Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook

Thomas Nelson Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook

The luggage of life. Haven't you been known to pick up a few bags? Odds are, you did this morning. Somewhere between the first step on the floor and the last step out the door, you grabbed some luggage. And the bags we grab are not made of leather; they're made of burdens. The suitcase of guilt. The trunk of discontent. Add on a briefcase of perfectionism, an overnight bag of loneliness, and a duffel bag of fear. No wonder we are so tired at the end of the day. Where do we turn for help? How about looking to an old friend, the twenty-third Psalm... Using these verses as a guide, Max Lucado walks us through a helpful inventory of our burdens. May God use this Psalm to remind you to release the burdens you were never meant to bear. 240 pages, hardcover, from W Publishing Group.
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Review 1 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Janet Anweiler
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book helped me so when a friend was in "need", I loaned it to him. Since he has never returned it, I purchased another one for myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Listen and let go

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bob68003
Location:Ashland, NE
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good story and well written. The lessons are fantastic and will benefit all. Jesus was and is the baggage handler, accept the forever gift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
KAREN S. WATSON
Location:Holland, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Max always gives me clarity of God's message to me at a time when I am going through dark or light times...we all need to let go of the demons that awaken us at night...I have loved this book for years! I gave mine away and needed a new one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nina Nordholm
Location:Carpinteria, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great gift for anyone struggling with burdens. I have given it to many, as it was a gift to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
stacymk3
Location:Rock Hill,SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Circle is doing this and so far we are really enjoying this book. If age is a considering factor we are 30-50 and all if us in one way or another can relate to adding on the extra burdens of everyday life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
etep
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is an excellent book...we are using it for family devotions with the questions provided at the back of the book
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Arbed
Location:New Castle, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always Max Lucado does not disappoint. He is a master of painting pictures with his words and a great story teller. The theology sticks in your mind because it is attached to vivid and often humorous tales. We are using this in our Monday night Woman's group and really enjoy the Study guide that takes you into other parts of the Bible to reinforce and deepen the experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best Inspirational books I've read

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cregs
Location:Yardley, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Burdens we are not meant to bear" says it all. God does not want us anious and upset about fear, aniety, guilt & shame. He's already forgiven us for our "humaness". We just need to learn to forgive ourselves. Great. great book!!!
Thanks you!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Traveling Light

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
tbl13
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book! I love Max Lucado and his books, I recommend it, most defintely!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book spoke to various areas in my life.

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
flpastor
Location:Central Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The way the author handled the subject material opens up to one's mind fresh and challenging insights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional for personal use, and as a group study

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Women Bible Study Leader
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book twice, and have referred to various chapters for times when I've found myself carrying spiritual burdens. I also ordered several for the ladies in my Bible Studies that I lead. We will be using this book for our upcoming study (already several women have told me what a blessing it has been for their personal reading). I will also be giving these books as gifts to friends & family!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Burns
We all are carrying burdens; Lucado points out how real these burdens are, and how they deeply affect out ability to love God and love others. And provides practical steps on how to let the baggage go - and live and love again. I highly recommend this read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dana Brown
I appreciated the life application of the various chapters. Lucado helps us remember who is really in control and that God desires our trust in Him; how that can help ease life stresses for all of us and allow us to serve Him better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gude
Received this book from our older daughter. Read it through twice. Wonder of wonders, HIS relief refocused my Faith. Now I want the book on CD. Thanks and blessings. Gude
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Valerie Muzichuk
one of my favourite books. Lucado never disappoints. gave away 4 for Christmas gifts - should have ordered more - found more opportunities to give it that I had books. Will order more for next time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eliza Bushn
For all the Type A people who need the reminder of who is really in charge, where we should draw our strength and what God intends for us, this book is for you. Quit carrying your own baggage and set it down for God to manage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Ayers
This book is amazing. I found it not only a source of comfort, but a source of strength and wisdom. I will leave it by my Bible and refer back to it over and over. I learned to recognize burdens I never really noticed myself carrying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
carol eglsaer
This book changed my life. While caring for elderly parents i bought it and realized that i needed to let God more fully into the process of caring for my parents. I needed to rely fully on God in this process as He was in control. I have since used it in my public testimony of fully coming to faith and often pass out copies of it to people who are experiencing stressful times in their lives or loss of a loved one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lisa
This is the best book I have every had the honor of reading. Max's insight into life and how it is reflected in Psalm 23 is beyond words. I have given this book to many family members and friends and they all have enjoyed it as well. A must have for anyone who appreciates the life God has given them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.