Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook

Thomas Nelson Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 3097%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Review 1 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Money Secrets of the Amish

Date:December 23, 2011
The author, Lorilee Craker wanted to sell her house and move to a bigger one. The problem was her house was appraised at $27,000 less than what she and her husband paid for it. She decided it was time for become more thrifty to be able buy another house. She heard about the Amish surviving the recent economic crisis without losing their properties. She went straight to the source and interviewed several people in the Amish community to see how they dealt with finances.
Lorilee learned many things about the Amish that she could apply to her own life. For example, she learned that the Amish always pay their bills on time and do not believe in having any kind of debt. They don't buy new, they go to secondhand stores and garage sales. They barter their services/goods for other's services/goods. The Amish use things until they wear out—completely. They repurpose, reuse and reclaim everything. This is just part of the list. Lorilee Cracker tells the reader the ways she and many other people have applied what she learned to their own lives.
She gave a very useful formula for figuring out how many hours a person has to work to buy a desired item. Write down your pretax income, subtract 25 percent for taxes, and divide what’s left by 2,000 (the hours you work in a year). This is the amount you make per hour. Take the cost of the item and divide by the amount you make per hour. Is the item worth the hours you work to pay for it?
The author discovered the lifestyle of the Amish - their thriftiness, self-control concerning purchases, sharing with others and sense of community is what causes them to thrive in a world so full of financial distress.
The one thing I didn't care for in the book was the author's use of humor. It is found throughout the book. I guess it's not my type of humor. To me it almost seemed degrading to the Amish. She said things like "Somehow Menno, rocking the bowl haircut, beard, and suspenders, didn’t look surprised", "...have a wide repertoire of desserts under their bonnets", and "So when Moses and Mary grow up and hitch their buggies together, they won’t be making many thoughtless and trivial purchases".
I would recommend this book for anyone is looking to cut spending and to learn to how to save their money in ways they may not have thought about. I would say you have to like humor to really enjoy this book. There is a good amount of background information about the Amish in this book, which I enjoyed reading about.
I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Money Secrets Of The Amish by Lorilee Craker

Date:September 14, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Lorilee Craker's book "Money Secrets Of The Amish" she not only has cool story's of some Amish family's who have saved money amazingly but also has wonderful advise on how you can save money as well!!
And she also gives advise on how to get more out of the money that you do spend!!This book has some great tips and I really enjoyed it!! I knew the Amish were good with money, but I apparently did not know how good!! Not only do they wear stuff out and use it up, and are really good at building things they need, but they are great at finding amazing thrift deals too!! And wow are they ever great at reusing/recycling things!!
And in this book Lorilee Craker has some great ideas about how you can start being thrifty too!! I mean who wouldn't want to keep more money in there wallet and less in the store cashrester? And I really like how she tells about cool reuse ideas like useing a old dish soap bottle instead of the cheap store bought water guns!! And useing a ball of aluminum foil tossed in your dryer with the wet laundry instead of dryer sheets!! Who would have guessed it would removes static and never needs to be changed!! If you are interested in learning some new tricks on how to save money, you should check out Lorilee Craker's book!!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining presentation of common-sense info

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Richard Mabry
Location:Frisco, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
New York Times best-selling author, Lorilee Craker, has done her homework and done it well. She not only lists principles that are ingrained with the Amish, principles that have kept them on an even economic keel even in these hard times, but illustrates them with abundant stories and examples. (I just wish she'd included the recipes for shoo-fly pie and similar dishes). She covers such obvious things as delayed gratification, avoiding debt, and the time-honored principle of "use it up, wear it out, make it do, or do without." But she also takes a hard look at the way the Amish raise their children, with examples and admonitions that made me think, again and again, "Yes, we need to adopt those tenets."
I got this book for free, with no promise that I'd give it a good review, but I do recommend it, not just for the economic principles it illustrates but the family values it teaches, values that are sorely lacking in our modern society.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book has awesome practical advice.

