Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Encouraging One Another - eBook

Thomas Nelson Encouraging One Another - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Review 1 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

OK...

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
GirlyMomma
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like the format of this study: concise chapters with 2 sets of questions in between a few readings. The only thing is that I wished the questions weren't so repetitive and they could have been more thought provoking. Especially for a group study, you need to have more open-ended questions and unfortunately, this book didn't have many (if any) at all. I will be looking for a different series that is geared more toward group discussion and not just picking an answer word-for-word out of a bunch of random Bible verses for my next study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small group loves it

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My womens small group has been using the Women of Faith books for the past three years and I always let them choose the next one they want to do. They chose this book and they are really enjoying it. It has helped them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good series for a small group

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crazy Quilter 16
Location:The Villages, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Women of Faith series both for pesonal and group studies. A small group I started has just finished this "Encouraging One Another". The reason we liked it was that it is light hearted and there are opportunities for a lot of discussion. Our next one is on "Living a Life of Balance".
Another reason I like this series is that it is easy enough for anyone to lead the group. This is the first time I have been a bible study facilitalor. Praise God he showed me the way and I love leading this group!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for group Bible study

Date:August 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Yerington, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our ladies Bible study group has been using these books for awhile now , we have just started this new one and are enjoying it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This study book does not go in depth

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
SaltCityMom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We used this book in our ladies' Bible study and on the plus side, it was a good base to start discussions. However 2 things were red flags for me. First, it took verses out of context or didn't bother to include more of the passage which would have greatly added to understanding it. We took the time to read and discuss much more scripture than the book covered. Secondly, it relies a lot on The Message for it's scripture references. I do not feel that The Message is an appropriate resource for in depth Bible study. While encouragement is a wonderful topic, this study could have been so much more than it is.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good study book

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
happyket
Location:Waterford,CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this study to all women.12 weeks, not to long. Perfect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
claudsid
Location:Greensburg, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
We just are getting started with this Bible Study. The first chapter was great and we can't wait to get further into the study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great ladies' Bible study!

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
sisterchris1
Location:Riverton, WY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am teaching this study to my women's group and they love it. I am impressed how simple and down-to-earth Nicole Johnson's writing is, and yet she reaches the mature believers as well as the new believers. It is full of the Word, which is what will change us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good notes, easy to facilitate discussion

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Wesley Chapel, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am coordinating a Women's Bible Study this year for our community. We had used another of the Women of Faith Bible studies a few years ago when I was new to the group. The discussions are easy to facilitate which means that many of the women have been willing to take a turn leading each week. The questions do not require extensive Bible knowledge but lead into good, non-denominational discussions that are not threatening, but teach basic Biblical principles that can be applied to all ages of women.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Wilkerson
It was nice to have a Bible study book that highlighted scriptures about encouragement. I believe that more emphasis on encouragment from the heart is needed today. It is a gift to give away at will. The application-based stories were very good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Reynolds
Our small women's group just started using this book. It is so wonderful we have spent two weeks on the first chapter. The questions have sparked lots of good discussion and the women are already putting into practice what they are learning to encourage one another. God is revealing additional truths to us as individuals through our private study time which we share when we come together. I gave the women a baseball as recommended at the end of chapter one. I thought it might be corny but it was a huge hit and they loved it. We look forward to continuing to study and grow together with the aid of Encouraging One Another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie Emerine
This is a good study to start off with if you don't know your group and where they stand with the Lord. This is good if they have never been in a small group before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lindsay
My friends and I selected this book for our group Bible study. While I think it is a great topic, the book does not go very deep. Each chapter just seems to repeat "we should encourage one another." My group decided to stop using this book halfway through because we weren't getting anything out of it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Baker
We are using this book in a ladies Sunday School class and have only done three chapters so far. As a teacher I find the material to be well laid out and easy to use in class time. I think the study is helpful and the ladies seem to be enjoying it. It is good for a summer study with people coming in and out and not requiring very extensive advance preparation. I think it is a bit on the light side and usually feel that it needs just a bit more "meat" to feel like we've really studied and learned together. Usually it is not difficult to expand a little on the ideas in each chapter. In summary, I think it is a pretty good study, requiring minimal advance prep. and lending itself to more in depth discussions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Smith
This week, my Bible Study ladies will begin this book. I am excited and ready for all twelve weeks! I know the ladies will enjoy hearing from the Women Of Faith, as they guide us by using godly humor. Each week, there are many ways by which we can emphasize encouragement to others. Each chapter is different, but they all keep the Biblical emphasis "upfront and foremost" in our daily lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Eisel
My Sunday School Class is very excited to begin this study after the first of the year. As I leafed through the book, I was impressed with its content; however, since we haven't started it, it is hard to review at this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angela Rising
My girlfriend and I are meeting once/week to discuss a chapter from this. It is very uplifting. If is forcing both of us to spend some much needed time on SELF-improvement and improving our relationship with Christ. I think we will do other books in this series once we have finished this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Kersey
We just completed our first Women of Faith Bible Study, and we are now beginning our second series. The format is very easy to follow, and as the group leader, I found the comments in the back very helpful in teaching the lessons. I would highly recommend this series. It works well as a weekly or monthly Bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Natalie Mccurdy
We have only done the first chapter, but I already love the book. With so many things to discourage us in the world,it's easy to get caught up in negativity. This book gives us a fresh perspective on how we can be a positive, shining light in the darkness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Encouraging One Another - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy Svenddal
We are using this for our cicle (small group of women) as a monthly bible study. We used the first chapter last week and are excited. We think it is fun, practical,and inspirational and are so pleased with it, we wish we were meeting more often than once a month. We really like the treasure we get at the end of each session. Next time, I will actually bring some real trail mix to share.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>