Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Cascade - eBook

David C. Cook Cascade - eBook

When Gabi and Lia find themselves back in the fourteenth century-and in the middle of major battles alongside romantic knights in shining armor-they have no idea if they can get back. Or even if they want to.

Now lovestruck Gabi persuades Lia to help her return, even though she knows dangers abound in medieval Italy, including an entire city that seeks revenge. But Marcello awaits, and Gabi must decide if she's willing to leave her family behind for love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cascade - eBook
Review 1 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phenomenal in Every Way!

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sapphire
Location:Wyoming
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 2nd novel in the River of Time series is even more masterful than the first! The many complex relationships between characters are wholly believable (romantic, parent-child, sisters, friends), the combat scenes and historical details are so precisely described and emotionally linked to the characters and readers that you forget you're reading a book, and there is absolutely nothing predictable about this book.
The author perfectly blends so many genres, from romance to adventure, action to historical, Christian to sci-fi...which means this book should appeal to virtually any reader.
Absolutely one of the most engaging and most well written novels I have ever read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
jdoubler
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the first book, I could not wait to jump into Cascade, the second book in the River of Time series. It did not disappoint. I couldn't read it fast enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

MORE danger than Waterfall!!

Date:February 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cascade is a solid prequel to Waterfall, and never lets you go from the first page, starting off where we left off. Gabi and Lia, return back to Ancient Italy this time with their Mom! I think this book is actually MORE DANGEROUS than the first, again *I WON'T SPOIL ANYTHING*. Yet my only complaint is I thought from Lia on the beautiful cover, that this book would actually give Lia a chance to share her side of things and love story with Luca. Instead their relationship is more in the background. I hope to see this change in Torrent.
*I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for a non-profit, unbiased, honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You don't want it to end

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheriff
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is now my favorite series ! I didn't want it to end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great series

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
gptoms
Location:Fort Walton Beach FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed the 3 books. Much better if read in sequence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action-Packed

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cascade picks up right where Waterfall ends, so there is no disruption in the action. From the start, the plot is packed with adventure and danger. The pace is steady with moments of heart-pounding close-calls. Amid the tribulations that Gabi and Lia face, they mature into strong young women and lose their hearts a little more to Italy and the Forelli family. Thankfully, character development is not sacrificed for action. Gabi's story is told from her first-person perspective, with the interesting and fresh take on historic Italy from a modern day teen. Without knowing the thoughts or motivations of some other characters, the reader is left to question who is good and who is bad. The mystery is as propelling as a swift undercurrent.
The introduction of Gabi's mother adds an endearing family element to the plot. Watching her adjust to medieval Italy and observe her daughters in their element is both heart-warming and funny. Her mother shows just as much spunk as her daughters, and their combined penchant for finding themselves battling fierce enemies create a multitude of exciting twists and turns. I truly never knew what was around the next bend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Sequel!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Hudsonville, MI
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom touched my underdress—a gown made six hundred years before—and her eyes widened as she rubbed the raw silk between thumb and forefinger. She turned and touched Lia’s gown. “Where did you get these clothes?”
Gabi knows she’s left her heart in the fourteenth century and she persuades Lia to help her to return, even though they know doing so will risk their very lives. When they arrive, weeks have passed and all of Siena longs to celebrate the heroines who turned the tide in the battle against Florence—while the Florentines will go to great lengths to see them dead.
But Marcello patiently awaits, and Gabi must decide if she’s willing to leave her family behind for good in order to give her heart to him forever.
~
I loved the book! I took my breath away as my eyes scanned through every word. The images that played in my mind were phenomenal! I couldn't help but wish I was actually there. The images that played in my mind were phenomenal! I couldn't help but wish I was actually there. The connections between all the characters just blew my mind. The descriptive writing style that Bergren uses is just amazing.
Have you read these books? Why not make these a perfect Christmas,birthday or holiday gift?
With this book, the relationship with Gabi and Marcello take a step forward. The prosecution of the Rossi's are caused by treachery which makes Marcello's love for Gabi even stronger. I loved the Love Triangle that Lisa used between Gabi, Lord Greco and Marcello. It panned out amazingly and I loved the gentlemen style Lord Greco carries.
The scene when Gabi was captured and in a cage for several days put my teeth on edge. The adventures and journeys that the Betarrinis and many other people go on is just outstanding.
Thanks Lisa for another great book! I am excited to review the third and final book in the River of Time series, Torrent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
campergirl
Location:Saraland, Al
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventure, romance, Italy......All I needed was a bag of popcorn and a pop. This was a fun to read book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE SHE-WOLVES OF SIENA ARE BACK!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Buttercup
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cascade zooms right back into the 14th century, with Marcello, Luca, and the whole crew. This book is an amazing sequel to an amazing book. I was prepared to be disappointed, considering how Waterfall was such a good book, but I think Cascade definitely measured up. This is one exciting and fantastic book!
So it starts with Gabi and Lia's entrance back into the 21st century, where Mom freaks out (of course) and the whole story comes out. Gabi convinces Mom and Lia to go back and is soon reunited with her beloved Marcello. The first part is really really mushy, with lots of kissing. But as soon as you get pass the first 50 pages, the good ole Lisa T. Bergren action kicks in. With the Black Plague, kidnappings, battles, secret tunnels, disguises, a new bad guy who happens to be not so bad, and the return of Lord Paratore, what more can you ask for?? This book was filled with very, very, very (did I say VERY???!?!) surprising twists and turns around every corner. With Gabi in love with Marcello and Lia falling in love with Luca, this book leaves you wondering what life will they choose. Will they stay with their loved ones and battle the Black Plague and all of Florence? Or will they go back to their comfortable, safe modern life?
THANKS Lisa T. Bergren for a great read. I cannot wait to see how Gabi and Lia's story ends in Torrent. I have no idea how everything will play out, but I do know that whatever it is, its gonna be good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cascade back into time

