Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Herald Press More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition

Herald Press More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition

Spend less on your groceries, improve the nutritional value of your meals, and consume less of the world's limited food resources using this best-selling classic. These health-conscious recipes-from breakfast to dessert, leftovers to preserves-emphasize whole grains and protein substitutes, cooking from scratch, and wasting as little as possible.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Review 1 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Simple Recipes; Worldview Annoying

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
OneNationUnderGod
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for some simple, introductory recipes for cooking with healthy foods, this is great. It teaches how to prepare great rice, eggs, and whole grains--some of the technique stuff that makes a difference. On the worldview side, she clearly has a belief that has been colored by her experiences in third-world countries, and rather than recognize that food scarcity problems stem from sin and oppressive government, she puts the onus on Christians to do with less or feel guilty for depriving starving people everywhere of their share. :( So, if you can get past the socialist-tinged guilt rhetoric, you'll just love the cookbook!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carole
This is my fourth copy. I have worn out three. I have given many copies as gifts. It may be my all-time favorite cookbook, and I cook a lot. Extremely economical, practical and usable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy B
I love this cookbook. It is one of my favorites in my collection. Very useful and practical. I really liked the recipe for the basic baking mix and my family really loved the muffins I made with it! We have also made some of the desserts. They were good. The recipes are economical and with 5 children, that really helps! I am looking forward to purchasing one for my friend's baby shower!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Louise Parsons
I am delighted to again have a copy of the cookbook which I used for many years when living in Africa. It has great simple recipes that don't call for a box mix of this or that. And lots of variations to use ingredients already on hand. I love the spiral binding which allows me to keep it open while I am cooking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelli Cessna
I LOVE this cookbook. I have a big cookbook collection and I added this one thinking it may be interesting. I've only had it a few weeks and have already made several recipes. All of them have received great reviews from my hard to impress test panel...my husband and my boys ages 5, 3, and 1. I am SO GLAD I ordered this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
L.R.
This is a cookbook full of "real" recipes (no calling for a can of mushroom soup, or other "processed items). This is homemade family cooking with "normal" ingredients, which is exactly for what I was looking. FYI, this cookbook is a hardcover; the spiral binding is inside the cover and the actual color of the hardcover is orange. Just letting you know, because I wasn't expecting that color when it arrived. Also note, there are no nutritional values/ calories listed per recipe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christa Oliver
I first came across More With Less Cookbook while on the mission field in Peru. It opened up a whole new way of cooking and thinking about food for me. How happy I was when I discovered I could find it in the States. I ended up buying one for myself and giving copies to my family members for Christmas that year. Two of my favorite recipes are the potato soup recipe and the soybean salad recipe. This cook book fills in what today's modern day life leaves out--how to make food that's healthy for the body, nourishing for the mind, and good for God's great earth. Highly recommend it with 5 stars and 2 thumbs up. Happy Cooking, Everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christa Oliver
I first came across More With Less Cookbook while on the mission field in Peru. It opened up a whole new way of cooking and thinking about food for me. How happy I was when I discovered I could find it in the States. I ended up buying one for myself and giving copies to my family members for Christmas that year. Two of my favorite recipes are the potato soup recipe and the soybean salad recipe. This cook book fills in what today's modern day life leaves out--how to make food that's healthy for the body, nourishing for the mind, and good for God's great earth. Highly recommend it with 5 stars and 2 thumbs up. Happy Cooking, Everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gail Champagne
I've had my copy for years and I keep buying this book for friends and relatives. The recipes are great but it's the concept that keeps me coming back. How to continue to be a better steward of what God has given
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa Jewett
More than just a collection of recipes. There are stories of how real people utilized the book in ministry situations. The recipes show how to be frugal and wise about what we prepare for our families -- all this while providing the opportunity to discover flavors from around the world with recipes that are not overwhelming. The author (and contributors) show us how to use ingredients common everywhere to make international style cuisine on a budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for More-with-Less Cookbook: 25th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Pennell
I bought this cookbook 25 years ago and have loved and used it over and over. The nutritional and healthy alternatives she offers have helped me serve my family tasty foods-and there aren't any that I wouldn't hesitate to make again! (you have to read what she writes about how we in USA consume too much animal protein- when legumes are a healthy alternative. Excellent!) Many recipes are international & creative which have been fun to explore over the years : > ) I heartily recommend this cookbook!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.