Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook

Barbour Publishing Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook

Can city-girl Gracie temple find contentment in the small town of Harmony, Kansas--or will the pull of opportunities and unexpected events have her running back to Wichita? When freelance graphic designer Gracie brings Hannah Mueller, the bishop's rebellious daughter, home from art classes in the city, trouble follows. How will Gracie stand up under accusations that she's a bad influence on Hannah? When Gracie is offered a scholarship in the city, her fiance Sam Goodrich is more than willing to postpone their wedding. Is this Sam's way of backing out of matrimony? What unforeseen event will change Gracie's life forever?
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Review 1 for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another awesome read!!!

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mysti
Location:Scarborough, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple Choices is the third book in a series of three. Just like the two books proceeding it, this one was another page-turner situated in the small town of Harmony, Kansas. The characters were so real that I wanted to get on the next plain and go to Harmony for a badly needed vacation. Of course, I couldn't wait to eat dinner at Mary's Kitchen.
This book was jam packed full of romance, suspense, action and intrigue. I will definately be recommending it to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
regular grama
Enjoyed this series! Quick reads but interesting and kept my attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
xxxx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this series - nice light read for a dull day. Some of the conflict in this one was not quite believeable, but on the whole, the mystery and romance was fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful Christian mystery.

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
ceebee
Location:Asheville, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the Harmony series. It was wonderful to read a Christian mystery. The author kept me guessing. I did not want to put the books down.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Last of a Great Series

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple Choices
Nancy Mehl
One Simple Choice Changes Things Forever Freelance graphic designer Gracie Temple is trying to concentrate on her upcoming marriage to Sam Goodrich, the man of her dreams—until events make her simple life in Harmony, Kansas, a mess of complications and fear. Foremost there’s Hannah Mueller, daughter of the local Mennonite pastor and the girl Gracie sees as her protégé. Gracie promises Hannah’s parents that an art workshop in Wichita won’t adversely affect the shy Mennonite girl, but once there, Gracie wonders if she’s spoken too soon—especially when Hannah adopts the worldly clothing styles of the big city and threatens to remain in Wichita instead of returning to Harmony. Gracie manages to coax Hannah home, but soon after arriving, Hannah vanishes. While the county sheriff is convinced Hannah’s just another runaway, Gracie’s not so sure. As Gracie races against time to discover the truth of Hannah’s disappearance, her wedding plans—and her family—suffer under the strain. What simple choices will be made that not only affect Gracie’s life but the lives of everyone she loves in Harmony?
This was a great series. It was enjoyable to learn these characters. It took me a while to warm up to the male lead, although I did come to like Sam. Gracie is just as forthright and interesting as Nancy Mehl's other female leads. I enjoyed the mystery. While they start out going through the life in Harmony and the other characters that become so much a part of what makes the story so interesting and than the mystery intensifies. A rewarding mystery that is worth another trip to Harmony.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Barbour Publishing, Inc. for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read this book very quickly

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Avid Reader
Location:Wakefield, NH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this book because my daughter lent me the other two books and I could not wait to finish the series. It had good suspense and kept my interest throughout. There was good integration between amish, menonite and other beliefs. Relationships were not perfect but there were positive attempts for understanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved this series!

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great finale to a fantastic series. Makes me sad to think I won't be reading of Grace and her crew in Harmony anymore.
I love the way the author has painted numerous characters for us to love and even a couple for us to, well, not love as much (Esther!). I think it is remarkable that I have grown fond of an entire community rather than just one or two main characters.
The author wraps up the series nicely and I'm so glad she gave us a glimpse of Sam and Grace's happily ever after!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple Choices - A Must Read!

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third and final book in The Harmony Series. This book begins with Gracie trying to convince Hannah to get her things packed so they can return to Harmony. Gracie talked Hannah's parents into letting Hannah go to Wichita for an art workshop for six weeks. Now Gracie is wondering if that was a mistake. Hannah has changed so much in the time she spent in Wichita. Hannah isn't happy about the situation but finally gets packed and her and Gracie return to Harmony. Gracie is worried about how Hannah's parents will take the change that has happened to Hannah. Shortly after returning home, Hannah turns up missing. Did she run away? Was she kidnapped? In the mean time Gracie has a wedding to prepare for. Her parents are coming for the wedding along with her Grandpa who has Alzheimers.
There are twists and turns in this story and it is full of suspense. All our favorite characters from the previous two books are portrayed in this book as well. Alas, there are a few new ones that keep you on the edge of your seat wondering..could they be involved with Hannah's disappearance?
You will laugh, you will cry, you will be anxious, you will be unable to put this book down! I won't give it away but the last couple of chapters please have some kleenex on hand. Trust me, you will need it.
This book is more than just a good read. It is full of God's love, forgiveness, and it has taught me to let go and let God. Thank you Nancy Mehl for the Christian author that you are. You truly are using your talent for the Lord! I highly respect you for that. I can't wait to read more of your books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple Choices is a Great Choice to Read

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gracie is quickly regretting her choice to bring Mennonite teenager Hannah to Wichita for six weeks of art classes. Hannah, dressed in tight jeans and a tank top, is throwing a temper tantrum that rivals any thrown by the typical American teenager. And is that mascara and jewelery Gracie spies? There is no way Hannah's parents are going to let her stay with Mr. Monahan and attend a specialized Art High School for her senior year. Getting her back to Harmony looking like her old self is going to be hard enough.
Soon after returning the newly reinvented teenager to her parents, Gracie is devastated to learn the teenager has gone missing. The police assume that Hannah has run away, but even though the teen has undergone some radical changes, Gracie knows she would never do that to her parents. And to make matters worse, three other teenagers that fit Hannah's description have recently gone missing as well. And on top of all this Gracie is trying to plan her wedding, and visit with her parents and ailing grandfather who have come to town for the wedding.
Plot twists and layers keep the reader's attention throughout this well written story. The true to life flaws and struggles faced by the Mennonite community in this book, make it more realistic than many works about sheltered societies. Although this is book three in a series the author does a good job of bringing the new reader up to date on what is going on without seeming to retell the previous story. I found this book to be a very enjoyable read. It is neither a light or heavy read and I believe most readers will thoroughly enjoy it. I confidently give it 4 stars.
This book was provided to me by Barbour Publishing, through NetGalley. All opinions rendered are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Simple Choices, Harmony Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery, Intrigue, and Love!

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tonya Scott
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple Choices is the third, and final, book in The Harmony Series. I have not read the previous books, but that did not keep me from enjoying Simple Choices. That being said, I would recommend reading the previous books first, for the simple reason that I did not understand some of the backstory. People and events were discussed that meant nothing to me.
Simple Choices is the story of Gracie and Sam. Gracie and Sam are Christians living in the somewhat peaceful town of Harmony. The people of the town range from Old Order Mennonites to the doctor who doesn’t know if God even exists.
When Hannah, a young Mennonite art student Gracie has taken under her wing, disappears, the town sheriff assumes she is a runaway. Gracie, loving to solve mysteries, thinks something has happened to Hannah. All of this is happening within two weeks of the wedding between Gracie and Sam.
Will Hannah be found? Will Gracie and Sam make it to the altar? What will happen to the town of Harmony?
This is a wonderful book full of mystery and intrigue. I do not normally choose mysteries, but I really enjoyed this book. I look forward to reading the first two books of The Harmony Series, along with other works by Nancy Mehl.
*This book was provided to me free of charge by Barbour Publishing from Net Galley for the purpose of this review. This is my honest opinion of this book and no monetary compensation was received for my opinion.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.