Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook

Thomas Nelson Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 2190%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Review 1 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this is a great tool

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jennifer Grant beautifully tells the story of her family's journey to adoption-She shares what it was like adopting from another country, I found this book inviting and endearing. was very interesting to read. As someone who hopes to one day adopt I found the book very insightful. Jennifer Grant take you on her family's journey of adoption, in a very real and candid way, but she made me look at things through an entirely different lens, this book would be great for people considering adoption, people curious about the adoption process, family member who have other family members adopting, I would recommend it to anyone; whether they are looking into the process or not. Grant also includes numerous resources on adoption at the back of the book. I found myself unwilling to put it down, and read it in just a couple of days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
jj2010
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love you more is one of the most honest and inspiring books I have read lately. It is the author’s story of adopting a daughter from Guatemala, into the her family of 3 biological children.
I have always been intriqued by adoption, and after reading this book I feel like a have a truer glimpse into the emotional journey adoption puts parents through. I treasured this book as I read it. Loving the beauty of her diverse family and proud of the author for her challenge to “broaden the image of what family looks like”. The tenderness she felt in her heart for a ‘fourth child that seemed to be missing’, was a beautiful picture. Her honesty about her imperfections as a mom and the also the challenges & emotions through the adoption process made her seem like a good friend as I read. I particularly liked reading about the blending of family and the learning all the children experinced while they welcomed a new sister.
I have recommended this book to friends who have considered adoption, and this book continues to put questions in my own mind about the role chrisitians can play in touching lives through opeing our homes.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will captivate you every second! I could not put the book down until the next sequel... This one will gonna captive your heart, the author portrays a genuine story of acceptiveness. I would definitely recommend this book. Grant gently guides the reader to remember God's grace in their parenting and challenges parents to keep God as the primary and I had hoped there would be a big meeting of the two families, or perhaps a happy ending involving Jennifer, but I was still left with a sense of hope that things were changing.
This book was all about telling a story good enough to sell and you have to have bad guys. I would have blown part of that story out of the water for both. This book offers that gift page by page, along with valuable insights about how to love those closest to you. I felt compelled to close my eyes for a moment and take a deep breath before reading on. She is so open and unafraid to let you into her home that you feel like a close friend who has dropped by for a visit. I am just a few chapters form the end and I cannot make myself finish it. I love that she tells what makes her cry in frustration, what makes her laugh and the honest stories. She is a great writer who lets you know it's not just open your house and it makes a family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great telling of an Adoption Story

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
SaraG
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always love books about adoption stories. Every story is unique but has common ties to other adoption stories. This is Grant's story of her family's adoption of a little girl from Guatemala named Mia. It details the journey that God took her family on as they researched and waited and shared with others along the way. Since our family has also adopted internationally, I could identify with all the emotions and the process - it brought back those emotions and memories for me. Her writing flowed easily to share her story, capturing the details and feelings, so that others could experience it with her.
I also appreciated how she shared how God opened her eyes to caring for orphans beyond just her adoption. The same has been true for our family. I love to see how God tells His story through our stories.
This book also includes tips for prospective adoptive parents, resources, and discussion questions at the end. I would enjoy reading this book with a book club some time. I have already shared it with our adoption support group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book for anyone considering adoption

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
LizBird
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Love You More” by Jennifer Grant recounts the experience of adopting her daughter Mia from Guatemala. She gives you insight into ups and downs of the international adoption process and what it was like going through it, firsthand. She does not write this book claiming to be a professional about the adoption process, she just gives you her family story.
As an adoptive mom, this book took me back many times to feelings that I had during our adoption process. Although my husband and I adopted two young boys that had been raised within 20 miles of us their whole lives, and we didn’t have to go through the international red tape, it was nice to hear that the feelings I had experienced were “normal”.
For anyone interested in adoption, either internationally or domestically, or if you have a friend or family member who is considering adoption, I feel this book is a great insight into the adoptive mom’s world and may give you a better understanding of what to expect across the board. Ms. Grant does not ‘sugar coat’ the different feelings and reactions that you will receive from friends and strangers alike.
‘Thumbs up’ to Jennifer for writing this book. Thank you for taking the time to share your family story with us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwarming Story

