Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope

Thomas Nelson The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope

From supernovas' expanding halos of light and jewel-like galaxies floating in space to alien planets orbiting distant stars, NASA's Hubble telescope has captured God's handiwork. Take a breathtaking tour of the Creator's universe as you view these stunning Hubble photographs paired with inspiring quotes from Francis Chan, Mike Huckabee, Max Lucado, and others. 176 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Review 1 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The heavens indeed proclaim the glory of God

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
simon94
Location:The Netherlands
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real amazing pictures of space in this book, revealing the glory of God to us. It's really amazing! Our God is an awesome God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Proud to add this to my library.

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ginger
Location:Lewistown, MT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was astonished that this lovely 'work of art' was so reasonable. The book is high quality and the delivery service prompt and efficient. Thank you for superb service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is fanastic in every way

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Webb
Location:Clarkesville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pictures are beautiful and the writings are an inspiration to all who read them. I would recommend the book for anyone who enjoys seeing God's beautiful creation throughout the universes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful pictures with Bible verses that enhance

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryJV
Location:wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Giving the books for gifts. I was very pleased with the book, pictures and scripture references.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane R. Walker
Location:West Mifflin PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A unique way to display space photos with scripture references. Excllent quiet time reading for all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! Breathtaking!

Date:January 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Heavens Proclaim His Glory is a beautiful gift book that will leave readers with more astounding awe for the wonders of God's creation and for the power of God, the Creator. Every page wowed me. Thanks to the Hubble Space Telescope and all the people behind its operation, the images of stars, nebulas, planets, galaxies, and more are available for us to view and enjoy. The beauty, complexity, and magnitude of the heavens are definitely mind-boggling. I enjoyed pondering the Bible verses and insightful words from many well-respected Christians, while admiring all the incredibly breathtaking photographs and learning about the facts. I praise God for His love, grace, mercy, and creativity...for allowing us to be included in His creation and to enjoy His handiwork. God has truly blessed us with wonders beyond words and delight beyond description. I cannot imagine how anyone could possibly read this book and still not believe in God. Creation loudly, clearly, inevitably, undeniably testifies to the existence of the Creator/the Master Designer. I love this book and highly recommend it. In my opinion, it is one of the loveliest gift books/coffee table books I've ever seen :). Great gift for any astronomy lovers by the way!
~ I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program, in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for all ages

