Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Vision of Lucy - eBook

Thomas Nelson A Vision of Lucy - eBook

Lucy Bradshaw dreams of working as a photographer at the Rocky Creek newspaper. If she can earn money making photographs, then maybe her father will see that what she does is worthy, more than just a distraction. And her deepest hope is that he'll see her as an artist, the way he thought of her deceased mother, a painter. But trouble follows Lucy on every photo shoot: a mess of petticoats and ribbons, an accidental shooting, even a fire.

When Lucy meets David Wolf, a quiet, rustic man who lives on the outskirts of town, she thinks she can catch the attention of the town with his photograph. She doesn't count on her feelings stirring whenever she's near him.

Two things happen next that forever change the course of her life: Lucy meets someone who sees her as no one else has-as the compassionate, creative young woman that God made in His image. And Lucy helps David uncover a secret that forces him to change his perspective on an event that left him deeply-scarred. God's arms are around this unlikely couple as they discover the truth about long-held assumptions and the importance of forgiveness.

Average Customer Rating:
4.469 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
30 out of 3294%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Review 1 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny and uplifting

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will make you laugh. Light hearted enough that you wanted more. This series is a must read, This author has a way with words. Keeps you interested until the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charactors.

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny Lazuardi
Location:Milwaukee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the humor in this book. The author dealt with serrious matterial and also added humor. I was spellbound. I red it 3 times. Lucy was so funny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Escapades with a Serious Note

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lucy Fairbanks is a twenty-year-old woman with a passion for photography, a tendency to allow her curiosity and impetuousness to get her into trouble, and an unfortunate habit of talking too much, particularly when she is nervous. The man known as David Wolf is a half-white, half-Native American living in Texas only a few years after the end of the Indian Wars. He has returned to Rocky Creek to find the four men who drove him out of town as a ten-year-old boy, and to reclaim the box they stole from him, the box that he hopes will hold the key to his identity. David and Lucy meet when he rescues her from a stagecoach robbery-gone-wrong (and quickly finds the most effective way of quieting the talkative woman).
While her father keeps trying to marry her off, Lucy wants a career in photography. Unfortunately, her first assignment for her local newspaper ends when the unscrupulous printer rewrites her story about the ‘wild man’, David Wolf, which results in him being shot and Lucy secretly nursing him back to health. David faces further trouble when man goes missing, and David is suspected of being involved, which presents both characters with problems.
Lucy is a likeable character, although she has her faults – she is talkative, freethinking and possibly overly independent, while David is more private (to the point of being secretive). Although A Vision of Lucy is the third book in Brownley’s Rocky Creek series (following A Lady Like Sarah and A Suitor for Jenny), it can easily be read as a stand-alone. A Vision of Lucy is a formula Western romance, but is no less enjoyable for its predictability, with the instant attraction between Lucy and David providing both enjoyment and some frustration (well, as the saying goes, the path of true love never did run smooth, and this is especially true in romance novels).
Oddly enough, this is the second historical Christian Fiction I have read recently about a lady photographer with this one being the lighter of the two. This was an enjoyable novel, and while for the most part it was a light-hearted romance, it did touch on deeper issues including discrimination, revenge, forgiveness, and how our upbringing affects our views of God. I would certainly read more books from this author.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson for offering this as a free ebook in an online competition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Vision of Lucy

Date:September 2, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lucy Fairbanks' passion for photography gets her into unusual situations. She's not afraid to take a risk if the reward earns her the title of artist or photographer. After ending up as a witness/almost-victim in a stage coach robbery, Lucy is saved by the mysterious David Wolf who is believed to be a wild man by the locals of Rocky Creek. Motivated by both gratitude and selfishness, Lucy attempts to vindicate David by photographing him for the local newspaper. Unfortunately, her plan backfires and places David's life in danger. But this isn't the first time that the town's inhabitants have tried to kill David. As a half-white, half-Indian child, he was ostracized and endangered. Twenty years later, he's back with a vendetta. As Lucy and David grow closer to each other, the mystery of David's past becomes an insurrmountable hurdle. Will their young love survive? Or will prejudices of the past keep them apart forever?
A Vision of Lucy by Margaret Brownley is the third book in the Rocky Creek Romance series, but it is fine to read as a stand-alone novel. This book combined two of my favorite pastimes (reading and photography), but I wish it had been more engaging. Some books will draw me back to them whenever I have a free moment. Unfortunately, this one didn't. However, I did enjoy the photography quotes and learned some information about very old photography practices. I thought the characters of Lucy and Caleb were well-written and I honestly couldn't guess who the “fourth boy” was until he was revealed.
A Vision of Lucy will probably be loved by some people and disdained as forgettable by others, a judgment depending solely upon personal taste. I recommend renting it from the library before buying.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this e-book free from Thomas Nelson via NetGallery. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Fantastic!

