Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Promise of an Angel - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Promise of an Angel - eBook

In Mescota County, Michigan, an angelic visitor's words inspire Judith to a future she never imagined.

After a barn raising accident, Judith Fischer's convinced she's met an angel. However, her attempts to convince others end up frustrating her Old-Order Amish community. Only Andrew Lapp believes her, but the rest, including Levi Plank, the man's she's waited to marry, demand she forget the nonsense. Meanwhile, her younger sister Martha has taken a fancy to Levi and sees her sister's controversy as a perfect distraction for turning Levi's head.

In a dream, the angel tells Judith she must choose her path. As her faith continues to grow, so do her feelings for Andrew. Will she continue to place her hope in the angel's message, even if it means losing all she knows and loves?

Average Customer Rating:
4.697 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
32 out of 3397%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Review 1 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grammie Pammie
Location:texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loved it as I do all Amish books I believe in Angels and this was one good book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A different sort of Amish story

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was quite different, I've never read an Amish book where they talk about Angels. I enjoyed the story and it showed how hard it can be to have the faith Judith had when it seemed like everyone, except one person, turned against her and didn't even want to be around her. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Brush of Angel Wings.
Judith Fischer is going to turn 19 tomorrow and her lifelong dream of courting Levi Plank will finally come true, then they can marry and start their family. Judith's father will not allow his daughters to court at the 17 like most Amish do, so she's had to wait for two extra years and it's been a long wait. Her sister Martha is now 17 and would like to court too, but isn't allowed so she is jealous of Judith and sets out to ruin her plans to marry Levi.
On this day though, after a successful barn raising, during the prayer for their evening meal, her little brother Samuel, who is in her care, goes missing. She looks up and sees him on the roof trying to pound a nail that Andrew Lapp, the Bishops son and Levi's cousin, had given him with a promise to help him pound it into a board after supper. Judith runs to the barn and calls to Samuel, surprising him he falls off the roof and is unconscious. This is the first time she sees her Angel, he appears to be an Englischer and tells her to have faith, that Samuels steps are ordered by God. Samuel is taken to the hospital and they find out that his spinal injury is so bad that he'll never walk again. Judith insists that Tobias, her Angel, told her that Samuel will walk again.
Judith has told colorful stories to the younger children for years, so when she mentions seeing an Angel no one believes her and they think she's in shock. The more she talks about it, the more her family and friends get upset and as she talks about more sightings they start to distance themselves from her. Even Levi makes fun of her, of course with Martha flirting with him, it isn't hard for him to turn from Judith to Martha. One person believes her and stands up for her, Adam. The Bishop, Adams father, soon tells him to distance himself from Judith because she may be refused the privilege to be baptized when she's done with her classes.
Adam and Judith are soon falling for each other and the Bishop gets so upset that he arranges a date with someone from a neighboring district. Adam has no choice but to take her home from the singing but tries to distance himself as much as he can. Clare hints about him asking her to be his bride but Adam doesn't know what she's talking about. It seems that the two sets of parents have talked and approved the marriage without telling Adam. The same night Levi tells Judith that he's changed and now wants to be baptized, settle down and asks her to marry him.
The Bishop informs Judith's parents that if they send her away she can be baptized in Ohio, where she is to be sent to live with family, but not if she stays there. Judith is not told about her move the day before she is supposed to leave, as much as she doesn't want to go, she will not say that she did not see an Angel. Adam finds out about the arranged marriage and Judith leaving for Ohio on the next morning at breakfast. He tells his father that he will not marry Clare, that he loves Judith and she's a good woman, then leaves the house. When he gets to Judith's, Martha and Samuel tell him that they left at least an hour ago to take her to the bus station.
Will Adam, try to get to the bus station to keep Judith from leaving, if so will he make it in time? Did Judith accept Levi's proposal and if so, what will Martha have to say about that? Was Judith right, will Samuel walk again? Will Judith ever be looked upon favorably by her family and friends again?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Promise of an Angel-Wonderful Book

