Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena

Harvest House Publishers The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena

They are everywhere - and they're trying to get you! They can affect your mind, make you do things that you don't want to do, and take your eyes off of God. What are they, and how can they have such an impact on your life?

They are not ghosts or spirits of the dead; the true threat is the medium, the psychic, or whatever name the charlatan has assumed. Ron Rhodes knows this very well, and he draws back the curtains on this ancient and modern deception. Showing the reality of all manner of psychic activity in modern culture, Rhodes encourages the believer with solid, biblical facts and research.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena
Review 1 for The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good explination

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roloando
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book help me understand and cleared alot of questions i had. highly recommend it.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Utterly Ridiculous

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is so narrow minded, I'm amazed it got any positive reviews at all. Is the author really suggesting that when someone dies goes to heaven, that they cannot under any circumstances, return to earth & contact their loved ones?
I love how everything that doesn't jive with the authors own personal belief system is all put down to "demons" & how "Satan transforms himself into an angel of light". If that's the case how do we know it was really Jesus who spoke to Paul on the Road to Damacus? Maybe it was Satan deceiving Paul. The bottom link is: we have no idea what the afterlife is like, so to try and claim that demons are responsible for all the ghost sightings is utterly absurd and midaeval in it's thinking.
-51points
20of 91voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kandi Sousa
After a loved one told me they believed they were psyphic I needed to read a book that could get me started in learning what the bible says about that kind of spiritual world. Mr Rhodes not only explains in detail what a psyphic world believes but gives many bible verses to back it up. I am more confident now, after reading this book, that I will be able to talk my loved one through to victory.
+19points
24of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jackie Nieto
I love this book. It really answered a lot of questions I had and it went into full detail about Ghosts etc. that the world believes in. I recommend this book every time for those who have questions about the supernatural.
+10points
16of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Natalie Morgan
This is an "easy read" book that will answer all the questions you have about the subject. I couldn't put it down! I'm buying copies for all my friends who are being seduced into this area! If you want to serve God you want to be knowledgeable. Read this book!!!! Don't be deceived! That's not your great granny visiting you from the grave!!!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janine Skoniecki
Easy to read lots of facts my friends are reading the book even though the book is falling apart, great book.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ken Coughlan
Overall, this book gets my thumbs up. It contains a lot of very good information. Ron Rhodes' conclusions probably won't surprise anyone who has looked into this subject in the past, but for those in our pews who haven't really thought about what God has to say about these practices, and have simply been swept up in the cultural movement of the occult, the information should make them think.My only real beef about the book is that the important information probably could have been written in 50 pages instead of 144. Mr. Rhodes repeats himself, a lot. I understand saying something then saying it again to make sure it sinks in, but sometimes in this book he seems to visit, then revisit, then revisit the same idea over and over again. The reader may feel like screaming, "All right, I'v got it already!" I worry about some readers putting it down halfway through because they start to feel like they are not hearing any new information.Once you sift through the repetition, there are some very good informational tidbits in there. You just have to bear with Mr. Rhodes for a while until he gets to them.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Truth Behind Ghosts, Mediums, and Psychic Phenomena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy
This is such a great resource! I bought it for my 13 year-old nephew who is into ghosts and ghost hunters. I decided to read it myself so I could get an idea if it would help him understand. It was very straightforward and made everything so much easier to understand. He even has a "dictionary" of sorts of psychic terms and what they mean. I would recommend it to everyone.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.