Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life

Thomas Nelson Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life

Imagine how your life would change if you were sure that God loves you! Covering a broad range of topics such as facing your fears, accepting his grace, and truly knowing God's omnipresent love, Lucado's devotional features 150 all-new meditations accompanied by an ending prayer. Nurture your spiritual life by deliberately living in God's presence! Features a padded hardcover binding, presentation page, blank pages for personal notes, and a satin ribbon marker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Review 1 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Live Loved ~ Max Lucado

Date:May 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knowing this book was a devotional and having loved the books that Lucado has written I decided to grab this book off of booksneeze. It is a small devotion that is packed full of devotions from the recent books he has written.
The devotions seem to hit the spot every day. They speak right into my heart. This would be an amazing gift for anyone.
Lucado has done it again! Great job!!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspriational Devotional

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
PoCoKat
Location:Port Coquitlam, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love is what it is all about and in this inspiring devotional, Max Lucado explores different kinds of love. This book is divided into the following sections:
Loved with a Steadfast Love
Loved with a Perfect Love
Loved with a Wise Love
Loved with a Merciful Love
Loved to Love Others
Within each of the five sections listed above, Max Lucado explores each type of love in several devotionals. Each devotional begins with a scripture verse then provides a devotion from one of his previous books. He then provides a prayer as well as additional verses of scripture.
I have always been a huge fan of the writings of Max Lucado and highly recommend this devotional as a gift or for yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality Devotional

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holding this small, but thick devotional in my hands, I immediately noticed the high quality cover and binding. The durable, glossy pages found within are just as lovely. These details to quality help create a beautiful devotional to give or receive.
More importantly, the content does not disappoint either. The devotions of Live Loved are divided into five sections, including "Loved with a Steadfast Love," "Loved with a Merciful Love," and "Loved to Love Others." Each individual devotion spans two facing pages and is comprised of a Bible verse, a short text, a prayer, and two to three more related Bible verses. After the initial Bible verse, a short passage emphasizes an aspect or relates a theme to everyday life. The texts are excerpts from six of Lucado's previous books, such as Facing Your Giants, Fearless, and Outlive Your Life . These messages are hopeful and encouraging to read. Several lined pages for personal notes complete the devotional.
Overall, this is a lovely devotional with a timely and encouraging message.
Thank you to Thomas Nelson, Inc. for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes through the BookSneeze.com book review program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotion for all

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
gubby1
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Lucado Live Loved, Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life.
By Max Lucado
Published by Thomas Nelson
Book Description
Review by, De Lois Burkhalter-Turner
“Live Loved” by Max Lucado, This is a great devotional reminder about God's unconditional love. A perfect gift for yourself as an every day scriptural reading, and a reminder "God Is Crazy About You". Reading this little book, “Experiencing God’s Presence in Everyday Life”! It is filled with daily readings and reminder of God's Stedfast Love, Perfect Love, Wise Love, and Merciful Love. What is so nice you can apply each devotion in your daily walk. For those of you that have issues on praying, what a great instructional example by Lucado on how to pray. . Max Lucado has poured out his heart in a very special way. I am truly inspired by this little book!
I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Your copy can be purchased at any local Christian Bookstore, Barnes and Nobles, Amazon, and Christian Book Distributors.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful book from Max Lucado!

