Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Treasuring Emma - eBook

Thomas Nelson Treasuring Emma - eBook

Emma was Adam's first love but circumstances made them both choose different paths in life. Emma's heart breaks all over again when Adam returns to the Amish community of Middlefield, Ohio, years later. For the past ten years, Emma has been raising her siblings after their parents' untimely death. She's put their needs above her own and now, with them grown, she can focus on herself and her dream of opening a yarn store in the vacant cider house on her land.

With Adam's return come feelings Emma's long buried. They're older and life hasn't turned out the way they thought it would. Adam's feelings for Emma are stronger than ever, but will he be able to convince her to put others aside and give their love a chance?

Average Customer Rating:
4.281 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
27 out of 3284%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Review 1 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Treasuring Emma a must read!!!

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
emmylou
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treasuring Emma is the first book in the Middlefield Family Novel written by Kathleen Fuller. Kathleen Fuller has written several Amish Fiction stories and I think you will truly find this book to be a treat. Treasuring Emma is a very heartwarming story about a young Amish girl named Emma who thought she had found the love of her life and best friend Adam. Much to Emma's surprise, Adam was not ready to settle down in the Amish culture and decides that he wants to experience the freedom of living out in the Englisch world. Adam leaves Emma very heartbroken and distraught. Emma finds herself in the beginning of the story having to deal with the death of her mother. She feels so completely helpless and empty inside. With her mother gone it left just Emma to take care of her Grandmother Leona. Emma has a sister named Clara who is married to a husband named Peter. They had three children of their own and lived in a little house not too far from Emma and Grandmother Leona. Clara has not always got along with her sister Emily.
After two years have went past Adam isn't too sure about the Englisch world and decides to visit the Amish community where he lived as a child. Adam finds himself wanting to hang out at Emily's family farm. How is Emily going to deal with seeing him knowing her true feelings about him. She decides that she must guard her feelings. When someone new arrives in town and shows great interest in Emma, she finds herself falling for this person. Will she be able to get over being heartbroken and distraught and seek new love? Adam tries to discourage her by telling her to not get involved and be become very cautious about the person's well being. Emma doesn't know how to deal with this attention that she is receiving from the newcomer and doesn't know quite how to accept it. Emma has always sacrificed herself to help others before doing things for herself. When will it be a good time for Emma to feel wanted and treasured? Will Adam be accepted back into the community if he confesses to the bishop his wrong doing. The book keeps you interested from the first page to the end. The author leaves you wanting to quickly go out and purchase the next book.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone. This book deserves a 5 out of 5 rating. I received this book from Thomas Nelson to give it an honest review whether it be positive or negative. I can't wait to read the next book in this series. Kathleen Fuller, keep writing Amish Fiction. You are a treasure yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grammie Pammie
Location:texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this one was a little different can't say why you will have to read it lol but I am so glad I read it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Compelling and easy to read

