Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook

Moody Publishing Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Review 1 for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such an Excellent Resource!

Date:May 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
lorealle
Location:pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you've read this blog for very long, you know I'm a promoter of modesty. I think modesty is not just an important trait to instill in our daughters, but to also reflect ourselves. God gave us, as women, the gift of softness, femininity and beauty. It’s our responsibility to convey those without conveying our sexuality. Allow your appearance to reflect your pure and virtuous heart. Know your worth and reflect it on the outside. Your body is a gift from God, honor it as such. I love this quote by Jessica Rey "Modesty isn’t about hiding ourselves, it’s about revealing our dignity".
Our girls being exposed to Cosmo magazines in nearly every checkout line, this publication has steadily declined into a full-on pornographic ‘how to’ guide for teens and vulnerable young girls. Victoria's Secret now targets 18-24 year-olds with the PINK line. Nearly every popular clothing line has low rise jeans, crop tops and plunging necklines. The need for a clear voice on modesty has never been greater. In this book, teen and twenty-something young women are given actual pictures and examples of modern clothing.
Dannah's approach to explaining the critical nature of modest is both cool and relevant. The photos will also show the girls how to take the 'Truth or Bare Fashion Tests.' In essence, this will provide concrete, 'how-to' modest dressing skills. Secret Keeper is a great mother and daughter book.
I was given this book by Moody Publishers for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An extremely timely book in our society.

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
cleo
Location:Elbridge, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a sturdy paperback. It is a quick read, and is very engaging. Mom's, daughter's, bride's-to-be, every women should read this book! It is not a do's and don'ts list, but rather gives guidelines in choosing clothes, and evaluating what you wear before you go out of your bedroom in the morning. It makes you really think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quick - Easy - Clear

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
dmac
Location:Guelph, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book to use for a teen girls Bible study. I was not disappointed in the detailed yet clear message on modesty that Dannah provides in this book. I also was pleased how the book is quick & easy to read, and not over repetitive. It is very clear and to the point. This book has caused me to review my wardrobe as well. A must for ALL women to read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
argspam
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book as a teen, and now that I'm in my 20's and leading a middle school church group full of girls, I bought copies for all of them. I really think every girl should read this. It gives such a thorough, godly perspective on modesty (inside and out), without seeming frumpy or uncool. Dannah Gresh hits the nail right on the head. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely essential!

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
mom4
Location:SA, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for both my daughters in the updated version. Several years ago I had read and reviewed it for our church newsletter. I still think it's one of the best, most practical sources of advice available and wish every teen girl would read it! This edition has an updated intro explaining why the author chose to revise the book and a new middle section of "self-tests" for modesty. I had seen these in another publication by the same author. I disagree slightly with her on one point, but overall this is definitely 5 star, must-read material.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book on feminity and modesty ages 10&up

Date:June 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
SophiW
Location:Church Hill, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book in preparation to help my youngest daughter through her "tween" years and into adolescence. The book is short, to the point, clear, compassionate, and offers realistic solutions that not only enable young ladies to be both fashionable and modest, but also explains to them in no nonsense words WHY they should be modest. Ms. Gresch does not talk down to them, but instead talks to them in a loving and caring manner. I very much like this book and highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tanya
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my sister, but I myself really enjoyed reading it and understanding the #1 thing about modesty. LOVE IT!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Modesy Is Power!

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jewelsy
Location:California
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Secret Keeper
The Delicate Power of Modesty
By Dannah Gresh
Reviewed by Jewelsy
I loved this little book. The pictures and illustrations are trendy and upbeat. In The Secret Keeper , the author addresses the subject of modesty and dressing in a way that is less revealing, yet still fashionable, appealing and not at all like our grandmothers. She talks about the undeniable “allure” that women have. It’s because of this “allure” and by dressing modestly, a woman has the power to cause a man to earn her affections and virtue.
I think the author really hit the nail on the head, and the title could even include, “how to get
a man to marry you”. I highly recommend this book for young women, and teens that are seeking guidance and a little enlightenment on the subject of self portrayal when comes to dressing and behavior.
5 stars for “The Secret Keeper-The Delicate Power of Modesty”,
By Dannah Gresh
Note: I want to thank Moody Publishers for sending me a free review copy of this book to read and review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tamara
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great insights! This book makes you think twice about what are you wearing today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Needed perspective for today's young women.

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betty West
Location:Fremont, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When our society came to the "Y" in the "view of modesty" road, it chose the wrong path. This gentle, yet direct book eases young women back in the right direction with excellent reminders...both Christian and secular, of the consequence of immodesty and the rewards of modesty in all areas of life. Perfect for pre-teens, teens and twenty-somethings as well as older women who need re-direction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.