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
sevencitys
Location:Nelson Mandela Bay, South Africa
Age:35-44
Gender:male
With great excitement I recently received my copy of Lorilee Craker’s ‘Money Secrets of the Amish – finding the abundance in Simplicity, Sharing and Saving’.
What I discovered, while reading this book, wasn’t any secrets, but good common sense and principles of living we need to be reminded of in a world driven by consumption.
Lorilee Craker is a descendant of the Amish. Just like the rest of us she was feeling the pinch from the financial fallout of 2008. Her freelance journalism didn’t bring in what it used too & what it did bring in didn’t go that far anymore. Then, inspired by a news segment covering her people, the Amish, and how they emerged from the economic crisis unscathed, she realized it was time to get back to her roots and learn a thing or two about their time-tested approach to personal finances. While the middle-class was wringing its hands over the family budget and the wealthy were weeping over their slashed portfolios, the Amish were content as always, spared from the cares of the world and worldliness. They not only had financial health to support their lives, they exuded a wholeness that eludes so many when the financial bottom drops out.
In Money Secrets of the Amish, readers go on an “Amish money makeover,” learning the choices, secrets, and disciplines that safeguarded the contentment and the coffers of America’s favorite plain folk by spending less, saving more, and getting happier doing it.
Reading Money Secrets of the Amish I thought to myself: I must have some Amish blood flowing through my own veins. The approach is simple, don’t spend it if you don’t have it. And: don’t tie your happiness to what you own (or do not really own, but are paying off monthly incurring massive interest & emotional stress).
The Amish it seems are ‘so far behind, they’re ahead’.
They repurpose, recycle and reuse.
Everything.
They shop secondhand.
They save, learning to delay gratification.
They trade each other & they find happiness in the stuff that is for free: each other, time together, family, friendship and games.
Our Landy has been paid for, for the better part of six years. It is showing some rust & needs more regular maintenance, but it is much cheaper than a R4000 a month car-payment.
If our kids want something, we don’t just buy it for them. We help them devise plans on how to earn the money themselves. How to make or collect and sell stuff. Often, by the time they’ve saved enough money, their desire might have changed. Then they save for the next thing.
Money Secrets of the Amish is filled with practical advise like this. How to approach Christmas & gift-giving differently. How to renovate & decorate without spending a cent, or perhaps very little.
It effectively taps into the frugality of the Amish people and attempts to transfer it to urban living in a different world.
I’d hoped for less practicality & more spirituality, tapping into the philosophy behind the way of doing things. And I walked away from this book, wondering too if the Amish gave stuff away, like we do. Or if they just share amongst themselves and in that way succeed at ‘keeping it in the family’?
Having said that – this was a good read. Anyone curious about the Amish & hoping to be challenged about money & finances, how we think about it, how we spend it & how we raise our children, would enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Money Saving Ideas

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love to save money in all different ways so this book is right up my alley. Being retired and on a fixed income involves a totally new way to look at frugal ways to save money. In this book we learn from the best at making things last and the art of recycling.
The author found during 2008 during the economic collapse that her work was drying up also. She started investigating the Amish culture to be serene, simple and rooted in centuries past that held financial wisdom to me. During her period of "extreme thrift" she researched the Amish way of wealth. She learned tips on saving, spending and investing and how to live a lifestyle extravagant in peach, sharing, family and community closeness. One of her funny quotes "Could a clotheshorse, spendthrift, clueless about-cash girl like me actually spend less, save more, and make shoofly pie?'.
We Americans are a blessed society with enormous wealth to spend our money any way we want to. To think that God actually only wants 10% of HIS money and lets us spend 90% how we want to is mind boggeling. This book helps you retrain your brain to be more frugal with practical and simple money saving ideas.
My favorite chapter was Shopping Secondhand. She shops at a secondhand store and saves a ton of money then heads to Goodwill and buys 9 items that would have cost $237.48 and she spent $25.50 for a savings of @211.98. Now that is "fun shopping" As the Amish say "You don't have to buy something new to buy something good".
She has chapters on: Pay on time-rethinking gifts-saving-de-spoil the kids-to bulk or not to bulk-bartering-and the best things in life are free.
Great book, fun read, lots of tips to help my frugal life more and a good book to give to a newly married couple or kids going off to college.
I received this book free for my honest opinion of it and so appreciated this great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Suggestions on how to save!