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Several years ago, Adam Otto left his family and Amish community, breaking Emma Shetler’s heart in the process. Emma never stopped grieving for Adam, and now the death of her mother has created more pain. Emma needs to find a way to support herself and her ailing grandmother, but she isn’t convinced by her sister’s idea to open a fabric shop in her grandfather’s old workshop. But Emma doesn’t know that Clara and her husband are struggling financially, especially now that their cousin, Mark, has come to live with them for an indefinite period of time.
Clara’s marriage is experiencing difficulties, not only because her husband, Peter, has been out of work for nine months. The strain of having an extra person living in their house only seems to make things worse, especially as Mark’s interest in her younger sister is making her realise what she’s missing in her marriage. But someone else isn’t too pleased with the attention Mark is paying to Emma – Adam Otto, Emma’s first love.
Home on a visit from the English world, Adam can’t help but keep running into Emma. Initially he just wants to help her and her grandmother get back on their feet, but when he realises that she’s caught the attention of a newcomer to the community, he can’t help but feel jealous. Or is it more than jealousy that he’s feeling? Do all of Emma’s friends have reason to feel uneasy about Mark’s unexpected presence in their community?
Although I’m a devoted fan of Amish fiction, Treasuring Emma is the first full-length novel that I’ve read from Kathleen Fuller. I enjoyed reading a few of her novellas last year and hoped to experience more of the same with the first novel in the Middlefield Family series. The story of a young man returning to his Amish community and trying to win back his lost love is a fairly common one, but Kathleen adds a few twists to it by inserting a potentially dangerous love interest and exploring the relationship between Emma’s married sister and her husband. The main storyline was still fairly predictable, but Kathleen’s writing is very compelling and I found myself returning to the book whenever I had a spare moment. Even if Treasuring Emma isn’t the most original Amish novel that I’ve come across recently, it certainly contains a lot of the key aspects that make this genre so popular.
Much like some of the other well-known authors in this genre (Shelley Shepard Gray, Mary Ellis, Amy Clipston) Kathleen explores multiple perspectives in Treasuring Emma. While following multiple characters often means that you connect with some of them more so than others over the course of the story, I appreciated being able to gain insight into the minds of Leona, Clara and Mark, as well as Emma and Adam. Leona’s sections provided some encouraging insight into the grandmother’s wisdom and deep faith, while Clara’s allowed us to see the reasons why she was so pushy and overbearing with Emma at times. While I did eventually understand why Clara was such a difficult character, I still never felt like I completely sympathised with her. I’m not the sort of person who tries to take complete control over a problem and fix everything by myself, so I had trouble relating to her, although I’m sure her behaviour is typical of some women. I did find Mark’s perspective quite interesting to begin with, and I was intrigued by the mystery that was built up in his initial sections of the novel. However, as the story progressed I found Mark to be a bit caricatured. His story wasn’t entirely finished by the conclusion of Treasuring Emma, so I hope that the second book in the series provides more insight into his backstory and what made him into the kind of person he was in Treasuring Emma. While I appreciated the suspense that his character provided, his villainous nature felt a little over the top in places, particularly as we had little insight into his motives.
As I said, Emma and Adam’s romance is relatively predictable until Mark enters the picture. I liked the way that Mark bridged the gap between Emma and Adam’s story and Clara and Peter’s. The two couples provided an interesting contrast, which means that the reader never gets bored with one storyline as the book switches between the two fairly equally. Although the primary romance is one that’s been done many times before in this genre, I did really love Adam’s character, and I wanted him to win Emma’s heart simply because of how caring and genuine he seemed. Strangely enough, I actually found him a lot more realistic and sympathetic than Emma. The same can be said for Peter and Clara; while I loved Peter’s patience and wisdom (not so common among male Amish characters) I found myself getting frustrated with Clara after a while. It’s not common for a writer to make me connect with male characters over the female ones, so Treasuring Emma surprised me with this.
Ultimately, I was pleased with how most of the storylines worked out. It was encouraging to see Adam realising that he needed to make things right with God before he fixed matters with his family, community and Emma. The issue of Adam’s faith was never overbearing and seemed very natural. I was also pleased to see how his relationship with Emma concluded, just as I was with Clara and Peter. While I’m sure that both couples still have a lot to work on, the ending was open but optimistic. I’m intrigued to see where Mark’s storyline goes, and hope that it is wrapped up later in the series, since his plot was the only one that I felt needed more attention.
I’ve read a lot of great Amish books lately, so Treasuring Emma was up against some stiff competition. Although it wasn’t quite as original as some of my favourites in this genre, I did find Kathleen’s writing to be very compelling and easy to read. Some characters were less convincing and sympathetic than others, but as Treasuring Emma is part of a series, I hope that this is something that will be improved upon in the next book, Faithful to Laura. 3.5*
Review title provided by Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this story

