Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for J Countryman God's Promises for Women of Faith

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

J Countryman God's Promises for Women of Faith

Inspirational collection of God's promises for Women of Faith is pretty on the outside with trendy print and ribbon trim, but inside is brimming bytes of Scripture to refresh your soul. Includes presentation page; plan of Salvation at the back; categorized into 12 relevant categories; 6.75" x 5"; hardcover gift book.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Review 1 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Inspirational Book for Women

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marg
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
God's Promises for Women of Faith by J Countryman is a gift book. It is divided into 12 categories and each category has smaller subheadings. Some of these include God Blesses Women When They..., God Helps Women to Grow By..., Dynamic Women of Faith. Each subheading has scripture passages from the New King James Version listed under it. This is a very simple and straight-forward book, easy to find passages relating to each topic.
From the introduction: "Scripture is full of the promises of God. The problem is we forget! What we need is a reminder, which I trust you'll find in this little book of God's enormous promises."
This book was actually not very interesting for me. I felt that it was just a book that listed a number of pertinent Bible passages under each heading. I think I would prefer to find encouragement and inspiration by actually opening up the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God’s Promises for Women of Faith, J. Countryman

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
nmtracy
Location:Phoenix
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God’s Promises for Women of Faith by J. Countryman Floral Cover is a great book for gift-giving with a presentation page (as well as a gift for yourself). It has a nice decorative hardcover with pink ribbon trim and blue font. There are twelve topics with many sub topics including "Seeking Him", "Growing in Him", "Obeying Him", as well as topics in adversity, rest, trust, joy and much more. 196 pages of promises for yourself or someone you love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faithful Promises of God in one Little handy Book

Date:November 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ashley
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After receiving this beautifully made God’s Promises for Women of Faith book I couldn’t wait to open it up. I was pleasantly surprised at the way the authors have put this book together. The most favorable concept in this book is the fully loaded pages with nothing but scripture. There is a topic for everything in life; the great thing in this book is the accessibility. Including, being able to finding the perfect promises of God that meet my needs at that particular moment. Most of the time it takes me longer to find all the scriptures to meet a certain topic; I am trying to study. With this book it gives you an index in the beginning; from there it’s simple and quick. I am also able to fit this in my purse and carry to school and work with me. It comes in handy when I have free time sitting in my car.
I enjoyed reading these "tributes" to such faithful women. Following this section are lined pages for the reader to enter notes about "Verses That Are Special To Me." The book ends with a final section entitled "God's Plan of Salvation" - two pages of life saving, life altering scriptures that outline the plan to eternal life with God.
Also, I would recommend giving this as a gift to any women of God, or any women searching for the truth!
*****I received this book free from BookSneeze as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. *****
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty lil Scripture book

Date:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doreen
Location:Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
'God's Promises For Women of Faith' has a beautiful cover and a lovely ribbon on the side. This book is perfect for your daily Bible reading! These Scriptures will prove to help women walk in His Word, comfort them, encourage and so much more! There's a section for 'Dynamic Women of Faith' which includes: Mary (Mother of Jesus), Elizabeth (Mother of John the Baptist), Sarah (Wife of Abraham, Hannah (Mother of Samuel), Ruth (Great Grandmother of David) and Lydia (Seller of Purple). I was imo surprised to see Lydia there and not Esther. To me, Esther definitely should've been listed as a 'Dynamic Woman of Faith'. There's a section at the end of the book where you can write down the verses that are special to you and God's Plan of Salvation is there as well. This book is small enough to put in your handbag and off you go. Great for on the go and when things come up, you can just pull it right out and read the Scriptures that pertain to your situation. So, overall this book is handy and I love it! As a member of Thomas Nelson’s Book Review Blogger program , I had the opportunity to review this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A treasure of a book

