Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook

Thomas Nelson Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.303 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
30 out of 3391%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
Review 1 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vince
Location:Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rumors of God is definitely one of the BEST presentations I have read in a book. It will take you into a deeper level of self-reflection on where we are now in our relationship with God, what is our current church standing and what do we do in serving Christ, our personal experiences and encounters of God. This book will help you understand on where we are exactly in our spiritual walk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good reminder of God's work around us

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian Elmer
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
The chapters address different aspects of the evidence of the gospel. The authors are concerned about the church in America and not seeing the works of God in the life of the church as a whole. I would agree as the many churches have become liberal or too corporate/consumer that there is no evidence of God just works of man.
The chapters do not really connect as in a book of one theme, but are individual workings/evidences of God in the church. Each chapter is well done and exciting to read the testimonies of God's provisions!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mare
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love getting the ebook, it was fast with no hitches and love the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
wnorwood
Location:Redlands, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In many of my blog wanderings, one of the discussions/debates, that I am seeing over and over again is the mission of the church. What is the main purpose and calling of the Christian? Is is to preach the gospel? Is it feed the poor? How to be spiritually minded, but also earthly good? Some groups/denominations tend to lean heavily towards one side or the other. Churches that are full of good works, but neglect the teaching of the power and strength of the gospel. Churches that are rich in biblical exposition and teaching but fall short in reaching out and meeting needs in the name of Jesus.
In their book, Rumors of God, Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson describe what I feel is a good balance of a Christian faith that while deeply spiritual, manifests itself outwardly in good works. The title refers to the fact that people might “hear rumors” of what God is supposed to be like, but are not really seeing His love and power manifested in the world. I believe that the authors’ desire for their book is to stir up the people of God (particularly younger people) to actively pursue a life of radical faith and service to the glory of Jesus.
I found their discussions on generosity and community to be compelling as they challenge us to be less materialistic and self-focused.
A particular quote that ministered to me:
Could it be that God is most pleased not with what we do for him but with the life of love we cultivate with Him? Maybe this is why Jesus seemed so free from needing the approval of men. He had all the approval He needed; the voice of His Father drowned out of the voice of the crowd. ~Rumors of God, pg. 61.
I believe that this book will appeal mostly to younger Christians. However, as an “older” Christian, Rumors of God inspired me with a renewed sense of excitement and passion to continue this journey of faith and to become part of making the “rumors” show themselves to be true.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

We need to be challenged to live out faith.

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
ag1808
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About by Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson is a book about all those things we read in the Bible or hear from Pastors and think, well that's for someone else. I am just trying to live my life. That is only for those really strong Christians. The reality is what, we dismiss as rumors because acting upon God's call or stepping out of our comfort zones to follow Christ, are not rumors, they are truths that Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson share and make real and reachable in this book.
Each chapter breaks down a "rumor", like Abundant Life or Grace and shares stories about real people and real ways we can each live and claim a life of abundance and grace. Whether you have been brought up in a Christian home or have just found your way to a relationship with Christ recently, you can relate to and be inspired by this book. Its not all about being a foreign missionary or starting a church. Its about finding God right where you are and using what you do and have to reach out to those around you. Loving the way God loves. Giving in real and life changing ways. Forgiving and what it really means.
This chapter on forgiveness was titled "Giving up your rights: Rumors of Freedom". As God would have it happen, I was reading this during a time when my life group was talking about betrayal, love and forgiveness and I shared quotes from this chapter because it spoke so clearly and directly to our questions and struggles. It all lines up with God's word and is so powerful and relevant to where the church is and needs to be today. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to live out biblical faith and realize that you don't have to be a pastor or "church person" to really make a difference with God.
The review copy of this book was provided by booksneeze.com for my personal opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book helps you rethink the way you live