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
noblecharactergirl
Location:A Library, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Following the invisible thread of connection between people who are seemingly intended to become family, journalist Jennifer Grant shares the deeply personal, often humorous story of adopting a fifteen-month-old girl from Guatemala when she was already the mother of three very young children.
Her family's journey is captured in stories that will encourage not only adoptive families but those who are curious about adoption or whose lives have been indirectly touched by it. Love You More explores universal themes such as parenthood, marriage, miscarriage, infertility, connection, destiny, true self, failure and stumbling, and redemption.
My Review:
I decided to review this book from Thomas Nelson because I was interested in adoption, and I love reading other people's trials, stories, and how God works in them.
This book was heartwarming and interesting, though I had a hard time getting into it at first. It's a great way to learn about the trials and joys of adoption (and how God sometimes wants you to step out of your comfort zone).
I'd give this book 4 out of 5 "hearts".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book, worth reading!

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rena Nunley
Location:Brazil
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE YOU MORE by Jennifer Grant is without a doubt one of the top 5 books that I have read this year. This author is definitely a writer. Know what I mean? She knows how to express herself in an interesting, detailed and colorful way, thus she holds the reader's attention.
Jennifer's detailed description of all that they went through...research, emotion, red-tape, etc...is an amazing trip. Their spiritual victories as well as the ups and downs of emotions and the frustrating requirements certainly must have made the result of having this sweet child finally for their own...who can imagine that all this goes on in the adoption process?! They are to be congratulated for their persistence but I have a feeling that most adoptions go through a similar roller-coaster experience. Wow.
Reading this story about their process of adopting a child from Guatamala made ME want to adopt a child. From anywhere. No matter the cost, time or energy involved! So before you pick up this book to read...beware of how you might feel as a result of reading it. I'm just sayin'.
Coincidentally, we have recently been in contact with a couple who came to Brazil to adopt 4 siblings. Worthy of another story, I'm sure. Maybe I'll encourage them to write their own story, yes? At the least, I plan to recommend this book to them.
(I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A special glimpse into the adoption process

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
HollyM
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter is a book about adoption, but more than that, it's a book about the various and wonderful ways that God grows a family. The author, Jennifer Grant, shows her readers that family isn't just made up of those related by blood; family is about love. We as the readers get a glimpse into the life of her family through this amazing process of adoption.
Adoption is very close to my heart as we hope to adopt a child ourselves, so this book grabbed me from the very beginning. Through the author's words I really felt like I was a part of the Grant family. They had three biological children, but still felt led to adopt their youngest daughter from Guatemala. From deciding between domestic and international to the agonizing wait to bring their daughter home, nothing is sugar-coated about the process. As we see through this book, even though it's hard and long, adopting is so very worth it. I found myself crying and laughing throughout the whole book at the candid look inside the journey this family took.
A wonderful bonus is the listing of several books and articles dealing with the subject included in the back of the book.
As I said, nothing is sugar-coated here, but this book makes me even more eager to enter the process of adoption. Whether you want to adopt, are curious about it, or just want to read a wonderful book on love and family, I would highly recommend Love You More.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Book

