Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sheaf House Letting Go - eBook

Sheaf House Letting Go - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Letting Go - eBook
Review 1 for Letting Go - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A story on redemption forgiveness with a caution

Date:May 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Coll
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A great story on how God heals our pasts but was surprised that it dealt with incest. This could be difficult for women who have been victims and don't realize the book addresses this. Great encouragement for counseling should be advised
I would recommend this product to a friend only if they have not been victimized or have sought healing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Letting Go - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible redemptive story!

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawn Turner
Location:Bisbee, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An incredible story of redemption. Diane doesn't believe God can possibly love her after the life she's chosen, the choices she made, the sins she's committed. But she finds that God doesn't just offer love and forgiveness, He redeems broken lives and disgraceful pasts. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good story of God's redemptive power and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Letting Go - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read!

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many of you know, I'm a huge Michelle Sutton fan. I must say that this is an absolute favorite! Michelle developed the characters so well that I immediately fell in love with them and couldn't wait to see what happened next in their journey.
This book is very memorable as are the characters. Michelle Sutton does a wonderful job of drawing emotion out of the reader and allowing us to feel deeply for her characters. When I read the cover blurb, I didn't think I'd like this book. I don't have kids, knew nothing about foster care, and really didn't think I'd have anything in common with the characters. It didn't take long for me to become so caught up with them and their lives that I couldn't wait to read the next chapter.
If you like romance with lots of tension, this one's for you!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Letting Go - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Letting Go - Reviewed . . . Awesome read!!!!

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
AndiinNampa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two people with hurting hearts, they meet because Dave needs a lawyer to represent him to fight to keep his foster son, Joey. During the course of their professional relationship Diane and Dave find that they have feelings for each other. Diane tries to fight it because of the abuse she suffered as a child, Dave is leery because his late wife held his sterility over his head. Diane has a passion for children and that is why she fights for them as an attorney.
Michelle has once again taken hurting hearts, and shown how with God you can heal. It is not always easy or fun, but you can do it! It requires trust and letting go of all the stuff in the past, and letting God take care of it.
One of my favorite lines from the book . . . "No wonder being a real Christian isn't popular. Who wants to suffer so they can find joy?" Diane
"The ways of the Lord are in conflict with the ways of men."
I highly recommend this book! I give it a lighthouse and shine a light on it for pointing a path to God!!! WAY TO GO MICHELLE!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Letting Go - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engrossing story

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
bikerbabs
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Letting Go" is a story that deals with the horrible reality of incest, but it deals with it in a realistic and careful way, not dwelling on the action but on the repercussions. I don't think I am giving away any storyline secrets to say that the protagonist was molested by her father as a child and from that learned to deal with men on a sexual level, always looking for love in all the wrong places and with all the wrong men.
Letting Go is a portrait of a woman struggling to find that illusive thing called love and never quite able to hold on to it. Past experiences have taught her that love isn't free. She has to give something to get something. So she uses her beauty and sex to get a man, but for some reason it's always someone else's man.
Wanting nothing more than to get married and have a baby, Diane, a child advocate lawyer and former beauty queen, fails time after time with finding the right kind of man.
Dave is a young widower with a foster son. He needs help to maneuver through the rocky road of child custody, adoption, and a last minute attempt of the birth mother to take his son away. He hires Diane.
Michelle Sutton doesn't shy away from a prickly topic but is able to reveal a messed up woman's heart, so broken that only the love of the perfect heavenly Father can heal it.
I read this book very quickly, thoroughly engrossed. It was very interesting to read a story from the viewpoint of someone who has actually worked as a social worker and knows the pitfalls and good that our court system provides when trying to place children in the right homes.
This was definitely a healing hearts story, and I recommend it to anyone who is struggling with letting go of something that is holding you back from trusting Christ.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Letting Go - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book!

