Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Time with God for Fathers

Thomas Nelson Time with God for Fathers

Filled with powerful insights into God's Word, this Scripture-led devotional is designed to help fathers foster their faith and offers help and guidance for a hope-filled, daily walk with God. Topical meditations on subjects including wisdom, guidance, and strength; a quick Scripture reference guide to help dads in their day-to-day Christian life; and special prayers, promises, and blessings will encourage family men to spend more time with the Lord. 112 pages; hardcover with elastic band closure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Time with God for Fathers
Review 1 for Time with God for Fathers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Devotional for Fathers!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
GospelScribe
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent and practical devotional for Christian dads. Would have been great if the author had expanded the book beyond the 96 devotional entries. However, the content provided within the existing devotional is wonderful.
All references are to the Almighty and the enabling power of the Holy Spirit! This makes it an excellent read for a Christian man who's into works of the flesh. Every devotional is centered primarily, and exclusively, on the grace of God, rather than the "works" of man.
The devotionals are an encouragement to anyone who has grown "battle weary" with the tough job of raising children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Time with God for Fathers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple but direct

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
dgreegor
Location:MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
**I received this complimentary copy from Booksneeze.com. The opinions and views are my own.**
This little book is a great book for those that would like some thoughts to meditate upon throughout the day. There is no poignant sayings or witty anecdotes. Rather the book is just some simple, but powerfully introspective-causing, thoughts about being a father. I would recommend that a father read this every morning with their personal devotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Time with God for Fathers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Time With God For Fathers," written by Jack Countryman, is a devotional book designed specifically for fathers of faith. This book is designed to enhance the life of a father in such a way that it is passed along to their families.
The choice in devotional categories used is exceptional, as they have the ability to tap into the heart of any father or grandfather causing them to reflect upon their own relationship with God and the effect said relationship has on others.
The categories range from the topic of prayer, the contagiousness of kindness, the act of forgiveness, the necessity of discipline, the confessing of sins, the finding of joy, the need for praise, the correctness of attitude, the releasing of worry, the promises of God, the inevitability of change, and the cultivating of character.
All in all, this devotional book is a recommended read by all seeking to enhance their relationship with God but also within its intended purpose as a gift to pass along to any father, grandfather, or father-to-be on Father's Day or any other day of the year.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Time with God for Fathers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional for Fathers

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shanee
Location:Kingston Springs, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time with God for Fathers by Jack Countryman is a great gift idea for the male role model in your life. It is filled with three months worth of 2-minute devotions. Each day pairs a Bible verse with a unique insight targeted specifically to fathers. The book is a well crafted hard cover with a page marker. The book also includes 6 sections in the back regarding prayer and where to look in the bible in different situations. It covers things from the scriptural responsibilities of fathers to biblical examples of fathers. The final pages in the book are for personal reflections and notes which makes this a complete all-in-one prayer and devotional book for dads.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Time with God for Fathers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice gift for Fathers' Day!

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book, Time with God for Fathers is a nice little devotional to supplement a man’s time with God. It is set up as a little reading for each day, so for about 3 months there is a Scripture passage followed by a very short (one paragraph) discussion of a topic as it relates to that passage. Topics range from prayer to trouble to hope to security, blessings, gratitude, kindness, and many more that will resound with most men today.
The book itself is a nice compact size, with a hard cover and a built-in elastic bookmark, which I especially liked. The back section has several pages of helps (to find certain passages in the Bible on topics such as God’s blessings to fathers, examples of fathers, blessings for fathers, and so forth). There are also several pages at the back with blank lines for note taking.
All in all, I think this book is a nice little gift book. Its discussions are not deep or lengthy, but it’s good for a quick read on timely topics for a man’s life. I’d suggest it as a gift—what a great idea for Father’s Day!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Time with God for Fathers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than I Expected

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
kitkatm
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time with God is a wonderful devotional for father's everywhere. There are 90 devotionals that address issues that father's can relate to and they are charmingly titled as well. Each devotion has it's verse at the top with a quick devotion underneath and a place in the back for notes. The devotions are not dated so there is no pressure to make it a daily devotional. Rather it is to be used as a guide or for circumstantial reference.
This is a small and beautiful book but very well written. The daily encouragement that it delivers is powerful and easy to understand as well. Time with God for Father's is a perfect gift for Father's Day, Christmas and of course birthdays as well. 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Time with God for Fathers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So excited~

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
One Day at a Time
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! I just received this hard cover book in the mail, and I am so excited! :) It is always hard to get my husband something for Father's Day...what do you get the man who has everything, yet needs nothing?
"Time with God for Fathers" is the perfect gift! Taken from the back cover..."Little in life compares with the honor of being called "Dad." A father is his family's foundation, his wife's partner, and his children's hero. Filled with powerful insights into God's Word, this Scripture-led devotional offers help and guidance for a hope-filled, daily walk with Him."
Until I received this in the mail, I wasn't sure it would be what I was looking for. From the first time I laid eyes on it, I could tell it was the "perfect" gift book for the Man I love! My husband is a busy man, teaching 5th grade, and likes to do his devotions during his lunch break at school. Each daily devotion is started with a Scripture and followed by a paragraph or two, easily readable in 5-7 minutes. At the back of the book, there is even a little "notes" section where they can record their thoughts (I know, but some guys really do!).
The only tricky thing now is holding back the book until June, but then again, he does have a birthday coming up in May! We may just have to give it to him then...
This book has earned 5 stars!
**I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Time with God for Fathers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice little book … full of big encouragement

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Granbury, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice little book … full of big encouragement.
In Time With God for Fathers, Jack Countryman presents ninety concise devotionals beginning with relevant scripture references. Scripture references are taken from the New King James Version of the Bible. Devotional topics are presented as pertaining to a father’s role in his family. Topics include worship, obedience, wisdom, fear, trust, gratitude, comfort, strength, discipline, kindness, forgiveness, patience, praise, children, faith, money, honor, godliness, character, encouragement, stress, and personal relationship with God. Following the ninety devotionals are a number of sections with related scripture lists such as “God Listens To A Father’s Prayer When …”, “God’s Promises For Fathers”, “God’s Blessings For Fathers With …”, “Responsibilities Of Fatherhood To …”, “God’s Dynamic Example Of Fathers”, and “Crisis Scripture Guide”.
Though I read an ebook version of this book, having a physical copy would be a blessing to any father, or father-to-be. I would definitely recommend to anyone seeking a great little devotional companion or gift book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Time with God for Fathers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for all Fathers

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Time With God For Fathers -Jack Countryman- April 2011
Are you a single father or a husband? Wanting to spend more time with God but can't seem to fit him into your busy schedule of running around with your children, being the chaffeur , being the Mr. Handyman and working those long hours to provide for you family . With fellow man and Father Jack Countryman's new book "Time with God for Fathers " , it is the perfect tool guide in developing a closer relationship with God. The book Time with God for Fathers is filled with 90 five-minute filled devotionals each with a verse and a short pray and discussion to get your brain moving and your heart pumping for God. At the back of the book, there is a selection of pages each titled with relevant definitions to Fathers and a list of bible verses that follow underneath and of course as we all like taking down notes on what we have read , in order to flick back at a later time and observe , there is a few pages and a section especially for Notes.
So Fathers what are you waiting for , head out now and purchase your Time with God for Fathers by Jack Countryman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.