Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for J Countryman A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal

J Countryman A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal

The perfect pick-me-up devotional for movers, shakers, go-getters, and trailblazers! You'll be encouraged by excerpts from Maxwell's best-selling Leadership Promises for Every Day---addressing key issues such as success, stewardship, teamwork, and mentoring. And you'll appreciate the extra space to record your own insights and reflections. Learn how to unlock your potential with God's help! 384 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal
Review 1 for A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for leaders everywhere

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
kaeb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a leader it's important that you evaluate as well as take care of your personal life. This 365 daily devotional enables you to take time and focus on you. It encourages you, makes you evaluate yourself as a leader, gives stories of leaders in the Bible and challenges you to become more like the ultimate leader- God. As a leader I was encouraged as I spent time reading and reflecting on myself for once knowing that ultimately God would use me in some way. If there is a leader in your life, they could benefit from this as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Leader's Heart

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bob G
Location:Eastern NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“A Leader’s Heart 365-Day Devotional Journal” is a wonderful collection of Bible verses, excerpts from John Maxwell’s works and journaling prompts for the reader’s own thoughts.
Each month has a different theme such as “Effective, Godly leadership means giving what you have so that God may be glorified in all you do,” “Leadership is more art than science. The principles of leadership are constant, but the application changes with every leader and every situation” and “Commitment is the one quality above all others that enable a potential leader to become a successful leader.”
Each day’s brief devotion fleshes out those thoughts.
The book is handsomely bound and has a presentation page. It would make a nice gift for any leader.
I post these reviews as a member of Thomas Nelson’s Book Review Blogger Program. I receive a free copy of the book, but am not required to give a positive review. Check it out at www.booksneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Leader's Heart

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As someone moving towards leadership I found this devotional inspiring. Each day is a section from one of John Maxwell’s books on Leadership. Maxwell relates to leaders, struggles, joys, frustrations, etc in this book. It is great that each day is to the point and applies principles from his other books and would be a great reference book.
It is a great book for a Pastor in your life or anyone in leadership. I would recommend reading this and using it as a tool to aid your devotional time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eric Dickey
At first glance, A Leader's Heart 365 Devotional Journal by John Maxwell appears to be a book that belongs in a library of vintage books, as the book itself is quite lovely to look at and hold in your hands. After reading through this devotional however, the book deserves a place on your desk, or nightstand, or wherever you may read and meditate on what you read.For anyone having a leadership role in life, this book dispenses 365 days of thought provoking words of wisdom that are intricately tied into that day's particular choice of Biblical scripture located at the top of each page. Each day's devotion is written so that it can be read quickly, and with the space at the bottom of the page, designed to be used as a journal to think on what was written and how it can, or does apply to the reader's life.Classified as a gift book, whether you would purchase this as a gift for a leader you know, or for yourself, this is a book that should not just sit on a shelf, but needs to be read and written in. This is a book that will be enjoyed, one day at a time.Please note that Thomas Nelson Publishing has provided me a complimentary copy of this book for my review; however, the opinions are my own. I have not been required to publish a positive review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daryl Neipp
If you are a fan of Maxwell, youll like this daily devotional book. There isnt anything new here but it will allow you to review things you probably havent read in a while and need to revisit. Along with a leadership principle, each day provides a related verse of Scripture and a question with space for reflection.This would also make a nice gift book or addition to your coffee table.In an attempt to provide full disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary G.
I received a pre-release review copy of this book and I was quite interested in reading it. Maxwell is well-known for his self-help books and is obviously a good Christian man. I really tried to like this book. Honest, I really did. But after reading this book, I jsut can't like it. I just think it's trying to be everything and ends up being nothing.The binding -- why have a sewn-in, keep the book forever, type of binding but then have lines for writing in your thoughts (which would change over time). Also, and this is a pet peeve when many of these: the lines are too few and too narrow to allow much soul-searching.The "meditations" -- having both scripture and Maxwell quotes on each page is a bit daunting. The scripture quotes are deep enough without adding the Maxwell thoughts. And then on top of that, to have a question with lines to answer -- that's ALOT of work. And the book is a DAILY devotional. When would I have time to pray or do anything!Third, and this may be because I'm a Catholic, but I don't Maxwell's emphasis on everyone being leaders and growing the pyramid ... Jesus told us to follow Him; those who are usually the "bad guys" in the Bible are the leaders who forget who is truly in charge. Leadership, in my experience, comes from charitable leading thru word and action.I'm sorry -- I really tried to like this one!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Matt Capps
I do not read many leadership books thoroughly. I tend to ignore the antidotes and stories while looking for the main points and the leadership principles that are being espoused. In my opinion, this is the primary strength of Maxwells new devotional journal A Leaders Heart."The leadership principles are divided into 365 daily leadership devotions, which are concise and clear straight to the point. Each one of the devotions is followed up by a question and space for writing personal reflections. The topics include success, stewardship, teamwork, mentoring, etc. The leadership principles in A Leaders Heart are pulled from 11 of Maxwells other books, so you get the best of his leadership principles in one succinct volume.My primary critique of Maxwells A Leaders Heart involves his application of biblical passages. The challenge is grounded in the fact that this book will primarily be marketed to Christians, plus the word devotion has sub-cultural ties to properly reading and applying Scripture among Christians. One of the usual pitfalls of niche books like this, marketed to Christians, is that Scripture is often used in ways foreign to its primary meaning.Each of the 365 devotions in A Leaders Heart begins with a passage of Scripture. Maxwell then applies that scripture with a leadership focus. The primary problem lies in the fact that for some of the passages a leadership principle can only be vaguely implied as a secondary application, if at all.Without this caveat most readers will not discern this hermeneutical leap. This can be extremely dangerous since there is no explicit Christ-centered focus in this book, which is marketed to Christians. Another concern I have is for the non-Christian reader, there is a hazy call to believe in Jesus, the ultimate leader tagged on at the end.Books like this seem to loose their sincerity when they are bent to fit the literature mold of Americas Christian sub-culture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daryl Neipp
If you are a fan of Maxwell, youll like this daily devotional book. There isnt anything new here but it will allow you to review things you probably havent read in a while and need to revisit. Along with a leadership principle, each day provides a related verse of Scripture and a question with space for reflection.This would also make a nice gift book or addition to your coffee table.In an attempt to provide full disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Leader's Heart: 365-Day Devotional Journal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
i tend to think "leader" and "leadership" and "lead" are among the most over-used words in the Church and ministry. i also tend to think there are more books written on the subject than anyone needs. the "leadership" sections of bookstores are overflowing with titles and selections from all kinds of authors and leadership experts. one of the most read and respected names we'll find in these sections and on these shelves is John Maxwell.A Leader's Heart is a daily devotional and personal journal. the daily readings are made up of Maxwell's concepts and principles, along with beatiful meditations on scripture.A Leader's Heart is like a greatest hits album. the readings are selections from Maxwell's best-selling and most beloved books.each entry is accompanied with space for writing/journaling personal thoughts and reflections. this is an extremely practical and helpful element to the book.the topics covered through the year include stewardship, teamwork, mentoring, success, as well as many others.A Leader's Heart is geared as a gift book towards those in leadership positions. however, the readings are wonderful for anyone and everyone on spiritual journeys and involved in a community of faith serving others.A Leader's Heart is a great book. the readings are informing and inspirational.*Full Disclosure: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson as apart of "Book Sneeze." They give free books to bloggers for honest reviews.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.