Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts

Thomas Nelson You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts

Thoughtful and inspiring, this collection of true stories tells of those who've answered the call of their convictions and took steps of faith to help others. Featuring a dedication page, this gift book version of Lucado's Outlive Your Life offers a unique and personalized way to say "thank you" to the hero who changed your life! 192 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Review 1 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
crackerjill
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book to give a friend to express your appreciation and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice little gift book

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book "You Changed My Life" by Max Lucado is a great little gift book. The subtitle, "Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts" is a perfect description. The 188-page book is full of heartwarming and inspiring stories of real people in real life. Many of the stories are repeats that he has used in earlier books, but I think this would be a perfect gift for someone who needs little vignettes to use in speeches or sermons.
I also liked the way the book was broken down into categories such as, Love, Kindness, Commitment, Compassion, Hope, Courage, Wisdom and Friendship. This makes it easy to find a perfect story to go with a speech.
The title implies that it would be a good gift to give to someone who “changed your life,” but I think there are better gift books out there for that purpose.
However, I plan on giving copies to our local youth ministers as there are many stories in the book that would be useful for our youth to hear.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Unique Gift

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
OneAshvillemommy
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this item for a 50th Birthday. Pricing was great! I was disappointed because there were very few lines allotted to express my thoughts for the recipient. I expected at least a page. The stories were inspirational though, like unto my recipient. Would have been better if there had been fewer stories and more places to highlight the "person who really did change my life".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I find that I couldn't put it down.

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kylie Cheng
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a gift book that is made up of 8 sections: love, kindness, commitment, compassion, hope, courage, wisdom and friendship. Max took the stories from his many books. They are real incidences, I believe. I cried while reading "Love Makes a difference" in the first section.
The book inspired me. I asked myself if I could do what these wonderful characters did, many times I had to admit I can't. While I love to read stories like that, I do feel rather rotten that I can't measure up. To me, it is a perfect book to present to anyone on his or her birthdays. I find that I couldn't put it down. I read everything in one sitting. Within the next day, I picked and chose to reread many of the stories. If everyone on earth read this book and aspired to emulate it, our world would definitely become a much better place.
I would recommend this book highly to everyone from seven to ninety-seven.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lucado Short Story Collection

