Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook

Harvest House Publishers One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook

Bestselling author Lori Copeland sets her brand-new story in North Carolina the months after the Civil War. In the midst of chaos, there is also a sense of possibility and the hope of love when:

  • Sisters Beth and Joanie run from a vindictive uncle toward healing
  • Trella, a pregnant young slave, leaves a plantation for freedom
  • Gray Eagle, a Cherokee military scout, finds refuge for the young women
  • Captain Pierce, a quiet man of faith, heads for a plot of land and a new life
  • Samuel, a black soldier, longs to follow his father's preaching legacy

    The intersecting lives and tales of these engaging characters and those they meet along the way create an uplifting story of tested faith, growing seeds of love, and the challenge and gift of believing God's promise of a future.

  • Average Customer Rating:
    3.778 out of 5
    3.8
     out of 
    5
    (9 Reviews) 9
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
    5 stars
    2
    4 stars
    3
    3 stars
    4
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    0
    7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook
    Review 1 for One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:June 29, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Rita Blevins
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    I enjoyed it very much and can't wait for the next one in the series to come out. Lori Copeland has such a sense of humor that she incorporates into all of her books. It was a fun book to read.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    I enjoyed the charactors

    Date:November 21, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Jenny Lazuardi
    Location:Milwaukee
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I enjoyed how the author can mix humor with drama and have such and enjoyable story to read.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    The Good Samaritans

    Date:August 30, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Anonymous
    Location:St. Paul, MN
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Fever takes the lives of Beth and Joanie Jornigan’s parents, putting them in harm’s way of their Uncle Walt and his son Bear. He’s brutal and cantankerous. He abuses his slaves as well as the girls. So the girls decide to run away along with one of the slaves, Trella, who is very pregnant. They are rescued by three soldiers on their way home from the Civil War, one of whom didn’t want any interruptions getting there!
    Thus Lori Copeland creates the tumultuous events that occur to her characters. The characters are portrayed as spunky, determined, rugged, ruthless, trustworthy, and brave. Beth’s distrust of all men makes for a difficult time for her rescuers. And matches in the hands of Beth are a matter of safety for all involved!
    There’s plenty of humor, romance, danger, rescue, friendship and trust in Lori’s book. The faith of some is sorely tested, while others are challenged to believe and trust in God to give them their dreams and a future.
    The book is well-written and interesting, but it didn’t catch my attention like other books have. It’s a personal preference, as I was looking for more suspense to up the ante. Romance readers will definitely enjoy Lori’s book!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Just Okay...

    Date:August 12, 2011
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Beth Jornigan is strong, determined and resourceful, but the men in her family have created a strong dislike and distrust for all men in her heart and mind. As Beth, her sister, Joanie, and their friend, Trella, attempt to escape abusive Uncle Walt, an unexpected wildfire forces them to rely on three Civil War soldiers. Beth is extremely resistant to the assistance of Captain Pierce, Preach and Gray Eagle. However, with little money and relentless family members, Beth, Joanie and Trella agree to accept the men's temporary assistance. As the days pass on, each woman finds herself attracted to a man. Will the relationships blossom or whither away when the men return home? Are the women just attracted to the men because they rescued them or is it possibly true love?
    The One Who Waits for Me is typical Lori Copeland fiction romance. It is sweet and has some wonderfully humorous moments, but it is also quite predictable. Something about the characters of Beth and Pierce never really rang true for me. Beth has experienced abuse and dislikes all men, yet is quite naïve. Somehow those traits just don't go together in my mind. Abuse has a way of making a person grow up fast. Conversely, other characters, Sister Mary Margret for example, were authentic and delightful.
    I applaud Copeland for her realistic depictions of the American Indians. Too often in Christian fiction, they are depicted as ruthless warriors. Copeland treated the subject of their displacement with sensitivity and respect. I think an American Indian could read this book and not be offended at Copeland's depictions.
    Overall, The One Who Waits for Me by Lori Copeland is a sweet read, but I recommend renting it from the library before purchasing.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from publisher as part of FIRST Wild Card Tours. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    An easy read

    Date:August 12, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    homesteading
    Location:rural NC
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    As a southerner and a North Carolinian I can appreciate the flavor of the book. After all, it is set in NC after the Civil War just ended. Folks were disillusioned and despairing of ever having a better life, or of recovering from the devastation that the war caused. My mind kept overlaying scenes from Gone with the Wind and I heard the voices of Scarlett & Rhett and Mellie & Ashley :) But I stepped into the lives of Beth & Joanie Jornigan and Trella, a pregnant slave from their uncles plantation.
    Following the death of both their parents, Beth & Joanie seek to escape Walt (their uncle) and Bear (their cousin) who are abusive toward them and the workers. After an unexpected mishap during their escape plan, the girls are rescued by three soldiers on their way home from the war: Captain Pierce Montgomery, a southerner who fought for the North, 2nd Lt Samuel "Preach" Madison, a soldier for the South and 1st Lt Gray Eagle, a Cherokee and a scout who fought for the South. Needless to say, turmoil ensues for the soldiers because they don't want to be responsible for the women. They just want to get to their respectives homes and have some good old down home cooking and sweet tea. But, after a run in with Walt & Bear, they feel honor bound to get the women to the nearest town and to safety. They end up staying with an Indian tribe near an Abbey full of nuns and what transpires throughout the rest of the book is humorous as well as a journey to faith for Beth, healing for Joanie, and freedom for Trella.
    Personally, I thought Beth was rather irritating in her adament hatred of men. Pierce eventually wins her trust and proves to be a pretty good hero. My favorite characters were Joanie and Gray Eagle. Theirs is a sweet and tender
    love that blossoms. Samuel takes to Trella pretty quick and eventually convinces her she is worthy of love in spite of the abuses she suffered at the hands of her Task Master. Add in the awesome nuns at the Abbey and you have an interesting mix of characters that probably wouldn't have really teamed up together but it was an easy read and enjoyable for the most part.
    I was provided a free copy of this book by Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion. No other compensation was received.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Historical Romance