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emma Shetler doesn't know if she'll ever get used to losing those she loves, first her father three years ago, now her mother to cancer and in between, two years ago, the love of her life Adam Otto walked away to go live among the Englishers. She did still have her beloved grandmother, her father's mom, and her sister Clara, who she didn't get along with very often, and her family. Leona, her grandmother, and Emma have piles of medical bills to pay along with the expense of keeping the farm up, her horse, Dill, is lame and can't pull her buggy. Things don't look good, the bills just seem to keep piling up.
Unbeknownst to Emma, Leona has written to Adam to let him know about Emma's mom and to tell him that there is something wrong with his mother. She isn't sure what, but she thinks it would be a good idea if he came to check up on her. Adam does come to Middlefield against his better judgment, when he left it was not on good terms with his dad, but he had to see his mom for himself.
To say the least, Emma is surprised to see Adam and even more surprised when she finds out it was her grandmother that asked him to return. He tries to help her by checking on Dill and anything else she needs, she refuses any help. She's afraid to let herself get used to having him around only to have him leave again. Clara dislikes Adam even more than Emma, she has contempt for him.
After the funeral Peter King, Clara's husband, invites Emma and Leona to move in with them. This irritates Clara because they can't afford two more mouths to feed. Peter's been out of work for a long time, their pantry is about empty and they only have two bedrooms, one for their two boys and baby Magdalena was still in their bedroom.
When Peter's cousin Mark shows up on their doorstep she gets mad that Peter asks him to stay on with them. She'd just explained things to Peter about their situation, as if he didn't know, but since he's family Peter feels he has to offer. Now Peter, Clara, Junior, Melvin & Magdalena were all in one bedroom. Mark soon befriends Clara though and backs her up about an idea to turn her grandfather's wood shop into a yarn and fabric store. Emma strongly disagrees, that would mean selling her grandfathers tools and she couldn't stand losing all the memories after just losing her mom.
Even though Adam is back and trying to be her friend again and help her around the farm, Emma knows he'll leave soon. Clara doesn't trust Adam and thinks it might be a good idea for Mark to get to know Emma, after all he's family and Adam isn't. Adam doesn't trust Mark, Mark doesn't like the way Adam acts around the family, and Emma really wants nothing to do with either of them.
When Emma's grandmother gets sick and has to stay in the hospital for two weeks a lot of things happen around the farm, some very devastating things. You will want to find out for yourself.
I really enjoyed this book, it always interests me when people leave the Amish and have to come back home when they are under the bann. I have seen banned people treated different ways and it's interesting as to why they left in the first place and what their feelings are once they return.
I purchased this book because I received the second one in the series, Faithful to Laura, to review and I think it's so much better when you can read the books in order. I will say that I'm looking forward to reading the second book and I'm not telling you how she fits in the first book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed reading this story

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:Riva Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very interesting, The author was descriptive of the characters and the surroundings. I felt like I was actually there in the book. My compliments to the author--I would definitely enjoy reading more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
betty g
Location:Blytheville, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved Treasuring Emma. It was one of those books that you pick up and then never want to put down until the last page is read.
I cannot wait for the second book in this series to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Boring

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book was a little boring. And just a little predictable. But it was okay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Treasuring Emma Is A Great Read!