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was provided to me by Zondervan Publishing in exchange for a review.
Book Description
In Mescota County, Michigan, an angelic visitor's words inspire Judith to a future she never imagined.
After a barn raising accident, Judith Fischer's convinced she's met an angel. However, her attempts to convince others end up frustrating her Old-Order Amish community. Only Andrew Lapp believes her, but the rest, including Levi Plank, the man's she's waited to marry, demand she forget the nonsense. Meanwhile, her younger sister Martha has taken a fancy to Levi and sees her sister's controversy as a perfect distraction for turning Levi's head.
In a dream, the angel tells Judith she must choose her path. As her faith continues to grow, so do her feelings for Andrew. Will she continue to place her hope in the angel's message, even if it means losing all she knows and loves?
My Review
This book was the first book I have read by Ruth Reid. She is a GREAT Amish author and will definitely read more of her books. Thank you Ruth for giving us this book.
I really loved this book, it was a GREAT. This book starts out when Judith’s little brother falls off the roof and Judith Fischer is so upset that an angel appears to her. When she tells Levi Plank, who she thought she would marry someday, he just laughs at her. I thought he was really cruel. In fact, there is no one in her family that believes her. Andrew Lapp is the only one who believes her. Her and Andrew are more suited to be together in my opinion not Levi Plank, he was mean to her. Anyway, as the story goes on, her brother cannot walk but Judith always believes that. I will not say more because I will give it away.
Thanks, again, Ruth, you have given us readers a GREAT book. I just hope there will be more of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Real Page Turner

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rednexx Girl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I began reading the book I immediately felt as if I was right there in the community. I could realy envision the setting & feelings the writer was conveying through the pages. I just couldn't put the book down. For those that love to read during the Fall/Winter, I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
sylvia wagner
Location:Glenville, Pa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok. First off I have to tell you that I am one of those people who will stand in the book store and read the first couple pages of a book. I am very leary of buying books from new authors because I have done it before and have been VERY disapointed! If you can't get my interest in the first few pages I won't spend the money on the book. I have found that usually if they start out slow they stay that way. This is not always the case as I have found with a book I bought a few months ago. (But I had to read a little more then the first few pages and I'm glad I did buy that book.) Wanda Brunsetter's books are the first Amish books I ever read and because I love her writting style so much I think I compare other authors writting to hers. I must say Ruth Reid did an awesome job! This has to be one of the most spirit filled books I have ever read. The lord has given this woman the gift to write. As soon as I finished the book I gave it to my sister-in-law on a sunday, to read and she brought it back to me the following sunday already having it finished! Her words to me when she handed the book back "I must admit, I couldn't put it down." I would tell anyone to read this "wunderbarr" book. All I have to say is I can't wait till March when the next one comes out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new favourite author in this genre

Date:July 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH
PUBLISHER: THOMAS NELSON
PUBLICATION DATE: MAY 31, 2011
RATING: 10 OUT OF 10
When her younger brother falls off a barn while in her care, Judith can’t help but feel guilty for not keeping a closer eye on him. So she’s relieved when a mysterious, English stranger tells her not to worry and that her brother will walk again. Throughout the tiring journey her family take to keep the farm running while waiting for hospital updates on her brother, this stranger continually appears to encourage Judith’s hope in God and her brother’s recovery. But when she tells her friends and family about this man, whom she believes is an angel, she’s surprised to be met with animosity. No one believes that this angel exists, instead thinking that she’s created another one of her stories or is going mad over her grief and guilt. Even Levi, the man she hoped to marry, makes fun of her suggestion that she has been convening with angels. The only person to believe her is Andrew, the son of the bishop, who could destroy his relationship with his father if he was seen conversing with Judith about celestial beings. Accused of telling lies and fostering false hope in her younger brother by talking about healing, Judith is close to being shunned by her community. Can she ever convince anyone that there really is an angel watching over her?
When I heard that an Amish book about angels was being released, I was initially a bit skeptical. Even an avid fan of Amish fiction like myself is starting to wonder when the market will become fully saturated, and the synopsis of this book sparked the thought that perhaps publishers were pushing the boat a bit too far in an attempt to maintain the genre’s popularity. Fortunately, I was entirely wrong! This was one of the best Amish novels I’ve read in a long time and I would not have known that this was Ruth Reid’s debut novel. She brings something entirely new and refreshing to the full-to-bursting genre, yet also had something about her writing that reminded me of Beverly Lewis, the original Amish author.
The hostility that Judith received from her community for her belief in angels and miracles could have been set amongst any Christian group, making this a novel that transcends its genre. Those wary of Amish fiction may be persuaded to read this book in order to understand the problems that a church or community can face when its leaders deny principles that are scripturally sound. I’m sure that many readers of this book will have experienced or heard of situations where healing or miracles have been dismissed as non-existent, or only being present in Biblical times. It’s hard to hang on to your faith when experiencing such adversity, especially when you know in your heart that what God and his Word say are true. Judith’s difficulties in her Amish community represent this so perfectly. She hangs on to her belief that God will heal her brother and allow him to walk again, despite her family and friends trying to convince her that it is God’s will for him to lose the use of his legs.
Not only does Judith’s family turn against her, but also Levi, the man she had been planning to court when she came of age. While I immediately dismissed Levi as being unworthy of Judith’s time, I can remember being a teenager and hanging all my hopes on a boy whose faults I just couldn’t see. Any woman who remembers the pains of teenage heartbreak will sympathise with Judith’s anguish when Levi makes fun of her belief in angels and continually embarrasses her in front of friends and family. Her younger sister makes matters worse by continually flirting with Levi, despite her parents’ warnings that she’s too young to court. It was strange to see such mean-spirited, selfish behaviour from an Amish teenager, but Ruth seems intent on breaking down any stereotypes about the Amish! Martha and Levi’s behaviour eventually reaches a stage where Judith can take it no more and decides to wash her hands of Levi. His cousin, Andrew, has been becoming increasingly angered by Levi’s mistreatment of Judith, yet it takes her a long time to trust him after the attitudes she has been met with by Levi and other members of the community. The relationship between Judith and Andrew is slow to develop, but his unconditional trust in her was heart-warming.
I would encourage all readers of Amish fiction, and those who have been tempted to read the genre but have been put off by the typical, romantic plots, to look out for Ruth Reid’s Heaven on Earth series. If The Promise of an Angel is anything to judge by, it looks like she’s going to become a favourite amongst Amish fans.
Review title provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Promise of an Angel

