Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook

Zondervan The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Christian FBI thriller

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An unsolved FBI case of a child’s death prompts best-selling author Kariss Walker to stir up interest as she bases a suspense novel on the situation. Independent Special Agent Tigo Harris is assigned to assist the former news anchor in her pursuit of the girl’s missing mother and resolving the case. Stopping gun smugglers takes higher priority to him, but then the cases become entangled and Kariss’s life endangered. This thriller is based on an actual cold case. It does have more violence than I care to read but not explicit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
msh09
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm looking forward to reading book 2 of this series! Kariss Walker is an author following an FBI agent to learn more about the inner workings of the FBI for her next book. She becomes entrenched in a case and gets herself in some precarious circumstances. I enjoyed the book, though I really thought some of the stupid circumstances she got herself into were a little unbelievable. Overall, it was a great story with fun characters. A book and series I would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Author

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Faith
Location:Orangeville, ON Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have read other books of Diann Mills and really enjoyed them. This book I found to be almost too detailed. There were times where my mind would wonder while reading the book because of the long detailed paragraphs. So not my favorite book...but certainly other books of this author I have really appreciated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Solid 3-star book

Date:September 27, 2012
The Chase was on my "Most Anticipated" list for 2012. It was a good book but not as great as I was hoping. It's the first book in a series, though, so it may have helped to set up the series. I'll definitely check out the next in the series, though. A solid 3-star book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed this book very much.

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Noreen
Location:Pocatello, Idaho
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Chase is an action-packed, suspense-filled, fast-moving novel about a best selling women's fiction writer, Kariss, who decides she wants to try a new genre for her next book, namely suspense, much to her editor's dismay. She has chosen to build her story around the cold case of a murdered child.
In doing research to make her story authentic, she is paired with FBI agent, Tigo, who is also working undercover to expose gangs who are running underground gun operations. This all leads to a lot of danger and intrigue for both of them.
Along with Kariss and Tigo, there are a lot of other interesting characters pulled into the story. You can feel the spark of romance between Kariss and Tigo, but you will have to read book two or three to see where that is going.
In my opinion, this is another book worth reading by DiAnn Mills that will keep your interest to the very last page. Look forward to the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
plm6846
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was quite good start to finish. Good capture of attention and it did hold throughout the entire book. Looking forward to the next one in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Chase will Leave you Guessing!

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE CHASE
Crime Scene Houston
By DiAnn Mills
Kariss Walker has hit it big with her writing, but she wants more. She wants to write suspense instead of women's fiction. But Meredith Rockford is against Kariss changing genres and threatens that if she goes through with this she will never be published again! Kariss is determined to write about an unsolved case and maybe solve it in the process. The Cherished Doe case has haunted Kariss and she wants to bring justice for this innocent victim.
Lincoln Abrams is the special agent in charge of Houston's FBI and Kariss's contact with the Bureau dating back to her days as a reporter.
Tigo (Special Agent Santiago Harris) is determined to stop the gang that is supplying guns to Mexico, but when his contact doesn't show up he doesn't know if she set him up or she's dead. To Tigo's annoyance he has been assigned to show Kariss the ropes of the FBI and she'll be shadowing him for the next couple of months.
Through perseverance Kariss and Tigo manage to get press coverage of their quest for information. When a clue leads to Cherished Doe's family and a possible murderer Kariss and Tigo are soon deeper than they realized.
But when family problems come up Kariss has even bigger problems to deal with. With threats coming at her from every side Kariss is determined to handle things her way. Tigo is equally stubborn in his determination to keep Kariss safe.
When danger comes knocking at her door will Kariss be able to stay alive long enough to write the book of her heart? Or will she become the latest victim?
The Chase was an exciting, keep you on the edge of your seat book. If you like excitement and drama this is the book for you!
I was provided a digital loan of this title by the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sly Sleuthing

