Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook

Zondervan Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 out of 2286%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Review 1 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jim Cymbala's ministry is always inspiring

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dave Duval
Location:Burlington, ON Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is unfortunate that there aren't more churches that are experiencing the working of the Holy Spirit in their ministry. I believe we are grieving the Holy Spirit in not commiting ourselves to Him and the result of such a commitment is what is evident in the work of the Brooklyn Tabernacle as todl in thus book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is such a blessing

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
polly0mozerella
Location:New York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all I thank the Lord for using Pastor Cymbala...
Without the leading of the holy spirit this book would not have come to fruition.
My prayer is that the church of Jesus Christ today be filled with the holy spirit to a new level.
Oh how we need to tap into the holy spirit and this book is an illustration of such biblical principles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quite long and repetitive

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book is good, and the subject matter is of my utmost interest, butI find it hard to stay focussed and some parts are repetitive which makes th ebook too long. the subjec matter is very good indeed..but the book is too long for me I think and it is taking me a long time to get through it..to keep my attention. Sorry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A light dusting of what I was expecting...

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Looking for a book to read one day, on Christianbook.com, I happened to see Spirit Rising was on special. I thought: "Oh neat, a book on the Holy Spirit. I've always wanted to learn more about that." (since in most Christian circles the talk is usually about Jesus or God, but not on the Holy Spirit.) I ordered it, because I wanted to learn more on a subject I admit I'm not as experienced in as I probably should be. When I received this book, I thought an endorsement from Francis Chan was especially interesting so I began reading Jim Cymbala's book.
Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit is a book, which as you probably are able to imagine it is, about the Holy Spirit. Jim opens the book on expressing a thought which I expressed earlier in this review: various Christian circles neither understand nor talk enough about the role of The Holy Spirit and that needs to change. The meat of the focus for Mr. Cymbala's book is The Holy Spirit, his church in Brooklyn, and testimonies from a few of his own parishioners. Does Jim speak of The Holy Spirit in a heretical way? And how insightful is Mr. Cymbala's book concerning The Holy Spirit? Spirit Rising does a good job getting started on helping a Christian become more in tune with The Holy Spirit, but it is a light dusting of the surface readers are craving.
I am glad Mr. Cymbala did not promote anything heretical within his book, because the very phrase: "Tapping into the power of The Holy Spirit" is a risky phrase some might misinterpret as a piece of lingo from the heretical Immergant Church movement. I also appreciate the testimonies his parishioners gave for Spirit Rising, because some are very inspiring to read. My favorite testimony to read was concerning the woman immigrant from Latin America; though at times sad the ending is encouraging. Though these things are good, I also felt there could have been more to this book, because there were some unanswered questions... The book seems primarily focused more on trying to convince you into agreeing The Holy Spirit is a neglected teaching and ought to be further pursued through the example of his church in New York, rather THAN actually teaching you things about The Holy Spirit itself... Though I learned some things while reading Mr. Cymbala's book, I was a little disappointed that time was more spent on talking about Brooklyn Tabernacle than The Holy Spirit itself...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

book

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
linda
Age:55-65
Gender:female
It was hard to look for enough info on tapping into the Holy Spirit. It just seemed so mixed up about things I wasn't interested in I enjoy getting right to the point about the Holy Spirit. I was distracting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Totally recommend!

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becci
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was outstanding! If you are looking for scripturally-based information about the Holy Spirit, I totally recommend this book. The stories give powerful examples of God's work in the lives of people today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book - All that it was promoted to be.

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Seeker
Location:Central Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this book in our small group study. I would highly recommend reading this book to gain insight and encouragement related to the working of the Holy Spirit in the lives of the followers of Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
JeremyE
Location:Selma, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read 3 of Jim Cymbala's books. This one is very good and applicable to life. If you are wanting to be challenged and continue to grow in your walk with the Lord I recommend reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

what an inspirational book!

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda54
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful and inspirational book about the Holy Spirit and what He can do in our lives, if we just let Him!
So many good tips and "how tos" are very helpful. And the testimonials and stories included are just unbelievable. Our God is so good and takes marvelous care of us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gary
Location:Pinckney, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is not only timely but urgently needed. It helps a Christian to recognize what is missing in their life. Namely, the leading of the Holy Spirit to fulfil God's plan for you. It was an easy read but the content exceptional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I was really blessed by this book, It's like living in the Book of Acts and this is happening right now by the power of the Holy Spirit. From beginning to end, this book holds your attention, it's a must read for every christian who wants to go deeper in their walk with the Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every new Christian should be given a copy of this book. It is very good and fast read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS BOOK MAKES YOU HUNGRY FOR MORE OF GOD

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Cross
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I read a lot and I'm especially drawn to books that I sense the Spirit of God has ignited to transform me. This is one of those books. I can sense the Holy Spirit doing a work in me as I read each page. It makes me want to kneel before the throne room, with uplifted hands and thank God for the great comforter, helper He has sent to us. It compels me to open more of myself up to the Holy Spirit and to long for Him to change me to be like Christ. My goodness! what else could a book do? It's a must read if you are hungry for transformation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Knew most of the things in book already

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buckeye Bob
Location:East Liverpool,ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for how to get more in tune with the holy spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I highly recommend this book to everyone

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Sherrill Boykin
Location:Fayetteville, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastor Cymbala's unique style of presenting from his own experiences words and then testimonies from others to arouse our belief in a compassionate God. I am always emotionely and Spirit filled from his and their experiences. I can empathize with some of the testimonies. Likewise, Christ suffered more than we ever will. He knows and His love exceeds anything this world has to offer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
clazikas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gave me insight on the Holy Spirit that I wasn't tapped into before. This subject is very important to me and I want to learn all I can about God's promises
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
ROBB
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT BOOK ON THE LESSER TEACHINGS ON THE GOD HEAD, THE POWER OF THE GOSPEL, THE HOLY SPIRIT. WE NEED TO SEEK UNTO WE RECEIVE THIS POWER.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a great read

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
RWollard
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim Cymbala's Spirit Rising is a must read for anyone who wants to experience more of God's power at work in their life. Conversations about God are common place, not so much about Jesus Christ, and almost non-existant about the Holy Spirit. Jim does a fantatastic job focusing us on the third person of the Trinity and lays a solid foundation for important study and conversation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Allow it to enhance your life and ministry.

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mature JK
Location:IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spirit Rising is another excellence book from Jim Cymbala. He is always scripturally sound and with his ability to draw from living testimonies from within his own church he paints a power full picture. He is able to show the practical side of true faith when people seek after and live in obedience to the Holy Spirit's guidance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Have you experienced the Holy Spirit?

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Holy Spirit is not talked, preached or even written about very often. This book is a great addition to the subject. Have you experienced the Holy Spirit? Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit highlights some great times where the Spirit has moved Christians to do things not totally knowing why but the results were amazing. Have you felt the need to pray for a certain person or situation and not found peace until you did? The author, Jim Cymbala, says this is the moving of the Holy Spirit in you to pray for and express concern for others around you.
The author also discusses the jobs of the Holy Spirit and how He has been sent to help us here on earth. I found the book to be interesting but not one I would read again. I did enjoy the stories and felt the author did a good job at making his points. If you want to learn more about the Holy Spirit and His influence on your life as a Christian, this would be a good book to read.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>