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treasuring Emma had me from page one. When I had to put the book down I couldn't wait to pick it back up.
Emma Shetler's story begins with the death of her Mother. Emma feels completely dead inside. It was Emma and her Grandmother Leona now. Of course there was Clara, her Sister, but they had never gotten along. Clara, her husband Peter and their three children lived in their own little house not too far from Emma and her Grandmother's.
Emma's first love and best friend Adam left the Amish community two years ago breaking Emma's heart. She had loved Adam. Adam didn't feel the same way or he would never have left. Emma knew she was a little on the heavy side and thought of herself as homely. Who would love her?
The author from the beginning of the book and throughout the book right up until the end made it a point to teach us that God will provide if we only allow Him to. It is about turning everything over to Him in complete Faith. As you will read in the book several characters in the book were not doing this. Will they eventually do this?
I think another lesson to take away from this book is lasting love. Do we treasure the love we share in our own relationships? Did the characters in this book treasure the love in their relationships?
This is a book you won't want to miss!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
joyfulnana
Location:Coal Township, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book about a young woman Emma ,who has lost her father and now her mother has died. Emma also is heartbroken as her best friend Adam has left her for the English world. Emma keep herself busy caring for her sick mother. Emma lives in the old farm house and now it is only her and her grandmother. How will she take care of everything? How will she makes it will all the medicals bills of her mothers? Then Adams returns and she is faced with more troubles. Determined not to get involved with Adam again she tries to stay out of his way but Adams seems to be around.
When Mark shows up and shows interest in Emma this does not go well with Adam. Adam does not like Mark and he does not trust him. Clara who is Emma's sister uses Mark to help her fix up the wookshop at the farmhouse and this gives Mark time to see more of Emma and keeps Adam around to keep an eye on him and Emma. What will happen to Emma can she take all the stress in life?
This was a good book and it keep your interest it was hard to put it down. DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL CONNECTION: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Enjoyable Book

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Emma is a single young Amish woman who has been through much heartache. Both of her parents have passed away, and Adam, the boy she loves, has left her and the Amish church to live in the modern English world. Being plain-looking and heavyset, Emma doesn't hold out much hope for finding love. She is buried in medical bills from her mother's cancer, and is worried how she and her aging grandmother, who she lives with, will survive. Her relationship with her sister is strained, and her sister is trying to push Emma into a new business together. Emma's grandmother continually encourages her to stay strong in her faith and trust God's will for her life.When Adam returns and a mysterious new man comes to town and shows interest in Emma, she is more confused than ever.
'Treasuring Emma' was fun to read-it was very suspenseful and had lots of twists and turns in the story. I'm looking forward to reading more from the Middlefield Family series by Kathleen Fuller. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing book

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mccue
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was somewhat disappointed with this book. I didn't think it was the best the author usually writes. It was good, but still a bit disappointing. Just my opinion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Real

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
J Kramasz
Location:Mpls MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The author has a talent for making you feel what the characters feel and drawing the reader into the story. Emma was so real to me; there were times when I could have cried with her. I could also relate to the worries of her sister, and her tendency to try to fix things first and go to God later.
The story moves along quickly, with the elements of suspense, subtle romance, and growing faith carefully woven throughout.
The setting really seemed “authentic Amish” – from the descriptions of their farms to their day-to-day life, it seemed very much in keeping with what I know of Amish life
What really made this book though, were the characters. A long-lost love, a wise grandmother, a somewhat overbearing sister, and the mysterious cousin from out of town – all very well developed and intriguing. These characters seemed so real. They had to wrestle with issues of faith, family conflict, and grief just like the rest of us. The issues dealt with in this book are ones that most of us face at one time in our lives, not just the Amish.
I would strongly recommend this book to anyone was loves Amish fiction.
I must mention that I did receive a complimentary copy of this, in ebook format, for review purposes. That in no way influenced my opinion of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Treasuring Emma

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jagette
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treasuring Emma: A Middlefield Family Novel
Kathleen Fuller
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Thomas Nelson (August 2, 2011)
Since Amish Fiction is one of my favorite things to read, I chose Kathleen Fuller’s soon to be published as an e-book as my newest read. I haven’t read any of her novels before and found this one quite different from most of the Amish genre writers.
The story line starts off quite traumatic with everyone at Emma’s house after her mother’s funeral. Emma has been putting everyone else first in her life and now finds herself becoming an old maid living with her grandmother. Now with mounting bills, Emma has to decide what she is going to do. Just selling jams and jelly as they did before her mother got sick doesn’t seem to be what will work in this economic slowdown.
Will Adam, Emma’s first love, return, be accepted back since he is shunned? How will the family react to the changes that are being made? Will unexpected guest arrive?
This novel turns out to be romance with a little mystery thrown in as well. I would recommend it as a great book to read and look forward to reading the rest of the books in this series: The Middlefield Family.
I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCITING AND ENTERTAINING!