Date:December 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angie Washington
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Be transported through time and space as you take in the images found in “The Heavens Proclaim His Glory”. A compilation of spectacular photographs taken by the Hubble Telescope accompanied by comprehensive descriptions, scripture and quotes make this a book you will return to over and over. While it could serve as a nice coffee table book the size allows even children to easily look through the fascinating pages. The technical and scientifically accurate information presented from a creationist view allows you to rediscover the wonder of the heavens as they proclaim the glory of God. Thoroughly enjoyable book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beth Pederson
After having finished a road trip vacation around some of God's Handiwork I was pleasently surprised to read and more importantly linger on the pages of this book. There are amazing pictures of creation taken through the Lens of the Hubble Telescope. Not only are the pictures amazing but the sleection of words with pictures are well thought out and placed thoughout the book. There are so many wonderful combinations of words and photos that it is hard to pick favorites. It is profound to think of "more stars in the universe than there are grains of sand on the beaches of the world" as stated by Joni Eareckson Tada. And what beautiful "snapshots reveal dramative activities within the core of the galaxy NGC 3079."I would say for me personally the scriptures are descriptive of the photos and the quotes from various Christian authors add to the photos as well. I liked the end of the book where the history of both photos and contributing authors are summarized. This would be a great addition to a family room coffee table and would also make a wonderful gift book for a friend. The Heavens do indeed proclam His Glory thoughout the beauty of this book!To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I also must say that the opinions are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth May
Book sneeze sent me another book! This one is just lovely too! It has glorious full color pages of star scapes with Biblical and Christian minded quotes. This is not a challenging book, it is instead a feel good book.Personally I think the book is lovely. It isn't one to push you into new thoughts or concepts and the pictures are so pretty. It is perfect for a coffee table, so I would recommend it as a gift at a house warming. It isn't bound by one doctrine or another, from what I can see, so it would be a good gift to many different denominations. (Oh and if you want to receive and review Christian books for free on your blog check Book Sneeze out! I love the fact that they want you to be completely honest about what you think too!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cara Gabrielse
Abraham Lincoln said, I can see how it might be possible for a man to look down upon the earth and be an atheist, but I cannot conceive how he could look up into the heavens and say there is no God.Its also inconceivable that someone could read, The Heavens Proclaim His Glory, and not be wooed by Gods incredible creation. Filled with hundreds of photos taken from the Hubble telescope and quotes from renowned people of faith, science, and philosophy, this book will make your mind spin and your heart flutter. Lisa Stillwell has done an amazing job compiling photos and quotes that show science and faith do not need to be at odds with each other. More than a great coffee table book, or a wonderful gift for someone who loves space, this is also a devotional filled with Scripture and an artful display of worship that can be used to proclaim Gods majesty and glory. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doreen
I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program and had the opportunity to review the book, 'The Heavens Proclaim His Glory~A spectacular view of creation through the lens of the Hubble Telescope'. I couldn't wait to receive this book and review it! Our world displays God's work--by land, sea, animals and plants. In the sky, heavens and universe, you'll be able to see our Father's amazing creation! The pictures are astounding via the Hubble Telescope. You'll witness the Magnificient Beauty of our world! Once you see these pictures, you realize how small you are in the vast scheme of His power and might. There are Scriptures and quotes by Joni Eareckson Tada, Max Lucado and many others weaved throughout this beautiful book! Here are just a few quotes that I meditated upon: "We know about beauty because God, the Ultimate First Cause of Everything, is also beautiful...to the humble and worshipful of heart...every tiny piece of creation reminds them of the magnificent Genius who fashioned it all. No item of creation, be it ever so beautiful, can convey the infinite beauty of the Source." ~Kevin Hartnett."You need a Yahweh. You need a God who can place 100 billion stars in our galaxy and 100 billion galaxies in the universe. You need a God who can shape two fists of flesh into 75-100 billion nerve cells, each with as many as 10,000 connections to other nerve cells, place it in a skull, and call it a brain. You need a God who can come in the soft of night and touch you with the tenderness of April snow. You need a Yahweh."~ Max LucadoI really recommend this book and you'll fall in love all over again with the Creator, Father of our universe. Enjoy and be blessed!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
The Heavens Proclaim His GloryWhat an interesting and awe inspiring book! The Heavens Proclaim His Glory is an apt title for this collection of photos from space. Each picture is brilliant, colorful, and amazing. I like the mix of Bible scripture with facts about the stars, galaxies, and other wonders of the universe featured within. I think anyone who is interested in factual information would find this book to contain quite a bit. I most like the fact that even if you are not necessarily interested in outer space as a science, you can still enjoy the wonders of God as portrayed in the beautiful photos. I have two sons, age thirteen and five, and they were each able to enjoy this book even given the difference in age between them. This would be a great book for the whole family to talk about and enjoy! I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
The Heavens Proclaim His Glory is a book that shows pictures of the universe taken with the Hubble telescope. They start off with a quote from Abraham Lincoln, I can see how it might be possible for a man to look down upon the earth and be an atheist, but I cannot conceive how he could look up into the heavens and say there is no God.When you think about how intricate everything is around us it can only lead you to believe that is was the deliberate work of a creator. Each picture is accompanied by a biblical quote or saying from people such as Max Lucado, Mike Huckabee, Kirk Cameron and many more.I really enjoyed looking through this book and reading what was with each page. Although some of the pictures seem to be put together in a photo program, I highly recommend this book. You can place this on your coffee table for others to read when they visit. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eric