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
noblecharactergirl
Location:A Library, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing and Saving
In Money Secrets of the Amish, readers go on an "Amish money makeover," learning the choices, secrets, and disciplines that safeguarded the contentment and the coffers of America's favorite plain folk by spending less, saving more, and getting happier doing it.
MY REVIEW:
Some ideas mentioned in this book I had either already read about somewhere else, or I already am doing. BUT, the suggestions I haven't read were awesome! Like did you know there is a coupe websites where you can swap items for talents, or items for items, etc.? I didn't, and it was valuable information (I haven't swapped yet, but I plan on doing it very shortly). Swapping can save you a lot of money, especially if you swap something you no longer want for something you really need. I'm not going to be kind though and tell you what the website is, though. You'll have to pick up the book and read it for yourself to find out :-)
I really enjoyed reading this to learn more, and I hope that others thing the same.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not bad

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrs e
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed Money Secrets of the Amish. It's just a shame that what the book had to offer was no surprise to me. Being from Lancaster County, PA, I must admit that a lot of what the book had to offer was already common knowledge for me.
These things include:
Using coupons
Shopping at consignment shops
Purchasing meats and produce directly from the farmer
Shopping yard sales
The one idea I did really like was having a clothing/good swap with gal pals. I have heard of these before but would love to either be invited to one or organize one.
The author does share some gems of knowledge, but none that I didn't already know.
I really enjoyed the way the author gives assignments at the end each chapter. She also provides a lot of good resources such as blogs and other books to check out.
All in all, I would have to admit that this book is valuable and a good read for anyone wanting to cut their expenses.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great ideas to live frugally and simply

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorilee Craker, author of “Money Secrets of the Amish,” learned that the Amish weren’t just surviving the economic downturn but thriving and decided to find out how they were doing it and whether it would work for everyone. She discovered some tried and true methods the Amish have used for generations that makes cash last longer and helps build wealth. No, it has little to do with the lack of electronic devices or motorized vehicles and more to do with living simply, reusing and repurposing items, sharing with others and being frugal. These are habits everyone needs to practice.
If you are struggling financially and seeking ways to make every penny count, this book is an invaluable investment. Learn how to live upside down by using it up, wearing it out and making do or doing without. You will see the benefits of delayed gratification and rethink how you give gifts. You will learn the necessity of despoiling your children and shopping secondhand. You will even learn that the best things in life are free and the new bartering system. I’m all for bringing back the bartering system.
The poor economy doesn’t have to put a damper on your finances. Following the Amish ways may just boost your bank account. While the methods in this book may not help everyone, you might find something that will make a big difference in your family’s life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristenph
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems that the Amish lifestyle is a hot topic these days. In our fast-paced, modern society, we miss what the Amish have: family, community, and simplicity. But although there is a trend towards people simplifying their lives, I don’t think many people are becoming Amish. However, the basic frugal principles that the Amish follow can be adopted by anyone. In Money Secrets of the Amish, Lorilee Craker outlines these principles and shows how they can be applied.
The tips shared in this book are not new or extraordinary. They’re just old-fashioned common sense. They include ideas such as avoiding debt, waiting to buy things, reducing spending on gifts, and bartering. But the book doesn’t read like a finance book. Lorilee shares stories of real Amish families. For example, she tells of one family who saved $400,000 for a down payment on a farm while raising 14 children!
The book isn’t just about how frugal the Amish are. Along with interesting descriptions of the Amish lifestyle are Lorilee’s own stories. Her stories are of how unfrugal she was, and how spending time with the Amish while preparing to write this book, showed her how much she was taking for granted and how many things she could do without. She writes from her heart and isn’t afraid to laugh at herself. For someone who has been already been seeking ways to live more frugally, this book probably won’t have many new ideas. Even so, I found this an enjoyable book to read and an encouragement to persevere.
Disclosure: I received a copy of Money Secrets of the Amish to review from Book Sneeze. I was not compensated for the review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Helpful Book