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kianna Rose
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I want to see her" Mia said.
"See who?" I asked
Mia turned around in my lap and looked into my eyes.
"I want to see the lady whose tummy I came out of"
"We have a picture of her. If you ever want to see it, I can show it to you."
"I want to see that picture," Mia said still looking in my eyes
"I miss her so much," she said beginning to cry... eyes locking on the the image.
Love You More is a moving story of a young mothers journey through adoption. Jennifer Grant and husband David feel God tugging at their hearts to adopt a beautiful baby girl from Guatemala, whom they'll call Mia. Jennifer struggles with the anxiety and obstacles that come with the adoption waiting process but is given precious peace from her Father above. Even though the Grants have three small children, Theo, Ian, and Isabel; Mia is welcomed into this family with open arms. As Mia grows older, she understands her "story" on how she was united with her family, but learns to subsist the fact that she does not know her birth mother, or "tummy lady"
I really enjoyed this book. The story allows the reader to feel the pain and joy of Jennifer's journey. While reading this book, I laughed when she laughed and cried when she cried.
Though the book mentions: God, Jesus, and Bible, I disagreed with several of Jennifer's views. She believes, that as a "person of faith" it is ok to drink alcoholic beverages. She baptizes her children in their infancy, when this tradition was formed from pagan religions. Her children are encouraged to believe in Santa Claus and participate in Halloween activities. I don't judge her, but our views and convictions are very different.
How will this mother of four learn to juggle the needs of all of her children?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good book on Adoption

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adoption is part of our story, so when I saw the book, Love you More, by Jennifer Grant, available for a blog review, I jumped on it. For who doesn't like a heart warming story?
Love You More is part story, part explanation of the adoption experience. As I read it, I needed to remember this is one woman's journey, not every one's. Although, there were many similarities in our experience as well. There were many times she referred to those bizarre questions one is asked, especially when there is an interracial adoption, and help the reader to know what to say regarding infertility, parenting and adoption. Sometimes the person with the most sincere heart can say the most insensitive things. That she addressed this, I am grateful.
The journey of the adoption of Mia into their home is a beautiful picture of the artistry of adoption. Yet, Jennifer was real with her struggles in the process as well. It wasn't all rosy all the time. She delved into interracial adoption and racism that remains alive and well. Yes, we are far from the times of slavery and yet, because of sin, prejudice remains.
My only negative about this book is the lack of spiritual discernment. There were many references to other religions (Buddhism, Jewish mysticism, etc.) being o.k. to embrace. There was even a quote from her acquaintance that stated abortion is a right. This disappointed me. Mostly that Thomas Nelson published it.
Jesus made all the difference in my adoption experience. If it weren't for Him then or now, I wouldn't have made it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

<Love you more

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommybugg
Location:SE Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jennifer Grant's Love You More, weaves together the intricacies of international adoption with all of the emotions that go along with creating a blended family. Her story of adopting a child from Guatemala not only speaks of the process itself, but of how this divine blessing from God impacts the lives of her husband, her three young children, and herself. This poignant and moving story speaks to the heart of any parent or anyone who plans to have children by either childbirth or adoption. Grant's words paint a true picture of what parenting in any facet is all about.
I found this true story fascinating and well-spoken from cover to cover. In addition to speaking about the adoption process, this book spoke volumes on what it means to be a good parent. Written in easy to understand language, this story touches on the inner working of the heart, obedience to God, and how true reliance on God is necessary to live a happy and fulfilled life. Without sugar-coating, Grant gives an inspirational account of her family's adoption experience that is often interspersed with down to earth humor. Details of her journey are covered from beginning to end without ever becoming boring. Grant also includes numerous resources on adoption at the back of the book.
I was a bit disappointed that the first section of the book barely discussed adoption at all, but it did provide helpful background information on the Grants' early years of marriage and parenting. The remainder of the book discusses the various aspects of adoption, including the excruciatingly-long paper chase and the sweet moment when they first met their little girl.
This book would likely appeal to prospective adoptive parents and those who have already adopted a child. I do not know whether we will adopt, but even so, I enjoyed this book. It is amazing to see the many ways that God chooses to bring families together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaChaton
Location:Ontario, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2.5 Stars (rounded up to 3)
Those of you who have been following my blog for a while, know that I occasionally review Christian living and Christian fiction books as well.
I requested Love You More to review because adoption is something I've been interested in for a long time, and hope to be involved with personally in the future. And this book sounded like it would be such a touching read.
And parts of it were beautiful, and utterly moving but as a whole, I was disappointed with the book.
I appreciated Jennifer Grant's honesty in writing, as she fully acknowledges that adoption is difficult and that it is not for everyone. She continually emphasizes the idea that adoption is for people who are passionate about it and excited by the idea of it.
But when it came to the actual storytelling, it felt like something was lacking. The beginning chapters seemed to jump around a fair amount chronologically, which made it difficult to follow the order of events and took away from the natural reading flow of the book.
And similarily, those earlier chapters contained significant amounts of background information and stories. I was expecting more details about the actual adoption process and the aftermath of adopting Mia, rather than a (rather slow) build up that seemed to be filled with disconnected stories.
In that aspect, I was disappointed. The ending did contain more details about the process and how Mia and Grant's family adapted to living together, and those were my favourites parts by far. But there just didn't seem to be enough of them.
Copy received from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review; no other compensation was received.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book about adoption!