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many of you know, I'm a huge Michelle Sutton fan. I must say that this is an absolute favorite! Michelle developed the characters so well that I immediately fell in love with them and couldn't wait to see what happened next in their journey.
This book is very memorable as are the characters. Michelle Sutton does a wonderful job of drawing emotion out of the reader and allowing us to feel deeply for her characters. When I read the cover blurb, I didn't think I'd like this book. I don't have kids, knew nothing about foster care, and really didn't think I'd have anything in common with the characters. It didn't take long for me to become so caught up with them and their lives that I couldn't wait to read the next chapter.
If you like romance with lots of tension, this one's for you!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Letting Go - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story about overcoming the past

Date:May 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
KarenB
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Diane Simmons is a regular woman with a messed up past. Issues with her father clouded her relationships with men. When she learns an awful truth about her current boyfriend and discovers a serious health concern, she loses all hope. Through her struggles to reconcile her past and look forward to a future different than she dreamed, she learns that she must trust, not only God, but men. Her journey is intensely emotional and takes the reader to the edge of her horrible childhood, without overwhelming the reader with too much detail. I felt her plight but it didn't weigh me down.
This story pushes some of the boundaries of traditional Christian romance, but in a very tasteful way.
The romance was spicier than most of the "and then they kissed...fade to black" scenes, but still very pure.
I loved that neither of the main characters had neat perfect lives. They were both a mess, yet they wanted to learn how to trust God more and they wanted to deal with their mess. To me, this is what the real Christian life is like.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Letting Go - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learning To Love And Be Loved

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
melindatoad
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was an enjoyable read. Diane has to learn to love in a healthy way. Like so many women, she has been scarred severely and doesn't pick the right men to fall in love with. You find yourself wanting to pray for Diane to come to know the Lord, to heal, and to fall in love with Dave.
Michelle does such a fantastic job of keeping you intrigued and interested in the storyline w/o making the conflicts between the characters go on for too long. She doesn't drag out situations that in normal life would be much easier resolved, like so many authors tend to do.
You won't be disappointed with Letting Go. You will ache with Diane and Dave but in the end, you get to rejoice with them!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Letting Go - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engrossing story

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
bikerbabs
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Letting Go" is a story that deals with the horrible reality of incest, but it deals with it in a realistic and careful way, not dwelling on the action but on the repercussions. I don't think I am giving away any storyline secrets to say that the protagonist was molested by her father as a child and from that learned to deal with men on a sexual level, always looking for love in all the wrong places and with all the wrong men.
Letting Go is a portrait of a woman struggling to find that illusive thing called love and never quite able to hold on to it. Past experiences have taught her that love isn't free. She has to give something to get something. So she uses her beauty and sex to get a man, but for some reason it's always someone else's man.
Wanting nothing more than to get married and have a baby, Diane, a child advocate lawyer and former beauty queen, fails time after time with finding the right kind of man.
Dave is a young widower with a foster son. He needs help to maneuver through the rocky road of child custody, adoption, and a last minute attempt of the birth mother to take his son away. He hires Diane.
Michelle Sutton doesn't shy away from a prickly topic but is able to reveal a messed up woman's heart, so broken that only the love of the perfect heavenly Father can heal it.
I read this book very quickly, thoroughly engrossed. It was very interesting to read a story from the viewpoint of someone who has actually worked as a social worker and knows the pitfalls and good that our court system provides when trying to place children in the right homes.
This was definitely a healing hearts story, and I recommend it to anyone who is struggling with letting go of something that is holding you back from trusting Christ.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Letting Go - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!!

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Michelle never disappoints!! Every book just keeps getting better and better. Loved, Letting Go! Her characters are unforgettable. You really do get lost in the story with them. Letting Go is not hot like her other novels, but it was a truly great read. Diane’s story was so heart wrenching. Following her on her journey of finding peace in the midst of turmoil, and learning how to truly let go of the past. But also finding hope for her future. Learning to trust again. Not only trust a man again, but trust and believe in God. Learn to believe in her heavenly father. Dave’s story was very touching. Seeing his love for a little boy that he wanted to adopt. Seeing his journey of letting go and trusting in God. Relying completely on Him and the ones that God brought into his life to help him adopt the little boy he’s thought of as his son since he came to live with him. Diane and Dave’s story was truly moving. Michelle did an AMAZING job!! She never disappoints.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.