Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook

Thomas Nelson What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook

A Miracle for Miriam from An Amish Christmas

Miriam fell for Seth, but he broke her heart. Years later, after he's nearly killed in an accident, Miriam sees him at a Christmas party and notices something is different about him-not just how he looks, but how he acts. When Seth pursues her, she must decide whether to guard her heart or accept his love.

A Place of His Own from An Amish Gathering

When Josiah left Paradise the first time, he didn't even say good-bye. Now he's back, ten years later, and he's changed. Why is he so distant and bitter? Where is the boy who used to be Amanda's best friend? Amanda is learning that there are things even a capable Amish girl can't fix. But can she stand there and watch him walk away...again?

What the Heart Sees from An Amish Love

A tragic accident rocks a peaceful Amish community, leaving Ellie Chupp blinded and Christopher Bender's future shattered. But they find love and forgiveness in a place they least expect.

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Review 1 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book kept me coming back.

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reba Simpson
Location:Ocala, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book, always kept me coming back to read more. Never boring. The writer makes you feel like you are part of the story. Thank you for sharing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The stories in this book, Miracle For Miriam, A Place of His Own, and What the Heart Sees are all Amish romances written by Kathleen Fuller. They were all previously published in other Amish collections.
Each story is unique from the others. I liked how each story centers around a character that has come back to the Amish community. The stories are told with humor and thoughtfulness and only about one hundred and fifty pages each.
Miracle For Miriam tells of a romance between two childhood acquaintances. You will enjoy reading how they finally see eye to eye.
A Place of His Own tells of a boy returning to his home a different man and how his childhood friend helps him overcome his difficulties.
What The Heart Sees is about a woman who loses her eyesight and the man who shows her love despite her disability.
The beginning of the book even has a glossary of terms to help you better understand some of the uncommon words used. I enjoyed the stories and would recommend them to anyone who enjoys Christian romances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was great!!!

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
iamjenai
Location:Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a collection of three Amish love stories, (1) A Miracle for Mirriam, (2) A Place of His Own, and (3) What The Heart Sees.
The first one I have read was the 3rd story, What The Heart Sees. It was a beautiful, sweet and unique love story that had me crying. After reading the 3rd story, I tried reading A Miracle for Mirriam. It was a slow read, I finished reading it after two days. A Place of His Own is a great story too.
This is my first Amish book and I found the second and third stories enjoyable. I definitely look forward to reading more Amish romances! Thanks to the author, this book is a great introduction into Amish fictions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tales of rekindling love and healing past hurts