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eva Scott
Location:Greensboro, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The title for the book, Rumors of God, was taken from a quote by CS Lewis from his book, Mere Christianity: "The world is a great sculptor's shop. We are the statues and there is a rumor going around the shop that some of us are some day going to come to life."
The subtitle, "Experience the kind of faith you've only heard about," is explored throughout the book. When we allow God to mold our lives, we come alive, and we bring the hope that Jesus brought to us, to the rest of the world, is the authors' premise.
The main drawback of this book, depending on how you look at it, is that it really has enough ideas in it to be developed into several different books. Each chapter is a large topic in and of itself. It covers the abundant life, our dreams, giving, love, grace, giving up our rights, commitment, community, justice and hope. Those are all very large topics.
If you have a hard time understanding, or accepting God's grace, then what happened to one of the authors is a beautiful description of Grace in a gross sort of way. He tells the story of his wife leaving him alone to take care of their two-year-old daughter who is being potty trained.
He changes his daughter's diaper and puts her down for a nap. He sits down to relax and read when he starts to smell a very foul odor. He walks around the house trying to find the odor. He discovers it is in his daughter's bedroom. He tells what happens when he encounters his daughter all covered with "poo" as she calls it.
For those of you as parents who have struggled with potty training, this story will stand out in your mind for a long time thinking about grace.
The question was asked in the book, "How do we remain in Jesus' great love for us?" The authors say it isn't having super pastors to keep us enthusiastic, seeing miracles, cultural renewal where God is mentioned in public, or even in doing things for God. They state that we remain in His love when we value his voice above all else. Make it the loudest voice in our lives.
They also state that:
Maybe this is why Jesus seemed so free from needing the approval of men. He had all the approval he needed; the voice of his Father drowned out the voice of the crowd.
Jesus felt that hope was so important that when he came back from the dead he didn't get revenge on those who killed him, and he didn't overthrow the Roman government. Instead, he searched for his disciples who had lost hope.
Jesus became a light against cynicism. He gave himself because, "Ultimately, encounters with Jesus restores hope to our cynicism."
The authors wrote the book because they do not feel the greatest days of the church are behind us. They state: "We believe that if you listen to the rumors of God, you will hear that God is doing something new in the church. We long to confirm those rumors with our lives."
Maybe it's time to start a rumor, and then make it come true.
Note: This book was given to me as a review copy from Book Sneeze. I did not have to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A challenging and inspiring book.

Date:September 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
uncurablebookworm
Location:Huntingburg, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a challenge to the view that the best days of the American church are over. The authors show people living out their faith in radical ways and encourage all believers to live in such a way that people see God at work rather than just hearing rumors of past greatness. This is a book worth reading and re-reading. The questions at the end make it ideal for small group study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Things you've only heard about!!

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Penny
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Rumors of God, Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About: By Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson. This book is filled with lots of examples of spiritual awakenings and how they choose to handle their new found awareness. I could relate to more than one example as it discusses issues of generosity, love, grace, freedom, commitment, community and hope. The writers will make you stop and think if you are really worshiping or just going through the motions. It made me ask the question, am I a bench-warmer or am I a true follower of Christ. After reading this book I am more conscious of my actions as they relate to my heart. This is an excellent addition to your library and a wonderful gift.
This was an easy read complete with a dose of spiritual medicine as you begin to cleanse your heart and mind to begin a new way of thinking about God and putting Him first and foremost. Re-Discover God by reading "Rumors of God"
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://www.BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BOOK REVIEW: "Rumors of God"

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
PhyllisASherer
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rumors of God
By: Darren Whitehead, Jon Tyson
Thomas Nelson / 2011 / Paperback
When hope is gone, or you've hit a wall and feel you can't get to God, or you feel like He has left you, this book will remind you HE IS IN CONTROL and YOU HAVE TO ACT ON THAT. I forget so often to ASK GOD FIRST what to do in certain situations. Don't just go bumbling in, ask God what to do. He will tell you, and you will hear Him, loud and clear. Common fears you may have, I have them too... the same fears your neighbor has, your preacher, your best friend. We all have the same questions sometimes about God, Jesus, life. This book can and will help you. Get it now, don't wait. We all need hope NOW.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All the best on your Journey.

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
trusthimto
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title and the tag will grab your attention. If you are looking that is.
Each chapter contained something that I personally found challenging that made me stop and pause.
We are bombarded with media, with rumors, with so many things that attempt to grab and hold our attention. Anything to get our focus off of God. This book is filled with stories of regular people like you and me who have stepped out in their faith and allowed the love of God to do some miraculous things.
In this book you have an opportunity to consider the following Rumors: Abundant Life, Another Dream, Generosity, Love, Grace, Freedom, Commitment, Community, Justice and Hope.
If you are open and looking/listening one of these Rumors are certain to challenge and encourage you.
All the best on your journey to "experience the kind of faith you've only heard about."
Disclaimer: Book has been provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rumors of God

