Jesus' name.
Some people might find the history of how the horseshoe was made on page 102 and history of how the crusades started on page 120. On page 151 it mentions how the word congregation and assembly was started which I find very interesting.
I like what the author says on page 182. He says" God implies that we are to walk with Him, not follow the traditions and counsel of rebellious men. To make a difference one must life differently." I agree with this statement. People who claim to be Christian need to be different from the world. People should be able to see a different on a Christian acts, dresses, talks etc. Also on page 207 the author says what the bible clearly states that the meek will one day inherit the earth. And on page 280 the author agrees with the bible that the only reason to get a divorce is because of adultery and not any other reason.
On page 291 the author talks about how baptism is different when you are an adult then when you get baptized as a child. When you are a child, you have no say in the matter. Once you become to get to know GOD as an adult, you get baptized to cleanse yourself to make a dedication to Jehovah.The author says "Biblical Christians- who encouraged, even required, children to take personal responsibility for their spiritual lives-shaped the social ethos of America. Each person had to find GOD and live in a personal relationship with him.Knowing GOD as one's heavenly father changed the nature of family relationships on earth." The last good point in on page 381 which is the history of why we swear on the bible in court.
Overall I like the history of the bible, the authors opinions on the bible. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy learning about history and the truth about the bible and what is really states.
Notes: When I was quoting the author, I used his statements in quotes and said I was quoting the author. There are some other quotes in there as well and those are from my Watchtower CD Rom that I use as one of Jehovah's witnesses.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civiliza

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda I
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently read The Book That Made Your Would; How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization. I have rarely been as excited to read a book as I was for this one. When I first sat down with this book I thought for sure my excitement misplaced. This book has moments of great suspense such as when he is sharing his own story; however it slows to a snail’s pace during other moments, such as the beginning.
I agree with the author’s statement that you cannot truly understand western civilization without understanding where the principles and morals that shape it originated, the Bible. However, I would go one step further and say that you cannot understand the greatness of America without understanding these roots as well. This realization will make you understand as well the ramifications of removing the Bible from our daily lives. The results of which we are dealing with as a society today.
The author, Vishal Mangalwadi, takes a winding scenic route to the greater point and sometimes seems to fall off topic even. But bear with it and you will find that this book offers a great reminder of just how important the Bible has been through history, as well as the importance of it
I received this book free through booksneeze.com. While the book was free I am able to give freely my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa
The Book that Made Your World: How the Bible Created the Soul of Western Civilization 
By Vishal Mangalwadi 
A book by a very learned man who has knowledge of several religions.
He presents the case that Americas problem is that she has moved away from her foundation -- The Holy Bible.
He shows our beginnings and how we prospered when we acknowledged God.
He shows the demise of our culture, and presents the fact that atheism led to suicide as a trend.
The evidence in this book should be prayerfully considered and measured against the scriptures themselves. A book to open your eyes and make you think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.