Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Review 1 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Homeschool Bible Class

Date:April 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
teaching4
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this book with my three boys, 4th-7th grades, as part of our homeschool Bible curriculum. I liked how it really dug into The Word. I had just studied through James in the summer, so it was so enlightening to go through this with them and learn even more.
I agree that 3rd grade may be almost too young for this book, depending on the child and the setting. I believe it is appropriate to go up into teens if they don't mind the younger aged aim. The content is pretty deep, but written as though it is a story or experience for middle schoolers.
The study is set up to do 5 lessons per week, but you could do it in a different way if you want. Each "day" varies in length depending on the activities and reading. My kids enjoyed working in this study, and we have started Genesis 3-11 and it is amazing too!
Good Price, Great Writing, Enjoyable study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is wonderful!

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jody
Location:Mississippi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book to study with my Sunday School children. There is a lot of "meat" in this book. The teachers were enlightened as well as the children. Out of the 3 books we've studied in the Discover4Yourself series, this is my favorite so far. As a matter of fact, because of its richness in the Word, our teenagers are doing it now and learning so much about how to live God's Word. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is a fun way to teach students.

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracey
Location:Bel Air,MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful and fun way to teach student about bible truths. My students love bible class, because of the fun way the book goes about teaching the subject in a easy to understand language.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for 4th and 5th grade

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Plano, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The vocabulary was too much (grace, faith, bond-servant, etc.) for some of my 3rd graders who had never been in a bible study like this but it worked better for 4th and 5th graders. It's a lot of fill in the blank so some of my students had a hard time staying focused on the material for 45 minutes. My third graders needed two 45 minute sessions to complete one week of material. I'd recommend for older students who have already been in bible study before and want to go deeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great book, but not in E-book format

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have thoroughly enjoyed the content of this book. However, due to the nature of the fact that it's more a WORKBOOK and e-books cannot be printed, it's been rather cumbersome to work with. There are crosswords and fill in the blanks, and I am rather disappointed to have not bought the printed version. The content is very appropriate and has been great for both my 3rd grader and my 6th grader. I have no complaints about the book, it would receive a 5 star. The format, however, has hindered its effectiveness.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
IBChurch
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It will be a great study and resource. Very pleased with purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am very satisfied with this product.

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gwen
Location:Neville, SK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 4th time ordering these Discover 4 Yourself books for my Sunday School class of girls ages 9-12. Most of the girls seem to enjoy them very much. Those who have a harder time sitting still could possibly be helped by the teacher thinking of some type of physical activity to add to the lesson herself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to read and understand

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patti Freeze
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time my daughter actually has enjoyed doing her own Bible study! It's exciting to see her learning more about God's word and how it relates to her. I highly recommend this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

better than what I expected!

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aimie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has broken down the book of James into easy to handle sections for kids. They will truly understand the book by the time we have finished our studies this year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Matthew Doran
This is a must get series.I just started it with my boys.Everyone can benifit from going through the scriptures this way....I only wish that they would give you a better price when you buy in bulk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal Huss
FANTASTIC Bible Curriculum for our 10yr. old twin boys (too advanced for our 6yr. old twins). We all appreciated the "meatiness" of the study. I wouldn't recommend this to children who have never been exposed to basic Bible stories, but it's GREAT for those that want to dig deeper into His Word! My only complaint (and it's a trivial one!) is that the memorization and worksheets are based out of NAS rather than NIV. The NAS text is provided, but I think it's important for my guys to know WHERE to find certain passages in their OWN Bibles. But we all adapted and it was fine. They're excited to start a new study from this series in the fall.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicki C
Absolutely wonderful study for kids w/ puzzles included to keep their interest. Am currently doing this with a group of 18 and they love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
My daughters are homeschooled, ages 11 and 12. They love this Bible study, and it enables them to work independently. I love that they are learning from the Bible, and not someone's commentary on what THEY think the Bible means about a certain passage. My prayer was to find a Bible study that would empower my children to learn to study and understand God's Word on their own, a skill that will serve them well all their lives. Commentaries and devotions are fine, but I love the gentle guidance in this study that points to scripture for the kids to find the answers and try to understand the Bible and how it applies to their lives. One of my daughters said it was as though it was written for her! Of course, no Bible study can replace LIVING a Christian life in front of your kids, and pointing them to Christ in their everyday life. If you want a study that can help your children seek the truths in God's Word, this is fabulous.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deirdre Mchugh
This book was much to adult for first communiion. There was a worksheet area in the back for the child to fill in what he read in each unit. Too much like homework and not fun. Not even simple enough for the child to learn the love of God at that age. It's like homework and belongs in a religion class. Struck me that the child would be board unlesss he had extraordinary grace and closeness to God's word in the Bible. The cover was deceptive. The book wasn't geared to the cover at all.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marie Grissom
I enjoy using these books for my Sunday School class of Grades 3-5. It helps with interaction skills along with teaching how to apply Bibical learning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2008
The is material is wonderfully presented. My children love the entire Inductive Series. These lessons have taught them to not only how to study their Bible, but also helped them develop a love and passion for the Bible. They love Christ, and now know how to discover truths about Him through these studies. What more could a parent hope for?!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Every child should first go through the study "How to Study Your Bible, for Kids". Once they have mastered that, this book is a great starter of a Bible Book Study. These resources are the best I've ever seen for a daily Bible study for a child. My children love it and beg for another when they are finished. These self-directed studies help children not only learn about the bible, but also learn how to see what is in it for themselves. We have enough resources telling us what the bible means... but teaching a child to discover it for themselves is far better! I highly recommend the entire series!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shan
It is a fantastic study. If there could be any downside, it would be that the study is for older children as stated (9-12). My son is almost 7 and is enjoying it, but gets stumped on some words and understanding the context. Overall, it is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2005
Customer Avatar
Eliza
This is a great study about the book of James!!!! You learn many new things that you might have never seen before!!! I have found many useful verses through this study that I can apply to my life!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boy, Have I Got Problems!: James - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2000
Customer Avatar
E.
I am 9 years old and my mum does Precepts, and I go too (I'm homeschooled). I like it but this is a more kid friendly version of Precepts and I can really relate to it. I find myself in situations the book talks about, all the time. This book helps me to see problems and tackle them God's way. It doesn't treat me like too much of a kid but it's not too grown up for me either. Now I do Precepts like Mum!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.