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chin Jenny
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Max Lucado. Need I say more...? I'm always on the look out for good Christian books. I immediately jump at the chance to request this book the moment I saw it on the list of books available for review. Here is my review of the latest book from Max Lucado entitled: "LIVE LOVED: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life". This book will be published on May 3rd and I'm so glad I get to review this book firsthand!
This book is an assurance and gentle reminder to each of us on how we are loved by the One and Only awesome God. Now back to the book, it is broken down into 5 chapters, which I will note down my feedback in red for your easier reading:
# 1 - LOVE WITH A STEADFAST LOVE
My feedback: In the "Problems Have a Purpose" subchapter, I like the points where God will use whatever he wants to display his glory and Rather than begrudge our problem, explore it and use it to the glory of God. I also like the verse given which is Psalm 34:19.
# 2 - LOVE WITH A PERFECT LOVE
My feedback: I love the 8 worry stoppers which were made up of the word PEACEFUL, taken from the "P-E-A-C-E-F-U-L" subchapter. You really have to read it to know it more!
# 3 - LOVE WITH A WISE LOVE
My feedback: In the "Slay the Desire to Be Noticed" subchapter, I like the following phrases mentioned: Hypocrisy turns people against God, Don't fake spirituality. When you talk, don't doctor your vocabulary with trendy religious terms and Slay the desire to be noticed, stir the desire to serve God.
# 4 - LOVE WITH A MERCIFUL LOVE
My feedback: Negative thoughts never strengthen you. Wow! What a strong and inspiring phrase taken from the "Positive Thoughts Purvey Hope" subchapter. I learned to think positively and not let negative thoughts drain me down.
# 5 - LOVED TO LOVE OTHERS
My feedback: I am particulary attracted to these 2 subchapters: "Cherish Your Children" and "Our Kids Are God's Kids". In "Cherish Your Children", I learned that Children spell love with 4 letters: T-I-M-E. Not just quality time, but hang time, downtime, anytime, all the time. I totally agree with it as it is one of the factors I thought of when I decided to quit my IT job to be a SAHM to take care of Benjamin full-time. In the "Our Kids Are God's Kids" subchapter, I am greatly reminded and humbled when I read these 2 phrases: Before they were ours, they were his. Even as they are ours, they are still his and Wise are the parents who regularly give their children back to God. As parents, too often we forget that we are just the guardian of our children and we think we have the rights and final say in matters related to our children when in fact, we don't! We forget that God has the power of all things including us!
Apart from the above feedbacks for each of the chapters and subchapters, the one thing I don't like about this book is the cursive title on each subchapter. Maybe it's just me, but I find some of the title a bit difficult to read as I actually have to read the title at least 3-4 times just to be sure that I'm reading and understanding the correct title! Other than that, this book is just perfect!
We do need assurance that we are loved by God again and again despite of our shortcomings and all the mistakes and sins we made.
In any case, I beg you, consider getting a copy of this book when it is out for sale. You will not regret it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Godspoetic1
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Live Loved”
By: Max Lucado
“Live Loved” by Max Lucado, is a beautiful, little devotional, perfect as a gift, or for yourself as an every day scriptural reading, for your daily dose of the Word! Reading this little book, is truly “Experiencing God’s Presence in Everyday Life”! It is filled with daily readings of inspiration to keep you charged for yet another day, for the Lord! What is so wonderful and even more inspiring, and sets this devotional book apart from others, is that each devotional ends with a prayer. Max Lucado has once again sold me on one of his books! I am truly inspired by this little book! For such a small book, it speaks volumes to the heart and soul.
As per FTC guidelines, I must state that I was given copy of “Live Loved” from the publisher, in exchange for my review. My opinions are expressly my own, and are in no way made positively or negatively, due to receiving a review copy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb devotional

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life is so good!!! I had the wonderful opportunity to review two new Max Lucado books in the same month!!. I am a HUGE Max fan so this was like Christmas to me.
Live Loved is his latest devotional and different in many ways. This devotional is not dated so you can start and stop anytime. This book also have collections from his latest books so it is completely different from his other three devotionals. The layout is a short story, then a prayer and two to three scriptures to end the devotional. Here is a sampling of the chapter titles: Loved with a Steadfast Love, Loved with a Perfect Love, Loved with a Wise Love, Loved with a Merciful Love, and Loved to Love Others.
I have all three of his other devotionals and read them every day so now I have four inspirational daily reminders of God's love written through the pen of Max. If you are a Max lover like me you will NEED this for your collection-it is a winner!!
Thank you Thomas Nelson for this free copy just for my honest opinion of this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No one does a devo like Max Lucado!!!

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love devotionals. They wake me and bring me face to face with the Lord. I don't think anyone does it better than Max Lucado. As I opened the pages of this book later that morning I would learn that my husband lost his job. God placed this book in my hands at just the perfect time. There is nothing like God's perfect timing my friends. He is good and good all the time, no matter what!
This is a beautiful little book. What a perfect title. We can live knowing God's love. We can share His love. Isn't that what it is all about? Experiencing His love every day!! No dates on the pages, just words of encouragement. Stories to lift us to the throne room of Jesus. Scripture to take our eyes off our situation and place them on the promises of God. This little dandy has five sections. Loved with a Steadfast Love, Loved with a Perfect Love, Loved with a Wise Love, Loved with a Merciful Love and Loved to Love Others. Every subject is covered here with God's wisdom through scripture. Max brings beauty through his own words and touches us making us feel refreshed and encouraged to face the day.
I usually give my devotionals away after reading them. This is one I am going to keep close for a while. It is one I can go back to again and again. This would be a great gift for any friend and it is a wonderful companion along with your bible for your daily moments with God.
Many say this is a gathering of all of Max's earlier writing. I say who cares? Really, many have yet to read Max Lucado. So to them this would be a first and for those who have read, well, this is the best of the best.
This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little book!

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Live loved, by Max Lucado. Lived loved is a gift book/devotional by Max Lucado that is a combination of many of the books he's written over the years. Such as Fearless, Facing your giants, etc. He tackles the heart of the reader to understand that God does love them! He also leaves a space in the back of the book for personal notes from the readers to be able to write in their book!
This is another great book by Max Lucado! But seriously has he ever written a bad book? lol. I really enjoyed it, although I wouldn't use it as the only tool in personal devotion time, even though he does include scripture and great insight. I think you need more than 2 pages of devotional time in my personal opinion! ;) Its the perfect size to pop in a Bible case to carry around with you and is seriously a cute little book as a gift too! Sure to bless the person reading it! Again this will be another one of my favourites from Max Lucado!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional by Lucado