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book a very enjoyable read. Emma is a young dedicated Amish woman that has seen more than her share of heart ache. Her father is dead and her mother has just died of cancer when the story begins. She lives with her elderly grandmother whom she loves very much. To add to her heartache and confusion, her one true love, an Amish man named Adam, has left the church and Emma behind. Emma is hurt and even resentful at the hand life has dealt her.
As she tries to grieve, Emma’s life is further complicated by Adam’s return and her sister, with whom she has a rocky relationship, is pushing to turn her grandfather’s beloved workshop into a fabric/yarn store. As if all this is not enough, her sister’s brother-in-law, Mark King moves to the area with shady plans. I felt the book was well written. I found myself getting caught up in Emma’s anguish and confusion. There was just too much to deal with too quickly. The author did a wonderful job of portraying all the emotions that Emma was facing.
The Grandmother’s steadfastness and loving guidance was reassuring in such a tumultuous time in both her and Emma’s life. I reminded me of the wisdom and patience of the aged gleaned only from a life time of experience.
Emma was a great example of standing firm in your faith in spite of your world being turned upside down. I love the step by step journey of Emma from unforgiveness toward others and God to putting all her trust in Him. I saw how when we hurt we often reject those that can comfort and help us. The ending was quite a surprise!
Another part I enjoyed was the Amish words used throughout the book and the glossary that gave the definitions. It not only made the story and the characters come to life, but it was also very interesting. I also appreciated the purity with which the book was written, even the romantic parts. A book I would recommend!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
scruggle
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Treasuring Emma” by Kathleen Fuller is a heartwarming Amish romance about a young girl who thought she lost it all when she is suddenly thrust into more turmoil. Only weeks after the funeral of Emma’s mother, her first love comes back from his “Yankee” lifestyle and her sister comes up with a plan to demolish her memories of her beloved grandfather. Emma is confused and unsure of what to do.
“Treasuring Emma” is a great read. If you love Amish romances, this one is a good one! The only thing I did not like about the book was that there were a few loose ends that were left at the end of the story. An epilogue could have possibly cured the problem. The characters were very dimensional and remind the reader of real people. The plot was interesting and only a little predictable. I love that Emma is a robust woman who finds true love in someone who appreciates her for the person she is. The “Pennsylvania Dutch” dialogue is easy to understand and adds to the “Amish” feel of the book. I think that any Amish book enthusiast would greatly enjoy reading this story of a girl who must believe that, in the end, God will provide!
I was provided this book free of charge from Booksneeze Blogger Review Program
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
cwong77
Location:MY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is about Amish living, featuring a young lady by the name of Emma. Emma is a caretaker for her family. She took care of her ill mom, and later when her mom passed on, she took care of her grandma who was old and fragile.
Emma has a childhood friend, Adam whom she fell in love, however Adam feels that he does not suit living in the Amish living, and decided to leave and find a living elsewhere. However later, Adam returned home, and this has created the little butterflies in Emma when she is so cautious not to fall in love again with Adam.
Beside the lovely couple, the book has Emma's sister, Clara and her husband, Peter and 2 lovely kids. The also have an additional cast of a third party, Mark, whom is the cousin of Peter whom came visit Peter, and refuse to leave. Mark courted Emma, and this created greater confuse in Emma's feeling.
Emma put her faith to GOD, and hope that her Heavenly Father will guide her through this path. The ending was 'expected' however it gives it a good twist in the plots of the story. I will recommend this book should one has not created good faith with GOD.
Another person in the story that I want to take note is the grandmother of Emma. Despite being in her old age, she is alert and able to react when circumstances change. She is strong to go though the lost of her husband, son and daughter in law, and even in the story when things happen not according to her will. She is a gem, and has given the story a good ending too.
The book is good for a read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Treasuring Emma