Date:July 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the past several years of tough economic times, the book 'Money Secrets of the Amish' by Lorilee Craker interested me. My wife enjoys reading Amish fiction, so I knew she would be interested in information from the book as well. I already knew that the Amish live simple lives, and these days we can use all the help we can get in cutting our expenses.
I thought 'Money Secrets of the Amish' would be a dry, fact-filled book. I was very wrong about the dry part! It is full of humor, and was hard to put down. Along with money saving ideas and hints on how the Amish thrive in their simple ways, there are many humorous stories throughout the pages. Ms. Craker has a fun, flowing style to her writing that made a potentially boring subject a fun read! I have post-it notes on several pages to go back and reread-there are some great tips in this gem of a book. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HELPFUL, HUMOROUS, INSIGHTFUL!

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know the Amish are very thrifty people and don’t seem to weather such severe financial hardships as we in modern society do. So although I felt I have always been a very frugal person, I decided to read it. In the back of my mind I was thinking, “I doubt it can teach me anything new but I will see.” Well Lorilee sure proved me wrong!
Yes, many of the ideas were ones I already knew, but she caused me to look at them in a different light. I was challenged to apply them in ways I hadn’t thought of. Also I learned many new money saving ways. It opened my mind to the fact that saving money isn’t just ideas but a way of life and a frame of mind.
She mentions an Amish saying, “Use it up, Wear it out, Make it do, or Do without.”
I can remember in our early years of marriage and when our family was young we practiced that. I didn’t realize how much we had gotten away from it, by “just getting a new one” when we could have repaired the item. This is a practice I am going to be more conscious about doing.
Another area I found very helpful was the area of gift giving. It doesn’t always have to be new! And there is no shame in giving a gift that isn’t!
I am a thrift store, yard sale frequenter but this book made me realize I was overlooking many things that could save me money that I hadn’t even thought of at these places.
This book was not only informative but the author was hilarious! She has such a great sense of humor, so the book not only taught me but kept me laughing!
Everything learned is easy to apply no matter what your income or where you live.
I found this book very helpful and would encourage everyone to read it, no matter how frugal you think you are!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
http://www.e-pmbc.com/index.php?p=1_7_Narita-s-Book-Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Money Secrets of the Amish

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving
By Lorilee Craker
I love the simple life the Amish live~ I really enjoyed this book!
The Amish use it up and wear it out~ they make do with what they have and are thankful people.
Lorilee's humor as she studies the simple ways of the Amish keeps you entertained as you swallow the pill that we Americans are out of control with our wasteful ways and excessive spending. She asks the question~ "Just which culture has things wrong side up?" After all the Amish are thriving in the economic crisis as if they are not touched by the mess our country is in at all. Maybe we should consider that they are smarter than we give their 8th grade education system credit!
"When compared to our English money bungles, the Amish way of wealth is a whole inverted lifestyle of thrift, self control, carefulness, sharing and community. It's a curious prosperity-a rootedness simplicity, and a step back to "quaint" money values- that goes way beyond debt-free living.' "My peek at the Amish and their upside-down ways convinced me:they turn us fancy folk on our excessive. over leveraged heads." Says ~Lorilee ~ I agree and could not have said it better myself.
If you have never considered taking a lesson or two from the Amish way of life ~ this is a great book to inspire you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Practical information on saving money