A picture is worth a thousand words does not come close to describing The Heavens. Picture after picture revealing Gods creation beyond our comprehension is what you will find in this book. The pictures alone stir up praise and awe of our Creator. You cannot possibly go through this book and not gasp at the splendor of our King. We live on this earth and yet God created so much more. The expanse of the solar system and galaxies beyond our comprehension are revealed to us through The Heavens. The addition of Scripture and quotes from well known Christian authors and others are not even needed. However, they do add another dimension to the book that tries to put it all in perspective. This book is a must have for anyone who teaches on any level at a church. It is sure to stir up much conversation and even help show just how big God is. Obviously God cannot be limited to the pages I this book, but The Heavens does do Creation justice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debby
Have you ever looked up at a night sky and marvelled at the moon and stars? I have and this book is a spectacular view of creation through the lens of the Hubble telescope. This is an inspirational book that shows our Heavenly Father's handiwork, after reading the book I dare anyone to deny that God is our Creator. The book is filled with beautiful pictures taken by the Hubble telescope. This book would make a wonderful gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Larri at Seams Inspired
If you are looking for a fabulous gift, pick up a copy of The Heavens Proclaim His Glory. Created and compiled by Lisa Stilwell, this book uses images from the Hubble Telescope to celebrate the magnificence of space and creation. Though intended as an adult read, I was initially drawn to this book because of my childrens love for space and science. Wanting to encourage their explorations of the science world while maintaining an open-minded aspect of Creationism, this book does not disappoint. The cover is stunning, and it draws you in immediately to leaf through the pages. The glossy pages are high quality, with a sturdy hardback cover that is bound together with stitching to ensure you can lay open the pages to one of your favorite snapshots of the universe. From the moment this book entered my home, it has been flipped through and fought over. While the pages engage conversation and wonder from children, the quotes and poetic thoughts inspire the readers to sit back and ponder the heavens. Not only will you read encouraging quotes from the likes of Abraham Lincoln to Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, you will also find factual data describing the Hubble photographs. My older children have absorbed quite a bit of information regarding galaxies and nebulas. The Heavens Proclaim His Glory is beautiful, thought provoking, and awe inspiring; and will be enjoyed by children and adults alike. Hours will be spent pouring over the pages and contemplating the infinite universe. Enjoy getting lost in your discovery!Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
I was so happy to receive this book! The cover is beautiful and makes you want to open it up and look into it! I was amazed at the quality of the photos in this book. It truly made me realize how much work and love God put into creating this world! The photos are taken by Nasa and shows different images such as the stars,planets and the world viewed from Nasa Lens. There is a wonderful qoute that matches up with each picture and a Bible Verse that goes good with it! The qoutes are from people such as Abraham Lincoln to Kirk Cameron! It would be a wonderful gift as well for someone who is into space and from a Christian point at that!! I would recommend this book for your own viewing pleasure or as a nice gift to someone! It is nicely made and of good quality,they took their time in making this and it really makes you ponder things! Good things!! I recieved this book from booksneeze.com and opinion is complety my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeff
'The Heavens Proclaim His Glory', created and compiled by Lisa Stilwell, was quite a surprise. I expected more of a 'coffee-table' type picture book. It was much more than that. Yes, the pictures were amazing, but along with the beautiful pictures you learn about science and creation, as well as reading scripture from the bible and inspirational quotes from great speakers and authors. Some of the contributors were Anne Graham Lotz, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, John Macarthur, Abraham Lincoln and Max Lucado. The book was full of information on the beautiful sights in space and how they are created, with the pictures having been taken from the Hubble Telescope. There was also a lot of information on the telescope, which was very interesting as well. "The Heavens Proclaim His Glory" was a great book, and I feel I came away inspired, as well as educated on our night sky. This book would be a great gift for a wide range of ages, from school-age up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
The Heavens Proclaim His Glory uniquely combines science and creation. Every page beautifully displays amazing pictures from NASA's Hubble Telescope. Scripture and selections from Christian authors (including Francis Chan, Anne Graham Lotz, John MacArthur, Max Lucado, Patsy Clairmont, Franklin Graham and more) bring constant attention to God's role as Creator of the entire, intricately-designed universe. Science would have been a lot more fun with pictures like these to illustrate the concepts of "space." My only complaint is that the book was a little long (176 pages) for a gift book.I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it as a teaching tool or just for your own enjoyment. It would also be a great book to guide personal prayer and worship time as the Scriptures included are some of my favorites (if you can have "favorite" Scriptures)!I received a FREE copy of this book from Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze Blogger Review program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurie
The Heavens Proclaim His Glory is a compilation of fascinating facts, interesting quotes, and breathtaking pictures. To capture the essence of Gods handiwork in a book would be nearly impossibleIm sure that was one of the thoughts running through Lisa Stilwells mind as she compiled this book. The pictures, taken from the Hubble Telescope, along with the details given on each page, absolutely points the reader in the direction of God. All glory is given to the Creator, not the creation, as it should be. The Heavens Proclaim His Glory would make a great gift for any age group. My 4th grade son thought the pictures of the stars and galaxies were "cool", while my husband, who is a High School Science teacher thought the book was intriguing. This book would make a great addition to any home library and would definitely compliment a Space unit or lapbook in Science! Keep in mind, this is not a book you can sit down and read in one setting. It is quite lengthy. The only drawback for me was the scripture within was not King James Version. It was taken from SEVERAL other versions. That bothered me and I found myself looking up the verses to see what the Bible actually said (my opinion, of course).So, buy the book and read it for yourself. You will definitely come away with new information and a new respect for our Savior!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>