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
beverly Grider
Location:Moore, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised when I received this book in the mail. I knew it was a "gift book"/devotional and as such thought it would be filed with pleasing pictures, some Biblical scriptures and "fluff" meant to be inspiring. This book is anything but fluff.
The book is compact in size (196 pages), so can be easily slipped into a purse, diaper bag, or desk drawer at work to be read when you feel the need for God's words. The book starts with an introduction from Mary Graham of "Women of Faith." From there, it is broken into different sections and sub-sections (i.e. God's Plan for Women Is to... 1. Worship Him, 2. Obey Him, etc.), with each containing well laid-out, inspiring and uplifting scriptures ~ "Oh, worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness! Tremble before Him, all the earth." ~ Psalm 96:9
God Delights in Women Who Are...Seeking Him ~ "If you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved." ~ Romans 10:9
God Encourages Each Woman To...Cherish Being A Friend ~ "A friend loves at all times, And a brother is born for adversity." ~ Proverbs 17:7
Each section contains wonderful and diverse scriptures from the Bible that are so fitting for not only women but anyone as they take their daily walks with God. The book can be used as daily Bible reading or a quick reference when in need of God's promises for us. There is a section toward the end of the book entitled "Dynamic Women of Faith" and includes scriptures about such six wonderful women as Mary - Mother of Jesus, Elizabeth - Mother of John the Baptist, and Sarah - Wife of Abraham. I enjoyed reading these "tributes" to such faithful women. Following this section are lined pages for the reader to enter notes about "Verses That Are Special To Me." The book ends with a final section entitled "God's Plan of Salvation" - two pages of life saving, life altering scriptures that outline the plan to eternal life with God.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this little treasure of a book and highly recommend it to everyone.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent help