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve Hyde
Location:Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
About a month ago I purposefully made a trip to an Amish area of Northern Iowa. As I was there I was pondering how the Amish did business and why it seemed to work well for them. I was excited to see Lorilee Craker had written a book on the topic I was curious about, so I approached this book with great excitement and expectation. The book addressed many topics dealing with how the Amish do business and how they perceive money and wealth. A cornerstone seems to be “being taught to love work”, one Amish farmer named Eli said. Others talked about how to save money you need to “scrape the bottom of the barrel!” The Amish reuse and recycle everything.
In regards to money, they were clear on avoiding debt. Equally, they stressed saving money at all times so that you can accomplish your dreams and it will cushion you for rainy days. You must learn to say “no” to many items so that you can save to accomplish your bigger dreams.
Craker offers practical advice for the reader on how to save money. For a simple and practical book on how to save money in a bad economy this is a good one to read. I wish that she would have linked the traditions of the Amish to the main source of their inspiration, the Bible and their Christian lifestyle. She didn’t . It is extremely practical for those who want to save money and learn how the Amish save money, but I think it didn’t go far enough to show the true source of many of their traditions in saving money, the Bible itself.
The Amish are also known to be loyal to their community and constantly help each other out. Craker wrote from an individualistic perspective and though she mentioned the Amish in community, she did not mention how the community affects or are involved in their financial living. I would be curious to find out more about the communities role in helping with each other’s needs.
Furthermore, while she mentioned character throughout the book, it was not highlighted how character is an essential aspect of their lives and financial success. Work ethic, humility, simplicity, avoiding pride and ostentatious lifestyles, integrity, discipline and righteousness are godly characteristics which have impacted their whole life. I believe this book only skims the surface of the success of the Amish to flourish at a time when most Americans are finding the economic recession arduous. For the casual reader it is a good book to read, but for someone who is searching for deeper insight into the Amish secrets of money, you will likely be disappointed.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Money Secrets of the Amish

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tina Ross
Location:PSL,FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book is fun, insightful, will make you laugh and think!! I could not put this book down!!! There is a lot to be learned from Amish, frugality, an unknown concept in today's world....!!
You will love this book and all the help ways and thoughts it gives you to...
I love this....UWMW...USE IT UP, WEAR IT OUT, MAKE DO, or DO WITHOUT!!!
Happy reading!!! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrifty can be fun!

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
NewChristianBooks
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
The more hurried and crazy our culture becomes, the more it seems we are intrigued by people who have chosen a simpler way. Inwardly, we long for what they have—a life less frantic. Ironically, we run faster and buy more stuff in efforts to simplify and find that allusive simplicity. In this book, Lorilee Craker takes us on a visit to the homes of several Amish families, who share with her their secrets for saving money. (She decided to write the book after seeing a news program that said the Amish had weathered the recession more successfully than most.)
The book is practical, but fun—the author’s tone is lighthearted and humorous. You’ll find yourself learning money management tips without even trying. This book inspired me: I went thrift-store shopping, planted tomatoes and even wrote a short article applying some of its valuable lessons on not just surviving but thriving, even in tough economic times. http://www.wikihow.com/Thrive-Financially-During-a-Recession.
Here’s a quote from the book: “the Amish way of wealth is a whole inverted lifestyle, of thrift, self-control, carefulness, sharing and community. It’s a curious prosperity—a rootedness, simplicity, and a step back to ‘quaint’ money values—that goes beyond debt-free living.” I loved this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving..

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abeeda
Location:The Netherlands
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw the title of this book, I knew I just had to read it. I have always been interested in the Amish culture, and this was a great opportunity to learn a little bit more about it. The author takes a look at Amish money saving habits and applies them to life outside of the Amish culture.
As a young lady starting my life away from home, I found this book very useful and insightful. This book is full of simple suggestions, that really pay of in the long run. This book was a great read, it is serious when it comes to ways on saving your money but also has quite a bit of humour thrown in. It give a light fun atmosphere to saving money.
This book is very easy to understand, with practical applications and examples given. The author also give a respectful representation of the Amish people, being mindful of there customs and way of life. I would recommend this book to anyone looking to save money firstly, but also to anyone looking to lead a simple, almost waste-less life. Reading this book has definitely changed the way I look at saving.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick read on frugal reading

