Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook

Zondervan Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook

When a nativity display on public property is torched by a former US Senator, the media spotlight falls on the forgotten small town of Leonard, Texas, and the new pastor of its only church---Adam Wells. Emboldened by the prospect of leading his tiny congregation in a nationally-televised, first amendment debate that he considers to be a 'fight for the heart and soul of America,' Pastor Wells determines not to let anything or anyone, including his wife and his rebellious sixteen-year old daughter, stand in his way. But when an old high school friend unexpectedly shows up in their small town and a past secret is revealed, Pastor Wells' constitutional crusade collides with an even greater fight---the fight for the heart and soul of his marriage, his daughter, and, even his own life. In this modern-day story of betrayal, forgiveness, and finally redemption, Adam Wells discovers, for the first time, the meaning of the story he's been preaching all his life...and his desperate daughter understands what really is beyond the farthest star.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
Review 1 for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
This review is fromBeyond the Farthest Star.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Location:Glen Ridge, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very different from most of the Thoene books I've read, which contain a lot of history, and which I enjoy. However, it was a captivating story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
This review is fromBeyond the Farthest Star.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Different

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbara Guldberg
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
An interesting read but I prefer Theone's historical works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
This review is fromBeyond the Farthest Star.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
lady
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have alway loved the Thoene historical novels. This is great also and hope this is a series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
This review is fromBeyond the Farthest Star.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Soon to be a Movie

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
PatWKirk
Location:Kansas
Gender:female
Pastor Adam Wells, former child evangelist and possible next Billie Graham, instead, pulled in to his new church with a sad secret, a damaged daughter and unhappy wife. Each church he accepted became smaller than the previous ones. He longed to do something important, and the burning of the nativity in the public square promised him his chance. But can he withstand Senator Cutter’s desire to annihilate his family with the old secret?
The reader wants the best for the characters—though Anne, Adam’s daughter, dares us to like her as she does everyone in the town of Leonard.
Tim, raised by his wise grandparents, tries to give her friendship. In so doing, he brings along his dangerous friend, Kyle, who feels rejected by Tim’s new bond with Anne.
This highly readable book delivers constant action. Hints of the family tragedy pepper the story, but readers must wait to know what brought them to this place. Read it only if you have time because you will find your dishes waiting while you push on to the end.
I didn't know until I finished the review that this will be a movie. I'd go if I didn't know the end. Christians can go without fear of wishing they hadn't.
I received this book through NetGalley.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Preacher's Kids Are People, Too

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a preacher’s kid, I have experienced the angst of constant moving. I was miserable when I was sixteen, primarily because we moved again – the third time that year. I related, then to the story of Anne. I wrote a story when I was a sophomore in high school that prompted a phone call from the high school English teacher, and was told to write about ‘butterflies and rainbows’. While my life story wasn’t as convoluted as Anne’s in some respects, I knew her voice was authentic.
What took me 20 years to discover, Anne learns in the midst of a family tragedy – the God who loves us is not always reflected in the people we love the most. Sometimes he is, but when he isn’t it can feel as though he doesn’t care. What I’ve since learned is that while God may seem distant, in reality, he beckons. When circumstances feel overwhelming, he knows. When moments seem difficult, he sees. And in the end, he is only one prayer away.
I learned about grace through the whisper of God in my heart 20 years after I was certain I’d heard the last of him. When I think about the facts of my past, I see many scars and hurts, that while painful and difficult, in the end, led me to the place where I was able to see God. Beyond the farthest star and close enough to hold. That is a Jesus both Anne and I recognize. Read this novel, and see if you recognize him, too.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the book.

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anita Glover
Location:Cullman, Al.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is awesome Well wriiten [unlike my review I am not a writer I am a avid reader.} The book touched on things that go on today I felt for the teen characters, the adults who lost their way but find it in the end. I loved the way it touched on that it takes more than dna to make a parent. I can`t wait for the movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Richly layered story & characters!

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beyond The Farthest Star is the latest release from the prolific, multi-award winning team of Bodie & Brock Thoene. Known primarily for their carefully researched historical fiction, they have proven they are equally skilled in a contemporary setting. Based on the original screenplay by Andrew Librizzi, Beyond The Farthest Star is an insightful, mesmerizing story that centers on the Wells family. Adam, Maureen, and their teenaged daughter, Anne, are each struggling with internal demons that are destroying their family. Once a world-renowned preacher, this move to the small town of Leonard, Texas, is Adam's last hope of restoring his dream of living up to the approval he craves, but instead brings mounting tensions, revealed secrets, and an unexpected confrontation that leads to the ultimate sacrifice.
From the beginning, I was able to "get into the skin" of each character in the book and understand a bit of what he or she was feeling. The conflict between people and their inner turmoil jumps off the page in a way that has tremendous impact. The entire book is filled with universal themes that speak to all people and effectively weaves the idea that there is hope in spite of physical or emotional scars.The humanity of each person is revealed in a way which is a fresh and unique with genuine, even raw emotions. Ultimately this is a richly layered story with an honest portrayal of transformation and restoration. However, there is so much more, and it is hard to pinpoint just one aspect. BTFS is an amazing story that will hold the interest of those who like a variety of genres. Elements of suspense, romance, and political intrigue are presented in an escalating tension that intensifies to an explosive climax, and, ultimately, to a satisfying conclusion. This engrossing novel, with multi-dimensional characters is a story of how the choices we make affect the lives of those around us, and how buried lies may destroy us. Even days after reading the book, the story and characters have remained vivid. For me, a good book is one that I hate to see end and this one fits that criteria. I am also eagerly anticipating seeing this story and the characters come to life on the big screen when the film, Beyond The Farthest Star, is released in theaters in 2012.
I received a free copy of this of this product from the publisher. I was not required to give a favorable review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
This review is fromBeyond the Farthest Star.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Flawed, secret holding characters