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carin
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a well-written, enjoyable read about one mother's journey through adoption. Grant provides an honest account of the challenges she faced and the fears she overcame through this journey. Her writing about the ethical implications of adopting internationally is particularly interesting. Excellent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible, Realistic Look at Adoption

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
LBrackbill
Location:Hershey, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the very first word to the final sentence, author Jennifer Grant draws you into her story of love, hope, and waiting. Her vulnerable and honest tale is written in such a way that you are able to envision the scenes about which she is writing. She leads the reader on a journey of joy and pain as she walks through her family’s adoption story.
Mrs. Grant writes realistically and does not paint the picture of adoption through rose-colored glasses. She acknowledges the reality of adoption and even discusses the reasons why people adopt (and why they shouldn’t). From honesty about her own emotions and fears to adding historical contexts to create a clearer picture for the reader, the entire book is based on fact and is incredibly real.
She explains the journey of natural motherhood in a way that is relatable and enjoyable by women in any stage of life—from being newly-married to having three kids, she discusses each step of the way. Her faith is evident throughout the book and she clearly shows how God orchestrated the entire adoption process.
This book is riveting, and it provokes deep thought about tough issues such as social justice, poverty, and, of course, adoption. Mrs. Grant is a very talented writer and it is hard to put this book down!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very touched by this book.

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The subtitle of Love You More - The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter – is the reason this book caught my eye. Those seven simple words told me this book would be special and I was not disappointed!
This is the story of a young married couple and how they ultimately became a “complete” family of four. The fourth child is their adopted daughter Mia and we learn how their quest for Mia began, the process that had to take place before Mia could come home to them, and their lives as they worked to let Mia know she was where God wanted her to be.
However, to say this book is just about how they found Mia and brought her into their family is like saying Gone With The Wind is just about the american civil war. Jennifer Grant has chronicled what it means to be a young family and to decide to live deliberately and purposefully based upon their relationships with God and mankind.
I found Love You More to be comforting and inspirational in way that few books achieve. The focus throughout the book was acknowledging God’s long term plans for everyone’s life, how to take comfort in this knowledge and how to find strength when waiting for the pieces to come together. The honesty and frankness with which this story is shared allows the reader to also experience feelings of joy and peace as this family most certainly did!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifer Grant is a fantastic writer! From page one, I was drawn in to this book and didnt want to put it down! I thought this story would have started off talking about their adoption process, but I had to wait a little to read about that. The first part of this book talks about the Grants' family and their past. After that section, then you get into the different adoption processes.
This book was wonderful to read. It actually made me feel really happy knowing that there are still many good people in the world giving others second chances. This never-boring book also has many ideas on what it means to be a good parent.
I have always wanted to adopt one day, and now I can definately see it happening in the future. I feel honoured that I got to read this young mothers story: about the good and bad times, about the joys and sorrows, and all the other emotions that come along with welcoming a new person to be in your life forever.
I would definatly recommend this book to ANYBODY! Anyone who is adopted, or has or wants to adopt. Any parent or anybody single in need of some enlightenment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful memoir