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yvonne
Location:Canton, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rumors of God -- Experience the Kind of Faith You've only Heard about
By: Darren Whitehead & Jon Tyson
"We believe God is writing an epic, global, redemptive story that evey single one of us is invited to."
How true there is no doubt that the Holy Spirit spoke through the authors.
Regardless of where a person is on their journey this book is written with such simplicity that it stretches the reader's faith. I must admit when I was reading the book it reminded me of Walk Across the Room
There is a lot of truth in the title along "Rumors of God" There is a Bible Verse "You have not because you ask not" which raises a question what prevents a person from asking when God has our very best interest at heart. Since God has given man kind free will it really is up to each individual to claim God's promises and blessings or to only read about them. The breakdown the authors give and how it is told with such simplicity makes this book a must have for any beleiver. Personnaly this book could not have come at a better time. Personally so thankful that the Authors were willing to be vessels for God as a result I grew and learned so much. Yes a person can have the faith they read about in the Bible all they have to do is Ask, Seek, and Knock .. God is waiting . . .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
thinker
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Can God love someone like me?
How can I remain passionately in love with Jesus?
Would God forgive me for all that I have done?
How can I find complete freedom?
Everything seems so hopeless. Is there really hope for me?
The authors, Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson, have identified ten rumors of God and situate them within the context of the church and North American culture. Addressing each of these as truths of God, they then turn to challenge the believer in how these truths are being lived out in the lives of those that they encounter each day. They challenge the church to reach out, to take each of these fundamental concepts and move them from rumor to truth.
Using examples from their own lives, they show how the church can be a place where those who are hurting can find forgiveness, freedom and hope for their lives. Drawing from passages of Scripture, they present each of these challenges in a biblical light. They are passionate about reaching out to a hurting world and it is evident that they eagerly desire more for both those who claim to be Christians and those who are seeking the truth about God.
I was a little disappointed in the book in that it did not seem to present anything new. However, the approach the authors have taken is new and fresh. This book is worth reading, if only to be reminded of the impact that a vibrant and passionate faith can make in the lives of those around you.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing

Date:August 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are no words to adequately describe how brilliant this book is, but I will try. What initially piqued my interest was the description of the book... "Where is the life God promised us? Life is busy. We live like slaves to our fast-paced, suffocating schedules. But Jesus calls us to a better way. Another dream--an unimagined future. Close the gap between what you hear about and what you see." Thus the book title, "Rumors of God--Experience the kind of faith you've only heard about."
Each chapter defines a rumor; i.e., abundant life, generosity, love, community and justice. Pastors Darren and Jon take you on a journey which will compel you to love and serve others. I loved every chapter of this book, but what especially stood out for me were the rumors of community and justice.
The rumor of community was about loving beneath the surface. Pastor Jon states that one of the great challenges we face in moving into community is the incurable need for the approval of others. This approval drives us to put on a mask or hide behind a profile, but doesn't give others the chance of loving us for our true selves. In a true biblical community there needs to be intimacy and acceptance through transparency. He states that by learning to lower our masks, we begin to love one another for who we truly are.
The rumor of justice was equally provoking. Pastor Darren states as Christians, we have an obligation and responsibility to answer the clarion call of injustice not just with our cash, but also with our very lives. Oh my, this just went to the core of my heart. This chapter on justice brought it all home for me. I learned that while it is good to be compassionate, compassion without action is fruitless.
What I also learned from this book is that our Christian walk has to mirror Jesus' walk. Jesus came to love and serve others, we also need to love and serve others too. This is called love in action. I am thankful that I've experienced this rumor, and the rumor is true. I personally know missionaries serving in other countries, loving others unconditionally. I am grateful to have experienced that first hand. This verse came to mind while reading this chapter, "Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you." (James 1:27)
I highly recommend this book to everyone. This book will definitely change your life.
In conclusion, I want to take this opportunity by thanking Thomas Nelson Publishers (BookSneeze) for sending me a free copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rumor Becoming Reality

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is your relationship with God active & alive, or has He become a distant part of your life? Perhaps you read or hear about those who claim to have vital encounters with Him, but you doubt the veracity of God being actively involved in YOUR life. The authors assert that we have settled for a mediocre faith and too often simply go through the motions in our walk with God. Also, examples of relying on cultural influences and self-centered worship are used to point out just how bland and lukewarm the love of God has become for many of us. Do you hear rumors of the intimate and exciting fellowship others have with God? Do you long for this yourself...or are you content with the status quo?
This book is an easy read and has some valid things to say. It certainly spoke to my desire to not just be content with how things are in too many of the American churches today. Yet, I know that my personal relationship is not on what others have, say, or do. One quote that spoke to me was "The great tragedy of life is not unanswered prayer, but unoffered prayer" (Frederick B. Meyer). It is up to me to earnestly seek Him. There is no doubt that He is right here wanting this relationship just as much as I do!
Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson met as teens in their homeland of Australia, but now both reside in the USA with their wives & children. Darren is a teaching pastor at Willow Creek Community Church in Chicago. Jon is the pastor of Trinity Grace Church in New York City. This book is published by Thomas Nelson.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookSneeze as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as expected

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have to be honest, I was disappointed with “Rumors of God” by Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson. The authors are pastors at churches in New York and Chicago. They are long-time friends with a passion to love and serve God. They certainly have great wisdom and experience but, for some reason, I simply had a hard time getting into this book.
“Rumors of God” describes the history leading up to where our culture is today and how as Christians, we need to know and serve God amidst this. The book is very Biblically accurate, and I agree with virtually everything the authors say; however, I felt that the book was disorganized. Maybe a little “jumpy.”
Maybe it has more to do with where I am currently. The book is full of Scriptural truth (there were definitely nuggets to underline)and, at times, I enjoyed their stories and examples. I simply did not think that they said anything “new,” and I like books of this genre to challenge me and make me think. I did not feel that I got that out of this book.
This book was provided for free to me by BookSneeze.com in exchange for this objective book review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Has God became a rumor?

