Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Final Hour - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Final Hour - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Final Hour - eBook
Review 1 for The Final Hour - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Hour, Homelanders Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

If you are a fan of the television show "24", then

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
KCPryzr
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Final Hour was a deviation for me. I do like suspense books, like Dee Henderson, but I usually stray towards the solid stories with romance, but I ignored the fact that I don't usually read action-thriller books and jumped right in to review it.
I did discover one problem. This was the fourth and final book in the Homelander Series. Whoops! That didn't stop me, though, and I actually found, with all the remembering that was done in the book, it filled in the gaps for me and made me want to go back and read the first three books. In fact, I recently purchased them, and they are in my TBR (To Be Read) pile.
I will admit, I read this book a little like I watch 24 (which I am currently in the process of watching because I've only seen the last 2 seasons), through my fingers at some of the gruesome parts. There are also some parts, much like 24, that seemed a little far-fetched, but in some ways that just adds to the story. It is fiction after all.
All-in-all, I thought it was well-written, and have actually recommended this series to my 15-year-old, who loves this sort of thing. The fact that the main character is relatively young, I thought would be a plus for her.
I think the moral of this review would be to jump outside your comfort zone and take chance. It's like the commercial said, "Try it. You'll like it." :-)
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Final Hour - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Hour, Homelanders Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Series

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bookmouse
Location:Wildwood, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I ordered the first book in the series, I was unaware it was about a teenage boy. (I am 76 years old and a Grandmother )However, from the opening pages of the first book, I was hooked! I immediately ordered the rest of the series with the last book "The Final Hour" and read all 4 books within a week! I didn't see how the author could explain all the conflicting problems that Charlie West was having but the author, Andrew Klaven wrapped it all up perfectly. An exciting series of books and I highly recommend them to everyone (even 76 year old readers)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Final Hour - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Hour, Homelanders Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charlie West is in prison, and not just some juvenile detentions center. He’s in Abingdon State Prison, a high security prison for the vilest offenders. And between the prisoners and the brutal guards, it looks like Charlie might be someone’s next victim.
But his memories are slowly coming back, and Charlie learns that a terrorist strike is coming soon. He has to do something, but what? No one will listen to a convict, all his allys are gone, and time is ticking away. But Charlie can’t give up. Not when lives are at stake.
Loved it! And I closed this book with a smile on my face, because these four novels really felt like one big story, and it was tough to wait for each next one. I loved the way Andrew Klavan told this tale, how he weaved it backwards and forwards with action and memories and mystery. It was very cleverly done. This is a GREAT series for boy readers. So if you love action and adventure novels, or if you’re looking for some books for a young man, look no further. This is the series. I highly recommend all four Homelander books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Final Hour - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Hour, Homelanders Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Action Book for Teens!

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
JayJ
Location:Lome, Togo
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the final book in ‘The Homelanders Series’ of four action-packed novels, the main character, teenager Charlie West awakens to find himself in the maximum security prison of Angola. As his memory of the past, which had previously been wiped out, and his recent experiences training in a terrorist camp, resurface, Charlie realizes that he must do whatever it takes to prevent the United States from becoming a victim of an even great terrorist attack, an attack using biological warfare, even if that means he has to break the law, aiding hardened criminals and breaking out of jail. As the count-down to pending terror begins, Charlie joins several old friends to combat the evil of organized hate.
Though I personally was not overly impressed with ‘level’ of this book, I’m positive that the series delivers the storyline quite effectively to the intended target audience –teenagers. Klavan employs a great technique in allowing the reader to ‘revisit’ all the other books of the series through the returning memories dramatically impressed on Charlie’s mind. This book is an action-packed, page turning, nail-biting read! As it is becoming increasingly difficult to find good, ‘clean’ books for young people, I would definitely recommend The Final Hour…in fact, I already loaned out my hardback copy (received free from Booksneeze.com!) to one of my MK students. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Final Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Go, Charlie, Go!

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charlie West is back! In the latest Homelander book, the karate-kicking high schooler realizes he knows where the terrorist group will strike next, but he has only a short amount of time to stop it. This series continues its great suspense-filled stories for teens by taking it to a new level, and providing great action, a good story, and an exciting premise.
What high schooler hasn’t dreamed that they could be a secret agent, a spy or just someone who could right a wrong? In the Homelander series, Charlie West is just such a kid – in high school dealing with his crush and his friends one minute, strapped to a chair being tortured the next. The real events that happen to him between one and the other are both intriguing and fun for the reader to explore. One thing that Charlie never loses sight of is his faith and reliance on God.
This book is a pleasant alternative to many of the teen offerings from secular authors. It offers a positive message delivered in a way that is not condescending to the audience – Klavan writes without making an adult feel like they are reading a teen book; not an easy feat, in my opinion. That he also creates believable adolescent characters whose reactions feel real although in odd circumstances makes the books thoroughly enjoyable. One warning, I wouldn’t try to read this book without reading the others – the story has too many surprises in it that are ruined if you try to go in the wrong order. That said, if you haven’t read any of this series, grab your credit card, visit www.christianbook.com, and get them all. These books are what summer reading should be about – fun, likable characters living the adventures you wish you could.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Final Hour - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Hour, Homelanders Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

