Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for J Countryman Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You

J Countryman Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You

Whether you're facing everyday frustrations or long-term struggles with fear, insecurity, or a painful past, Walsh takes you by the hand and helps you build an unbridled trust in the One who gives hope, healing, peace, and redemption. Each of her daily devotions includes a real-life meditation, thought-provoking questions, and journaling space. 224 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You
Review 1 for Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jump-start the day with this insightful devotional

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley M. Corder
Location:Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
User submitted photo
This book can best be summarized by the words on the back cover: "Delightful and insightful, Sheila Walsh shares life-learned trust that says, "I don't know where you're going today, Lord, but I'm going with you!"
This book contains over 100 morning devotional readings. Each begins with the words, "Good morning, Lord! Today help me to . . . " The message that follows combines personal anecdotes with Scriptural insight. The author follows the story section with questions designed to get you to think deeply about your own life and apply the message you've just read. Some of these are tough questions, with no yes/no answers. Space is provided for readers to journal their answers. Sheila ends each message with a short prayer, and a verse or two of Scripture.
As a devotional writer myself, I have a high standard for such books. The readings have more depth than is often the case in devotional books. The questions caused me to dig deep, and gave me substance for reflective prayer. I found the questions more challenging than normal, which I liked. I also appreciated the Scripture coming at the end of the meditation, confirming the truths I had just read.
Although the readings are mostly suitable for men and women alike, the appearance of the book limits it to women. I would recommend this book as a gift, particularly to women going through difficult times. On the back cover, Sheila promises to jump-start your day with a God-sized adventure, and that is what she does in this attractive, hard-covered book. The unusual glossy hard cover with an embossed finish makes this book a lovely gift for the woman who likes to think about what she is reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Morning, Lord!

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bess
Location:USA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know about you, but I'm not a morning person. When Book Sneeze provided me with a free copy of Good Morning, Lord by Sheila Walsh in exchange for my honest review, I knew it would be interesting. Can a devotional possibly change how I feel about mornings?
The book is designed to be read daily & is geared toward women. Each devotional begins with a header reading “Good Morning, Lord!” + a larger header that works as the lead-in to the devotional itself. Every devotional is about 2 paragraphs (very short, easy to read, & to the point), followed by a couple journaling questions with space for writing directly in the book, a short prayer, & a Bible verse (all of which go along with the main reading). The book also has a presentation page perfect for gift purposes, as well as a lovely embossed floral hardcover.
Okay, so has reading this devotional made me a morning person? No. But I have felt a closeness to God, a peace, & delight in knowing Him more while reading this devotional. Sheila Walsh’s words are easily relatable & full of Biblical truths that we need reminding of. These devotionals are very short & would likely take at the most 10 minutes (if you go in depth with the journaling questions). I have to admit, I most often read the devotionals at night. I know, I know, if I could wake up a little earlier in the mornings I could fit it into that dreaded time of the day, & who knows I just might become a morning person after all. Either way, this devotional is a great place to spend some time with the Maker of dawn, dusk, & every nook & cranny in between.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than Just a Pretty Cover