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fans of Kathleen Fuller will be delighted to discover that three of her novellas have been repackaged into one volume. The stories, which previously appeared in An Amish Christmas, An Amish Gathering and An Amish Love respectively, are romantic tales of young Amish men and women discovering and rekindling love and healing past hurts.
In A Miracle for Miriam, Miriam must reconcile her memories of Seth, the boy who teased her as a teenager, with the young man he has become. Seth is in for a culture shock, returning to his Amish family after he was seriously injured in a car accident. But his near-death experience has made him to rethink his life, causing him see everything in a different light – including Miriam. In order to pursue a relationship with her reformed would-be-suitor, Miriam has to learn to forgive and let go of past grudges, or miss out on the chance of falling in love.
I thoroughly enjoyed this story, especially as it was the first time I’d read about an Amish woman who was insecure about her appearance. It made me rethink my expectation that all Amish are able to focus purely on inner beauty. After all, everyone strives not to be vain and to focus on what cannot be seen, but our human flaws cause us to be concerned with the physical. Miriam’s self-consciousness combined with the hurt she had experienced as an impressionable teen made her a very relatable heroine. Seth also had his own difficulties, regarding the injuries he suffered in a car accident, but he’s such a gentleman that it’s impossible not to fall for him. While I did struggle to believe that one isolated incident – Seth had only teased her about her looks on one occasion, so it wasn’t as if she experienced repeated bullying – would cause Miriam to be so self-conscious about her appearance, I did find it refreshing to read about an Amish woman who struggled with insecurity and low self-confidence. Those who think that the Amish are romanticised will be pleased to find such a realistic and character-driven story.
Amanda is surprised to discover that her childhood best friend, Josiah, has returned from Indiana to fix up his old family home in A Place of His Own. But she’s shocked that Josiah doesn’t want her company, and is keen to sell his old house and leave Paradise as soon as possible. Slowly, Amanda begins to draw Josiah out of his shell and make him face the long-buried wounds that are still causing him pain. Can this healing process rekindle their friendship, and maybe even spark embers of love?
While I found Amanda and Josiah’s story to be the weakest in the collection, I did end up enjoying it once it really got started. Unfortunately, I felt that the plot didn’t really begin until several chapters in, which can be annoying in such a short novella. Other reviewers have commented that they think A Place of His Own would be stronger as a full-length novel, and I’m inclined to agree with them. There was so much potential and a lot of unexplored areas in this novella, so I think Kathleen was just restricted by her word count. And while I warmed up to Josiah after a while, I really struggled with the character of Amanda, who no matter what she said or did, still seemed very two-dimensional and shallow. I hope that readers don’t judge Kathleen based on this story, as it’s still a good effort and is sandwiched by two other excellent stories.
The last novella also shares its name with the collection, What the Heart Sees. This story is my favourite out of the three, and tells the tale of a prodigal son who returns to the Amish for his sister’s wedding and ends up befriending a blind girl. I was fortunate enough to read this story earlier in the year, so please check out my review of An Amish Love to read my thoughts on it.
I’ve yet to read any of Kathleen Fuller’s full-length novels, but if her novellas are any clue, I’m sure they’re an excellent addition to the Amish genre. Although I enjoyed each of the stories in this collection, I think their weakness is that they share very common themes. Seth, Josiah and Chris are all returning from the English world, and all three of the women are late into their courting years and worried that they’ll never find love. I’m sure these novellas worked very well in their original collections, but bound together I felt that they were rather repetitive with their tortured heroes and insecure heroines. This is a storyline that Kathleen does very well, but after reading it three times I couldn’t help but wondering if I should have left a larger gap between reading each of the novellas. I do recommend this collection, especially if you’re a fan of Kathleen Fuller, but I’d suggest spacing your reading of these stories.
Review title sent courtesy of Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

These stories held my attention right to the end.

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bosun
Location:Upper Tantallon NS Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love to read and my favourites are fiction of the Amish life and the way they hold together, there loyalty to their faith and each other. So refreshing in this world of
rush and intolerance. I often wonder if we really good live
their style of life in this modern world?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
bluebonnet
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to really excellent read. It was nice to have all the different stories in one place. It has 3 different stories and yet each one has you feeling like you are right there with them and helping them along. Kathleen is an excellent story teller and she has your attention right from the start. She makes you wanting more at the end of each story. Hint Hint. I woule recommend you to buy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book and a great value too

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
ramblings
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not know about you, but I LOVE a good Christian fiction book about the Amish. But what I love even more is THREE Christian fiction books about the Amish all in one book! That is exactly what I got in the book What the Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller. This book is a collection of three different stories. A Miracle for Miriam, A Place of His Own, and What the Heart Sees. Each story has characters that stay with you. You want to keep reading and learning about Miriam, Seth, Josiah, Amanda, Ellie and Christopher. The characters really seem to come to life and the stories draw you in. As a stay-at-home mommy, I was quite tempted to stay up late and finish the stories! I also loved that the collection includes some Amish recipes and also a guide if you are part of a reading group. And for $14.99 you cannot beat the value…remember…it is THREE books in one for the price. If you are searching for a good, uplifting read, please make sure you check out this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A. Synopsis of Amish love stories