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glenda Fowlow
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Having read some of DiAnn Mills's books before, I envisioned what this book would be like before opening the first page. This novel did not fit my "DiAnn Mills Book Box" as I found it raw and gritty in some parts and extremely subtle in other places. I admit to being mesmerized.
Kariss is a women's fiction author who dares to defy her comfortable career and embark on her first suspense novel without the support of her agent. Tigo is a rogue FBI agent known for thinking outside the box and producing results. They team up to solve a crime involving the death of a young girl and get more than they anticipated.
The plot is complex with good pacing and action throughout even though there are times when extra information is given. I trust the author enough to relax when I think she's describing too much. Characters are developed well and I liked both the hero and heroine because I saw myself and understood others better due to her portrayal.
Ms. Mills is clearly a gracious woman and I enjoyed how she took me on a ride that was at once suspenseful yet smooth. Her novel challenged me to be purposeful in my actions and to be of service to others. I anticipate reading Book 2.
I borrowed this book from my public library; no unlawful weapons were exchanged for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
In The Chase we meet FBI agent Tigo Harris and women's fiction author Kariss Walker.
Kariss wants to write something different than women's fiction. She has set her mind on writing a suspense novel about a cold case about a girl who was starved to dead 5 years ago. An old friend with the FBI arranges for Kariss to work with FBI agent Tigo. At first the two don't like each other very well, but through the story they start to respect each other.
We get to read a lot about the character's family lifes, which was--in my opinion--not very interesting. I liked reading about Tigo's mom, but Kariss' family wasn't interesting to me.
I also had a hard time trying to like Kariss--probably because she's SO much different than I am that I had a hard time to figure out why she was doing certain things. Tigo on the other hand was a great guy and he saved a star on my review rating.
There were many more characters in this story. Honestly I think there were too many characters and switching reading about them often slowed the pace. I couldn't finish this book soon enough.
This book wasn't for me, but it could be for you.
*Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for providing me a free review copy. I was not required to write a positive review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Chase

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's nothing better to me than to settle in with a great suspense novel, one that promises FBI Agents, gang-activity and more. This book not only promised it, but it delivered it tremendously!
Karissa Walker is a first-class TV News Journalist turned New York Times Bestselling Author. Now, though, she wants nothing more than to leave her comfortable position of writing women's fiction behind and tackle the world of suspense fiction. Much to her publishers dismay, Karissa leaves them and embarks on this new career. The story then follows Karissa as she teams up with Special Agent Tigo Harris to learn all about this new genre. Her first story digs up old memories as she has them reopen a cold case that occurred during her television career. The two work together to solve this case and resolve feelings that begin to bond them together.
This novel is very fast-paced and full of witty dialogue between the characters. Ms. Mills has chosen a character that is writing a new book which gives a very interesting look into the process that I'm sure she uses as she begins to research a new novel. The characters are well defined and realistic and the storyline moves in a very believable direction.
So my opinion of this first novel is 2 thumbs up! Some great action, adventure and a little touch of romance makes, "The Chase", a book that you should definitely "chase down" and read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Chase, Crime Scene Houston Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Romantic Suspense that exceeded my expectations

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably one of my favorite books of DiAnn's. I loved the writer who's following a dream being paired with a FBI agent who is a loner and willing to do whatever it takes to keep Houston safe. Kariss Walker is compelled to dig ever deeper when children are involved. Because of an event in her past, she can't let go and is determined to write a book based on an unidentified girl who starved to death and was abandoned. Tigo Harris is neck deep in a gun smuggling undercover operation and doesn't have time to babysit a writer, but his boss doesn't care. This is the first of hopefully many cases the Kariss and Tigo will tackle. As a result the romantic story line isn't completed in this book. But don't worry, if you adore romantic suspense with an emphasis on the romance, you will find plenty in this book to keep you involved. And for those of us who love the suspense/puzzle side, there's a lot to pull us in.
I received this book to review from the publisher. The opinions are mine alone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.