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
beverly Grider
Location:Moore, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“A Vision of Lucy” is the third and last book in Margaret Brownley’s “A Rocky Creek Romance” series.
This book is set in the town of Rocky Creek, Texas during 1882, a time when racism, inequality, politics, and the suffragette movement were big news no matter how small the town. Mail-order brides were common occurrences, especially for those seeking to start a new life in a new place. The people of Rocky Creek are a colorful cast of characters who will endear themselves to the reader.
Lucy Fairbanks aspires to be a newspaper photojournalist, but nobody will take her seriously. While sitting in a tree trying to capture a photograph of an elusive white stallion, Lucy suddenly finds herself in the middle of a stagecoach robbery. A mysterious stranger, David Wolf, comes to her rescue and neither will ever be the same again.
Both Lucy and David realize they have been letting others’ opinions determine the paths of their future. Do they have the strength of faith in God, each other and themselves to step out in direction God is leading them? Can David who is half Native American and has never felt wanted or welcomed in either the Indian or white man’s world accept that he is worthy of being loved?
Margaret Brownley’s “A Vision of Lucy” is a well-paced book, with true to life and captivating characters. The plot is a beautifully written balance of romance, suspense, humor, and faith.
I highly recommend “A Vision of Lucy” to everyone. You may read more about Margaret Brownley by visiting her website, www.margaretbrownly.com.
Disclosure- I received a Digital review copy of this book through the Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

fun and easy read

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amydeanne
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time I’ve heard of the Margaret Brownley and the Rocky Creek Romance Series. A Vision of Lucy is fine as a stand alone book – though I’m curious about the other characters in the series after reading this book!
This was a fun and easy read for me. I loved the story – being a photographer myself I got how hard it is to sell your work and all the “issues” that incurr while trying to capture that perfect shot! It was a really crazy fun story- I admit slightly cliche, but just the way I like it! lol. I love the story of Lucy’s faith and the redemption that runs through the story.
David Wolf made for an interesting character – I will admit the flags when up and a touch of heat when he commented about himself being a “half breed” ~ being Canadian and knowing the history of the Metis people that is an extremely touchy word even in today’s society (or just perhaps because I’m getting older lol) so I had a real connection with his feelings as I’ve been through that racial issue personally as a child and understand the depths far more than what was expressed in this book – that being said Margaret wrote it well enough that I was not offended and felt okay with way she used the expressions.
All in all A Vision of Lucy was a fun book for anyone looking for a sweet romance book! I would gladly look for more books by Margaret Brownley and the rest of the Rocky Creek Romance Series because it is fun and what a sweet Christian romance book should be like!
*review copy provided
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An absolute delight