rousing finale

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gerald Russell
Location:Ulysses, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The last book in the Homelander Series lived up to all our expectations. It kept you hanging on until the very last minute. This is a great series for young people. It has all the action and adventure young people love in addition to patriotism and heroism and a spiritual lesson in holding on to God during the most difficult circumstances. Our whole family has enjoyed reading these books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Final Hour - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Hour, Homelanders Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Final Hour- reveiw

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emanuel Pavel
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author Andrew Klavan was hailed by Stephen King as “the most original novelist of crime and suspense since Cornell Woolrich” and yes Clavan is doing a great job blending mystery and suspense. I didn’t realize that movies like True Crime (Clint Eastwood) or Don’t Say A Word (Michael Douglas) are based on his books.
I’m very please to find Klavan creating a series with the younger adolescent reader in his mind.
“The Final Hour “ is the last book form a series of 4. Seems to be a teenagers book but is more than that with a captivating story-action and easy to read. The main character Charlie West is a teen version of Ethan Hunt ready to save and serve everybody. I do love how Charlie’s faith is weaved through the book. I would recommend this book to teens and young adults.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Final Hour - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Hour, Homelanders Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Will Charlie West save the day?

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:St. Petersburg
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A teenager's life can be pretty tough. There's the whole transition from childhood to adulthood thing. Not to mention the peer pressure, pimples and parents.
But that's a cakewalk compared to the pitfalls that Charlie West experiences in The Final Hour.
The young man has been tortured, chased, shot at, beat up and falsely imprisoned for the murder of this best friend during the first three novels in The Homelander Series. Unfortunately for Charlie, his fortunes aren't any better in this final installment of the tale.
Written for young adults by the best selling author Andrew Klavan, The Final Hour is chock full of suspense, danger and action. Klavan's recipe for the books seems to be: mix one part Bourne Identity with two parts Hardy Boys, season liberally with some good old fashioned American patriotism, and top with a dose of Christian faith.
In general, I enjoyed all four books in the series, and hope my own teens will immerse themselves in Charlie's exploits. That said, The Final Hour wasn't as strong of a climax to the story as I would have hoped. Early in the book, I could tell what would happen and how the tale would end. To me, the suspense is greatly diminished when you know all along that the hero will save the day no matter how how many bullets and bombs come his way.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Final Hour - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Hour, Homelanders Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great ending to the Homelanders Series

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
SamG
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Final Hour" by Andrew Klavan is the final installment of the Homelanders series and the story of Charlie West. Charlie woke up to find out that one year of his life has past and his life is in danger. He must not only attempt to escape these dangers, he must also try to remember key events that have happened in the past year to determine who is friend and who is foe.
As with the other books, this book is a non stop, fast paced, action packed story from the first page to the last. Andre w Klavan keeps the story going throughout and kept me interested to find out how the story ends. I did enjoy this book and all of the other books in the series. I certainly would recommend this story to any young adult, most likely male, who is looking for a good book to read.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Final Hour - eBook
This review is fromThe Final Hour, Homelanders Series #4.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling, Masculine, and Honest Victory of Good

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy L
Location:Santee, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Final Hour, the 347-page fourth and final novel in the Homelander’s series, Andrew Klavan presents a compelling, honest, and decidedly masculine story of what confronting evil, living true to your beliefs, and emerging victorious looks like. The beginning of the novel feels as if you’ve stepped onto an airport walkway moving at ninety-miles-an-hour and you have to run just to stay on your feet. The book ends with a Reading Group Guide, giving the reader time to stop and catch his breath and ponder the truths described in the novel.
The Final Hour is a story of the battle of good against evil, where good is clearly defined as a morally clean, upright American life well-lived, and evil is radical Islam which seeks above all else to destroy that which professes faith in God and country. To the enemy, Charlie West represents the Great Satan, and the story clearly favors America and her Christian-inspired culture. It is understood rather than overt that Charlie West's Christian faith is the foundation for his behavior. His karate sensei, or teacher, Mike, is also a believer, though again the emphasis in this novel and throughout the series is not specifically Christian men, but the example of good men, living well and honestly, faithful to and willing to fight for their beliefs, their families, their communities, and their country.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.