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grace from LifeAtDayBreak
Location:Spring, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Many people today have a difficult time seeing God in today's world. The amount of stress, materialism and selfishness we see today can give way to those already lacking in faith. Even those who have faith may have days were they just don't see God.
Rumors of God was written by two Australian men of faith, Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson, who wanted to help people see where God is in today's world. They wrote of in spiritual stories of personal experience as well as things that have happened in the world. These men of faith are trying to teach us where to find our strength from God, where to place our faith and not in materialistic things that we seem to value today. To me, I think of going back to the way life was when everything was simple. The need for the latest technology, the biggest house or even the high fashion clothes we crave are ways that we need to realize are not how God wants us to lead our lives. The title of the book points us out to realize that God is basically becoming a rumor, or even an old fad that is disappearing. True faith is becoming endangered. What will be your first step to gaining your faith? What will you do to help with the reality of God becoming just a rumor? What is there in your life that is stopping you from remembering God? These are the questions that come to mind from reading this book. But remember, actions always speak louder than words.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookSneeze as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great, but not quite.

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Logan
Location:New Zealand
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Experience the kind of faith you've only heard about goes the tagline. After reading this book it feels like it talks the talk, but doesn't walk the walk. It talks a lot about some great faithfulness in community, makes lots of good points and started to stir up things as I read... but somehow that didn't translate into experiencing faith that I've only heard about.
There's nothing inherently wrong with the book, it just seems to stop a little short of it's goal. There are lots of great bits and nuggets that could encourage church leaders or other Christians alike. Perhaps if the tagline wasn't such a dangling promise I would have read it with different expectations and probably this review would be brighter.
That said, the authors do a great job of relating relating everything spiritually and practically and there is something in it for every Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A call to action

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“If I were going to live a life that was truly pleasing to God, my primary task would have to shift from doing things for God and living life with Him”. (Rumors of God, pg. 61)
I read Rumors of God, Expiriencing The Kind Of Faith You’ve Only Heard About because the title immediately captured my attention. Lately I have had a hunger for these kinds of books, books like David Platt’s Radical, and Francis Chan’s Crazy Love. These are all books that challenge the reader to get involved, to live their faith and not sit back as passive pew warmers, content to hear the word, but too complacent to really embrace and live their faith.
Jon and Darren vividly give story after story of people who went searching for God and found him in unexpected ways, and sometimes, when they weren’t even actively looking, He showed up. The stories and examples provided within these pages, of lives transformed by a living God are powerful and amazing. Jon and Darren make it plain that the rumors of God, the rumblings of his power and might are very much real. They assure us that God is still working miracles and bringing people into passionate relationship with Christ, each and every day.
This book is as much an education about who God really as, as it is a call to action. These two men rally the hearts of the reader to get up and live their faith. They are grabbing hands with strangers in their communities, and encouraging you to do the same, to stand up and believe that the glorious stories of what God is doing are just the tip of something much bigger, and that if we are willing, if we make ourselves available to God, if we truly serve him with our actions, and not merely with words, he will change our hearts forever. I would recommend this book to anyone who is searching, for anyone who wants to know if God is still moving in the same amazing ways we read about in the book of Acts. You will hopefully close this book feeling inspired and with a new perspective on what it is to live your faith.
** In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, you should know that I received this book for free from BookSneeze®.com for the purpose of my honest review. My review is completely my own, and not purposed either positive or negative by those at BookSneeze®.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written, inspiring

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Always Alleluia
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rumors of God seeks to show the reader that God is still at work in powerful ways, and that when we choose to life life for him, with Him, rather than just talking about him, when we choose to have an active faith, we are blessed mightily by the relationship we grow into with our maker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You've Only Heard About - eBook
This review is fromRumors of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle Hatfield
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rumor of God by Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson
This book covers all aspects of our life and teaches ways to have the relationship with God that you never thought possible. There were a mix of personal scenarios from the authors, situations from the world today and also looking at scripture. This book shows how God works in unexpected ways in unexpected places, our place as Christians in this world, generosity, prayer, love, living the gospel, and forgiveness among many other topics.
I found this book really helpful in my day to day walk as a Christian. It challenged me to have a deeper relationship with God and gave advice to accomplish this daily. I loved how there were everyday examples in this book that I was able to relate to and were similar to my struggles. There were parts that I felt I was in an economics or sociology class but they always had a point and were brought back to Biblical truths. This book kept my attention and I found it hard to put down at times. One thing that I wish the authors would have included was the location of the scripture verses they included rather than just the author. I would really recommend this book to anyone who wants to pursue a fulfilling relationship with God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>