Date:July 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GENRE: HISTORICAL ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: THOMAS NELSON
PUBLICATION DATE: JUNE 28, 2011
RATING: 9 OUT OF 10
Photography may not seem like a popular career choice in 1882, particularly for a woman, but Lucy Bradshaw is determined to make a living with her camera. However, all of her attempts to impress the owner of the local paper fail drastically, the final one culminating in her falling from a tree on to a stage-coach, which happened to be in the process of being robbed. Following her disastrous shenanigans, no one in Rocky Creek, including Lucy’s own father, is convinced that photography is an aid to journalism or a fitting pursuit for a woman. Her father would much rather that Lucy cultivate the hobbies and interests more appropriate for a young lady and stop getting herself into scrapes that bring embarrassment on him and the other residents of the town.
Lucy’s last failed attempt at taking a photograph for the newspaper brings her into contact with David Wolf, an aptly named supposedly “wild” man living on the outskirts of Rocky Creek who has been shunned throughout his life because of his mixed race. In the confusion between Lucy witnessing a robbery and running into David, her new friend ends up arrested and badly harmed, but not capable of receiving medical aid in a town that believes him to be a half-breed criminal. Carefully, Lucy and her younger brother hide David in the storeroom of the church and nurse him back to health. Lucy has no idea what brought David to Rocky Creek in the first place, but she is determined to help him, even if it endangers her reputation further. But will David accept her help?
I expected this book to be a standard historical romance, but was pleasantly surprised to discover how much action and mystery it contained. Not to mention a colourful array of secondary characters and a vividly described town. I came into this book completely fresh, not having even heard of this series before, but managed to catch up with the characters from the previous books very easily. In fact, although the protagonists from the first two Rocky Creek novels did feature briefly in A Vision of Lucy, very little was revealed about the events in the earlier books, meaning that I can still go back and read the previous novels without having the outcomes spoiled. So if, like me, the beautiful cover of this book catches your eye but you’ve not read the others in the series, it is entirely possible to jump in and be swept away by the wonderful characters of Rocky Creek with little confusion.
When I initially started reading A Vision of Lucy, I only intended to read the first chapter before going to bed. This plan proved to be entirely impossible once Lucy fell out of a tree on to the stagecoach below that was in the process of being robbed, frightening the horses and causing them to gallop off, dragging the stagecoach behind them – with Lucy still hanging on. Like the horses, this book sped along at a fair sped with never a dull moment, making it very difficult to even put down for a moment. Margaret inserted an appropriate amount of mystery and adventure into the book, which kept it from being a standard romance. There was also a fair amount of mischief and trouble on Lucy’s part – from falling out of trees to burning down buildings –and her antics kept me very amused and I found myself giggling all the way through this book.
Lucy has to be one of the most original female protagonists I’ve had in a while, and provided plenty of humour without her escapades seeming at all forced. Sometimes it can seem as if accident-prone characters are being pushed to provide amusement for the readers, but I never felt this about Lucy. Her endeavours to improve her town, help David and achieve something through her photography were always well-meant, even if the outcomes were less than successful. I loved her relationship with David and the chemistry they had together, starting with him kissing her to make her stop talking. He was a bit of a distant character, due to the problems he’d encountered throughout his life which he allowed to affect his present situations and relationships. But ultimately I think their very different personalities ended up working well together. Their romance was made more unusual by the fact that Lucy and David had to stand against those who disapproved of interracial relationships. Both of them faced adversity from some members of the town, which hindered their relationship from progressing as both of them would have liked. I don’t think I’ve read many romances that address issues of interracial relationships in the nineteenth century, so this was a particularly interesting aspect of the novel.
The third Rocky Creek Romance is an absolute delight, even for someone who hasn’t read the rest of the series. The relationship between an accident-prone photographer and a “wild”, mixed-race carpenter unfolds to a background of intrigue and mystery. Readers of historical romances won’t be disappointed by A Vision of Lucy, and those who are looking for something a bit more unconventional should definitely be on the lookout for more from Margaret Brownley.
Review title provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book better then expected!

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mrs Cupcake
Location:Winnipeg,MB Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the book Vision of Lucy by Margaret Brownley for free from BookSneeze. I saw the book in their site and it really caught my eye. I don't usually read this kind of book but I am so glad I did. I loved it and at times could not put it down. Well that was most of the time. The book was a romantic fiction. Thrown in was suspense and mystery. I don't like to give too much away so my review will be brief. The book was based in the 1800. Which I enjoyed reading about the history of that era. The main character is a photographer so at the beginning of each chapter they start it off with a quote from a real female photographer who made her quotes in 1878. Some of those are so funny to read. The book really delves into the racial issues that was going on in that time period. If you are looking for a light fun read that will keep you wanting more then I would highly recommend this. There are 2 others books in this series and I will definitely be getting those.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vision of Lucy

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
hollyroc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first book to read by Margaret Brownley. A Vision of Lucy is the third book in the Rocky Creek series. Having not read the first two, I have to say that I did not feel that this novel was dependent on the first two to know who the characters were.
Wherever Lucy goes, trouble follows. Lucy has always dreamed of working as a photographer with the hopes that her father will finally see her as an artist. With every photo shoot Lucy finds herself in trouble. and then Lucy meets David, an unlikely match. With God's help they are going to change each other's lives.
The book is filled with unforgettable and captivating characters, many who are lovable and others quite detestable. The story is filled with drama, lots of humor, action, suspense, and of course romance.This book is fun. I loved the little bit of history the story gave of early photography.
It starts out slow but after a few chapters it kept me interested in what was going to happen. This is a quick read. I didn't want to out it down once the plot got started.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Vision of Lucy