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Brennan
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book is great for those who have not read Kathleen Fullers other books. Unfortunately I had. So now that I have bought a book with stories in it that I have already read, I will donate it to the library. I wish I had known this when I ordered it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou Freeman
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good story. Shows one how forgiveness is truly meant in the Amish belief! I would definitely pass this on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What the Heart Sees is a collection of Amish charming romances by Kathleen Fuller. The three stories included were previously published under the titles An Amish Christmas, An Amish Gathering, and An Amish Love, but in this book were entitled A Miracle for Miriam, A Place of His Own, and What the Heart Sees.
The first has a powerful message. Seth seriously hurt Miriam with some harsh comments when they were teenagers, and she has forgiven him. However, the damage to her self-confidence has been done, and she finds it hard to forget several years later when he returns.
The second was my personal favorite. Amanda was excited when her childhood friend, Josiah, returns after ten years. It is shocking to her when she finds that he is bitter and not planning to stay, but she stubbornly refuses to ignore him. Instead, she perseveres in trying to help, even when his attitude makes it extremely difficult, resulting in discovering reasons for his previous departure that she cannot remedy.
The third tells an enchanting tale of dealing with tragedy. Ellie is certain she will never find love as a blind Amish woman. Christopher has returned home five years after the same tragedy that took the life of his fiancé and Ellie’s sight. They must work through her fears and his unforgiving heart in order to have any peace.
All three stories were marvelous, and I would highly recommend them to anyone who enjoys reading Amish fiction. The book also includes several beneficial extras, including a glossary of Amish terms, reading group guides, and Amish recipes.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Three fun Amish stories for the price of one!

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Snowflakes
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What The Heart Sees is essentially a novella collection of 3 stories Kathleen Fuller wrote and printed in OTHER novella collections. I had already read “What the Heart Sees” from An Amish Love, and enjoyed it very much. I found myself inspired by Ellie’s hopeful and unsinkable spirit and was rooting for Christopher to accept the forgiveness offered by his community. I hate spoilers, though, so I won’t say any more about that. I enjoyed the other 2 stories in this novella collection as well.
In “A Miracle for Miriam,” I found Seth and Miriam to be very endearing, although I did get quite frustrated with Miriam every few pages. I think that was Fuller’s point, though. Miriam’s inability to believe anyone would love her, and her constant replaying of negative self-image messages in her mind reminded me of how we as believers often are reluctant to receive God’s love. We continue to dwell on our own sins and failings, refusing to believe that the Lover of our Soul could love us just as we are, imperfect and broken, and that He would want fellowship with us despite our “ugliness.” Praise the Lord that we don’t have to be perfect to come to Him! Miriam’s growth and her efforts to accept Seth’s love mirrors the journey of so many believers as they learn to accept Christ’s love.
“A Place of His Own” had me smiling almost non-stop. I loved Amanda’s stubborn streak and her perky, positive attitude, and felt her frustration as she dealt with Josiah’s dark moods. I especially enjoyed the barn-raising scene. This one was a really fun story, while also bringing me to tears at times. A must-read.
Fuller uses a friendly, easy-to-read voice in her writing, and incorporates the Pennsylvania Deitsch words much more fluidly than some other writers. They don’t feel forced, and don’t have translations immediately after them, a quality which I enjoyed. (When an author writes something like, “ ‘She said, You’re ab im kopp.’ ‘No,’ Adam replied, ‘I’m not crazy in the head!’,” it makes me crazy. When authors do that, AND include a glossary, it makes me feel like they don’t think we’ll be smart enough to look the word up. It’s a pet peeve of mine.) Additionally, as a cooking aficionado, I especially enjoyed the collection of recipes at the end. There is also a reading group guide for those who would like to choose this as their book club selection. All in all, although it's not going to be the next great American novel, this was a good read. While not my favorite of all time, each story left me happy and kept my attention, which are 2 of the main things I am looking for in an Amish fiction novel. I would recommend this collection for anyone who enjoys Amish Christian fiction.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully uplifting and entertaining