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a copy of Treasuring Emma by Kathleen Fuller from the BookSneeze blogger program. I was very excited to get a Christian Fiction book, and this was the second Amish book I've read. I really enjoyed this book. The characters are lovable, but also flawed and real. The author has an easy to read style that helped get me quickly engrossed in the book, and the plot was enjoyable. As a matter of fact, I finished the book in just a few days, despite the fact that I have three kids three and under~including a newborn! Fuller included enough twists in her plot that although I knew how it would most likely end, I never would have guessed how they got there. It was certainly a book that left me wanting more, which makes me glad that Fuller has a series based on the characters in this Amish community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Treasuring Emma

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Emma is a young Amish girl living in Ohio who recently lost her mother to cancer and now has the responsibility of caring for her grandmother. Emma’s sister, Clara, and her family live close by, but Clara is currently dealing with her own financial and marital issues, and she isn’t much help. Add to this the fact that Emma is still heartbroken over her first love, Adam, who has left the Amish life for the English world. When a new young man comes to this Amish town and shows interest, Emma is reluctant to trust her feelings. Especially when Adam suddenly comes back into her life.
I thought Treasuring Emma was a very nice read. It was interesting enough to keep me involved in the story but not so complicated that I got lost. I found that I cared for Emma and that I cared what happened to her. The story, especially the romantic storyline, was not slow, but it did not feel rushed, either. The author was able to show this particular Amish community as simple and as a good way to live without making me feel as if I am doing something wrong by not living that way. I appreciated that the author had the characters in the novel, when necessary, come back to God, not just come back to the Amish Church. There was more of an emphasis on personal faith in this Amish novel compared to others I have read.
The only thing that I stumbled with was learning all of the Dutch or German words that are used in the Amish vocabulary in this book. There is a glossary at the front of the book, and that did help.
When I got to the end of the book, it seemed as if parts of the story might be continued in later books. I am assuming that there are more books to come, and I would be interested to read them.
Overall, this was a very pleasant novel that was an easy read. I have not read too many Amish fiction novels, but this one was the most enjoyable I have read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish fiction!

Date:August 3, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Girls, here's another wonderfully written book about the Amish. This was another book that I would stay up and read long before I should have been in bed sleeping! If you like books about the Amish life, then you'll love this book, I think.
Emma is a 25-year-old woman who has experience a lot of loss in her life. Her mother died from cancer and her first love went to the Englisch world, leaving Emma behind and heartbroken. Now she is living with her grossmammi.
After Adam received a letter telling him of Emma's mother's death, he returns to Middlefield. Emma is determined to guard her heart this time and to not let him back in her life as easily. She's not really sure why he came back, whether it was guilt or love.
Not long after his return, another man comes into their community, Mark King, and has an interest in Emma. Adam warns Emma not to let her guard down with him, but will she listen? Does she fall for Mark or does she give Adam a second chance? Will Adam stay in the Amish community or return back to the Englisch world? You'll have to read it to find out!
_____________________
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <[...]> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <[...]> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Treasuring Emma - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful well though out story!!!!

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Helen Hevener
Location:Staunton, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emma has lost her Mom to cancer- It is just Emma left alone with her grossmammi in a large house with lots of bills to pay. Emma's brother-in-lasw Peter has had trouble finding a job- so Clara (Emma's sister) is trying to persuade Emma into turning his grossvadder's work shop into a yarn shop- but Emma doesnt want to get rid of her grossvadder's workshop!!! Only one man - Adam- had ever loved Emma and he has turned "english"!!!! Adam gets a letter informing him of Emma's mother's death.
Will Adam come back to Middlefield and rekindle his love for Emma and his life as an amishman??? Will Peter and Clara be able to get past their financial instability??? Will a newcomer to town Mark King manage to capture Emma's love- and how will the family get past grossvadder's work shop burning to the ground. What happens when a new girl Laura shows up in town to get back what Mark King has stolen from her and her family while he was in Tennessee!!!!
An intrigueing book from start to finish- to me one of the best books yet that Kathleen Fuller has written- a must read for anyone who loved Amish fiction!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>