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Vision of Lucy by Margaret Brownley is the third book by this author about Rocky Creek, Texas, in 1882, though it is a stand-alone novel.
Lucy Fairbanks has lived in the town of Rocky Creek, Texas, all of her life. A budding photographer, she is determined to take what others call a hobby and turn it into a full-fledged career. Taking a picture of the so-called “Wild Man” folks have been raging about will hopefully be a step in the right direction. But Lucy is not prepared for the events that occur when she gets her wish.
David Wolf has returned to Rocky Creek to discover the mysteries in his past and to settle an old score. He was not prepared to encounter the spirited, attractive Lucy, who comes into his life like a whirlwind. David’s past and his secrets might just keep him from discovering the life of Truth and love that could be his.
This book was a typical historical romance that also had a little bit of mystery to it. I use the word “typical,” but I don’t mean that in a negative way. I actually enjoy reading “typical” books most of the time. I read for entertainment, not necessarily for acute realism, so books like this are fun for me.
The character of Lucy is spunky, klutzy, and overly talkative. While this usually bothers me in most novels, her character is so caring and so genuine in her faith in God that I liked her. The descriptions of photography during this time period were interesting as well. I liked the character of David just fine. I have nothing bad to say about him but nothing raving, either. Many of the townspeople of Rocky Creek were comical, which gave the book a more lighthearted feel, considering the main plot was serious.
My main critique of this book is with some of the romantic descriptions. Again, this is a typical romance (which I like) with descriptions of how the hero ‘fills out his shirt’ or how ‘his muscles ripple’ (which can sometimes get ‘eye-rolling’ for me). I also thought that Lucy acted pretty childish most of the time. While it was helpful to her character that she was so caring and truly trying to do the right thing, she seemed to act out of place for a woman who had taken on adult responsibilities at the age of twelve.
A Vision of Lucy is a delightful read with a great message of forgiveness and acceptance.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as an eBook through their ‘BookSneeze’ Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny!

Date:July 6, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in Rocky Creek Texas in 1882, lives a girl in a town where everyone are neighbors and know what you do and when you do it. However, there's a guy that's entered their town that is full of secrets and makes everyone feel a little uncomfortable. Lucy helps stop a wagon from being robbed and that is when David, the man with secrets, falls in love with her. However, he doesn't realize that it's love at first and is kind of annoyed with her. You'll have to read the book to see how the twists and turns guide them to find and admit their love for each other.
Margaret does a great job writing an enjoyable book that is fun to read. She is full of humor and this book is one that keeps you turning the pages, even if you know how it might end. I will definitely be reading more of her books!
_______________
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <[...]> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <[...]> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Against the odds

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
inlovwitchrist
Location:Ontario
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovely book, really enjoyed it. A vision of Lucy by Margaret Brownley is a tale of an spirited, determined, visionary young woman named Lucy Fairbanks. Lucy is a young woman who lives in the 1880's and loves photography, she lives and breaths photography and wants to make it her profession. Not an easy task for a woman ahead of her time in 1882. Klutzy. That's what you'd call Lucy, unfortunately Lucy is prone to trouble and trouble follows Lucy wherever she goes. First time we meet Lucy, she fell out of a tree taking a photograph and fell in the middle of a stagecoach robbery. This is how she meets the rugged, reclusive David Wolf Rocky Creek's Wild Man, half white and half Indian and rejected by both societies. The book goes on to follow Lucy on here journey to pursuing her dreams. With the help of God and David Wolf she would go on to achieve what is nearly the impossible in her time.
I really enjoyed reading this book. This is a quick, good read. It was really interesting and fun, that’s how I feel after reading A Vision for Lucy, and discovering that this author is full of humor. It starts out slow but after a few chapters it kept me interested in what was going to happen. Although it is the third book in a series, it stands alone well.
Margaret Brownley does a great job of creating these relate to, yet are larger-than-life characters in some respects that ultimate have you laughing out loud and rooting for them. In her character Lucy, Margaret captures your attention, in the struggles of a young Christian woman trying to break the mold, yet yield to GOD. It is an inspiring book, that still relates some of the core problems people face when trying to be different from the crowd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun story with delightful characters

