Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus

Thomas Nelson Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Review 1 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good purchase

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
cardshopper
Age:45-54
Gender:female
It meant my expectations of the 100 3 word ways to live like Jesus while expounding upon each of them. Very good. I purchased as a gift and the recipient really liked the book and I ordered one for myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just Three Words

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bess
Location:USA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Lead, Serve, Love." Three teeny-weeny little words that pack a punch. It's what we've been called to do - our life-long quest, whittled down to three words (13 letters). In Gregory E. Lang's book "Lead, Serve, Love: 100 Three-Word Ways to Be Like Jesus" the reader will be presented with 100 such three word phrases that are simple, yet powerful, especially when not only read, but lived out through the power of Christ. This small little volume would make a terrific 100 day devotional, as each 3 words is followed by a small paragraph with accompanying Bible verses on the opposite page. It's also just a nice handy little reminder to live like Jesus. Some of the three words include: "Give Second Chances," "Choose Good Company," "Hold Yourself Accountable," & "Reward Others First." There is also a presentation page in the front of the book for gifting purposes. Sometimes books on living an authentic Jesus-inspired/pleasing life are wordy & scholarly &, well, daunting or intimidating – this is pure, simple, straight-to-the-point, & Bible-based. What more do you need? Its simplicity also lends itself to being a great gift for a new Christian. Taking a cue from the author, in three words I found this book: Winsome, Simple, & very Jesus-like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:oh
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lead. Serve. Love. 100 Three-Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Just as the title says, this book is full of three word points that are backed up by the author with scripture and captures the essence of some important topics. What this book succeeds in doing is cutting out all the wordy and cumbersome text and boiling the important points down instead of watering them down. A simple format and uncomplicated writing, yet packs a powerful punch. This style could easily have been cheesy or boring, but instead it offers just the right amount of truth, inspiration, and insight into God’s Word. The result is an accessible and easily read text that would be a great gift book for everyone you know. I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Check out the "Three-ology"!

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lead Serve Love is an attractive book (oriental looking) that would make a nifty gift book. It's a collection of 100 three-word sentences that call readers into action towards being more like Christ, each followed by a short explanatory paragraph and relevant Scriptures. It aims to inspire Christians to apply God's Word and God's way into their daily living. It's a good book for new believers or graduates. I personally did not learn anything new from it because I've already read and learned it all from the Bible (consistently applying it is another story :)). Nonetheless, I still enjoyed this easy-to-read book because I like words arranged in cool, catchy, concise ways. The author managed to select ordinary words and effectively put them into sets of three that are meaningful and Biblically based. However, some of them are somewhat overlapping and somehow redundant; for example, #25 Calm Troubled Waters, #35 Live in Peace, and #69 Strive for Harmony; #56 Use Your Gifts and #76 Do Your Share; #20 Love Your Neighbor and #79 Love Without Hesitation; #73 Forget the Past and #89 Live in Today; #40 Live as Servants and #49 Serve Each Other. Let's not miss the point of this book: Take the message and live it out each day :).
"The gospel is not for a few favored ones, but for everyone. Realize that your purpose is not your purpose, but His purpose. Give yourself fully to Him; labor for the Lord, making Him known through your words and deeds. Know--and fulfill--your purpose." (#65 Know Your Purpose, p. 134)
~I received this book free from Thomas Nelson through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to read and very pretty book cover too!

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:El Cajon, CA
I recently read Lead Serve Love, 100 Three-Word Ways to Be Like Jesus, written by Gregory E. Lang
The author states in the introduction that the book was written for those who want to walk in the Spirit and do what Jesus would do, but need a simple, loving nudge to take those steps. The author has managed to convey in three word sentences what we can do, followed up by a paragraph and Bible verses that pertain to the three word sentence. There are 100 three word sentences and you would probably be able to get through the whole book in one sitting or also choose to read one sentence per day and use it as a devotional.
The book was written in a way that is easy to read and understand. I was impressed with the book cover with its rounded edges and pretty illustrations and thought this would be a great book for gift giving. As soon as I opened the book, the first page is for writing the recipient’s name if you do choose to give this as a gift. I would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dynamite Daily Devo!