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an adorable book! When I received the book I instantly fell in love with the cover, it reminds me of a scrapbook, quite cute!
I was more expecting a devotional booklet rather than a book full of scriptures. But honestly I think I like this way more than if it was a devotional. I love reading devotionals, but I think we sometimes lean too heavily on reading about God's word instead of getting into God's word. I love how the book has so many different sections (God walks with women through failure, praise His goodness, etc...) that organize the scripture into themes. It makes it simple for those times where we need specific encouragement and are able to find it right away!
I highly recommend this book, my copy is already well worn (and I've only had it for a short while!) and has become an invaluable part of my devotional walk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
H G
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God's Promises for Women of Faith by Jack Countryman is a wonderful book. I will start with the cover of this book. I absolutely love it! It's very lovely and eye catching. The best part of this book though is the fact that it is full of scriptures. There are many different topics, so I really appreciated that. I love seeing scriptures categorized like this because I can reference them later at any time. It is wonderful for when you're feeling down and you really need a lift. It's great to be able to reference this book at those times. This book knows exactly which scriptures will speak to you at that very moment depending on how you're feeling that day. I also really like there are pages provides for prayer requests, so it can definitely be used as a journal as well. Another great thing about this book is the fact that its small in size, so I can carry it around with me during the day. I love being able to reference this book at any time during the day and even write down my thoughts and prayer requests in those extra blank pages that are provided. God's Promises for Women of Faith was a gift from Thomas Nelson Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee
Do you have a friend who is hurting? God's Promises for Women of Faith by Jack Countryman is the perfect resource to help you touch her heart with words of hope and healing.This beautiful gift book shares God's Word by organizing verses into twelve key sections, such as God Teaches Women to Walk in His Word by or God Blesses Women When They. Each of those sections includes its own subtitles.One of my favorite sections was God Walks with Women: Through Heartache, Through Adversity, Through Danger, Through Impatience, Through Disappointment, Through Failure. Just the categories under that one heading alone seemed to encompass every area of a woman's life!This easy-to-use volume would also be an encouragement for you. Buy one for a friend and one for yourself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee
Psalm 25:11 says, A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.Do you have a friend who is hurting? God's Promises for Women of Faith by Jack Countryman is the perfect resource to help you touch her heart with words of hope and healing.This beautiful gift book shares God's Word by organizing verses into twelve key sections, such as God Teaches Women to Walk in His Word by or God Blesses Women When They. Each of those sections includes its own subtitles.One of my favorite sections was God Walks with Women: Through Heartache, Through Adversity, Through Danger, Through Impatience, Through Disappointment, Through Failure. Just the categories under that one heading alone seemed to encompass every area of a woman's life!This easy-to-use volume would also be an encouragement for you. Buy one for a friend and one for yoursel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Dyck
This book is written:Entirely in direct quotes from the BibleIn a straight forward manner as the author has categorized the promises into 12 different sections starting with Gods Plan for Women and ending with Dynamic Women of Faith. So there is a promise given to women in many situations from comfort, blessings, growing and walking and gaining self confidence. The author has only needed to organize the headings and includes 6 different issues in each category.It is a small sized book 6 by 4 and as such could fit into a womens purse and be handy for reading just the right passage as needed throughout the day, i.e.: Cherish Being a Friend, Offer Encouragement, Power to Defeat Fear, Face the Years Ahead, Failure. Confidence and the list goes on.The books introduction is written by Mary Graham and in this introduction Gloria Gaithers name is also mentioned. So one can only assume it is Gloria who has written the table of contents. So I was disappointed to read on the Thomas Nelson website the books author is actually a man Jack Countryman. However nowhere in the book is this name written.The book also includes 3 blank pages at the end for the reader to write their own notes. This will definitely be a start in the reader journaling her responses to any issues they are encountering.This book could be improved by:Providing a ribbon bookmark to mark your spotProviding a way to mark the places in the book that are specially written to bring meaning to your lifeI rated this book 4 stars simply because it is directly quoted from the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melanie
God's Promises for Women of Faith by Jack Countryman has been such an incredible blessing to me. The book is divided up into a total of 13 main sections with the last being the plan of Salvation. Each main section is then subdivided to provide an easier way to find those verses that you need. One of the main sections is "God Walks with Women.Through Impatience". There were 8 verses given and while each spoke directly to my heart, two really caused me to stop and really think. The first was Exodus 33:14, "He said, 'My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest." The other verse is well known and found in Isaiah 40:31, "Those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint." After reading those verses I stopped in my tracks because I felt the Lord getting my attention and gently chastising me for not keeping Him number one in my life. I could give countless other examples of how this book has already spoken to me in such a short time, but I want you to get into it and find the truth that God has waiting for you! Every "Woman of Faith" needs this book---it's the perfect size to have in your purse and pull out whenever you or someone else may need some encouragement. Thank you Booksneeze for another wonderful book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Monique
Women of Faith have provided Christian women with a devotional-type book perfect for gift-giving, but also very useful for yourself. This book takes all the promises that God has made to his daughters, and divides them into categories, which makes them easier to find than if they were simply divided by the book of the Bible they were written in.God's Promises for Women of Faith allows a woman to read several scriptures as part of her daily time spent with God, or she can use it when she's feeling low, and needs to read God's word about her specific circumstances. Instead of searching the Bible for the specific verses she needs, she can review the Table of Contents to find the particular topic. Whether she needs help encouraging another woman, handle financial issues, or simply rejoicing over the Lord, she can find it here.Along with the layout of the book, I really like the cover. That pink stripe you see down the left side of the book? That's really a piece of ribbon. It makes the book look scrapbook-y, which I really like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trisha
God's promises for women of faith, by Jack Countryman. This is a colourful little hardcover book, filled with scriptures from the KJV bible on different aspects of life. It also has a little section for notes and talks about women of the Bible. I found the book to be very cute, I loved the cover. I wasn't too thrilled to find it was in KJV, but thats just a personal preference. Its obviously not a devotional, at best its a gift book or a "pick me up" book for a friend! I had expected more out of it, but that was probably a mistake on my part. I was hoping that it would be in a more devotional format and its not. I would definately give this to a friend for a gift, but as for my personal library I probably wouldn't buy it for myself. If you have those women in your life that just love "girly" stuff, then this book would most definately be suited to them!! As I said it is adorable! I recieved this book for free from Booksneeze in exchange for an unbiased review! Thanks booksneeze!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
debs
This is a great gift book, reference book or just plain encouragement book. The book is hard cover and small enough to fit in any purse, bag or carry in your bible case. It is a book of scriptures in the New King James version. It covers several different subjects and is just scriptures that deal with that subject. It has a great table of contents that you can find what you are looking for very quickly. It also covers verses about dynamic women of the bible.I would recommend to purchase this gift for that friend that always needs to have a verse at certain times, this book will allow them to have those verses right at their finger tips, ready to read at any moment. I really like the end of the book that provides the plan of salvation for anyone to read. It also has a few pages at the end of the book to write notes or your favorite verses.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God's Promises for Women of Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Gods Promises for Woman of FaithA cute little gift book with a fun cover. I could see gifting this little book to a girl friend or female family member. The intended audience is of course Christian woman. I would suggest that, if giving as a gift, making sure the recipient is familiar with the Bible. I say this because the verses used throughout are from the King James Translation and therefore may be slightly less readable than if they had used the NIV. I do think, however, that the use of the KJV does add to the overall beauty of this particular book. This is a nice little book to have around the house to flip through every now and then for a quick faith pick me up. Not a thorough study of Gods promises, but not really meant to be. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.