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Martha Rogers
Location:Houston TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In A Vision of Lucy, Margaret Brownley takes us back to the town of Rocky Creek, Texas and its delightful characters. You’ll recognize the ones from the earlier books, but this book stands alone and is a fun look at a young woman whose greatest ambition is to be a photographer for a newspaper. In her quest for fame, she ends up in some precarious and unusual situations. When she meets “Wild Man” David Wolf, she discovers God has plans for her life and they do not match hers. David’s secrets and his quest for revenge threaten to keep them apart, but a church fire, disappearance of two men, and David’s injuries all lead to those against whom David seeks revenge. How God touches their lives and changes hearts with His love and forgiveness are the heart of this well crafted story that will keep you turning the pages. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and all the tidbits about photography. Lucy is my kind of girl.
I received an advance copy of this novel for review purposes and was delighted to do so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can we have lunch?

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margaret Brownley, can we please do lunch? I know, a strange way to start out a book review, but sometimes after reading a good book, that’s how I feel and after reading A Vision for Lucy, and discovering that this author is full of humor and spunk, I just know she’d be a hoot to go to lunch with! I could ask her my plethora of questions about her Historical Christian fiction book, like “Are the cute quotes from a lady photographer of the day at the beginning of each chapter true or invented by her own imagination?” An example: “Never say “shoot” when you mean “photograph” especially when talking to a trigger –happy gunslinger”. Or,”What was your inspiration for the spunky photo-taking, jabber a mile a minute when she’s nervous heroine Lucy Fairbanks?” I’d ask her these things before the menus even came.
Onto the storyline- the setting is the little town of Rocky Creek Texas in 1882, a town where everybody knows your name…except for the new guy in town. A man with a secret and labeled incorrectly by a boy who got caught rummaging through his stuff, as a “wild man” and has the whole town on edge. Lucy, photographer extraordinaire, captures a picture of him for the local newspaper and things get misconstrued and it just gets wilder from there. It turns out this “stranger” is named David Wolf and is tall, dark and handsome and a bit brooding as well. He has reason to be, but I’ll let you discover his secrets for yourself between the pages of this book. Of course our spunky and driven photographer Lucy and mysterious and handsome stranger David meet up and together they make quite a pair. There is a secret here and it affects more than just our mysterious David. As the story unfolds, you see the pieces fall into place.
I have to say I really enjoyed this book. There were laugh out loud moments and the character of Lucy was a hoot. I became a fan of her instantly, especially with her tendency to babble on when she is nervous. The deep dark secret was revealed in just the right timing , as things came together and the clues were all there, but alas I did fall for the ‘red herring” that presented itself , so good job fooling me! Women’s suffrage is also woven into the storyline in an interesting way and I enjoyed the historical context woven through this novel. The main character throughout the novel is “searching” for what God has for her and her purpose in life- a common question to us all. The author does a good job in showing the character’s journey in that whole process.
My only little bit of criticism is that I found the description of the male character to be just a tad “mainstream romantic novelish”- “bulging thighs” for example. That is just my own little observation and it’s just my opinion, it just took me out of the story for a minute, so it caught my attention.
So, to sum up, this book was a great read, really enjoyed it and I am recommending it to those that love a Great Historical Christian fiction, romantic, mystery with some laugh out loud humor kind of books. I will definitely be reading more of Margaret Brownley in the future and Margaret, if you are ever in the Seattle area, please look me up - lunch is on me.
Disclosure- I received a Digital review copy of this book through the Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I Was Dissapointed...

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I expected the story to be better. The plot was just lacking. It could have been improved upon. This isn't a bad book, it just wasn't developed enough and was, like I said, lacking. There wasn't much description, the story was rushed and too short. I sure wish it was better. I got my book from BookSneeze.com.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Vision of Lucy by Margaret Brownley

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
patty6060
Location:Rapid City, SD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Vision of Lucy by Margaret Brownley is the third book in the Rocky Romance series. I was hooked on the book right away when Lucy fell out of a tree taking a photograph and fell in the middle of a stagecoach robbery. I wanted to see how she would get out of that mess in and what else would happen to her as she took pictures. Lucy, wanted to get a picture of the famous white stallion, a legend in Rocky Creek instead she came face to face with Rocky Creek’s legend, David a wild man who really was not a wild man after all. Lucy would seem to find herself in a mess every time she was shooting a photograph and David would just appear to rescue her. Her family and friends did not appreciate her photography skills and wish she’d find a man, get married and settle down.
There is not a lot of gospel in this book, but all of the characters seem to trust God in their bumps in the road.
Adding interest to the book are mysterious photographic advice quotations by Gertrude Hasslebrink of 1878. These appear at the beginning of each chapter adding a touch of humor.
I really did enjoy the book as well as the two previous ones in this series. This book is a fast read, full of surprises, full of love and even a little mystery. I would definitely recommend this book.
Thomas Nelson Booksneeze has provided me a free copy of this book in exchange for my review which I freely give.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book!