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephenie
Location:Green Bay, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gift book is a classic Lucado summary. If you like Max Lucado's work and want to read it in small doses, you could get this for yourself. With topics like love, kindness, commitment, compassion, hope, courage, wisdom, and friendship, you can read a few stories each night and send yourself to sleep on a positive note. Rather than digging deeply into the topics, as you would get in some of Lucado's longer books, this is more of a buffet of appetizers. Short stories will get you thinking and lift you up.
This book could also be used for small group discussions, devotions, and family talks. However, it is really intended to be used as a gift book for someone who has made a difference in your life. There's a page for you to tell that person how much they mean to you.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
"You changed my life" is a great gift book from the always inspiring Max Lucado. This book is filled with touching stories meant to inspire and encourage the reader while celebrating the relationships we have with the people in our lives. I loved this book from the very first page where Max shares an amazing story about a pastor that compared our look on the hardships in our life to the "wrong" side of a stitched bookmark; it doesn't look like it makes sense but God sees the "right" side and it's a beautiful picture. The book is made up of several short stories about people that changed the lives of those around them. I loved being able to pick up the book whenever I had a second or two and was able to quickly read an uplifting and inspiring story. I highly recommend gifting "You changed my life" by Max Lucado to someone that has made a change in your life. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gina Fosdick
One of my favorite authors is Max Lucado and he wrote the book You Changed My Life. This is a book about normal people who have been a hero in someones life. The purpose of this book is to be given to somebody as a gift that has impacted your life. It has real life examples and stories of people that have been touched by their neighbors, friends, teachers in ways that will make them never forget. It has quotes throughout the book, as well as pictures that make this an easy read.This book isn't a book you rush through, it is more like reading Proverbs or Chicken Soup for the Soul, you only read a few stories at a time. The stories were very touching and at times I cried. I would recommend buying this book for a gift for someone who has touched your life. I found the book very uplifting and inspirational and I was glad I was given a copy to review by Booksneeze. It made a great birthday gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Breanne Wiebe
You Changed My Life by Max Lucado is a gift book full of short stories about people who have made a significant difference in the lives of others. These are motivational stories about real people who have given of themselves unselfishly. Lucado writes about people who have shown love, kindness, commitment, compassion, hope, courage, wisdom, and friendship to others. And he encourages the reader to exemplify these qualities in ones own life as well. Furthermore, this book is designed to be given as a present to a person you know who has made a special impact on your life. This book is full of heartwarming stories that will inspire you to live a better life. Reading this has made me want to give of myself in new ways, to befriend and walk alongside others, to mentor people, and take time to notice the little things others do. Lucado made me take a serious look at my life and helped me to see areas where I could improve. He also writes in such a creative way that he is sure to capture your attention from start to finish. I would highly recommend this book to others in need of a little encouragement or inspiration.I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
I just received You Changed My Life by Max Lucado from Book Sneeze. I immediately sat down to read it. This is a gift book with the first page having space for you to write to someone about how he/she changed your life. The rest of the book (over 180 pages worth) are the writings of Max Lucado...a collection of stories that will warm your heart. There are 8 mini chapters entitled...Changed by...LoveKindnessCommitmentCompassionHope CourageWisdomFriendshipMany of the stories brought tears to my eyes. The overriding theme is of those that give their lives for others or go out of their way to make someone feel special. What an awesome gift book to give to someone that has meant so much in your life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Is there someone in your life that has change your life? Made a difference in what you have become for the better? Someone you'd like to thank and you just don't know how. This is the book for them. It is full of inspirational stories of people that have made a difference. The themes run from compassion to commitment, kindness to hope, courage and wisdom to friendship. The author has the bases covered in every area. There are quotes intermingled as well as scripture verses. What a cool way to say thank you to someone who has made a difference in you life. It is the perfect size, gift size (approx. 7x7) nice enough to leave lay out on the coffee table. a copy of this book was provided for this review by Thomas Nelson
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mustard Seed Book Reviews
Have you ever struggled to find the perfect gift that expresses just how much someone means in your life? Have you ever prayed that you could bless another with the words "You changed my life"? This book is a wonderful answer! "You Changed My Life" by Max Lucado is a beautiful hardcover book filled with gorgeous pictures and inspirational words. Inside the front cover is a special dedication page where you can inscribe your feelings by filling in the blank after the words 'You changed my life by..." If your words still seem to fall short, even the inside jacket cover will delight your gift receiver. It states, "You are receiving this book because in one moment you made a decision that impacted another. One act of kindness or love that made a difference and changed someone's life. This book is a celebration of you and your selfless gift that enabled someone to face a challenge, develop courage, overcome obstacles. Your story belongs with the stories in this book - stories of teachers, engineers, faithful friends who have heard someone say 'You changed my life'."The book itself is divided into 8 chapters of ways one's life can be changed, such as love, kindness, and commitment. Within each chapter are 7-9 small snippets of inspirational stories all centered around that chapter's theme. Be inspired by famous historical figures such as Elie Wiesel and Abraham Lincoln, but also be touched by ordinary people doing extraordinary things."You Changed My Life" really is a wonderful book that could be the perfect gift for someone special in your life. If you have someone who changed your life, let them know today.Rating: 5 of 5 stars (as a wonderful gift idea)Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book as a book blogger for www.booksneeze.com but the opinion is all mine. Seriously, let those special people in your life know what they mean to you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emme
This book may really have changed my life. Perhaps. Well, I should hope so. It's a collection of stories from people whose lives have been irreplaceably changed by something or someone. I really liked this book, since it is a good read and it is thought provoking at the same time. I really enjoyed being inspired by all the stories in this book and I think that this really pushes people (or at least me) to be a better person, to be the change in another person's life, or to do something positive to make my life better. I really liked the testimonies because it reminds me that these are real people! I read this book on the way to work, at at work too, but don't tell my boss! It was that good. I would highly recommend this to everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa
This book would make a great gift for anyone who has touched your life or it will inspire you and motivate you to be kinder and more loving to those around you. It's amazing looking into the world and seeing the sacrifice, love and service that people willingly give everyday. This was a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for You Changed My Life: Stories of Real People with Remarkable Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosa
In the past few weeks, when life got a bit too much, this book would put life in perspective. 'You changed my life' by Max Lucado is divided into eight chapters on love, kindness, commitment, compassion, hope, courage, wisdom and friendship. It is full of stories where selfless acts of kindness from ordinary people make you laugh, cry and put a smile on your face, knowing that God is in control. It is a quick read which is inspiring and uplifting. An additional bonus is the Bible verses which are at the end of each story . You can see how the people in the stories showed God's love in the action they took. I would recommend this book to be given to someone special.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.