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
christinawillreviewit
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lead. Serve. Love. Three words. Consisten with its title, this petite book was designed around three words. Each chapter heading is three words. The subtitle is the mission statement, "100 Three-Word Ways to Be Like Jesus."
The author's passion for God clearly displayed in red, "Dedicated to my Lord, who died for me so that I might live." Truly this author is also a humble man of God. In the Acknowledgment at the back of the book he shared," Indeed, I am a depraved, morally bankrupt, wretched sinner through and through. I've attended church sporadically most of my life, haven't spent a minute in seminary, and only recently gave the Bible more than a cursory review. I've attended exactly one theology class, and I dropped out of it."
Mr. Lang then gives all the glory to the Holy Spirit. He gives thanks for his salvation through Jesus Christ his Lord and Savior. With each turn of the page, a three-word title is listed and underneath an exhortation to change is announced. The next page is a list of appropriate and contextually accurate Scripture references with the reference written out. Perfect for a daily devotional or a quick break from your day! How often do we not take even three minutes to crack open a devotional book because we think our devotion time has to be more in-depth? Guilty. Guilty. Guilty.
I love the description on the back of the book, "Lead by example. Serve each other. Love the unloved. Simple yet profound, these three-word messages will help you live like Jesus. Give second chances. Help others succeed. Believe in miracles. Change doesn't have to be overwhelming. Practice one down-to-earth message each day, and see your life change in an eternal way."
Great gift book. Wonderful daily devotional. Inspirational pick me up. Buy it today!!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Are you a manufacturer of a product or currently market a service? Christina will review it! Email christina@wordsofgrace.info with product name, description and manufacturer's suggested retail price along with any other information relative to said product. You will receive a response via email within two weeks if product will be reviewed. Please note not all products will be considered reviewable. Please do not send products without prior consent. Note: Products sent for review will not be returned. Product submission authorizes consent for said product to remain in sole possession of recipient. No monies shall be exchanged for product submission nor permission granted for reviews prior to submission. Reviews shall remain effective and in full force at sole discretion of blog administrator and/or authors related to http://www.christinawillreviewit.blogspot.com/.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Darling, retro book

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doreen
Location:Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lead Serve Love is a darling little book with 100 three-word ways to be like Jesus. The cover of the book I'd say has a retro look to it. I love that! On the left hand side of the pages are the three-words and on the right, are Scriptures to go along with those words. Here is an example and I'll choose one of the Scriptures located on the right. "Honor Your Body."~ "Your body is mortal and will be conquered by death, but it must not be conquered by sin and used as a pawn of evil. If the Holy Spirit dwells in you, your body is his. Treat your body respectfully and morally, and with it do righteous deeds so that Christ might reside within a holy host. Honor your body." Scripture: " You should know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you. You have received the Holy Spirit from God. So you do not belong to yourselves, because you were bought by God for a price. So honor God with your bodies." 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 This book would look nice on a desk for a little pick me up as well as a gift for others to enjoy!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lead Serve Love

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tina Ross
Location:PSL,FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow another book that will be a keeper and resource not only for your self but for other's!! This little book is an encouragement and all the scriptures with in are those little reminders that are needed daily!! It has encouraged me during a rough time I am in right now!!
The 100 three word ways little small sentences to be like JESUS, the scriptures are a right now word and heart felt reminder of whose we are and of what we have when we abide and serve and love as JESUS did!!!
A great little book jam packed of truth, and the attributes of what a Christian should be showing and doing in their lives!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for daily inspiration and conviction!

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lead Serve Love is an attractive looking book on the outside, and an interesting inspirational book on the inside. It’s a smallish chunky book with retro design—would look great on a desk! So, superficialities aside (though they truly add to the book!)—let’s talk about the book itself.
This book is one hundred short, 3-word inspirational sayings (of ways to live a better life), with a short narrative about each saying as well as several Scriptures related to it. In the introduction the author suggests that you not only read these passages, but make it into a small Bible study by looking up and reading each verse in context—good idea! You can use this book in many ways—a quick read for a quick inspirational thought for the day, or as suggested above.
It was funny timing for me to read this book—due to the fact that I had just finished reading with my children the kids’ book No Talking by Andrew Clements, which is about a grade of students taking a pledge to not talk other than in 3 word phrases—it’s amazing what you can convey with only three words. The concisely phrased words in this book, Live Serve Love, are short enough to make it easy to refer to all day long—to incorporate into your daily life. And these ARE things you will want to (should want to) incorporate into your life—some of my favorites were “Ease others’ burdens”, “Refrain from revenge” (yikes!), “Do your share”, and many other great ones. Pretty convicting stuff! Definitely things worth striving after.
I would for sure recommend this book. It’d make a nice gift for someone too!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As Lovely on the Inside as it is on the Outside

