Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Secrets of the Heart - eBook

Realms Secrets of the Heart - eBook

Madeline Whittington, daughter of the deceased Earl of Richfield, emerges from English society's prescribed period of mourning in the winter of 1815. Madeline believes that she no longer belongs in a world of gossip and gowns; instead she wants to help the orphans living within the walls of Ashcroft Insane Asylum. Once there, she discovers a dark secret within the asylum walls.

Because of his elder brother's unexpected death, Devlin Greyson becomes Earl of Ravensmoore and struggles between two worlds: one of affluence and privilege and one of poverty and disease. Torn between his desire to become a doctor and the numerous responsibilities of his title, he wrestles with God's will for his future. Will he be able to honor this God-given gift and win the woman he falls in love with in a society that does not value gentlemen who work? And will Lady Madeline Whittington be able to honor her father's memory when she is attracted to the one man who could destroy the promise she made to her father?

Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Review 1 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting romantic suspense

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katy
Location:Tennessee
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this first book in the Ravensmoore Chronicles. The storyline is exciting. There are many twists and turns. The characters are interesting and have varied personalities. The villains are definitely diabolical and the hero is worth rooting for! If you enjoy Regency romantic suspense, I highly recommend Secrets of the Heart by Jillian Kent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I liked the story.

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a great read:) I really liked the story line it was a easy book to get into she's a great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book. Enjoyed reading. Secrets of the Heart is a good Christian fiction book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Regency Romance

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the first book I have read by this author and I found that I was very pleasantly surprised by both the writing style as well as the story line. The author writes on the subject of mental illness in England in the early 1800's and how is was perceived and treated during that time. I found that I was both disturbed and fascinated at the same time.
Madeline, our heroine, distrusts doctors due to personal tragedy. Struggling to recover from this, she begins to see her life in society shallow and unfulfilling, and looks for purpose in her life.
Devlin, Lord Ravenmoore, also finds himself uncomfortable in society and decides to pursue a career in medicine. This put him a a very unique position within two different worlds.
I found that I liked the chemistry between these two characters. It flowed naturally and was not forces. They stayed within the rules of the time, which made it realistic.
Over all it was a good book, and I will recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense-filled drama that captivates your heart!

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
L Hayes
Location:Union, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I found myself captivated by this delightful story of faith, hope and love. Jillian Kent pulls you into the drama of a strong willed young Lady and her journey to overcome her fears and to love. As each chapter unfolded, I could not wait for the next to see what would happen. Thanks Jillian...I enjoyed it immensely. Linda Hayes
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engrossing Romantic Suspense

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Secrets of the Heart” combines historical romance with the danger, intrigue, and suspense, of an action filled mystery novel.
Conflicted with the traditional expectations of the mores of the aristocracy of British upper curst e during the Regency era in 18l7 Madeline Whittington is faced with the personal challenge of exchanging the unfulfilled life of her role as Lady Whittington for a more meaningful life of purpose and a passion for helping others. She also finds herself as she finds herself romantically attracted to the man she holds responsible for her father’s death.
The story has a good flow, engaging characters, with page turning danger and adventure.
Award winning author Jillian Kent introduces the demons of depression, doubt, and anxiety, the result of mistreatment and misunderstanding from the darker side of life. She shows amazing insights into the grieving process and a sensitive look at mental illness,
“Secrets of the Heart” the first in the trilogy “Ravens Moore Chronicles” has all the ingredients for establishing Jillian Kent a growing base of readers who enjoy Christian fiction, historical romance, as well as readers of the suspense and adventure novel.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own. As reviewed for Midwest Book Reviw.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Regency romance stories?

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Madeline Whittington is still mourning the death of her father, even though the prescribed period of mourning has passed. She meets the Earl of Ravensmoore by chance, and recognizes him as one of the doctors responsible for her father’s death. He tried to tell her how it happened, but she will not hear him. Still, their friendship grows. Madeline’s mother remarries Lord Vale, a man Madeline does not trust. Madeline goes to Ravensmoore for assistance, which leads them both into great danger.
If you love romance stories in the Regency era, you’ll love this one. Kent pens a group of wonderfully complex characters and a plot so surprising and eerie that I couldn’t put the book down. I loved Ravensmoore’s character, and his desire to be a doctor despite his having the title of “earl.” I can’t wait to read whatever Jillian Kent writes next. Highly recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
aimy
Location:seattle, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really tried to like this book but for whatever reason I just couldn't get into it at all. The cover for one thing is VERY distracting. It would be better if there was a real person modeling on the cover. I'm sure most people would get into this book but for me it just wasn't happening. I really only got 20 pages in before I had to stop. It was just too slow for me.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Your Typical Regency Novel!

