Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Singaporemath.com Inc Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition

Singaporemath.com Inc Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition

Singapore Primary Math Workbooks are consumable and should be used in conjunction with the textbooks. Containing the exercises the student does independently, workbooks provide the practice essential to skill mastery. A variety of exercises are presented, from pictorial to abstract. This workbook accompanies Primary Math Textbook 1B US Edition. 176 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Review 1 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple and easy to use with great results

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jess
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Singapore Math because it's so easy to use. There are no complicated concepts to teach... just straight forward math the way I was taught as a child. We have only been using it for four months, and both my children (ages 6 and 8) have learned so much! And they beg to do math before any other subjects!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hit a snag in 1B

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Location:Burnsville, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I have a kindergartener who was moving very quickly through math. He is a 6 year old kinder, so I purchased 1A and 1B. He loved math everday and grasped concepts quickly. By the middle of 1B we hit a snag. Singapore math is advanced, so I felt were were working on a 2nd grade level and he just wasn't ready. Not knowing how to continue using Singapore math with him, we took a break and use it sparingly (he is after all, a kindergartener). But I would like to find another curriculum for him next year.
My 3rd grader moved though 2A, 2B and started 3A this year. The mental math component is awesome and he and I are both doing mental math more quickly. He is a hesitant math learner and said he likes Singapore math better than what he did in PS. We'll see how he does on his test scores in 3 weeks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful math curriculum!

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
niki
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second year using Singapore Math (US edition) and it has been wonderful. I wanted to point out that THERE IS a Teacher's Manual available for every level. One of the other reviewers mentioned that it would be better if they told you how to teach it in the form of a teacher's guide. You have to purchase it separately, but it is inexpensive and a wonderful resource!
I always buy the work book, text book and teacher guide.
What I love about this program is that it teaches every concept 3 or 4 different ways so one of them is bound to click for your kid if they are struggling to understand a concept. I also love that they use concrete, hands-on activities to teach math to young kids who have a hard time with abstract concepts.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good basic math curriculum

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
NaomiW
Location:British Columbia, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Singapore Math curriculum has received rave reviews, but in my opinion I found it ok, but that's it...just ok. I would prefer a slightly more scripted lesson and if not that, at least an explanation of how to teach my student, maybe in the form of a teachers guide, or an explanation at the beginning of each section. As a homeschooling mom, this curriculum does not guide me through how to teach a math curriculum. I see how it could be great, if you knew how to teach math.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that this curriculum teaches kids how to think mathematically, rather than simply plug in numbers to rote formulas. Great concept, great product, great place to get it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent home-learning resource.

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
realmomma
Location:york, pa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with our decision to use Singapore Math. Both of my homeschoolers are learning and loving math, and it is very easy to teach with just the text and workbooks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reinforcement for 1A

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shannon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started using Singapore Math last year as enrichment for my son. He loves math and we make these worksheets into playful challenges. 1B is great reinforcement for concepts introduced in 1A.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maegan Burkart
I like this workbook, although I have a child with visual challenges, and the numbers are too small for him to see easily. Other than that, I like it with the textbook.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Krista
We started Singapore in Kindergarten with great results. My girls made it through book 1A without much difficulty and then really hit a snag with 1B. It simply moved too quickly and they got very frustrated. I moved away from Singapore and had them work on Miquon and they started enjoying math. We then started mixing in Singapore but again, with poor results. I think my children must need a slower progression of problems to work. I am very disappointed, because there is a strong focus on mental math and story problems, which are wonderful. It was just too much, too soon. When my 2nd grader started Math her second year, she had completely forgotten her first grade math and we basically started from square one with Miquon (Miquon is great). My oldest then went through 2A & 2B and now I'm pulling them completely. The biggest snag was definitely the mental math, I'm not sure why, it was very logical. You can also purchase a teacher's edition if needed. My girls enjoyed the units on weight, measurement, money, and time and did those with ease. Part of me wants to continue on with Singapore, but decided to try Ray's because it's so much cheaper and also has a strong focus on mental math and story problems.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann Wolin
I have been using the primary mathematics books for grade 1 and I really like it. You certainly should buy the homeschool instructor guide. It gives you the activities to do along with the textbook and workbook. For example in book 1A they have card games to help the child learn their basic math facts. It teaches you how to word your lessons when teaching and it also gives you an idea of when to move along to the next concept. For example they recommend the child memorize the math facts up to 10 before moving onto subtraction since subtraction mirrors addition. I don't feel like I have to plan lessons...the activities are all in the book and we move through it at the child's pace. I have not had to do any additional lesson planning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Singapore Math: Primary Math Workbook 1B US Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela
Everything is "mental math". There is barely any review. We started 1st grade in Saxon and stopped Singapore mid year and went back to 2nd grade Saxon. Whereas Saxon has homework and worksheets everyday, Singapore may have 2-3 math problems. I need a teachers manual that tells me step by step, like Saxon, I don't have the time to come up with my own lesson plans. Singapore just basically gives you the lesson idea and you have to just run with it. Also, Singapore doesn't break the lessons down into daily segments. If you did a unit everyday, you wouldn't last thru the school year. But, if we don't do a math lesson everyday, my daughter forgets too easily, as math is not her strong suit.Basically, unless you have the time & energy to make your own lesson plans and extra worksheets & you have a gifted child in math, then don't try Singapore.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.