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Promise of an Angel breaks new ground in the Amish genre, combining Amish fiction with angelic fiction. The first book in the Heaven on Earth series, it is set in Mecosta County, Michigan, an Amish community I haven't seen in Amish fiction before.
I liked Judith, though I didn't like her unwillingness to stand up for herself against Levi's taunts and her parents' plans for her. I liked Andrew, though I wondered why he was so willing to stand up for Judith. I didn't like Levi or Martha, finding them both to be mean-spirited without just cause toward Judith. I expected more from Tobias the angel's visits with Judith, thinking he'd have a bigger purpose for her than what was revealed. He did help Judith hang on to her faith when everyone around her, except Andrew, turned against her. Overall, this story left me with the impression that the Amish aren't allowed to think for themselves, only allowed to think and carry out whatever dictates their bishops dole out. This was not my favorite Amish book by far, but a good story nonetheless.
You can buy The Promise of an Angel at Amazon or Christianbook.
With thanks to NetGalley and Thomas Nelson for my review copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very enjoyable

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:Jackson, TN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nineteen year old Judith Fischer is babysitting her younger brother who happens to sneak away and ends up getting hurt. Then Judith meets an angel and spreads the news leaving the community thinking she's crazy except for one person. Lots of interesting characters and happenings. This is a fast read, a very good story, I enjoyed every page and highly recommend it.
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story of Strength and Faith

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Judith Fischer has been raised in Mecosta County, Michigan in an Amish Community. She is nineteen years old and has been waiting for her parents' permission for Levi to court her. She believes Levi is the love of her life.
Samuel, Judith's younger brother tragically falls off of a barn roof and is paralyzed. Judith blames herself, as she was distracted and not watching her brother as carefully as she otherwise might. After the accident, Judith sees a man kneeling beside her brother. She follows him and declares to others that she has seen an angel, who told her that Samuel would walk again. The elders in her community cast her aside, saying she is telling stories. Judith's faith in God is tested as are her relationships with others in the community. If she can learn to trust others, she just might find that God has someone else in mind for her future husband. I admired Judith's ability to stand firm in her convictions in spite of difficult circumstances and the chastisement of her parents and elders in her community. We could all learn a lesson of faith from her.
This is Ruth Reid's first book in the Heaven on Earth series. This was a quick read and I enjoyed getting to know the characters of this small Amish community. Thankfully, there is a Pennsylvania Dutch glossary included in the book to help with Amish terms that are unfamiliar to me. I am excited to see what will come next in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Promise of an Angel - A Must Read!