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Review: Love You More – Jennifer Grant
In ‘Love You More’ journalist and mother of four, Jennifer Grant has woven a poignant and informative memoir of her family’s international adoption journey. The book is divided into three parts: first, introducing her biological family, then the applying and waiting process and finally the family of six ‘learning to know each other’.
I appreciated how Ms. Grant didn’t delve into the trials and triumphs of the international adoption process in the first chapters. But rather used personal anecdotes to introduce us to her family and how they prepared for their fourth child/sibling, a baby girl from Guatemala. An excellent and entertaining writer, she takes her readers through her delightful accounts about her three biological children and then on to bringing Mia home and becoming ‘a conspicuous family’. Integral to this story is the author’s deep, abiding faith which she drew strength from while wading through this long-drawn-out process; all the while trusting that God brought her family together. The love she pours into her family, always evident, is trickled all over the pages of this book.
Jam-packed with international adoption information, this is an ideal tool for parents looking to open their arms and hearts to ‘waiting children’ in foreign countries. But it’s most definitely also an inspiring and enjoyable read for anybody else!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love you More - by Jennifer Grant

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dee S
Location:Richland, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I think this book would be helpful for not only people considering adoption, but for people who want to support a family through the adoption process. It gives more information on what to expect, the way people react to adopted children from another country. The patience and trials of a family waiting for all the red tape to be cut through is part of what this book is about. Also, knowing that God is in the midst of the entire process is another component.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:August 3, 2011
In the book Love You More, Jennifer Grant describes the triumphs and hardships of adopting her daughter, Mia, from Guatemala. Jennifer and her husband had three biological children but always felt that they would adopt a child. When the opportunity arose they decided to adopt a child from Guatemala. As Jennifer explains, this was not an easy or quick decision but one that was carefully thought out.
Jennifer does a wonderful job describing the adoption process and the difficulty that some people face in waiting for this process to be completed. For some the process is quick, while for others it is a very long process. Unfortunately for Jennifer a long wait was part of her journey. She discusses her feelings during this time of waiting and how she long for Mia to home with her. Once Mia is home with her, Jennifer is very real in sharing her joy and her hardships. Her joy comes from loving this beautiful little girl who she believed was designed to be a part of her family. Her hardships come from trying to help Mia adapt to a new life while still caring for her other three children. I enjoyed this book as I found it to be an easy and a quick read. I found it both informative and interesting.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently I had the chance to read "Love You More" written by Jennifer Grant. I got to do so through an offer at BookSneeze which offers free books to bloggers in return for a honest review, good or bad.
I'm not sure I can even say how much I loved this book, and I truly believe me reading it was divine providence. God knows that adoption has been heavy on my heart for almost 10 years. God knows its what I want to do. God also knew that I had lots of questions I didn't know the answer to.
I'm pretty sure there are lots of really great books on adoption. Lots that are instructional and tell you what you need to know. But the one thing I continually got from Jennifer's book was how real she was. She wasn't afraid to tell the truth. The ups the downs, the surprises and frustrations. She isn't afraid to tell people considering adoption that its not all easy, and its not all fun.
This book tells of the journey of a woman embarking on the journey of adoption for her Guatamalan daughter... and I think anyone considering adoption (or those even considering considering it) should read it.
Like I said before, this is not a cookie cutter, "you should do what I did because everything is always perfect". It gives a very real look at a very real subject. She documents how long it took, being delayed, and her frustration with just wanting her baby to be home (I can't even imagine) to the stupid idiotic things people say or ask, and how her home changed once she brought her daughter home- including bathtub battles and getting her daughter to eat.
In the back of the book, she even gives very in-depth resources, questions, and suggestions (for pre, during, and after) for those considering, or going through an adoption.
It's not a little thing, and this author did her best in relating what she knows, and whats shes learned, and I know lots of parents (including me one day- fingers crossed) will benefit from it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>