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary B
Location:Western New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a collection of three stories, A Miracle for Miriam, A Place of His Own, and What the Heart Sees.
A Miracle for Miriam is about a young Amish girl who considers herself an ugly duckling. She develops a crush on Seth, the most popular boy in her Amish school who very cruelly humiliates her and mocks her in front of the other students. He leaves to live among the English but returns to the community a changed man, emotionally, spiritually and physically. When he returns he realizes what a beautiful spirit Miriam has and has to work very hard to convince her that this time, his feelings for her are genuine.
The second story of the collection, A Place of His Own, is also about a young Amish man who returns to his childhood community after being away for many years When he returns he is secretive, quiet and bitter and will not confide in or accept Amanda’s friendship. What has happened to Josiah to make him so bitter and distant? Amanda comes to the realization that her feelings for her childhood friend have grown but that her love may not be enough to heal whatever has wounded Josiah.
In “What the Heart Sees” by Kathleen Fuller, Christopher Miller’s fiancé is killed in a car accident and her friend, Ellie, is blinded. He leaves to live among the English. Upon returning, his late finance’s best friend, Ellie, tries to encourage him to forgive and make peace, and through their friendship he discovers a stronger faith in God.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookSneeze and Thomas Nelson through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What The Heart Sees by Kathleen Full;er

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tuesday, March 1, 2011
Booksneeze has provided me with a copy of What the Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller.
This book has 3 short stories (Novellas)about the Amish. I love to read about the Amish and these stories are GREAT. I would suggest everyone to pick up this book and read them.
I thoroughly loved it, it is a GREAT read for people who love the Amish stories as much as I do.
The stories are as follows: A Miracle for Miriam, A Place of His Own and What the Heart Sees, but my favorite one is A Miracle for Miriam. Miriam was hurt by Seth when she was little, but then years later, Miriam sees Seth again. She has forgiven him but can she forget? This is an excellent read.
A Place of His own is a Great story as well. Josiah leaves Paradise the first time but now he has returned. Amanda realizes this and it is hard for her to accept, this would be a wonderful read for everyone.
What the Heart Sees is about Ellie Chupp decides to never love again after she loses her sight in an accident. But, Chris Miller comes home after 5 years when he was involved in a tragedy. It is wonderful seeing how Ellie and Chris get together.
I loved all these stories very much and I would suggest these books to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Amish fiction fans!

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:El Cajon, CA
I just finished reading <em><strong>What The Heart Sees</strong></em>, A Collection of Amish Romances From Kathleen Fuller. These three stories were previously published in <em>An Amish Christmas</em>, <em>An Amish Gathering</em>, and <em>An Amish Love</em>.
The first story is <em>A Miracle for Miriam</em>. Miriam liked a boy named Seth when they were 14 years old, but when Seth found out, he ridiculed her. Five years later, Miriam still has not gotten over the rejection and is afraid to get close to anyone and then Seth comes back into her life after being severely injured in a car accident.
The second story is <strong>A Place of His Own </strong> which is the story of Josiah and Amanda who were best friends. Josiah moved away as a teenager after his mother died but has now returned years later to sell the family farm. Josiah's attitude has changed and Amanda tries to figure out what happened to her childhood friend.
The third story is <em>What the Heart Sees</em>. Ellie Chupp is blind due to an accident that killed her best friend. Her best friend's fiance, Christopher, moved away but has now returned several years later. Ellie and Christopher start getting to know each other and having feelings for each other.
What I found to be the common theme in the stories is that the different individuals learn to give their difficult and confusing situations to God to handle. When they start to do that, then God starts to work in ways that end up in a happy outcome for them. I enjoyed reading the stories and also included in the back of the book is a Reading Group Guide and Amish Recipes, yum!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - Kathleen Fuller - March 2011
When coming across Amish Christian Fiction, Im always in two minds about it , the reason being some of the authors I enjoy and their writing flows with a perfect stroke and others I just no matter how hard I try , I can't find myself getting into it. What the Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller was a bit of both . Unlike the majority of Amish novels , Kathleen's contained more than the average novel worth of Amish language and though it had a dictionary at the beginning of the book, it was a hassle to keep flicking back and forth. Though, in saying that on a positive note as the stories were short stories and more like novellas rather than full length novels, I didn't mind the overuse of Amish language as much as I might have had it been a full novel.
. "A Miracle for Miriam" from" An Amish Christmas" Miriam fell for Seth, but he broke her heart. Years later, after he's nearly killed in an accident, Miriam sees him at a Christmas party and notices something is different about him-not just how he looks, but how he acts. When Seth pursues her, she must decide whether to guard her heart or accept his love. "A Place of His Own" from "An Amish Gathering" When Josiah left Paradise the first time, he didn't even say good-bye. Now he's back, ten years later, and he's changed. Why is he so distant and bitter? Where is the boy who used to be Amanda's best friend? Amanda is learning that there are things even a capable Amish girl can't fix. But can she stand there and watch him walk away...again? "What the Heart Sees" from "An Amish Love" A tragic accident rocks a peaceful Amish community, leaving Ellie Chupp blinded and Christopher Bender's future shattered. But they find love and forgiveness in a place they least expect?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Amish Story for Ladies of All Ages!!!