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda I
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving by Lorilee Craker is a this author's adventure in trying to become more frugal by learning the ways of the Amish community. This book goes in depth in what she learns by interviewing different people in the Mennonite community. It talks about how even though, America has been in an economic downtown the last couple of years, the Amish (and their banks) have not.
I really enjoyed this book. I am an avid Dave Ramsey follower and this offer makes several references about him. I basically got this book to see a different side of view. This book was all about being frugal by using everything up, buying used, and only getting what you need. I agree with other people that it is a hard mindset to change in our society but it all goes back to a Dave Ramsey saying: "Live like no one else...so later you can live like no one else!!!"
This book was a quick read. At the end of every chapter their was different ideas like clothes buying and gift giving or websites.
I received this book from Thomas Nielson publishing in return for an honest review. These thoughts are those of my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

one of my favorite reads of the year

Date:June 8, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After spending time in Amish communities in Pennsylvania and Michigan, author Lorilee Cracker ends Money Secrets of the Amish by saying, "I've discovered how to cut back without feeling deprived; in fact, I feel just the opposite, as if now, on the other side of this quirky Amish trip, I have an abundance of creativity, resourcefulness, and peace I didn't have before."
Cracker's experience with the Amish mirrors my sentiments of her book. While most "secrets" in this book were not new to our family's extreme budgeting repertoire (our household has been thrifty, borderline frugal, for years by necessity), the Amish perspective shared in this book has given me a sense of peace in our current financial situation. In fact, Money Secrets has sparked an excitement to make budget-living a creative venture, and even shown it as a fulfilling lifestyle. If it weren't for my current need for a/c, I might even be tempted to go "Plain."
The Amish stories in this book inspire. And Cracker's style in the telling draws you in and lightens the heart. More than a fun summer read, Money Secrets of the Amish might just change your life.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson publisher in exchange for providing my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Money Secrets of the Amish by Lorilee Craker

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Breanne
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Money Secrets of the Amish Lorilee Craker investigates the lives of the Amish and explains why these plain people thrive financially. Through her research Craker discovers some financial habits that the Amish employ and she gives examples of how these principles can be applied to life outside of the Amish community as well. This book provides tips on how to use it up, wear it out, make do, or do without as well as how to live within one’s means, live simply, and save money.
As a frugal Mennonite myself I very much enjoyed this read. I am always looking for a good deal and for sound advice on how to manage money and Craker delivers some practical, smart tips. I find that I already do many of the things she recommends, but there were some great ideas I learnt from her as well. Craker provides such sensible advice in an entertaining manner making this a delightful read. She has insight to give to any reader weather you are a stay at home mom, new graduate, or a Wall Street expert. I would highly recommend this book to others who are interested in living simpler lives and having financial peace.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Money Book!

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorilee Craker was your typical Michigan soccer mom until the recession hit - and it hit her family. During a period of Extreme Thrift, as she calls it, she learned that the Amish were thriving financially despite the poor economy, and she determined to learn their secrets. This book details what she learned and how she's applying it in her own family.
Craker's writing style is simple and humorous. She sketches word pictures in your mind that are just plain funny and adds asides to point them out. While I feared that a money book would be monotonous and boring, this book was anything but - I couldn't wait to finish it! As a girl who grew up in a frugal farming family and in an Amish area, I felt that many of the tips Craker shared were basic, but they were explained well. The examples she told of her Englischer friends using this tips detail how we can make these work in our lives, even in a more secular society. Really, who wouldn't want to know how a farmer with 14 children is able to bank $400,000?
The best part of this book is that it's not meant to be a quick-fix-then-forget-about it-solution to your current money issues, but a way of life that's honoring to both God and His creation. That message stands out in each chapter. Need to get your family on board with that idea, too? Read Chapter 7 - Craker plans for everything.
For anyone wanting to simplify their lifestyle and focus on what is really important in life, Money Secrets of the Amish is a must-read.
I received this book free from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>