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the Back Cover
Good Morning, Lord: I Don’t Know Where You’re Going Today But I’m Going with You will jumpstart your day with a God-sized adventure. You’ll discover a journey filled with truth, tears, and laughter – a journey so rich that no matter where He leads, you’re sure to follow.
My Review
I really enjoyed this devotional book. I, generally, find these types of devotional fluffy, nice stories but not real depth to them. The author does a great job of giving a relevant, impacting story that she then ties into your personal life. Sheila begins each statement with a simple phrase, “Good morning, Lord!” She follows it with a statement of faith and determination that always starts with, “Today I will…” what follows will encourage and challenge you. She drives home these God truths in the story that will challenges the reader. But she doesn’t stop with a story. She follows the story with questions about times you may have faced a similar situation or how you can apply these Biblical truths to your personal life. There is a place to write answers to these often hard questions she asks. She provides a short, but meaningful prayer of commitment and then finishes each devotion with a scripture passage to reinforce the application.
I would like to thank Thomas Nelson for providing this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Villalpando
Good Morning, Lord I Dont know Where Youre Going Today, But Im Going With You. by Shelia WalshTalented author and Women of Faith speaker, Sheila Walsh has written a delightful devotional. Walsh shows us the heart of God in easy to read stories. The short descriptive narratives are just the right amount to get you mediating on the goodness of God with space to write down your own thoughts. If you want to learn to trust God daily in a fun and interesting way I recommend this devotional. Per the recent FTC ruling, I am required to inform you that I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze Blogger program in return for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather Berrien
What a lovely book and a wonderful journal, too. I have to admit, the cover of this book drew me in, I love the colors. This book would make a lovely gift!Once I began reading, I just knew this book was meant for me. Once again, I receive a book that speaks to me, at a point in my life when I need to listen.Sheila Walsh encourages you to write in this book/journal - writing has always been an outlet for me. I love that this book gives the reader a daily verse on which to reflect. And, Ms. Walsh speaks about the daily frustrations, struggles, fears that women face on a daily basis. This book encourages the reader to not only reflect on those struggles, but remember that we are not alone. God is with us and we can rely on Him. I learned more about myself by reading this book and using the journal.I highly recommend this book! I know that I will be returning to this book over and over again, to re-read the passages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
I am so thankful to Thomas Nelson Publishers for sendingGood Morning, Lord for my review. This is just the kind of book I love! Its a keeper Ill probably reread several times.Good Morning, Lord is a daily devotional written by Sheila Walsh to help us say, you guessed it, Good Morning, Lord! as we begin each daywhenever we happen to begin our day. (Youll find no guilt or pressure here.) Each devotional begins with a proclamationand the first one went right along with the theme of my blog: Today I will look for evidence that you are in everything I encounter. How fun is that?! It made me happy.Following that statement is a short devotional, then two thought-provoking questions with space for journaling. After that we find a short prayer and a Bible verse taken from the New King James Version. The devotionals arent numbered, but there look to be about 108.I especially like the look and feel of the book. Its an attractively designed and embossed hardcover, with the shape and feel of a nice journal. Id highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a nice gift for a friend and to anyone looking for a simple way to encourage a new or fresh devotional habit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy L
I'll read anything Sheila Walsh writes. This is a great book which I intend to use as a morning devotional. Each day has a prayer/affirmation, a short story related to the topic, questions (thank you for giving us space to write...), a prayer and Scripture. Simple, to the point, wonderful.For my review purposes, I skipped around and didn't read from front to back. Everything I read seemed like it was touching on something I have been dealing with or praying about. How does she do that? That's why I'll always read anything she writes!l
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Good Morning Lord is a great little daily devotional by Shelia Walsh. Each brief reading is followed by several thought provoking question with ample space to answer each. I like the variety of topics that are included in this book. Each starts with Good morning Lord! Today I will and touches upon many areas of ones relationship with God, such as being faithful in hard times, not judging others, and being thankful. I love that each daily reading is just long enough to really get at the heart of the subject, while still being short enough that it is actually doable on a busy morning. Shelia Walshs humor and wisdom really shine through on each page, and her personal stories are often both amusing and touching. There is a Bible verse and prayer at the end of each reading as well, which helps to make it feel like a well rounded and meaningful time with the Lord. The only suggestion I would offer for improvement would be to include references to additional scripture that touches on each days topic. I received this copy from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Good Morning, Lord: I Don't Know Where You're Going Today But I'm Going with You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
You will never go wrong with a book from Sheila Walsh. I have yet to pick one up that has not blessed my heart and enriched my life. Need a powerful boost in your walk with Christ? Need an uplifting moment to set you on your way to begin your day? This devotional is for you my friend. I love it! Sheila is one to open her heart to other women who are struggling with everyday matters. Sheila gives us valuable information that points us right to our Savior. Today our hearts are filled with such pain and despair. We don't know where to turn or what to do. Sheila reminds us the Lord is here with us. Sheila has a way of bringing our despair into valuable treasures that only lead us on a greater walk with the Lord. We are never alone. This is one you too will love. It would be a great gift and one to add to your collection as well. I am so thankful this book came when it did. Simply powerful stuff!This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.robinsnest66.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.