Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Guardian Studios My Heart, My Comedy, DVD

Guardian Studios My Heart, My Comedy, DVD

Take a load off with laughter! Entertaining and inspirational, Jeff Allen's performance is packed with hilarious new insights on family and marriage. His wife, Tami, joins him for the first time---and together they share their story of God's love and restoration in their lives after a close call with divorce. From comedy to testimony, prepare to be encouraged! Approx. 80 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Review 1 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Negative Racial Undertones

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roxcy25
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first heard the edited version on Focus on the Family's radio station, I cracked up so much. I loved it and had to own it. I also thought it would be a great, clean and an inspiring DVD for my husband to watch (he is an unbeliever). The DVD started off well with the jokes being funny to me; slightly humorous to my husband. But when he started making jokes about his son's jeans looking like "Snoop Doggy Dog" and saying "yo! yo! yo!" and doing gestures that are commonly seen in the black community, I and especially my husband, became quickly turned off. Just from seeing that I gathered that Jeff Allen probably has had no exposure to black people. The baggy jeans fad started in jail due to belts being taken away from all inmates and ex-cons, not just the black ones. And the "yo, yo, yo" is said by a particular socioeconomic class of black people. I've had black friends that never used yo or are familiar with Snoop Dog. So, this DVD gets a thumbs down from me. Sorry, Jeff. Keep your faith in God.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good clean comedy!

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
John
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clean comedy and awesome testimony! Great to encourage marriages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joanie
Location:Gilbert, MN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this product. I found it sincere and heart touching as well as entertaining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent video!

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
cish60
Location:Newville, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeff and Tami Allen's testimony was just wonderful--it's something all married couples should watch. Very inspirational and touching....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good resource to give away

Date:January 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Caseville, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this DVD because I heard excerpts of it on Family Life Radio. Jeff Allen was saying that he had found himself in a place where he just didn't care any more - about anything. I had just listened to a friend saying the exact same thing. The friend was bothered by this, but didn't know how to get out of that situation. Jeff Allen found a way through this same thing, so I bought the DVD and gave it to the friend. My prayer is that this friend may seek God after listening to Jeff Allen go through the same things and come out on the other side healed and whole.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

funny

Date:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
zijalife2010
Location:KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoy the humor without the worry of little ears in the room.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hilarious & biblical approach to raising children

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paula Allen
Location:Dallas, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I laughed so much listening to Jeff Allen on the radio and then again watching this. He hits the nail on the head when it comes to raising kids and we truly loved how honest he was regarding his life and lessons learned from mistakes made.
This is very worthwhile and any parent can learn from it. I definitely recommend this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just heard on the radio.

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Snoopys Shoes
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The previous comment, claiming that what is said is not appropriate for their pre-Christian friends to hear, is just an excuse to hide from the facts of human nature, to put a bow on the ugly stuff, pretend it never occurs. We need to reach out to people, with realistic admissions of our own behavior. We should not pretend to be Saints. Ignoring the truth, will only turn people away.
This testimony is heart-warming. If you can relate to the pains of divorce in any way as an ex-spouse or a child, or are currently struggling in your marriage, or are living in an abusive situation, something said here can possibly help you to turn your life around.
God Bless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Curtis Gibbens
I really enjoyed the DVD. It was very silly, which is what I find amusing, and it was very touching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mandy Duffy
Jeff Allen is very funny. This DVD is entertaining, as well as educational. My husband usually does not find comedians to be humorous. However, this DVD had his attention and he had to admit he enjoyed it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee Cormalis
Jeff Allen is a wonderful comic but what is the most important part of his routine is he's giving all the glory to God for where he is in his life. He had a rough start but the Lord has brought him to the place in his life where he can actually find humor again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikki
My husband and I enjoyed this DVD, the stand up commedy in the begining was a bit lengthy but towards the end you will have a good understanding of this family's struggles and how Gods loved helped to restore their lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katharine Mcintosh
He was funny and I loved his wife being involved in telling their testimony. Unfortunately I did not like the put down comments regarding his kids. And for that reason we cannot show this to our pre-Christian friends.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ron Sweat
It was a very heart moving and some parts were funny. I enjoyed but did expect a little more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terri Cruze
Hillarious and pointed at the same time. A great message. Very timely and relevant to today's families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heart And Home Ministries Inc.
This is an incredibly funny and inspiring DVD, not only giving us the opportunity to laugh but a reason to hope. Thank you Jeff Allen and wife for being willing to share your story. I will be making sure many see the DVD.May God bless all that you do and may you continue inspiring people.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Harmon
It is heartening to hear this story and know that God worked in his life. The comedy is great as usual. I wish I could have heard more about his life. Not so much about his pain and suffering, but his life in general.This is an excellent resource for those who know Jeff Allen's comedy, but don't know much more about him. It is definitely an eye opener.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for My Heart, My Comedy, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Meyers
This DVD was GREAT! My whole family has enjoyed it even my 3 year old asks, "Are you watching the funny guy?" We have shared it with family and friends. GREAT CLEAN humor. The best part was really being able to realate with what Jeff was saying and relating it to our own experiances. I also love the testamony at the end. A must have DVD.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.