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Granbury, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As cute and lovely on the inside as it is on the outside.
In Lead. Serve. Love., author Gregory Lang has complied an excellent list of “100 Three-Word Ways to Live Like Christ.” Each of the one hundred chapters presents, and briefly discusses, a unique three-word phrase that encourages the reader to not only live more Christ-like, but to to dig into God’s Word for themselves for their ultimate encouragement. Lang introduces each three-word phrase, followed by a brief explanation with practical suggestions, and supported by relevant Biblical scripture references. This sweet little book can serve not only as a short devotional, but also a topical reference, and an uplifting encouragement in daily living.
In his introduction at the beginning of the book, Lang encourages the reader not to stop at simply reading the chapters in his book, but to open up his/her own personal Bible and study the relevant Scripture passages for themselves. The implied intent is to assist in bringing the reader into a closer relationship with the God of the Bible, and a clearer understanding of what it means to live more Christ-like.
Though I reviewed an ebook version of Lead. Serve. Love., I would love to have a hard copy in my library for reference, as well as it’s downright cuteness.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for a devotional

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sunflowers
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, what a great concept, three words a day to help you become more Christ-like. A friend of the author refers to it as Three-ology theology. Some of the sentences are "ask for forgiveness, share good news, give second chances, and do your share". The thoughts behind the sentences are such that anyone reading them would have to honestly admit that they have merit. Lang however takes it a step further by including Bible verses with each of the 100 sentences backing them up.
Do you share. We all agree that we should each do our own share. Lang says that we should do as much as we can in line with our individual blessings and abilities no matter how high or low the task is, even going so far as to propose we do it joyfully. Good advice for everyone. But for the Christian, Lang shows how it is more than advice with verses such as Acts 20:34 that tells us to work to take care of our own needs and of those with us, 2 Thessalonians 3:6-9 which tells us not to be lazy and gives examples.
This would be a great daily devotional book for anyone looking to incorporate more of Christ into their daily walk, who want to live it rather than just hear it. For those who prepare church bulletins, this would be a great resource as well. If you have kids, include a one liner in their lunches with scripture references.
All in all a great little book to carry with you or begin your day with! Definitely a thumbs up!
This book was received free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lead Serve Love: 100 Three Word Ways to Live Like Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Guide Every Great Christian Needs

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Lead. Serve. Love : 100 Three-Word Ways to Live Like Jesus - Gregory Lang - May 2011
"Whoever claims to believe in him must walk like Jesus"
1 John 2v6.
In Gregory Lang's book Lead.Serve. Love it is a collection of ways for those who are wanting to move and take the next step of walking like Jesus did , it is not enough to just believe in him , we have to as our Pastor recently did a series of sermons on - we have to take the Next Step. It is our job as Christians to become messengers of God just as Jesus was , God has put in every single one of us exactly what Jesus was capable of , but it is the knowledge of getting closer and not letting anything get in our way of God that we need to build on. Each 100 ways has a three letter word e.g 1 ) Smile at Everyone - such a simple task and you will be surprised how many people don't actually smile at everyone, next time you are at Church or even walking down the street or shopping - smile at everyone that walks past and you will notice that the majority of the time the person you just smiled too may break into a smile or even better by taking the step further and saying Hi, you may just as well initiated a conversation with an entire stranger. Who if you are bold enough to be exactly like Jesus, then a challenge for you would to evangelise and tell her about God, Jesus - the whole works. The next page after each way , gives us about 3-5 bible verses that can relate and readers guess what No #2 happens to be "strike up conversations".
So hands up for all those wanting to be just like Jesus , well hands down now and head for your local christian bookstore and grab Lead.Serve.Love by Gregory Lang.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.