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Booklover21
Location:Gresham, OR
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cascade, the second book in Lisa Bergren's River of Time series, starts off where Waterfall left off. After traveling through the secret time portal in an Etruscan tomb, Gabi and Lia have returned to the 21st-century, but Gabi longs to return to the 14th-century, where she's left behind both Marcello and her heart. With some persuasion, she convinces both Lia and their mother to return with her. When they arrive, weeks have passed and Italy is on the brink of war. And while Siena is eager to celebrate the return of their heroines, the Florentines long to see them dead. With their very lives at stake, and danger surrounding them, the only question is how far the Ladies Betarrini will go to protect the people they love.
I have to say, this book is so absolutely fabulous. I was instantly drawn in, and I literally could not put it down. Lisa Bergren does an amazing job drawing the reader in, and I felt as if they are right there with the characters. I loved how this book had more focus on Lia, and it was so great getting to see her grow and shine in her role. It was also really fun becoming reacquainted with the old characters that I knew and loved, and also being introduced to new ones, good and bad alike. The action, suspense and romance in these books are wonderfully balanced, and the history is so completely intriguing. I, for one, can hardly wait to read Torrent, the third and final book in this series. Thank you Lisa Bergren for your incredible books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh... why do I have to wait another month for the next book? This series is so very good! You just have to read it!
I'm very excited about it and recommend this series to all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovetoreadinlv
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great read - couldn't put the book down! Can't wait to read the entire series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Sisters Gabi and Lia aren’t home for long before they return to the mysterious cave with their mother—then return to the past. It’s the 1300’s Italy. Gabi seeks out the man of her dreams, Marcello, only to discover that much has happened in the minutes they were gone. It’s been three months for Marcello. The sisters are hailed as heroes, but a war is brewing. Gabi is determined to discover what is going on and who can be trusted, all the while trying not to think too much about what might happen between her and Marcello should the time come for her to go back to the future for good.
Loved it! This book picks up right where book one left off, as if they were the same novel. We are thrown right back into the action, yet now, Mom is along for the ride. Gabi gets herself into much worse danger than she did in book one. But she’s still a tough girl, and we like her all the more for her smarts. The romance is sweet. Though I like Luca best. *smile* And now we all wait a few months for book three. Thankfully the wait won’t be long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it :-)

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
God inspired Romantic
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this second installment pre-ordered . .had to wait for a month untill it arrived (here in europe) . .it was well worth the wait! I skipped the short summary and went straight to reading the story . .i finished reading in two days . .i've already pre-ordered the third book . .need i say more?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!!

