Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Common English Bible CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook

Common English Bible CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Review 1 for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent software

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
frederickfiore
Location:Greendale, Ma
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When one thinks of all the useless mind wasting gaming & other types of software made available today for downloading, why not take just 5 minutes a day to read from what is at the very least, one of the greatest books ever written?! You can even choose your favorite version (I have two) & download it to your smartphone or tablet! The level of spiritual value that will receive cannot be truly expressed in this review. Just know this. It will change your life in a positive ways more than you can imagine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Useful tool

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Banky
Location:Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Language was good. Need to be more user friendly for speed of usage. Easy to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unlikely to be my favorite translation.

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Snoopy
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The CEB is not likely to become my favorite translation. I find the language a bit less polished than I would like. It is, however a different version and as such, offers a refreshing perspective on the Biblical text.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the easiest to read and understand Bibles

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gene
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been reading Bibles since I was a child in the 1950's. This translations is one of the easiest to read and to understand. It contains very few specialized words. I would recommend it to a new christian or a child as young as nine.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is easy to use

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joseph
Location:Grafton, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use Bible and very easy to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True to the original English Language Version

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Gallant
Location:Coleman, PEI, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful translation of the Bible. It is easy to read, but does not deviate from the original versions. All the impact, and importance of the written word is contained in this Bible, and I just love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is highly readable.

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
ArtS
Location:Vernon Center, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have purchased several of these new translations for the men of our church. The men in this rural community are not avid "readers" but they report that this new translation is much more readable than their previous versions of the bible. I particularly enjoy reading it aloud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really loved this purchase.

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
apeterse
Location:Hemphill, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit my needs perfectly: I was looking for a Bible that would fit a certain size carrying case that I already had. Thank you for making this so easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product.

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Palm Harbor, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have MANY Bibles since I'm a retired Pastor. I enjoy
reading the Apocrypha books and thats why I bought this
Bible. I'm very pleased! The cover is soft and flexible. The
size is very sleek and compact--a true thin-line even though it has the extra apocrypha books included. (I wish
Crossway would wise up and print an ESV with the
apocrypha books in a thinline.) The price on this Bible is
excellent! This is a great value!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CEB Common English Bible with Apocrypha - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is an excellent product.

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
William
Location:Discovery Bay, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent product. The cover is sturdy and flexible with a good binding. The book easily lays flat at every opening.
I do not like the 9 point type- not on thinline paper, it tends to merge with the print on the other side of the page. This is my only complaint, "generous" is not a very accurate phrase for this small type.
The writtings are easy to follow with the OT sticking more closely to the Hebrew Tanakh than is common among many KJV emulators. Some of the wording may be odd- such as to "cut a covenant" and will not survive the test of time.
In spite of the critics I find the text to be reliable and usefull for Bible studies. Both Protestants and Catholics can enjoy reading this translation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.