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jillian Kent has done a superb job with her debut regency era novel, Secrets of the Heart! This is not your typical regency era novel, full of balls, tea parties, and gowns, but rather one filled with suspense, romance, and intrigue. I was hooked from the first chapter, and although some of the subject matter was not pretty, I found myself not being able to put this one down until I finished.
The first chapter finds us in the year of 1817 in Yorkshire, England, with Lady Madeline Whittington taking a ride on her horse in the dense forest of Richfield, her family home. In the woods she encounters a scared, filthy girl in tattered clothes who doesn't speak a word, and Madeline seeks to hide her and nurse her back to health and find out where she is from. Lady Madeline is emerging from a period of mourning, but still can't get over the loss of her beloved father and is incensed with her mother for allowing Lord Vale to court her.
When she falls from her horse during a hunting expedition, Madeline meets the handsome Earl of Ravensmoore. Although he is of nobility, Ravensmoore is studying to become a doctor, which was unheard of in that time. However, Devlin Ravensmoore wishes to make a difference in the lives of others and is appalled at the conditions in the hospitals and the nearest mental institution. Madeline blames Devlin for her father's death, and wants no part of him, in spite of her growing attraction, but inevitably their lives become intertwined as they search for answers together.
Who is the strange girl in the woods, and what horrifying secrets do Madeline and Devlin discover and unearth? Does Madeline's mother marry Lord Vale in spite of Madeline's misgivings or will she fall into the wicked nobleman's snare? Can Ravensmoore and Madeline make a difference in the horrible conditions at Ashcroft Mental Institution? And when Ravensmoore goes to the asylum to treat an outbreak of smallpox, who does he find there that shocks him to the very core of his being?
This book was full of excitement from beginning to end; a real page-turner! Some of it was very difficult to read, because of the reality of how the mentally ill were treated in those days, and my eyes filled up with tears more than once. Jillian Kent is one of the finest debut authors I think I have read, and she is able to evoke such emotions from her readers. And that's what fine writing is all about...
*Warning- Not for the very squeamish. Some graphic content*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Regency asylum intrigue

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wynd
Location:Saskatchewan Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this book an interesting and quick read. The Regency time period was depicted in a believable and detailed manner. I was impressed with the author's representation of just exactly who was sent to the 'mad houses" and the asylum's physical conditions and manner of management. I was impressed that Ms Kent made Ravensmoore a doctor and surgeon, that was most unusual for a nobleman of that period. Madeline's utter and total dislike of doctors was so understandable, especially considering the medicine of the times. The horrifying experiences she encountered simply because she was a woman without a male guardian reminded me how fortunate we are in this day and age in North America to have the knowledge and protection that the law and our society affords us. The mystery and intrigue kept me reading. I am looking forward to the next book in the Ravensmoore Chronicles.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Supsense and mystery with Regency flair.

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I remember seeing an old black and white movie years and years ago, but I can’t remember its name. (I'll have to ask my mom, maybe she remembers?) I vividly recall a woman in a dark, gloomy insane asylum, seemingly lost, surrounded by laughing, crying, screaming, swaying people. I believe she was put there under false accusations, but was so ‘out of it’ that she couldn’t say she wasn’t supposed to be there.
I imagined this movie scene over and over again while reading Secrets of the Heart.
Jillian brings to light the misunderstandings and mistreatment of depression, anxiety, and other mental disorders suffered by people in the Regency era. It was sad and yet fascinating at the same time.
Several times in the first few chapters, I thought the writing was disjointed a bit. I even flipped back pages to see if I’d missed something. I hadn’t, so I just shook my head and continued.
As the story progressed, however, the writing flowed smoother, and the plot kept me engrossed. Secrets of the Heart gives readers an ample amount of suspense and mystery delivered with Regency flair.
I liked it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE SECRET IS OUT!!!

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie Lessman
Location:St. Louis
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a breathless historical debut, Jillian Kent unveils secrets of the heart and soul in Regency England amid a lush tapestry of romance, intrigue and suspense. With vibrant prose, rich historical threads and well-woven mystery, Seasons of the Heart engages readers with a plot so unique and compelling, pages fly and sleep will be lost … and never more happily so. I absolutely LOVED it, Ms. Kent -- bring on book 2!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Secrets of the Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical fiction!

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Madeline Whittington is just coming out of mourning, in the year 1817. She has lost her father, her siblings and does not trust anyone that is of the medical field to be of much use. Surgeons, I would have to say, the least.
When she meets the new Earl of Ravensmoore and discovers the part he played in her father's death, she is very upset and struggles with learning to like him as a person, and maybe as a man. But as she gets to know him more, and discovers that there may be more to him than just a surgeon, she struggles with her feelings.
Wrapped in this is unique history of mental illness in the the early 1800's in England as well as how the mental health facilities functioned.
I found it interesting how they were learning from doing surgery and had sawdust under the man that were operating on to soak up the blood! Sawdust gets everywhere and in everything and I was wondering if that may have played a role in infections!!!
The author did an excellent job of weaving an intriguing story with mystery, romance and history all combined into one! I would love to read more by this author! -
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.