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All Ruth Fischer ever wanted to do was get married and have children of her own. Her heart was fixed on Levi Plank to be her husband. She waited two years to court him. Levi on the other hand is, (simply put), a player. While he knows Ruth would make an excellent wife he isn't ready to settle down. Andrew Lapp, Levi's cousin isn't happy with the way Levi treats Ruth.
Ruth Fischer is visited by an Angel after her little brother Samuel falls off the barn roof. The Angel appears to Ruth numerous times in this story. No one believes that she has seen an Angel. They think Ruth is just making up stories again. The Bishop claims she is blaspheming God.
Will Ruth marry Levi? Will anyone believe that Ruth actually saw an Angel? Guess you will have to read this book to find out!!
This is what I am taking away from this book. Stand up for what you believe in. Have Faith and Trust in God. Forgive and let go of all bitterness and jealousy. Second chances are given.
Ruth Reid wrote a wonderful page turner. This book was so good I couldn’t put it down and I finished it in one and half days. I can’t wait until her next Heaven On Earth novel is published. Thank you Ruth, it was one great read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Romance

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I loved how trusting in the Lord above all else is the message. You will wonder how things can possibly work out with all the problems that come up. A wonderful insight into the Amish Culture, a glimpse at their everyday life. You will be wondering who will be planting the celery for the following fall weddings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Surprising and Fascinating

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
BaronBookReview
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I’m a junkie for Amish fiction—let’s just get that out there. So when the opportunity came up to read The Promise of an Angel, I was excited to read a new perspective on the Amish. At first I was a little surprised with the addition of the angel Tobias, especially when Judith began having real conversations with him. Amish beliefs are so strict that it was hard for me to imagine how talking to an angel was going to fit in with those beliefs. After getting more and more into the book, I realized Tobias represented Judith’s deep faithfulness in God. Why couldn’t the “elders” in the community see that?
Family and community is the most important concept in the Amish lifestyle. So when Judith’s stories of the angel began to spread, the community banded together against Judith—just because the elders said they should. It surprised me the community would do that when she was only expressing her belief that God was speaking to her.
Another surprise to me was the relationship between Judith’s sister, Martha, and Judith’s beau, Levi. I guess there are many sects of Amish but normally these teenage relationships are pretty hush-hush. Through the entire book, the boy-girl interactions were completely public. In addition, the way Martha was visibly treating Judith was a little startling to me—the envy, rudeness, and disrespect is so out of the ordinary for the Amish.
Overall, The Promise of an Angel was a good summer read (I had the e-book version)—a story of faith, acceptance, and love with a couple twists and turns. I’m not sure if I’m going to read the next book in the series—guess we’ll have to wait & see what Ms Reid comes up with! I give The Promise of an Angel a 3 out of 5 stars.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryB
Location:Delaware
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is sometimes difficult to read a book and think about people who would be so unyielding and unbelieving of the unknown. When Judith felt the presence of Tobias, it was difficult to realize that her family would not believe the possibility of the spirit of an angel. Miracles do happen. I don't believe the Amish that I know would be as cold and strict as those portrayed in the book. I appreciated Andrew's openness and love. It was an enjoyable book that provoked thought and helped search how I would react to accepting another's belief, as well as opening my eyes to what may not be explained.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to put down!!

Date:June 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone who knows me well (or has been reading this blog for a while) knows I enjoy Amish fiction. 'The Promise of an Angel' was the first book of Ruth Reid's I had ever read. I assumed it would be a typical Amish fiction story, but I was wrong! This story still contained the principles, setting, and language of an Old-Order Amish story, but it was unique-it incorporated angels in the storyline.
Judith Fischer's lifelong dream was to marry a boy in her Old-Order Amish faith and raise a family with many children. She was in love with Levi Plank, and it looked as if her dreams would come true. Then a terrible accident happened, and an angel appeared to Judith to send her a message from God. Her community did not believe her story and turned their backs on her. Her only supporter was Levi's cousin, Andrew Lapp. 'The Promise of an Angel' can be summed up in one word: Faith. The characters are likable and genuine, and the book was fast-paced and hard to put down. I am looking forward to reading the next book in Ruth Reid's 'A Heaven on Earth' series, due in 2012. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Promise of an Angel, Ruth Reid puts an unusual twist on the typical Amish novel. The story opens with Judith Fischer watching over her younger brother and sister at a barn raising for her family. When her brother is seriously injured, Judith rushes to him only to find an angel by his side. Because the angel leaves before the others arrive, no one believes her story.
Subsequently, the angel visits Judith several times, helping her through the heartache of having both family and friends, not to mention the man she hoped to marry, accuse her of making up the whole story. Nevertheless, Judith is true to her convictions and insists that her brother will walk again, even though the doctors have indicated otherwise.
The story also becomes entwined with subplots as Judith begins to spend more and more time with Andrew Lapp, who believes her story, and as her relationship with her sister, Martha, becomes more and more strained.
This is a magnificent book! It is one of the most interesting Amish novels I have read. It not only holds the reader’s attention, it keeps you hanging on the edge of your seat. You won’t want to put it down.
Kara
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was a great read.