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
plantsandpillars
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What the Heart Sees is actually three books in one, and I thoroughly enjoyed all three!
These three stories follow the lives of three different Amish women. In the first story you meet Miriam. Miriam is a self conscious young lady who can not believe that she will ever meet someone to marry. Will the Lord provide a husband for her?
In the next story you meet Amanda. Amanda is a sweet young lady who loves her little siblings dearly and it perfectly happy. But, when her childhood playmate moves next door, she finds that not everyone is as happy as she is. Can she make things right?
And lastly you meet Ellie, a young lady struggling with blindness due to a car accident. Then Christopher Miller arrives back in town struggling with anger over the car wreck that took the life of his fiancee. Can Ellie help him overcome this bitterness and anger by being a true example of peace and God's Love?
I would recommend this book to young ladies, and moms as well. There was nothing that offended me, and I will read it again! This stories were very well written, the plots were all unique and very well written, and Mrs. Fuller's writing style is simple and charming. All in all, I loved this book!
Note of Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book through booksneeze.com - a book review program. I was not required to post a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are purely my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great Amish story!

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What the Heart Sees" by Kathleen Fuller is actually three stories in one. Each story is also published in 3 different books, along with other Amish-fiction authors. If you have already read "An Amish Christmas", "An Amish Gathering", or "An Amish Love" then you will recognize the stories in this one. I had not, and I thoroughly enjoyed all three stories.
All three stories focus on forgiveness... forgiving one another, forgiving oneself, and accepting forgiveness from God.
In "A Miracle for Miriam", Miriam has to forgive Seth for causing her pain years before. And Seth learns to accept forgiveness from God and Miriam for the way he had acted growing up.
"A Place of His Own" tells the story of Josiah, a man who had problems in his childhood that even his closest friend knew nothing about. He comes home to Paradise to sell his family home and disappear again. But God has other plans.
Christopher learns a hard lesson in forgiveness and letting go of the past in "What the Heart Sees". Five years prior, he had lost his fiance in a car accident. Since then, he has remained bitter since the person responsible for the accident did not seem to suffer at all. He soon finds out more about the day of the accident that as never told before. Will he forgive and leave the past in the past?
I greatly recommend this book and look forward to reading more of Kathleen's books
------
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for What the Heart Sees: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
This review is fromWhat the Heart Sees Collection.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reading...highly recommended

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Buford, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved every page. When it got to the middle, I couldn't put it down. Great reading as is any Amish novel..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.