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
ArmyWife
Age:18-24
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story is about a young woman, Lucy, who dreams of being a successful photographer for her hometown newspaper. Her whole life changes when a man, David, who came back to Rocky Creek to face his fears of what happened when he was a young boy.
Lucy is a strong-willed young lady who wants to make it on her own without the help of others. She has a father who disapproves of her. She tries everything she can to make him happy and love her. Her brother wants to become a doctor and she has been trying to find work as a photographer to put money aside for his schooling.
David has some unsettled business from his past he comes back to town to finish. He wanted to settle his business quietly then return home to his professional of cabinet making. He has held on to things for too long, and that almost ruins Lucy and David's relationship.
These two lives become intertwined when Lucy stops a wagon from being robbed and has feelings of love and hate at first sight! David finds Lucy a nuisance for awhile until he realizes he has actually fallen for her.
This book was fun, exciting, and romantic all at the same time. Margaret Brownley has a writing style that is easy to read and makes you want to read more of her stories.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves Christian historical romance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed this book

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
joyfulnana
Location:Coal Township, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story about Lucy, a young women who drfeams of becoming a successful photographer at the Rocky Creek newspaper. Lucy isan intelligent women but very clumsy. She takes her camera and climbs a tree to get a picture of the wild white mustang but when the stage coach rolls in and is robbed she ends up on the top of the stage coach. The stage coach takes off and there is no one driving. Lucy is terrified and then she meets David Wolf and again she is in a mess. She has never seen him before but something about him interests her. She messes things up when she take his picture and gives it to the newspaper editor Mr. Barnes. It seems that she tries so hard to success but fate is not on her side.
David Wolf becomes a wanted man and Lucys photo did not help him. Lucy's brother Caleb is determined to become a doctor but his father is not for that idea. Lucy is determined to help her brother and she applies for jobs at other newspaper offices but with no luck. What was God's true plan for Lucy would she ever become successful or would everything she tried to do turn to disaster?
This was a good book and it keep your interest it was hard to put it down. DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL CONNECTION: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Brammeier
Location:Salem, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author keeps things moving making one anticipate what is going to happen next. Enjoyed reading it and passing it along.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Vision of Lucy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lighthearted and funny

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary B
Location:Western New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Vision of Lucy is the last book of Brownley’s Rocky Creek Romance series. The main character is Lucy Fairbanks, a spunky young woman ahead of her time. She dreams of working as a photographer and having her photos published in a newspaper, but in the late 1800’s, women weren’t taken seriously in that profession.
The book opens with Lucy climbing a tree in order to get a photo of the allusive and mysterious white wild mustang. As she is perched in the tree with her camera she suddenly falls into a story....literally. She falls out of the tree and on to the top of the Wells Fargo Stagecoach that is at that moment being held up by masked outlaws. She is rescued by the reclusive, David Wolf, known by the local townspeople as “the wild man”.
Lucy is constantly getting herself and others in madcap, zany and sometimes dangerous predicaments. While I was reading this book images of Lucille Ball, Doris Day and Debbie Reynolds kept popping into my mind. I could envision any one of them playing the part of Lucy.
At the beginning of every chapter there is a quotation from Miss Gertrude Hasselbrink. Each quotation gives you a hint of what of what you can expect coming up. My favorite was “When posing for a photograph, spinsters should avoid looking desperate or deprived. A serene smile will show that your circumstances are by choice and not for lack of beauty or character.”
I enjoyed reading this book and found myself wondering what Lucy was going to get herself into next. The mystery and tragedy surrounding David Wolf is an interesting contrast with the comedy and zaniness of Lucy. However, while I found myself laughing along with Lucy and her antics, I feel like the sad and tragic moments were treated a little too frivolously, even comically in a few instances.
If you want a lighthearted, fun book to read with characters who are searching for God’s will in their lives, then you’ll like this one and you’ll probably find yourself chuckling out loud.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookSneeze and Thomas Nelson through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>