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:Lebanon, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so worth reading, I do believe in angels and I was so into the book because it was so believeable. I would highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Angelic Story!

Date:May 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wordmachine
Location:Grayson, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story about a young lady named Judith Fischer that happens during a time in her life when she is entitled to a running-around period before being baptized into the Amish faith, but she doesn’t choose to take it. The Amish community she lives with gets around mostly by buggy. A tragic accident happens that she feels guilty about. Her faith in God is tested as a result of the accident. An angel is sent to Judith to help her through the difficult times ahead of her and the people in her community are not so supportive of her when she tells them about him.
This story came alive to me throughout the pages. I could picture the angel with Judith encouraging her and giving her guidance. I liked the way that Amish life was described including some of the requirements of an Amish person after they have been baptized into the Amish faith. I liked that some of the characters would pray for each other, also.
There is a Pennsylvania Dutch glossary located at the beginning of the book to help the reader with terms that are used throughout the story. There is also a Reading Group Guide in the back of the book to expand on the topics in the story in small or large groups.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://booksneeze®.com/> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A Harsh Portrayal

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The Promise of An Angel" portrays the Amish in the harshest way I’ve seen yet. Except for the two main characters and Samuel, the people in this book are nit-picky and critical, watching each other like hawks in order to pass judgment on one another all the time. They don’t seem to care about each other’s happiness and well-being, only following strict rules all the time. There is no love in this community—no compassion or care. Living in this community would be a nightmare.
After her little brother falls from the barn roof, Judith, first on the scene, sees an angel who gives her a cryptic message. When Judith, who does nothing but love God and care for the people around her, tells people what she saw, they accuse her of blasphemy and threaten to throw her out of the community. They decide she’s a danger to their children and their way of life. That seemed an extreme reaction to me.
I not only had concerns about the way the Amish were portrayed. I had concerns about the angel, too. Angels in the Bible clearly identified themselves to those they visited and delivered God’s messages in a straightforward manner. The people who encountered them knew who they were facing and why. The angel in the book, however, is vague and cryptic, giving Judith clues, but leaving her totally confused. At one point, Judith isn’t even sure he’s from God. She wonders if he’s Satan messing with her mind.
Thomas Nelson Publishers sent a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. Though there are a few beautiful moments worth reading—Judith learning to forgive, Judith and Andrew praying together about their future and for their community—it’s still a book I hesitate to recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping tale of faith holding fast.

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
TiaB
Location:UK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's so compelling? Judith Fischer's little brother has an accident whilst under her supervision. He loses the use of his legs, and the family and community accept this as God's will. Judith meanwhile believes that she has met with an angel, who promises her brother will walk again.
Is she deluded? Is she giving him false hope? Should she bow to the pressure of church and community and stay silent, or should she continue to speak what she believes to be the truth, even to the point of losing her chances of marriage and being sent away from everyone she knows and loves?
This is more than a nice story about life in a fictional Amish community. This is a story about what happens to faith under fire. About how integrity and submission can look like defiance and even insanity.
Does Judith's brother walk again? Will she marry the man who has been marked out as hers for years? Will her sister leave the community?
I'd answer, but I think it's worth reading for yourself. Escapism, light reading, but with thought, and with a handy study guide at the end for anyone who wants to look deeper. It's probably going to appeal more to women than men. And I'm looking forwards to the next in the series.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book free from BookSneeze, in return for agreeing to review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Promise of an Angel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Awesome Story

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alissabeth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I could hardly put it down to go to bed. I read it in two nights because I couldn't get enough of the story!
I truly believe that angels watch and protect us, and at certain times they are revealed to us in different ways. This book was amazing to imagine what it was like to be in the situation Judith was in and then have this angel come and relay the messages God had for her. I can't imagine how hard it would have been to almost be persecuted because you believe what you saw, but nobody else did.
The writing style of this author was excellent and the book flowed very smoothly. I think you will really enjoy this book as much as I have.
I received a copy of this book for review thanks to Booksneeze. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>