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The authors have written an entirely different type of book with Beyond the Farthest Star from their usual reads. Their historical novels - no matter the timeline - are always wonderful reads. This new book deals with characters who are flawed, deceptive, and evil. The meanness of some of the characters literally makes my skin crawl. I am not speaking of demons and dragons or supernatural. I am referring to the downright meanness of the human nature of fallen men.
The book opens with the family in Beyond the Farthest Star resettling in a small town in Texas. The father is a preacher who began his career preaching as a young boy. The daughter (an only child) is plagued by some troubling emotional or mental condition for which she in medicated. Mom has issues and secrets and she loses herself in flamboyant romance novels. They carry secrets, each of them.
Into the mixture, we have a corrupt senator and a battle of church and state. Evil gets an opportunity to rear it's head here, too.
Supporting cast members include teens exuding peer pressure and cliques. Rock music in garages, and drunken fathers manhandling their sons.
We also find spiritual truth prevailing, but it seems to be slow in coming. Revelation of secrets and the impact they have on individuals leaves the reader reeling.
Again, The Thoenes have written a very good book. The storyline is not one I would prefer, but it is good and, sadly, probably a very real reflection on today's world.
I received a complimentary copy of Beyond the Farthest Star from Zondervan via NetGalley for review and am under no obligation to provide a positive review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
This review is fromBeyond the Farthest Star.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend!

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anne, daughter of Pastor Adam and Maurene Wells watches her father's every breath whose life depends on a ventilator machine.
Adam was in his element as a preacher. His profession, his calling, led him and his family from California to Leonard, Texas to a dying church. The Well's family traveled from place to place frequently and Anne always had a hard time fitting in as the new kid in school.
The plan by the town council and Adam was to display a wooden nativity scene for all to enjoy, not being aware of the complications that arose from their actions.
A family torn, trying desparately to hold themselves together, a devastating secret, and yet beyond their world, in the darkened sky, lies the farthest star.
Highly entertaining, I enjoyed every minute spent getting to know these realistic and well developed characters. This book drew me in from the beginning and held my attention throughout. This novel offers everything a reader could want heartbreak, suspense and romance. Dialogue, scenery and plot worked well with no dull parts. The overall message is inspiring and I was challenged in my faith. I would recommend this well written novel to others. Thank you to Zondervan Publishing and Netgalley for the ARC for my review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beyond the Farthest Star: Closer than You Think - eBook
This review is fromBeyond the Farthest Star.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Richly layered story of hope & restoration

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beyond The Farthest Star is the latest release from the prolific, multi-award winning team of Bodie and Brock Thoene. Known primarily for their carefully researched historical fiction, they have proven they are equally skilled in a contemporary setting. Based on the original screenplay by Andrew Librizzi, Beyond The Farthest Star is an insightful, mesmerizing story that centers on the Wells family. Adam, Maureen, and their teenaged daughter, Anne, are each struggling with internal demons that are destroying their family. Once a world-renowned preacher, this move to the small town of Leonard, Texas, is Adam's last hope of restoring his dream of living up to the approval he craves, but instead brings mounting tensions, revealed secrets, and an unexpected confrontation that leads to the ultimate sacrifice.
From the beginning, I was able to "get into the skin" of each character in the book and understand a bit of what he or she was feeling. The conflict between people and their inner turmoil jumps off the page in a way that has tremendous impact. The entire book is filled with universal themes that speak to all people and effectively weaves the idea that there is hope in spite of physical or emotional scars.The humanity of each person is revealed in a way which is a fresh and unique with genuine, even raw emotions. Ultimately this is a richly layered story with an honest portrayal of transformation and restoration. However, there is so much more, and it is hard to pinpoint just one aspect. BTFS is an amazing story that will hold the interest of those who like a variety of genres. Elements of suspense, romance, and political intrigue are presented in an escalating tension that intensifies to an explosive climax, and, ultimately, to a satisfying conclusion. This engrossing novel, with multi-dimensional characters is a story of how the choices we make affect the lives of those around us, and how buried lies may destroy us. Even days after reading the book, the story and characters have remained vivid. For me, a good book is one that I hate to see end and this one fits that criteria. I am also eagerly anticipating seeing this story and the characters come to life on the big screen when the film, Beyond The Farthest Star, is released in theaters in 2012.
I received a free copy of this of this product from the publisher. I was not required to give a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.