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
kdmom02
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Live Loved Experiencing God’s Presence in Everyday Life” by Max Lucado is a devotional that I chose to review from Booksneeze. I am always looking for a good devotional for my quite time and to give as a gift to friends and family. I have always enjoyed Lucado’s writing and so I decided to see what I thought about his devotional.
I must say, I enjoyed it as much as I have enjoyed his other writings. This is a great size to carry with you on a trip or to keep in your car for those times you just need encouragement or uplifting. I also liked the fact that the scriptures are written out for you. This is great if you want to keep this in your car or carry in your purse. I like to have my Bible with me when I do devotional reading, but in some cases it is great to have the scripture written out for you, especially when you have to pack light.
Lucado has this broken up in the following sections: Loved with a Steadfast Love, Loved with a Perfect Love, Loved with a Wise Love, Loved with a Merciful Love, Loved to Love Others. He also has an area for you to write your own notes and sources in the back.
I think this is a great book for gift giving. If you have someone that needs to be reminded of God’s love for them, this would be great. It is also great to have in your personal library. The only thing I can see that would be negative about this book is the text size. Some may need a larger text to read easily. I am sure the text size is because of the compact size of the book. It was fine for me, but if you were giving it to someone with problems seeing small text, you may want to see if it comes in a larger print size.
I really enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it to anyone. I was given this book free of charge from Booksneeze to give my honest opinion. I did not have to give a favorable review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great one!!

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Childoftheking84
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the chance to get this book and review it. It's a nice little hardback devotion book. You can read it all at once or save one for each day for devotions. It would make a nice gift to someone. It has different stories on each page and bible verses and prayers to read. It includes a lot of different topics that you face. I have become a fan of Max Lucado's books,the past 3 I have got has been good and this one is just as good. It has a place in the back for notes and ribbon bookmark attached too it too mark your page. If you just need a reminder or an uplift this is a great book.
I recieved this free from booksneeze.com for my honest review
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging Words

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Live Loved -  A Devotional by Max Lucado.
Everybody needs to feel love and acceptance. God loves His children. When we accept His salvation, we can know that he has provided an eternal home with Him in Heaven.
This book is small enough to carry for personal devotions.
A book of encouragement and instruction by a man known for delivering a powerful punch with a few words. 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Gift Book

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Review: Live Loved by Max Lucado
Book Review: Live Loved by Max Lucado
Live Loved is a beautiful devotional book taken from Max Lucado's previous writings. It is padded hard-bound book suitable for gift-giving with a ribbon book mark and artfully decorated pages. There are even several note taking pages in the back, allowing the reader to log what he or she has learned. It is rather small, making it the perfect size for devotion time. The theme of this devotion book is experiencing God’s presence in every day life. With each day’s readings one will feel the love of God through the author’s words.
I like the format of this devotional book which includes a scripture, commentary and a prayer. At the end the author list several more scriptures that relate to the days topic. The only thing I would change is to add more devotions so that there is one for every day of the year. There are in fact around 149 devotions included in the book.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone, especially as a gift.
BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great compilation

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sunflowers
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great Max Lucado gift book! Fair warning to Max Lucado readers though, this is a compilation of excerpts from other books. Those titles include It's Not About Me, Facing Your Giants, 3:16: Numbers of Home, Every Day Deserves a Chance, Fearless, and Outlive Your Life. If you have read these books you will not find anything new, despite the organization of topics into the categories of Loved with a Steadfast Love, Loved with a Perfect Love, Loved with a Wise Love, and Loved to Love Others.
I originally agreed to review this book because my heart longed to be loved and while my head knew that God loved me, my heart just wasn't feeling it. Lucado does and excellent job of organizing Bible verses and connecting them with his commentary to show just how much we truly are loved by the God of the universe. He shows us how we are loved when we feel depressed as Jeremiah was, when we are experiencing problems, or when we are unsure of the future. We see how God is unchanging and always with us.
Each subsection begins with a bible verse, goes on with an illustration by Lucado, followed by a prayer and more scripture references to reinforce the point. Lucado seems to have a gift with bringing scripture references from thousands of years ago into today's situations and making us realize that God is the same yesterday and today and will continue to be the same tomorrow. We can trust his promises.
If you haven't read all of the above mentioned books, this would be a great one to add to your library for pick me ups on days when you really need a hug from God. It would also be a great gift book.
This book was received free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Live Loved: Experiencing God's Presence in Everyday Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Repackaged Lucado

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
BJs Books
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Live Loved: Experiencing God’s Presence in Everyday Life is a devotional by the prolific Max Lucado. The material in the devotional has all been previously published in Lucado’s other works, so if you have a lot of his material you may not need this. It would make a great introduction to his material for someone who has not had a chance to read much of his work.
The book is divided into five sections, “Loved with a Steadfast Love,” “Loved with a Perfect Love,” Loved with a Wise Love,” “Loved with a Merciful Love,” and “Loved to Love Others.” Each devotion is just a couple of pages in length so it makes for a quick read. Each devotion also includes an accompanying prayer and several applicable verses.
As mentioned before, this would make a great introduction to Max Lucado, but if you own a lot of his previous books, you may want to pass this one by and wait for new material.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.