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second book in this series totally did not let me down! I loved it just as much as the first book! I could not put the book down and it totally kept me on the edge of my seat with all the action! I cannot wait for the third book! A great read!! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this series! Must read for all ages.

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
calarks
Location:Spring Lake, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you liked Waterfall, you’ll love Cascade. Follow Gabi and Lia as they return to 1342 Italy, after convincing their Mom they didn’t hit their heads.
Gabi and Lia know what to expect as they travel through the time/space continuum, but how will it affect their mother? After landing in the past, for the second time, Gabi and Lia give their mother a quick lesson on 1342 Italy and then set off for the castello. Among the danger and cautious way the girls journey their Mom (Adri) sees her daughters in a whole new way and that relationship matures throughout the story.
Gabi is returning to her first love. Does it continue to blossom or fizzle out under the stress of war and disease? Lia finds her first love, but does she recognize it in time? And how does Mom handle being transported back almost 700 years? The characters came to life for me, so much that I wish I could meet them. They change and mature with each challenge they face which is so true to life.
Cascade is full of adventure and danger with romance thrown in. A great combination that will keep you turning pages through the night. I love the way Lisa includes a touch of religion without turning anyone off. (I well remember those teenage years.) And best of all, the ending is a HUGE surprise that keeps you waiting for more. I’ll be one of the first to order TORRENT!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Much Excitement!`

Date:January 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Zippy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cascade is the perfect follow-up to Waterfall. It just picks up and the action starts right back up again. When Gabi and Lia have their mother convinced that time travel is possible, their mother just has to go back. But as they go back, Gabi has doubts on how long they have been gone for. Apparently, a couple of minutes in the future could mean days in the past. Gabi is worried, but is reassured by a letter in the cave when they arrive. Luckily, they all arrive together, but don't know what troubles of war come upon them.
As they find their "home" of Siena, there is much celebration and excitement. Although, the dreaded Lord Paratore comes back and seeks revenge for the "She-Wolves" that have defeated and humiliated him. This exciting adventure leaves the reader again on the edge of their seats waiting to see what becomes of Siena and Gabi, Lia, and now their mother who has joined them.
Through this breath-taking excitement, the reader finds some surprises through the story and in the end, something rather unexpected has the reader ready to read the next book of the series!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense, time-travel, romance, and humor!

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
SLemler
Location:Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suspense, time-travel, romance, and humor are all you need for a good book, and this book has it all! I loved CASCADE, and everything in it. It was so good, that I did not want to put it down. The plot was suspenseful, and it was most definitely a BIG favorite of mine! I highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cascade - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Even better than Book 1...a fantastic adventure.

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
LOLibrarian
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cascade picks up right where Waterfall leaves off; and the action and character development is instantly absorbing. When Gabi and Lia arrive back in their 21st century present, they rush to let their mom in on the secret. While they hurriedly explain things to their mother, Gabi aches with worry about how much time is passing. Will she get back in Marcello? Will he still be waiting for her? Will he even be alive?
Luckily, Gabi and Lia have a mother whose curiosity is as fierce as her trust in her daughters, and she willingly travels to the tomb with them, hoping to travel through history as well. When the three Ladies Betarrini arrive at the Castello Forelli once again, their friends rejoice and their enemies seek only one thing: their death.
As Italy erupts into war all around them, it doesn't take long for the girls to figure out that THEY are the main target of their enemies. Survival depends not only on their wits and skill with weapons, but also on a blind trust in the kindness of strangers…and the mercy of God. From deadly hand to hand combat, to disguises, to capture and torture, the “She-wolves” Betarrini are forced to fight and flee for their lives. All the while, Gabi is falling more and more in love with Marcello; but will their love continue to survive in a world will that stop at nothing to rip them apart?
Cascade is a fantastic adventure from the very beginning. The characters you love in book one (Waterfall) are instantly alive in these pages again, and the challenges they face are severe. Each chapter holds new surprises, daring twists, and fateful decisions. Cascade is, by far, one of the best teen books I’ve encountered—let alone one of the best Christian teen books I’ve read. Bergren’s ability to bring adventure and realism into the story, without making it outrageous or graphic, is a rare talent. You may not find a vampire in this story, but you are sure to be sucked in by everything this series has to offer!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.