    Date:August 12, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    MaureenT
    Location:Syracuse NY
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    While I found this to be a very fast read, and enjoyed it. I found a lot of things that bothered me in the facts used.
    The story revolves around two girls who have just finished burying their Father, and their Mother has passed in the past week. Beth and Joanie are now running from their evil Uncle. They are to meet with Trella, a pregnant Slave...who end up giving birth on the road.
    With many twists and turns an being chased by the Evil Uncle Walt and his Son Bear. They are rescued and helped by three returning Civil War Vets. One a black man who fought for the North Samuel, another a Cherokee Scout for the South Gray Eagle, and Pierce who is a Southerner who wants to never see violence again!
    Six different characters who lives will be forever changed as they look for peace and sanctuary!
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Harvest House and First Wild Card Tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Sweet Story

    Date:August 11, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Renee C
    Location:PA
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Lori Copeland's fiction is always a joy to read. The One Who Waits for Me, her latest romance set during the summer following the end of the Civil War, is no exception. While I would have preferred a more in depth look at the relationships of Beth, Joanie, and their friend Trella I kept turning the pages. Since there are so many characters front and center all with their own personal battles and love interests The One Who Waits for Me reads a lot like a novella. I was left wanting more! Gray Eagle a former Confederate spy really intrigued me. After having read Laura Frantz's Courting Morrow Little and The Frontiersman's Daughter with absolutely amazing Native American heroes I was hoping to get to know Gray a bit better but I was a bit let down. Despite that The One Who Waits for Me was a great story that I don't regret reading. I loved seeing the close relationship between Beth and her sister and I loved reading a post-bellum story that wasn't set in the West. Copeland fans and readers of romance should probably give this a try!
    ***Special thanks to Karri James, Marketing Assistant, Harvest House Publishers for sending me a review copy.***
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Not cohesive...and 'young' feeling

    Date:August 11, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Stephanie
    Location:upstate NY
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    The One Who Waits for Me is the first book I’ve read written by Lori Copeland. I must say I was disappointed.
    The girl and boy on the cover (yes, girl and boy) look to be about 14 years old. I thought the six main characters (3 females, 3 males) acted almost like 14 years old in the book, too.
    The story was choppy and confusing.
    Preach and Trella are sort of left behind in the storyline (in fact, at one time I thought I’d missed that Preach had left for home…but, no, he was still there, just never mentioned). SPOILER Yet, bang! Trying to tie everything up at the end, Preach and Trella decide to marry.
    Same with Gray Eagle. His mother was a white woman and taught him ‘white man’s ways.’ He speaks English very well, and is even planning to study medicine. Yet, at the end, not at all consistent with his character, he says in stereotypical ‘Indian,’ “…what is the white-man’s term? Fools?”
    And, Beth… and Pierce. Sigh.
    Really, about the only character that felt fairly true-to-life was Joanie. And, since she wasn’t the main ‘main’ character, she couldn’t make up for the rest of the story.
    Overall, The One Who Waits for Me just wasn’t cohesive. There were just too many odd characters and situations (a greedy uncle and dumb cousin, nuns that want to build a town) that nothing flowed right for me. Add to that the 14-year old youth group feel, and I couldn’t bring myself to like the story.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for One Who Waits for Me, The - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    The One Who Waits for Me

    Date:August 11, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Debbie
    Location:Yukon, OK
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This Book was sent to me by Harvest House Publishers in exchange for a Review.
    Bestselling author Lori Copeland (Walker’s Wedding and Outlaw’s Bride) sets her brand-new story in North Carolina the months after the Civil War. In the midst of chaos, there is also a sense of possibility and the hope of love when:
    •Sisters Beth and Joanie run from a vindictive uncle toward healing
    •Trella, a pregnant young slave, leaves a plantation for freedom
    •Gray Eagle, a Cherokee military scout, finds refuge for the young women
    •Captain Pierce, a quiet man of faith, heads for a plot of land and a new life
    •Samuel, a black soldier, longs to follow his father’s preaching legacy
    The intersecting lives and tales of these engaging characters and those they meet along the way create an uplifting story of tested faith, growing seeds of love, and the challenge and gift of believing God’s promise of a future.
    This book is the first book in the Carolina Moon series by well known author Lori Copeland. I have read a lot of books by Lori and she is such a great author. She just grabs you in her books and you can’t put down the book. That is how it was for me. It is such a GREAT story that I just couldn’t’ put the book down. I love the characters in it, especially Beth, she can cause so much trouble, it is funny. I laughed in this book and cried as well.
    This book starts out as 3 soldiers are just trying to make it home after the war, but things change for them. They run into 2 sisters (Beth and Joanie Jornigan) and one slave who is pregnant, Trellis Jones. The soldiers find Beth and Joanie in a field surrounded by fire and their lives are never the same. The 2 sisters cousin and Uncle cause so much trouble because they want their nieces back to work the fields and beat them. In the meantime, there are feelings there for Beth, Joanie, Trellis along with the soldiers (Pierce, Preach and Gray Eagle). It is wonderful reading about how GOD intersects the lives of the women and the soldiers.
    This is such a great book, I would suggest this book to my friends and family. I hope you will pick up this book and enjoy it.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.