Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook

Harvest House Publishers How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.558 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
19 out of 2190%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Review 1 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real Bible Study Skills for a Lifetime!

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Merideth
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 8 year old and I LOVE How To Study Your Bible For Kids! The puzzles and cool activities are so fun and quite challenging.
Challenging might be a key word to describe this book and the process it teaches. I will admit my son would probably not learn as much if I were not sitting with him while he goes through the book, but I enjoy being there with him to give those explanations needed. For example, right off the bat, we learn the Bible does not contradict itself. An 8 year old can easily understand that statement, but I added a real-life situation to help: If some angels walked into our kitchen and I later told Daddy, "I saw an angel with red hair!" but you told Daddy, "Three angels came into our kitchen!" did we contradict each other?
We made just two changes to the process:
1) We use his New International Reader's Version (NIrV) Bible instead of the NASB because he can easily understand everything he reads in it. We often compare verses in several different translations, but he does his main study and marking in his NIrV.
2) We take more than one day to complete each "day" in the book. Maybe we're slower than the average folks, but I don't ever want studying the Bible to become a chore for him, so we take it slow and easy and have a great time. He later teaches Daddy and Grammy what he's learned each day, so I know he's "getting" it.
I also want to say that learning to be an "Inductive Detective" is beneficial for more than just Bible study - the skills he's learning will also pay off big in general reading comprehension, research and other academic skills.
In summary, buy and use this book! Then pass it along to another kid. Then to another & another...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
AmyB
Location:Thorne Bay, AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful tool to use to help your children develop Bible study habits that will enable them to have a close relationship with Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good basic material

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rose
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the way this book encourages young people to look at the Bible for themselves and find out what it actually says, instead of just going over and over the stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
RikerFamily
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my 11 year old daughter - and she loves it. Great for sumer time when they are out of any bible studies that are on going in the school year.
Theses books can be used in Home Schooling.
Great Product(s)!
I also had gotten the James study "Boy Have I got Problems" - for my 8 year old and he has enjoyed it.
The kids liked that I gave them the option of picking out the book(s) they wanted to work on from the list on CBD - they are very well done. If you go to CBS or any bible study durning the school year this is wonderful fun filler in the summer if you want to keep up your studing, even if your an adult these are great. But, fun and good to do with the kids also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a good product

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Nick
Location:Topeka, ks
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this book because it sticks to the basics its easy & simple, it is what our children who really want to know GOD
needs to get started on a right walk w/GOD. I'm glad that I found it & now I can teach knowing that this book is worth it for our kids eternal value. And for my teaching satisfaction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great kids' Bible study book!

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jane Yount
Location:Bakersfield, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a kid-friendly, very easy-to-use Bible study guide! Lessons are broken into easily-managed portions, each about half an hour long, each one teaching some important basic facet of Bible study. This is a great foundational book to teach young people how to study the Bible for all it's worth. Wish I'd have had it when I was young!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monique
Location:Yakima, Wa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son, who is 10, for his Bible Study in our homeschool and he is learning so much! Some sections are longer than others and he will have to take 2 days to finish it, but for the most part he enjoys doing it so much that he doesn't mind when a chapter is little long.
I love how it's teaching him to really search out and understand the Bible, something I wish I had learned at his age! The version they use is not necessarily what I would have chosen, but luckily we have so many different Bibles in our house that we already had an NAS for him to use.
Highly recommend this study!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melinda
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is fun and a great way for kids to learn about the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great independant study for children 9-12!

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
momof6
Location:Small Town, Kansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We homeschool our 6 children and were looking for an independant study for our 9 and 10 year olds. I came to Christ late in life and did not feel as though I possesed the knowledge to lead them properly. Kay Arthur is known for her solid Biblical teachings and made this study fun and fairly easy for our children to complete on their own. I have had the occasional question and several opportunities to engage in candid discussions based on the information they obtained through this study. They are sad each time one of these studies end, but also excited to see what treasures the next one holds. We will be doing every book in this series for each of our children, as long as we are able to get ahold of the books!
This particular study was the first one we completed in the series, so it was a little more confusing, until we all became familiar with the language and activities used. By the 3rd week or so, they were feeling pretty comfortable with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dinky
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My granddaughter started reading and completing the written assigmnents the same day I presented her the book. I like the work product and the contents of the book, and would recommend it to other parents! I think itnis a great bible study tool!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleased with the devotionals.

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
NoNickname
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Material is challeging and interesting to both my sons, ages 8 and 9. Even though they don't do it every day, when they do, they find it fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the things I never was taught was how to study the Bible...I only learned to read it. Big difference! This book actually takes several weeks to discuss the same passages so that kids learn to keep digging and digging...and know what to look for. It is manageable for short attention spans.
The only part that I don't like is that it uses the American Standard Version Bible for reference and activities. For younger children (mine are 9 and 8), it sometimes is too cumbersome for them to understand. I'm sure it is building their vocabularly but it would be so much more useful if they had used a different version. Just my opinion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engaging and simple

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
WDucken
Location:Kaneohe, HI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good study book! (It is geared for kids 8-12.) My 7-year-old daughter is working through the book (both with and without me). It took a bit for her to get used to the reading and the study methods, but now we've hit stride (week 3). The invisible ink recipe and the puzzles in the first 2 weeks are good, encouraging study "aids" as well :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
patty
Location:ON
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were very happy with the content in these resources, we wanted something to add into our curriculum to teach kids-really teach kids how to use the bible and this material did just that. We are using the books for gr1-4.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good start for children.

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maria
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a study Bible for my nephew that he could relate to on his level and this met his expectations as well as mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

bad translation

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ali72
Location:Boston
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed. Why did the authors chose to use NASB translation? The language is too difficult for my intelligent 9 year old. NIrV would be much more appropriate. If I was to use NIrV translation I would need to rewrite all exercises. Very disappointed!
-8points
3of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great teaching tool

Date:August 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
lifetimehomeschoolmom
Location:Enterprise,Al
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing tool to teach your children how to study the Bible for themselves, and how to rely on the Holy Spirit to be their teacher. I use this study with all three of my children, ages 5,7,and 9years old. They look forward to our daily bible study when they get to be "secret agents". Highly recommend everyone to get this book, and learn for themselves how to study the Bible inductively so you aren't relying on what someone else tells you the Bible says.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I was disappointed in the use of the New American

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
SCMIDad
I was disappointed in the use of the New American Standard Bible in that I would prefer the use of the King James Bible. I will change the context to make use of the King James Bible and use the differances as an additional teaching point while working with my kids.
-12points
2of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
We used this book for an intergenerational study. We had parents studing along side their children and teens. Although, clearly written for kids, it proved very useful for new Christians to learn how to study the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for How to Study Your Bible for Kids - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not for us

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
my3girls
Location:jonesborough,tn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had read many great reviews on this series so I ordered it. I was sooo disappointed. It was just not what we were looking for and did not suit our needs. There are other studies I feel are much better. I returned it.
-14points
0of 14voted this as helpful.