Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook

Hendrickson Publishers Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Review 1 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rohr
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic read! So foundational for central truths of the christian faith. Calvin combines profound thought with a passionate love for Christ. Helpful for anyone who wants to know, obey, and love God more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read tiny print

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jordan McCord
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since this was originally multiple books and its all crammed into one volume the print is amazingly small. But so far its really good read. Warning to the Baptists: has a whole chapter dedicated to the unbiblical paedo-baptism and it's "importance" etc. (for those that don't know when Michael Servetus was burned at the stake, being against paedo-baptism was one of the reasons he was burned). I'm a Calvinist only because the term is convenient to state your soteriological views but then again John Calvin never claimed to be infallible. Thought I'd check the book out since I've been called a Calvinist for so long and have read very little Calvin. So far really good read though. Heavy book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has a lot of information.

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
mama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son requested this book as a Christmas gift. He said it is an excellent reference book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The most important book I've ever read

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeremy E
Location:Seattle
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A thousand pages later, and I've finally finished reading the most important book I've ever read. From the state of man, to the concept of wisdom, to the causes and effects of salvation, to civil government, to the separation of church and state, to the concept of prayer, to the sovereignty of God, this book blew my mind and my Christian walk will never be the same. I seriously wonder why I waited so long to read it, and I give it the highest recommendation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeremiah
Location:Seattle
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read book. Have your Holy Bible by you to look up verus. John Calvin will help you see sin in your life in a very deep way. I have found even more love from God after reading this book and seeing my self 100% depended on God for life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
I MADE IT! I have actually read my way through Calvin's Institutes. A few days later, I heard that John Piper had never accomplished the feat! As one whose reformed theology is blossoming, I determined to read what Calvin had to say for himself, since my knowledge of Calvinism had been completely secondhand. This is a slow, difficult, and sometimes confusing read, but it is well worth the disciplined effort to make it through this massive text. Although I still struggle to support some of the traditional tenets of Calvinism, I am at least better informed now and feel as if I know the great reformer better.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Buzz
Your right!! irresistible price. But more important more a great addition of this classic.No one in vocational ministry should be without it in ones library. Be you 100% agree with Calvin or not, this work is foundational in theological studies. This version was put together nicely.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
John W. Rivett
This is an excellent edition,with a challenging read that is of course first class and invaluable to the thinking christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Luke Peterson
Excellent price, and excellent book. I got this as a bonus when I ordered Calvin's 23 Volume Commentary set, and it is wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ryan Dammarell
I ordered this product recently because the price was to good to pass up. I got it under the "slightly imperfect" section. The product came faster than scheduled and in great condition. Christianbook continues to make furthering my understanding affordable and reasonable. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dale E Briggs
Exceptionally pleased with the price and quality of the publication that I had been wanting to purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tony Dean
He is one of if not the greatest Reformer in the Reformation. It is a must read and good reference tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Evans
This is a volume that is not to be read, it needs to be studied. So many changes from then to now are errors. The gold standard by which to evaluate where you should be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jay A. Wilcoxen
This is an excellent production. Beveridge's translation is 19th century but valuable. I was surprised that Hendrickson had gone to the expense of resetting the entire work and yet kept the price very reasonable. Not my first Institutes, but I'm glad I bought it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Harry Ludwig
The original reformed systematic theology in a handy one-volume edition. Everyone who is serious about their faith would be remiss if the absence of Calvin's Institutes has occurred in their reading program!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
M W
This book has a good binding, and is one of the greatest works of all time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tim
A great deal on a classic book. For those interested in theology, it's a must for the personal library. Since the book was tranlsated 150 years ago in England, the text is not always the easiest to read, since we're not accustomed to that style of writing or speaking. If takes more time to wade through, but the content is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Institutes of the Christian Religion - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Boyd
I should like to compliment Hendrikson for yet another job well done. This is a fine volume, nicely typeset and less intimidating than the Battles translation. Those of us who love books owe a debt of gratitude to the publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.